Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wanker watch: Warning signs that someone is a tosser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Butters1979

People with inflated egos in the workplace do my head in.

I teach an evening class to earn some extra money, in a small college of ill-repute to people who are studying for professional exams. It isn't an academic job by any measure. But there's an eejit who also teaches another evening class, and I'm amazed he hasn't yet arrived in academic robes, so seriously does he take himself.

The first sign came when he sauntered through a doorway I held open for him, nose in the air, without acknowledgement (presumably he thought I was a student). Immediately I knew the notions were high on this one. Last night I was eavesdropping in the lobby, when I heard him reproach a non-EU student for having asked a simple question about homework. The admins in the programme office have confirmed that his arrogance is indeed unbridled. Linkedin declares him to be a college lecturer, rather a grand title for someone who teaches book-keeping to 15 people.

I can't stand people like this. This isn't a university. A lot of the class are mothers and fathers, some of them returning to education. It boils my blood to think of them being condescended to by that magnificent twerp. I hope he's reading this.

Brilliant. Has he sewn tweed patches into a leather jacket and ruined two perfectly good jackets yet?

"Can't stop now. Iiiiiive got a class to teach"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

To the man in halfords this morning who gave a clearly 17/18 year old female employee a condescending hard time because the website wouldn't load on his phone and he had to get off his arse and visit

Sir, you are my tosser of the day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭BabyE

People who start to freak out when out in a public area(for example the beach, nature trails) and act as if a ****ing jaguar is approaching when your dog gets in their space. **** off back indoors, you are clearly not able for the outside world. When I'm in an estate or neighborhood I will never let the dog off the lead but in a wide open natural area, it is fair game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

Anybody associated with the Anti Austerity Alliance , People Before Profit or Sinn Fein (IRA) , basically anybody who blames the nameless "Elite" for all their ill's is a total whinge bag and a w*nker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

The nameless elite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,132 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

People who use the phrase "Sinn Fein (IRA)"

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

Workmen who turn up without their tools and want to borrow mine - "Wouldja have a Philips screwdriver… a hammer… a paintbrush… a hoover…?" What kind of a gom are you that you're not carrying the tools of your profession?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

BabyE wrote: »
    When I'm in an estate or neighborhood I will never let the dog off the lead but in a wide open natural area, it is fair game.

No, it's not. I'm fed up of dogs jumping up on me or being aggressive in nature parks or on beaches. Even with the large signs all over the place in parks about having dogs on a lead, the amount of dog owners who do not leash their dogs in these places is mind boggling. It is very inconsiderate and definitely a sign that the person is a tosser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

People who start to freak out when out in a public area(for example the beach, nature trails) and act as if a ****ing jaguar is approaching when your dog gets in their space. **** off back indoors, you are clearly not able for the outside world. When I'm in an estate or neighborhood I will never let the dog off the lead but in a wide open natural area, it is fair game.

This.

I was walking my dog down along a canal that is well known for dog walkers. A woman coming the opposite way stopped walking and stood to the side frozen to the spot about 40 yards before I even got near her. The dog was in no way behaving in an aggressive manner. Total overreaction and I got a stare of scorn when I walked by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,251 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Hot Topic: People who don't clean up after themselves in fat-food restaurants and then try to justify it by claiming it's about making sure the staff won't be put out of jobs and ensuring the table gets a good sanitary wipe down afterwards.

I'm sure laziness, bad manners and a sense of entitlement has nothing to do with it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Anyone like the fella on Dublin Bus 75 in the morning going towards The Square, with a pure GLUM look on his face even though he has a seat.
    ......Well the other day he got his just desserts for his miserable expression. This particular 75 we were on, stopped to take on the passengers from another 75 at Old Bawn so the other bus driver could go off. Then he looks twice as glum. Good lad yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,424 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

5rtytry56 wrote: »
    Anyone like the fella on Dublin Bus 75 in the morning going towards The Square, with a pure GLUM look on his face even though he has a seat.
    ......Well the other day he got his just desserts for his miserable expression. This particular 75 we were on, stopped to take on the passengers from another 75 at Old Bawn so the other bus driver could go off. Then he looks twice as glum. Good lad yourself.

