Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,596 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Mark, the G30 im Spirit looks higher spec than the one in Cumiskey's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭MarkN

I really love the 20s on them but I do really like the 19s too. Not majorly fussy on colour once the leather is oyster :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭carsfan2

The petrol models are coming in at higher asking prices over the 520d’s.
    I think it would be swings and roundabouts really as considering how regularly you change I don’t think diesel will have dropped off the cliff residually.
    I wouldn’t be in any rush to buy though Mark as there is a steady stream of nice spec cars coming the whole time.
    The one in spirit has nice spec and is on 19” . I drove 530d on 20” and the ride was a little firmer but still fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Maybe it was already posted, do you not have the 6 less than a year Mark, why the change? Yours is a much better looking car IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Maybe it was already posted, do you not have the 6 less than a year Mark, why the change? Yours is a much better looking car IMO.

I would have to agree. I can't see the reason to change from a 6 to a 5 especially when it's 6cyl to a 4 cyl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

It's coupe to saloon though isn't it? Has Mark got the coupe or the GC?

I wouldn't do it to be honest unless I needed the back doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

I'm sure he mentioned back doors required for little people

Second baby coming in July, have it a year. €23,450 to change to the Spirit one. Lovely car but huge difference in the price of the med blue one for very little spec difference and a better colour IMO.

I went to look at a 2014 640GC and they’re just not as fresh as mine at all. At least with the 5 I’d be coming up the years and getting something with less than 10,000kms on it.

Just pulled into FK, nothing of interest except €60,000 530d’s.

I’m going home :)

Just looking there on carzone and it's funny that the cheapest G30 530e M Sport is only 1k cheaper than a similar but higher spec 530d M Sport.

530e:
    https://www.carsireland.ie/detail.php?ad_id=1977170&r=s.php%3Fm%3D10%26o%3D87%26r%3D2017%26pp%3D50%26g%3D1

530d:
    https://www.carsireland.ie/detail.php?ad_id=1948293&r=s.php%3Fm%3D10%26o%3D87%26r%3D2017%26pp%3D50%26g%3D1

MarkN wrote: »
    .....have it a year.....

:eek: jaysus, that was a quick year.

Congrats on the baby news.

To me a 520d is a seriously fine car and in the spec & trim you are looking at they are an immense car.

However, I don't drive a 640, I can't see the 2l 4 cyl diesel doing much for you TBH.

Just thinking out loud..... best of luck though with the changing car gig....happy times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,101 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Congrats on the baby Mark, just going to throw this out there, https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/volvo/xc90/used-2016-161-volvo-xc90-2-0-d5-momen-dublin-fpa-90175255222019, It'd out run a 520 and life would be a lot easier when going anywhere. Have a drive of it, the D5 can really shift for a 2 liter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Second baby coming in July, have it a year. €23,450 to change to the Spirit one. Lovely car but huge difference in the price of the med blue one for very little spec difference and a better colour IMO.

I went to look at a 2014 640GC and they’re just not as fresh as mine at all. At least with the 5 I’d be coming up the years and getting something with less than 10,000kms on it.

Just pulled into FK, nothing of interest except €60,000 530d’s.

I’m going home :)

No interest in the G11/G12 7 series? I've come round to their looks and are very impressive in the flesh. The launch models are also hugely specced. You can land 161 models for mid 40s and you'd have all the space in the world (just less on your driveway :) )

The deals on ex demo 7 series are immense. New 5 series money would get you into a 6 month old model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,101 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

The deals on ex demo 7 series are immense. New 5 series money would get you into a 6 month old model.

The 7 has a smaller boot. Split folding seats in a 5 series is what he should be looking for depending on what the second car is.

You can get a six month old 7 series for 50 grand?

carsfan2 wrote: »
    You can get a six month old 7 series for 50 grand?

Mid 60s. PM me if you want.

Thanks for the well wishes lads.

