Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

AstraMonti wrote: »

I am getting angry when there is a 3% incline and this guy is going with a fecking fridge on his shoulders.

He's not even wearing a helmet

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,420 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

fridges are half polystyrene, so he is, in a sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

a belt sander bought in lidl would make for a fun job at sanding a floor.

sanded the edges off my new floors with a cheap skil belt sander.

also handy for doing the first strip of a coffee or dining table (done 3 of those )

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

a belt sander bought in lidl would make for a fun job at sanding a floor.

Why so?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,420 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i've sanded a couple of floors with a 4" hitachi belt sander. that wasn't a fun job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Not good for de lungs either. Modern floor sanders have super strength vacuum bag collector yokeys (I think that's the technical term anyway). You just need the belt sander for the edges and corners and (shudder) stairs.

funny enough, i found a decent cycling smog mask was more than up to the job. still use one when i'm woodturning and sanding pieces.

Chuchote wrote: »
    Not good for de lungs either. Modern floor sanders have super strength vacuum bag collector yokeys (I think that's the technical term anyway). You just need the belt sander for the edges and corners and (shudder) stairs.

I just switch on the record power dust extractor

My weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭buffalo

http://irishcycle.com/2016/11/27/new-two-way-cycle-path-for-the-phoenix-park/

Map below. Good news, if it's kept clear. The bend nearest the roundabout is often a bad spot for people parking. Great to see the Park being pro-active though.

Wellington-Road.jpg?w=744

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,908 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

buffalo wrote: »
    http://irishcycle.com/2016/11/27/new-two-way-cycle-path-for-the-phoenix-park/

Map below. Good news, if it's kept clear. The bend nearest the roundabout is often a bad spot for people parking. Great to see the Park being pro-active though.
    The Office of Public Works (OPW) said: “Upon completion of the works, the Wellington Road will be one-way in the direction of Islandbridge Gate, as currently 95% of all traffic on this road is travelling south and exiting Islandbridge Gate.”

But how will the 5% buy their flat-screen TVs?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Coming from home to work the other night via Enniskerry and my rear wheel punctured on the way up the hill to the Texaco station. I managed to get up the hill where I got her changed and repumped, but alas she went again. So I started walking.

Big thank you to the guy who pulled over to check on me and offer a lift, I had a collection service on the way by this time but it was nice to be offered, much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭Plastik

Has anyone had a reasonably high end bike assessed as part of an insurance claim previously/recently? What sort of value did you have to fight for?

How long does the Icon See.Sense take to juice up the first time? I've had one plugged in for around two hours now and no sign of it turning from orange to green.

random thoughts while out on the bike.
    are the coast guard vehicles allowed use bus lanes? the chap on the malahide road today certainly had no compunction using it.
    does the law re not cycling on footpaths specifically exclude postmen?
    why do the gardai in malahide have silver marked cars?
    and have those miniature cattle in the field just outside malahide always been there?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

random thoughts while out on the bike.
    are the coast guard vehicles allowed use bus lanes? the chap on the malahide road today certainly had no compunction using it.
    In an emergency they can ask permission to use it (blue lights) and would never be prosecuted for it but they have no exemption in the normal course of their duty as far as I am aware, could be wrong.
    does the law re not cycling on footpaths specifically exclude postmen?
    No, never has. Despite what they would have you believe.
    why do the gardai in malahide have silver marked cars?
    They are big fans of the movie Hot Fuzz
    and have those miniature cattle in the field just outside malahide always been there?
    Those cattle are really far away.

Aren't the Coast Guard vehicles meant to go in the sea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭buffalo

Miniature cattle?

dougalsrule1.jpg

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

buffalo wrote: »
    Reason: stupid CramCycle got it on the new page
    2 points and one question:
    1. it depends on what your posts per page setting is
    2. your own post would have been on a new page based on my setting
    1. Based on the above who do you reckon is the stupid one?

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

How long does the Icon See.Sense take to juice up the first time? I've had one plugged in for around two hours now and no sign of it turning from orange to green.

Mains or PC/Mac?

I find they prefer PCs. I've stopped using mains (from today) as they never seems to charge properly. Even today I charged a rear on my work PC and the Front on a mains socket with a plug USB yoke. Both were charging all day and I don't pay attention to the coloured charging lights so I couldn't tell you how long that took.

The Front "warned" me it was at 44% when I got home this evening. It is now getting charged by my laptop...

The Rear via the work PC is still @ 100% (11km commute home)

Tour de celeb on ch5 wtf did I just watch !!!!!!!

My weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Tour de celeb on ch5 wtf did I just watch !!!!!!!

Tour de celeb on ch5.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Mains or PC/Mac?

I find they prefer PCs. I've stopped using mains (from today) as they never seems to charge properly. Even today I charged a rear on my work PC and the Front on a mains socket with a plug USB yoke. Both were charging all day and I don't pay attention to the coloured charging lights so I couldn't tell you how long that took.

The Front "warned" me it was at 44% when I got home this evening. It is now getting charged by my laptop...

The Rear via the work PC is still @ 100% (11km commute home)

I've had a few PC USB front panels die on me through plugging in stuff needing too much power, so I use a charger for anything needing more than a couple of hundred m/a. Worth noting the wall based USB chargers vary on the output they can provide, so worth having one that can supply a reasonable current.

I started out with it plugged into da Mac, then I had to go out to work, and left it at home plugged into a Mac charger. When I got home three hours later it was presented to me as fully charged.

Do you leave your light on your bike or take it with you when you park the bike?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Always take my lights off my bike, can't afford to lose them

The See.Sense Icon's attachment seems to be more or less a stronger, fancy version of an elastic band. Pity there isn't a better fixing system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,908 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

The See.Sense Icon's attachment seems to be more or less a stronger, fancy version of an elastic band. Pity there isn't a better fixing system.
    I'm locked into Cateye headlights and Smart taillights because I'd have to change brackets on all my bikes were I to change brand.

Still, they're very good products, and very good brackets. The See.Sense light looks good too, but I don't like elastic mounts. The Cateye and Smart lights last for years and years. Much longer than the actual lights will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Strongly considering not renewing my club membership. Nothing to do with the club. I've been struggling enough to get out for training and races in the last two years with family & work commitments. And I have another child arriving in January, which means no chance in hell of getting out for club spins before the racing season. And no chance of getting out for races till the tail end of the season at best.

Without the "training is at 9am on Sundays" pressure, I think I might be more inclined to just get out for an hour or two when it suits me, and maybe do a few sportives over the summer instead. Then look at going back to the club for 2018...

Or I might become even lazier... :-/

seamus wrote: »
    Strongly considering not renewing my club membership. Nothing to do with the club. I've been struggling enough to get out for training and races in the last two years with family & work commitments. And I have another child arriving in January, which means no chance in hell of getting out for club spins before the racing season. And no chance of getting out for races till the tail end of the season at best.

Without the "training is at 9am on Sundays" pressure, I think I might be more inclined to just get out for an hour or two when it suits me, and maybe do a few sportives over the summer instead. Then look at going back to the club for 2018...

Or I might become even lazier... :-/

Or you might buy a tandem with a sidecar…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Mock the week tonight talking about Tour De France giving me grand tour withdrawals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Lesson learned today: don't say "it's not a big deal, though" to your client too quickly. They may hear a very different thing...