Bus wanker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

People who talk about other people and slag them off often to try and get a laugh behind their backs. Fcuking cannot stand this at all. Used to work with people like this who would constantly be bitching about colleagues on lunch breaks etc. If a person isn't there to defend themselves they should not be slagged off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wardides

Some people have a fear of dogs. It doesn't happen that often, but when it does maybe just have the decency to call your dog in towards you?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Chuchote wrote: »
    Workmen who turn up without their tools and want to borrow mine - "Wouldja have a Philips screwdriver…"
    The only thing worse is when you know that the wretch doesn't know the difference between it and a Posidrive and not be content until they've blunted the tip and stripped off the head of the screw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

People who are always trying to get cigarettes or tobacco off people on nights out, not a smoker myself but if i was i'd tell them to fcuk right off, Fags are expensive buy your own if you want to smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

NufcNavan wrote: »
    This.

I was walking my dog down along a canal that is well known for dog walkers. A woman coming the opposite way stopped walking and stood to the side frozen to the spot about 40 yards before I even got near her. The dog was in no way behaving in an aggressive manner. Total overreaction and I got a stare of scorn when I walked by.
    I love dogs, but having been bitten as a kid, I'm a bit nervous around unfamiliar dogs. It's worse if they're agressive, but I tense up a bit even if they're utterly disinterested in me. It's not a rational thing; in fact I generally can reduce it significantly by conscious effort once I notice it. If I ever meet you, and you judge me for it, I'm pretty sure I'm not the wanker in that scenario.

People who walk their dogs off-lead where there are sheep or cattle. Even the nicest dog can get excited and want to give them a chase - and the effect is often that pregnant ewes will abort; I even saw a poor ewe with a dead lamb hanging out of her one day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Rugby fans who never played or know any basics of the sport
    All the fake marketing with mottos etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

bigpink wrote: »
    Rugby fans who never played or know any basics of the sport
    All the fake marketing with mottos etc

And to add to this, bandwagoners

Shannon757 wrote: »
    And yo ads to this, bandwagoners

Not hardcore rugby fan but know the basics went woth father alot to club games.
    Look at anthony foleys death all the idiots it brought out
    Media at his funeral with videos and pictures of the mourners.poor taste

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

I wasn't talking about you, I meant the people you were talking about who don't have a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

The whole Anthony Foley thing was unseemly, totally over the top, gorging. Just awful.

Ah stop it bought out every wanker and hanger on in limerick.
    There was a drive past of thomond park cnuts putting it up on facebook taking vids n pics
    Professional.photograhers taking pics to get hits and likes on there pages with artistic ahots of the hearse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

They have a Boards.ie account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,113 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

tomofson wrote: »
    They have a Boards.ie account.

*faps furiously in agreement*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭BabyE

wardides wrote: »
    Some people have a fear of dogs. It doesn't happen that often, but when it does maybe just have the decency to call your dog in towards you?

I suppose but it's not those types that annoy me, judging my body language I'll shout at the dog to 'get back here' or 'get away' but you know when some old bag just sees the dog as a nuisance and seems appalled that it would be in her vicinity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭JimmyTClarke

People who proceed to pull their debit cards out of the card reader before the transaction is complete (thereby temporarily freezing the system and having to start the transaction all over again). If they bothered to look at the screen or follow simple instructions, they would notice it says 'DO NOT REMOVE CARD', it says that for a reason.

Theres a facebook page now set up by the son and family and i know they mean well but they need to grieve and let the shock in.The media also need to stop reporting on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,045 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

everlast75 wrote: »
    People who use the phrase "Sinn Fein (IRA)"

Too right. They really should know the correct term is Sinn Fein/IRA...

Not your ornery onager