Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭koutoubia

clog wrote: »

Yeah . its outside Humphries bike shop in Finglas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,094 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I'll be watching my step the next time I drop into Derek!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

koutoubia wrote: »
    Yeah . its outside Humphries bike shop in Finglas!

My home from home.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,459 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

*eyes raam suspiciously*

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,459 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Watch Ayr man's bizarre rowing protest against controversial Holmston Road cycle path
    http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/local-news/watch-ayr-mans-bizarre-rowing-8900855

a chap i know said this was actually pretty well-balanced, but i haven't heard it myself yet:

http://www.newstalk.com/Cycling-is-a-blonde-wig-safer-than-a-helmet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Raam wrote: »
    My home from home.

Visited today. There was no toilet out front. Am disappoint.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Raam wrote: »
    Visited today. There was no toilet out front. Am disappoint.
    So what did you do?

And more importantly, where did you do it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

New technique saved an injured cyclist from paralysis:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-3805565/Spinal-tap-saving-crash-victims-life-wheelchair.html
    Spinal injury victims could be spared from paralysis thanks to a breakthrough nerve- preserving procedure developed by British doctors. It is the first treatment to tackle inflammation of the spinal cord, which can occur in the hours and days after an accident, causing irreversible damage.
    Given in these crucial hours, the ‘spinal tap’ procedure works by reducing the pressure build-up within the spinal column caused by swelling and so preserves vital nerve function.
    One of the first 17 patients to have been saved from life in a wheelchair is Steven Dowd, 37, who was involved in a cycling accident in June. He hit his head and suffered what his doctor described as a ‘severe’ spinal injury at the base of his neck.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Did not see this anywhere, but AnPost last week launched new stamps
    1683.jpg
    1686.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,388 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Chuchote wrote: »
    Nah...

Much like cycling, these arguments go round and round and round :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

This wet road cycling doesn't mix well with my OCD like tendencies when it comes to cleaning anything mechanical. I mean I've no time for anything else once all the cleaning is done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Luxman

This wet road cycling doesn't mix well with my OCD like tendencies when it comes to cleaning anything mechanical. I mean I've no time for anything else once all the cleaning is done!
    +1. I was found drying off the group set in the shed before a shower. Drenched through. Summerhill had its own dedicated rain storm which I had to cycle through to get home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Lovely, but why does every parts manufacturer think every cyclist needs a bottle opener?
    I did the Skoda Boyne Valley Cycle last Sunday. Every finisher got a medal, which incorporated a bottle opener.

Eamonnator wrote: »
    Lovely, but why does every parts manufacturer think every cyclist needs a bottle opener?
    I did the Skoda Boyne Valley Cycle last Sunday. Every finisher got a medal, which incorporated a bottle opener.

Ah, the old jokes are the best jokes.

I'd love to be able to drink beer; delicious, sour, yummy, but it makes my sinuses go screaming through the roof the next day, or sometimes even the same day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,912 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

My multi-tool and my mini-Leatherman (both in my repair kit) have bottle openers. I think it's just like decorated spandrels in architecture: when you cram a lot of tools together, you get a projection somewhere between tools; so you might as well shape it a bit and make a bottle opener.

Some tools double up as peanut-butter spreaders.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

"Leave hope all ye who enter here"

All the pictures have been washed in black...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

All the pictures have been washed in black...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭buffalo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Big shout out to the cyclist who insisted he help me change a puncture at the airport roundabout yesterday evening. I refused his polite insistence as I was fecked off with yet another puncture and got the missus to come and get me.

May good karma become you sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

I've had 3 tips in 3 months now. All unavoidable, first was a lady turning left on top of me when I had been ahead of her in traffic. Next I was rear ended while stopped at a red light and then today a little scrote cycled into me on the canal while he was trying to negotiate a drug deal on the phone.
    He got all heavy with me then while shouting down the phone to 'de boys' to come down, I ended up standing up to him and then he backed off. Thing is, during the kerfuffle his bike somehow ended up in the canal...

The paint on my fork is ruined, carbon isn't cracked but it doesn't pass cosmetically, I was going quite slowly so when I went down I wasn't marked. Over the last 3 months I've roughly 3500kms done with a lot of them around Dublin during rush hours so there are bound to be tips/near misses but this is getting ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

Stolen from AH.........

14448863_1217530288290595_4490082588692050049_n.jpg?efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&oh=eea64a25adadbdb463953218d6c302d9&oe=58AC3EC4&__gda__=1484919424_f00cd153ca48080595292b6debfdbded

my wife just texted me - she's on a bus on the way into town, and there's four lads having a chat down the back, about the best way to cut locks off bikes. battery powered angle grinders are (unsurprisingly) the favourite, and sure why would you buy a bike like some eejits? use one to get home and then trash it.

Send her in to this if she'd like to attend (and anyone else who has a word to say on it):
    City’s first Public Forum gives you the Chance to have your Say

On Wednesday, 28th September, 2016, Lord Mayor Brendan Carr will host a public forum on Crime in Dublin City at City Hall, Dame Street, Dublin 2, at 7pm.

Members of the public are invited to raise their concerns in relation to the recent increase in criminal violence in Dublin City. The forum will be chaired by RTE’s Joe Duffy. Kieran Mulvey, Chair of the Government Task Force and Assistant Garda Commissioner Jack Nolan will be present to take on board the concerns raised.
    “Dubliners have been affected by criminal activities in the city centre over the recent past while going about their daily lives. This violence is affecting the citizens of the whole city. I want the ordinary people of Dublin to have this opportunity to have their concerns raised and heard”, said the Lord Mayor.
    Admission is free but spaces are limited and will be given on a first come first served basis. To register your interest in attending please email cityhall@dublincity.ie or call 01 2222918/2204.

I can't go (friend coming to arrange for me to do some dog-walking while she's away), but someone should be there to give the view on bike theft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

It's been moderated by Joe Duffy, who recently said Dublin is an unadulterated kip, I wouldn't waste time going.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    It's been moderated by Joe Duffy, who recently said Dublin is an unadulterated kip, I wouldn't waste time going.

All the more reason to go:
    • If you can re-educated Joe Duffy by talking about the hate speech being used by radio jocks - cyclists as 'vermin', 'give him a bang of your walking stick', 'the lycra brigade', 'they all go through red lights', etc, and how this hate speech endangers lives, that would be a good thing.
    • Could talk about how the three major cycleways (the two canals and the Dodderside) have just had their funding robbed to put into the glamour project of the never-ending Luas build.
    • Could quote the discussion of the lads at the back of the bus, and mention that bicycle theft is so extreme that it's left out of the annual crime statistics.
    • Could mention that it was estimated by Cycling Ireland (I think it was) that 20,000 bikes were stolen in Dublin last year; this is a crime emergency, but it's being ignored.
    • Could ask how many prosecutions there have been for receiving stolen goods when those goods are bicycles.
    • Could ask if there are statistics on bicycle theft as the gateway crime that gets kids into crime who end up in jail with their lives ruined.

Never mind who's moderating it; this meeting is a shooting-fish-in-a-barrel story opportunity for journalists, I'll be very surprised if it's not chock-a-block with eager journos licking their pencils for a good quote.