There’s always going to be a trade off of some description coming from the 6 and I’m ok with that. The GC certainly gives the option of sticking with one if I want.

Gear changes in the G30 are even quicker than the older 8 speed box, there was a noticeable loss in power but for real world driving etc there’s plenty of torque but it’s not the blistering grunt of the 640, squeezing the accelerator never gets old in it.

5 series a nice place to be though, some nice gadgets and the head room and rear space was in stark contrast.

The only way to move it on is privately, dealers just can’t give me what it’s worth and when that is leaving me short on cost of change then it’s even further compounded that I’d be mad to trade it.

I’ll keep looking out but I think I’ll keep her until 2019.

Mark, I would suspect that g30 5 series are losing value more quickly than your 6 series and that next year there will be even more of them around for sale. The 530d/e will not command much of a premium at that stage over 520d either.
    Unless you really need more space for kids I would hold on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,917 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

After doing a few miles in a 3.0 v6 diesel over the weekend, it has reminded me again how much nicer the 6 cylinder is in every way.
    Could you really go for a 520d Mark?

I think you both speak sense lads, I did go from a 630i to a 520d before and loved it but the 640 is a bit more special than the E63. The G30 is a lovely car though so it would hardly be the end of the world. I think a petrol 5 series would make more sense, a 530i/530e/540i being a bit of fun and next year a two year old one might be a good deal cheaper. My main issue is the infant isofix seat back touching off the back of my seat, best case scenario as it’s fairly tight in the back but the second car could be used when I need to bring two kids.

mickdw wrote: »
    After doing a few miles in a 3.0 v6 diesel over the weekend, it has reminded me again how much nicer the 6 cylinder is in every way.
    Could you really go for a 520d Mark?

Did you make a purchase mick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,917 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

No no, that was a family car but just kinda reinforced the 6 cylinder thing again.

I see bill griffin has now moved his 2017 530d to “poa”. Must be attracting a lot of interest.?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

carsfan2 wrote: »
    I see bill griffin has now moved his 2017 530d to “poa”. Must be attracting a lot of interest.?!

It's probably everyone here clicking the link and giving him false hope as to the amount of genuine interest in it :pac:

The spec looks fairly standard on it, cannot see anything in the way of nice to have extras on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,484 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

My main issue is the infant isofix seat back touching off the back of my seat, best case scenario as it’s fairly tight in the back but the second car could be used when I need to bring two kids.

Same issue in a 5 series. Apparently its the same in most BMWs..its so driver orientated that they kinda forget about the little things like rear facing seats behind the drivers side.
    In the end I just put the rear facing on the passenger side rear seat and the front facing behind me.
    Also the missus is way way smaller than myself hence another reason I have my drivers seat back a bit.

Blazer wrote: »
    Same issue in a 5 series. Apparently its the same in most BMWs..its so driver orientated that they kinda forget about the little things like rear facing seats behind the drivers side.
    In the end I just put the rear facing on the passenger side rear seat and the front facing behind me.
    Also the missus is way way smaller than myself hence another reason I have my drivers seat back a bit.

We have a 420 GC in the bond house with a car seat in the back. Toddler rests her legs on the seat back as the space is so tight and thats with the seat in a normal position halfway forward.

jeesus...that's in no way safe in a front crash..I know the odds are tiny but still.
    Also cream coloured leather is a big no no for me in the future..both of the little gurriers take great enjoyment in kicking the back of my seat and they're filthy dirty.

Blazer wrote: »
    jeesus...that's in no way safe in a front crash..I know the odds are tiny but still.
    Also cream coloured leather is a big no no for me in the future..both of the little gurriers take great enjoyment in kicking the back of my seat and they're filthy dirty.

Very rare she is in it but I totally agree. Just to be clear the seat is in the back of the car, not the front.

oh yeah :)
    I drive the missus nuts about these one in a million things that could happen.
    I always tell her..its only needs to happen once.