Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I is.

I hope your not a English teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

*you're. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

GvidoR wrote:
    You don't teach English, do you?

Was waiting for them responses! No thank god.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Have a deposit down on car for oh finally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Stheno wrote:

Spill the beans!

GvidoR wrote: »
    *you're. ;)

Damn you GvidoR.

It's bad when a Latvian is correcting you on English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Stheno wrote: »

Anything nice ?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

2004 c180 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,547 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Lads my elfow tag has never worked since I got it a week ago. Can't use the easy barriers.

Any ideas before I ring them in the morning?

Is it positioned correctly on the screen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

The car was in the wrong drove straight out in front of him. Imo hopefully the driver is convicted of driving without due care and attention.

Yeah, but he had ample time to do something about it. It's a push bike, not a 10 tonne lorry he's driving. If I crashed into every driver that was wrong and drove straight out infront of me, I'd never be able to afford insurance!

I just think it's hilarious he sacrificed not crashing so he could shout at someone.
    colm_mcm wrote: »
    I get cars driving out in front of me when I'm driving, I tend to stop so I don't crash into them.
    I know the car is totally in the wrong, but I can't help thinking the cyclist could have anticipated what the other driver was going to do or what the driver might have done.
    Cyclists often travel as fast as or faster than cars, but from watching a lot of cyclist videos, some of them seem to compound bad driving by not reacting to it, and invariably end up in a bad situation, usually followed by roaring out the reg number of the car, then following the car and giving out.

On the other hand, motorists are idiots a lot of the time.

It seems like cyclists with cameras stuck all over them like a hollywood porn star are actually more likely to put themselves in dangerous situations and intentionally NOT react to hazards, so they can post the footage online and have a little circlejerk whinge about drivers. It's like all common sense goes out the window because you've got a camera stuck on you so nothing you do is wrong and you have da evidence!

For the most vulnerable group of road users, they certainly don't act like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Is it positioned correctly on the screen?

There was a old tag holder there from when I bought it. Its positioned right where it should be I'd say, right under the rear view mirror.

Have you checked your account is set up right?

Did you read the instructions?
    I put mine behind the mirror and had to move it lower as it wasn't picking it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Damn you GvidoR.

It's bad when a Latvian is correcting you on English.

??? Never picked up on that I have to say!!!

I was joking!

Did you read the instructions?
    I put mine behind the mirror and had to move it lower as it wasn't picking it up.

Yea I might have an athermic windscreen but Google doesn't confirm. Kinda assumed the previous owner had it working with the old holder in place.

What car is it?

2003 Citroen C5

Aha does it work on any toll apart from the m50?

Stheno wrote: »
    Aha does it work on any toll apart from the m50?

Nope.

Eflow wrote to me pretty much straight away and said thst they knew I had tried to go through toll bridges but my tag didn't work first time and here is another tag holder and instructions on where to put it

I notice the Avensis diesel is only 112bhp now. It's like 2000 again! (Only the car is heavier)

It seems to be €1000 more than when it was 2.0 130bhp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

I notice the Avensis diesel is only 112bhp now. It's like 2000 again! (Only the car is heavier)

It seems to be €1000 more than when it was 2.0 130bhp

I thought it was 125 unicorns under the bonnet...?

I think it might be 127 which is 130ps, so I'll meet you in the middle at 130 German unicorns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

It's not VTEC, therefore 0 unicorns. :P

Bb3QgYCIMAA4kBI.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Dartz

Good stuff, isnt it recommended you give it a good high rev drive every drive for the health of the engine? I have been looking into buying an RX-7 before they are uninsurable but the amount of TLC seems too much for me.

They're not that bad. Just keep an eye on it and you'll be grand.

Engine loves having the bollox raped out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Dartz wrote: »
    They're not that bad. Just keep an eye on it and you'll be grand.

Engine loves having the bollox raped out of it.

I heard,

you must wait 5 minutes letting the engine Idle before switching it off otherwise it will flood.

Must add Octane booster.

Must rev the bollex out of it every day to blast out carbon deposits.

Must get an engine rebuild every 80,000 miles.

Must check engine oil levels once a week.

Try to find a mechanic who knows his way around a Rotary.

Should think about changing the complex twin turbo set up to a single turbo.

Did I miss anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

GvidoR wrote: »
    It's not VTEC, therefore 0 unicorns. :P

Thats unicorn flatulence you're thinking of. I'm merely referring to the actual unicorn species ie piebald horses with stolen garda traffic cones jiffy-tex'd to their foreheads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Dartz

I've never flooded mine. This is usually s symptom of start, ignition or compression fail.

No need for an octane booster. A little 2-stroke oil in the fuel helps, but the engine should inject enough oil anyway to keep running.

Yes. But, on the other hand, it's more efficient the faster it revs. It really doesn't give a **** about RPM. No valvetrain parasitic losses and the like.

**** happens. No worse than a cambelt job.

Should do this anyway, no matter what car you own.

They're well known. And a fairly simple engine to own at home.

Yes. RX8's tend to spin the rear stationary gear bearing - **** happens. , and there's a growing belief that most engine failures are actually fuel-pump failures causing high RPM lean running, detonation and shattered seals. The RX8 engine is basically a 1973 engine design tuned to make twice its stock NA bhp. Do the same to a 1973 Civic and see what happens.