If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin is an unadulterated kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

MrMorooka wrote: »
    I don't drink, so 'night scene' is meaningless to me.

You don't need to drink to enjoy the night scene....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,557 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

ScumLord wrote: »
    Is it as funny as watching someone take a piss on the streets in Amsterdam? The entire city is covered in piss traps that splash the piss back on the person doing the pissing.

It was a little more shocking than someone using a pissoir.

The guy just pulled down his cacks, squatted and took a ****. He even straightened up and wiped after, before throwing his **** rag on the floor and strolling off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭MrMorooka

J Mysterio wrote: »

The guy just pulled down his cacks, squatted and took a ****. He even straightened up and wiped after, before throwing his **** rag on the floor and strolling off.

Wow, that's disgusting- he wipes standing up? Who does that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

J Mysterio wrote: »

It seems you can get done for pissing on the street (urinating on the public highway) but not for taking a dump, something to do with it being very bad for you health wise to hold a crap in for too long.....a junkie beggar in a nine euro a pint pub in Temple Bar told me that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,557 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    It seems you can get done for pissing on the street (urinating on the public highway) but not for taking a dump, something to do with it being very bad for you health wise to hold a crap in for too long.....a junkie beggar in a nine euro a pint pub in Temple Bar told me that.

Funny, but Im pretty sure you can be arrested for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

I lived in Rome for a few years, in a working class suburb, and there were plenty of scobes around, but they didn't seem to be as aggressive as they can be in Ireland or the UK. I don't know if it's down to booze.
    Lots of them would smoke weed, or take coke, but I rarely saw fights.
    They'd be more Dell boy types, moving on stolen gear and the likes.
    I did see some Eastern Europeans fighting in my time there. That was about it, and a bloke shot me in the arse with a pellet gun.
    It was a different type of scobe. Now that I think of it, everytime I went to a football match in Italy, there were fights amongst ultras and police. Always.
    I don't know, a different kind of scobe.
    I spent the last five months living in Thomas St area of Dublin. Nobody said boo to me. Lots of shifty folk around, but they seemed to be going about their business, and that was that. At the same time, I was careful not to walk home from the city at night. I'd get a cab, but that would apply to anywhere no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭badboyblast

Dublins a kip , this is coming from a limerick person , cork , Galway and limerick and are pleasant these days .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

Billy86 wrote: »

Saying Dublin has more junkies than any other city in Europe is not telling the truth.

No other city in Europe has as many Junkies as Dublin has.

You would want to be blind not to notice that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Simon2015 wrote: »
    No other city in Europe has as many Junkies as Dublin has.

You would want to be blind not to notice that.

Again, this has been disproven. Feel free to back this up with anything resembling statistical evidence.

"I walked down the boardwalk last night and..." is not evidence.

You don't seem to understand what truth/true means, so for your information it is defined as "in accordance with fact or reality."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭nokia69

Again, this has been disproven. Feel free to back this up with anything resembling statistical evidence.

You don't seem to understand what truth/true means, so for your information it is defined as "in accordance with fact or reality."

Its easy enough to come the the conclusion the Dublin has more junkies than other cities, most cities keep their junkies away from the city centre and tourist areas, we don't do that in Dublin, so it looks far worse

You can't believe official statistics. They make them up to suit their own agenda. Most Crime is never even recorded.

All you have to do is spend a few hours in Dublin city centre and count how many times you are harassed by Junkies/Scumbags if you want to see how bad things really are.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/recorded-crime-up-to-38-higher-than-garda-figures-says-cso-1.2268516

You can't believe official statistics. They make them up to suit their own agenda. Most Crime is never even recorded.

All you have to do is spend a few hours in Dublin city centre and count how many times you are harassed by Junkies/Scumbags if you want to see how bad things really are.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/recorded-crime-up-to-38-higher-than-garda-figures-says-cso-1.2268516
    I already pointed you towards an independent study that had nothing to do with our government, where we did not rank near the top in any of the drugs listed. Why is it that you are so willfully ignorant? Like I said, to suit your agenda.

nokia69 wrote: »
    Its easy enough to come the the conclusion the Dublin has more junkies than other cities, most cities keep their junkies away from the city centre and tourist areas, we don't do that in Dublin, so it looks far worse

Oh don't get me wrong, I'm not saying Dublin is the most lovely, innocent place in the world by a long shot - but claims like "Dublin has the most junkies in all of Europe", "Dublin has the most scumbags in all of Europe", "you wouldn't see people having public sex anywhere else in the world, not even Amsterdam" (where it is legal) and "you would not see anyone urinating on public transport in almost any other city" are laughably absurd.

I already pointed you towards an independent study that had nothing to do with our government, where we did not rank near the top in any of the drugs listed. Why is it that you are so willfully ignorant? Like I said, to suit your agenda.

Any study would still need to use garda crime statistics which are BS.

When you see people shooting up every day of the week its clear we have a serious drug problem regardless of what any study says.

Any study would still need to use garda crime statistics which are BS.
    This is one of the dumber comments I have read on here in a long while. "I don't trust Garda statistics, and that is why they are the ones that need to be used".

You do know how incredibly transparent you are being here, right?
    When you see people shooting up every day of the week its clear we have a serious drug problem regardless of what any study says.
    I never said Dublin doesn't have a drug problem, I said it doesn't have the worst in Europe. Yet you seem convinced it does because the voice in your head tells you so and all the statistical evidence from multiple sources saying otherwise, be they from Irish authorities or independent international bodies, are lying to you because of the grand conspiracy.

But... you don't have an agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

Oh don't get me wrong, I'm not saying Dublin is the most lovely, innocent place in the world by a long shot - but claims like "Dublin has the most junkies in all of Europe", "Dublin has the most scumbags in all of Europe", "you wouldn't see people having public sex anywhere else in the world, not even Amsterdam" (where it is legal) and "you would not see anyone urinating on public transport in almost any other city" are laughably absurd.

That may be so. But I've travelled widely.....maybe 25 or 30 European cities in the last two or three years. And I've never seen anywhere where junkies are quite as visible in city centre areas as Dublin. And indeed the only places as messy and drunken on a Saturday might as Dublin are the likes of Manchester, Liverpool and Newcastle. Hardly a great peer group.

I lived in Dublin for a decade. Still have a flat there. And there are great things about the city. And I have to agree it is an absolute kip at times, and seems to get worse every year.

This is one of the dumber comments I have read on here in a long while. "I don't trust Garda statistics, and that is why they are the ones that need to be used".

You do know how incredibly transparent you are being here, right?

Where do you think crime statistics originate from ? It's all based on Garda arrests and convictions.

That may be so. But I've travelled widely.....maybe 25 or 30 European cities in the last two or three years. And I've never seen anywhere where junkies are quite as visible in city centre areas as Dublin. And indeed the only places as messy and drunken on a Saturday might as Dublin are the likes of Manchester, Liverpool and Newcastle. Hardly a great peer group.

I lived in Dublin for a decade. Still have a flat there. And there are great things about the city. And I have to agree it is an absolute kip at times, and seems to get worse every year.
    I doubt you would say it has the worst drugs problem in all of Europe though, right? Which was my point of contention.

As has been pointed out we don't brush them off into a corner as much as other cities, be that for better or worse is largely a matter of opinion. But I have met countless people who have visited Dublin and did not think there was any noticeable drug problem, as that kind of thing typically only becomes more apparent after living there for a number of weeks or months. That's the thing, while I have to admit I am very envious of your job or lifestyle to be visiting that many places, you wouldn't be able to really get a full 'feel' for them or the presence of junkies if you are only there for a few days at a time.

It can certainly be a messy place late on Friday or Saturday nights though, would definitely agree there, doesn't help that it's also a big "drinking holiday" destination for a lot of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭nokia69

well when it comes to junkies and what they get up to, Garda stats just can't paint the full picture

for example people being hassled for money at ATMs or LUAS stops don't report it to the guards

well when it comes to junkies and what they get up to, Garda stats just can't paint the full picture

for example people being hassled for money at ATMs or LUAS stops don't report it to the guards

A page or two back I linked to a report though, that shows the highest uses of different drugs in cities within Europe. Dublin was not on any of them. I know Dublin does have it's issues with drugs, but I have not been shown anything to say it has amongst the highest in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

So people report these things in other countries but somehow dont in Dublin, I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

As has been pointed out we don't brush them off into a corner as much as other cities, be that for better or worse is largely a matter of opinion. But I have met countless people who have visited Dublin and did not think there was any noticeable drug problem, as that kind of thing typically only becomes more apparent after living there for a number of weeks or months. That's the thing, while I have to admit I am very envious of your job or lifestyle to be visiting that many places, you wouldn't be able to really get a full 'feel' for them or the presence of junkies if you are only there for a few days at a time.

I think you can be less attuned to supposed signifiers of trouble when you are not used to a city. I friend of mine lived on Thomas street and had her parents over visiting from Poland. Her dad commented on how sporty Irish people were because so many wore track suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

I think you can be less attuned to supposed signifiers of trouble when you are not used to a city. I friend of mine lived on Thomas street and had her parents over visiting from Poland. Her dad commented on how sporty Irish people were because so many wore track suits.
    Of course. You just know right now there is someone on a French equivalent of boards saying he was in Dublin and its a paradise because there arent bands of North African youth hanging around the streets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Her dad commented on how sporty Irish people were because so many wore track suits.
    Fair assumption on his part but he obviously wasn't aware that a lot of people simply wear tracksuits because of the comfort they provide, myself being one of those people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Dublins a kip , this is coming from a limerick person , cork , Galway and limerick and are pleasant these days .

The irony of this is priceless...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I never said Dublin doesn't have a drug problem, I said it doesn't have the worst in Europe. Yet you seem convinced it does because the voice in your head tells you so and all the statistical evidence from multiple sources saying otherwise, be they from Irish authorities or independent international bodies, are lying to you because of the grand conspiracy.

But... you don't have an agenda.

I think the biggest drug problem in Dublin (and Ireland) is alcohol, everyone seems to go out at 9 O'Clock and then tries to consume as much as possible before closing time then they all get kicked out onto the street at the same time.

This also compounds the problem with other drugs as peoples inhibitions are much lower when they consumer alcohol (imo alcohol is a gateway drug)

If you head into Dublin Airport at 10 in the morning people are downing pints in the Airport Bar.

With other drugs such as Cannabis, Ecstasy and MDMA, I don't think these cause much of a problem.

With Cocaine there are many people working for multinationals using it, they aren't your average sitting at the side of the road junkie.

The poor souls that end up on Methamphetamine and Heroin, these are the people you see totally destroyed walking around the streets like Ghosts, they need somewhere to go to take their drugs in a safe way, calling them scum and expecting the Gardai to arrest them isn't going to do anything. Methadone is n't really a long term solution either.

To be honest, until people attitude towards drugs in Ireland changes then you'll always have these problems, pointing at some guy smoking a joint and saying he's a druggie while your slaughtered off your face after downing 10 pints trying to get a big mac into you is ridiculous.

Gah .. I went off topic :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Billy86 I think you walk around Dublin with rose tinted glasses.

I'm in Dublin city centre most days of the week.

I see first hand some of creatures who inhabit the boardwalk.

The boardwalk is fast becoming a no go area for tourists.

Also the abbey street luas stop is another area which has been taking over by Junkies.

No other city in Europe has the same level of Scumbags that Dublin has.

I've moved out of Dublin 9 years ago, and when I was leaving, the boardwalk was "fast becoming a no go area for tourists." How big has the boardwalk gotten, if there's 9 years of junkie buildup?

Oh, and those creatures? Yeah, they're people. You know, humans? Like you? Who is to say that down to one slight change in your circumstance, you wouldn't be out there beside them, sucking down yops, and begging for ends.
    most of the time it depends on who you are, 90% of the time Dublin junkies leave me well alone, but I'm taller and bigger than the average man and look like I can take care of myself

but I have a friend who is the opposite physically, so he gets far more trouble from junkies and scumbags, they target the weak or what they think is the weak

I would not like to be a woman or old when junkies are around looking for money

BTW I really like Dublin, but I hate the junkies

I'm a male, all of 5 foot 8 on a good day, and weigh 8 stone in the rain. I've worked and walked through all parts of Dublin, from Ballymun to Bray. Got asked for change once or twice maybe? I got asked for a smoke 4 times in one day, by the same person, in Edinburgh though. Does that count?

Utter bolox, no they didn't. That's up there with the Romanain lady pushing the pram down the street when she isn't allowed on the bus, and saying the HSE will buy her a new one.

Anyway, it's not like the Poles can comment on our track suit usage, when their tracksuits are polyester and plastic as ****, and straight from the 90's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Utter bolox, no they didn't. That's up there with the Romanain lady pushing the pram down the street when she isn't allowed on the bus, and saying the HSE will buy her a new one.

Anyway, it's not like the Poles can comment on our track suit usage, when their tracksuits are polyester and plastic as ****, and straight from the 90's.

Also the same with German and Dutch friends of mine, they commented on how many people in Dublin seem to wear sport clothes.

Love the wiki photo for Castlerea

Someone would want to tell that young fella he cant park there!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

I dont understand peoples issues with people wearing tracksuits!

Anyone who judges anybody on their clothing is nothing but a ****