Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Changing terminology in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,520 ✭✭✭cml387

Patww79 wrote: »

And here you are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

Banjoxed wrote: »
    In the dim and distant past (1980s), our Police Service's finest were referred to as either "Guards" or "Gardaí".

Now, our fine young hipsters refer to something called "gards".

*shakes stick*

Gardaí or Garda is Irish language its been English-ified now to Guards or Gards, :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

selous wrote: »
    How about the word "amn't" which is used in Ireland, and scorned upon, but yet "aint" isn't, amn't IS short for am not, but what is aint short for??

I'm sure anyone likely to scorn the former is just as likely to scorn the latter.

Eason =
    Easons =
    Eason's books/restaurant/deals, etc (i.e. the books etc belonging to Eason & Co) =

Tesco=
    Tescos =
    Tesco's books/café/deals, etc =

Aldi =
    Aldis =
    Aldi's books/café/deals, etc =

And so on. Not knowing how to use an apostrophe correctly is the sort of basic mistake which will get a job application thrown in the bin. Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,712 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Easons implies that there is more than one Eason (which there is, Eason & Sons) like socks etc no need for the apostrophe.

It doesn't bother me either way; I don't shop at Tesco (never saw the need for a plural) and it's always been Lidl and Aldi (no plurals either)

How about the word "amn't" which is used in Ireland, and scorned upon, but yet "aint" isn't, amn't IS short for am not, but what is aint short for??

It's always been a mystery to me why "amn't" is non-standard but "aren't" is standard. I am not, but you aren't. There doesn't appear to be much consistency. Nevertheless, "amn't" is recorded in English since at least 1618, and is recognised as a common contraction in Ireland and Scotland by most if not all English dictionaries, including the OED: "Definition of amn't in English: contraction Am not. (chiefly Scottish & Irish)"

"I'm right, aren't I?" sounds very, very wrong to my ear, even though it is standard English. Then again, it will be a cold day in Hell before most Irish people would say formal things like "I should like to thank", as opposed to "I would like to thank" (In British English: I should, but you/he/she/they would; I shall, but you/he/she/they will)

Standard English ≠ good English.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

Their not solicitors anymore, their lawyers... OMG, this one gets me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

cml387 wrote: »
    Apparently we now have a thing called "Transport for Ireland".

Shamelessly copied from Transport For London, TFL is a government body that looks after the transport needs of London, managing buses, Underground and Overground.

TFI is a sticker on the side of a bus.

The English language. Shamelessly copied from England.

I shall now revert to mellifluous Irish.

Cat. Seo é Cat.

Wow...so amn't is good and ain't isn't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,599 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

sugarman wrote:
    Aldi's, lidl's, Eason's, Tesco's... NOW THAT is what really annoys me

Noooo. Silly moo. It's called Tesco's because it's owned by Mr and Mrs Tesco.

Wow...so amn't is good and ain't isn't!

Amn't is perfectly good Hiberno-English. Nothing wrong with that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Thespoofer wrote: »
    Their not solicitors anymore, their lawyers... OMG, this one gets me.

Grammar a five-year-old would be ashamed of gets you?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

Grammar a five-year-old would be ashamed of gets you?

Meh ..

Totes devo, eh lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭agent graves

People calling their other half "bae" instead of babe... lazy b*stards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,371 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Buns. OK? They're buns. Not cup cakes.

Just. Fancy. Feckin'. Buns.

:mad:

I am sure there are loads more examples of new terminology that replace older words, that were doing a fine job in the first place!

I am sure you are right :)

* if anyone has a video of "Oleary and the Bards" singing this song - I would very much appreciate the link.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Je suis tres mal

Amn't is perfectly good Hiberno-English. Nothing wrong with that..

Hiberno-English is nothing but a bastardization of an actual language commonly referred to as "English".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Hiberno-English is nothing but a bastardization of an actual language commonly referred to as "English".

Which has no real standard. France has a body to enforce these things. English hasn't.

Eason =
    Easons =
    Eason's books/restaurant/deals, etc (i.e. the books etc belonging to Eason & Co) =

Tesco=
    Tescos =
    Tesco's books/café/deals, etc =

Aldi =
    Aldis =
    Aldi's books/café/deals, etc =

And so on. Not knowing how to use an apostrophe correctly is the sort of basic mistake which will get a job application thrown in the bin. Seriously.

I bet there are people employed in Tesco who call it Tescos, even in their CV.

It's always been a mystery to me why "amn't" is non-standard but "aren't" is standard. I am not, but you aren't. There doesn't appear to be much consistency. Nevertheless, "amn't" is recorded in English since at least 1618, and is recognised as a common contraction in Ireland and Scotland by most if not all English dictionaries, including the OED: "Definition of amn't in English: contraction Am not. (chiefly Scottish & Irish)"

"I'm right, aren't I?" sounds very, very wrong to my ear, even though it is standard English. Then again, it will be a cold day in Hell before most Irish people would say formal things like "I should like to thank", as opposed to "I would like to thank" (In British English: I should, but you/he/she/they would; I shall, but you/he/she/they will)

Standard English ≠ good English.

I don't think that's the distinction. Or the only distinction. Shall is a hope to do something, will is a certainty of something. In British English. Shall is applied to humans or persons. Will to animate objects. The sun will rise and I shall depart.

American English is like here, shall is rare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Gardaí or Garda is Irish language its been English-ified now to Guards or Gards, :mad:

FFS they have the same etymology. Do you think it's just coincidental that garda and guard sound almost exactly the same and have roughly the same meaning?

Mind you, that goes for a lotttt of Irish vocab.

While on the subject I find "Eason's" grand, but "Tesco's" terrible (maybe that's totally peculiar to me) :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,599 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

endacl wrote:
    Buns. OK? They're buns. Not cup cakes.

Just. Fancy. Feckin'. Buns.

I don't know if I agree with that.

1 they are fancy buns. 'Cup cakes' qualifies them as the fancy version.

2 Cup Cakes makes better use of illiteration while still being descriptive.

Buns is neither descriptive nor pleasing to the ear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,597 ✭✭✭brevity

GO TEAM IRELAND'S!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I bet there are people employed in Tesco who call it Tescos, even in their CV.
    on this very forum
    axer wrote: »

I am just fixing up my CV and I have in it that I worked in Tescos. I cant remember what my job title was there and im sure someone here must have an idea.
    1 they are fancy buns. 'Cup cakes' qualifies them as the fancy version.
    It was always fairy cakes when I was growing up, buns could be bread or cakes, needs more info.
    brevity wrote: »
    GO TEAM IRELAND'S!!!
    Sponsored by Easons's & Sons

Ah, shame you can't therefore appreciate the mingled frustration and accuracy of a phrase describing a broken down car from the perspective of the stranded driver;

"The fukkin' fukker is ****ed". One word, a noun, adjective and verb all in one. Pure feckin' poetry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

While on the subject I find "Eason's" grand, but "Tesco's" terrible (maybe that's totally peculiar to me) :confused:

Its not just you. Eason's = grand. Tesco's = slightly irritating.
    FFS they have the same etymology. Do you think it's just coincidental that garda and guard sound almost exactly the same and have roughly the same meaning?

I can't hear any difference in the pronunciation of 'Gard' and 'Guard'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Ant695

Moro became boost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

...and English is a bastardisation of Frisian.

As far as I know An Garda Siochana is Irish for Peace Protector or Protector (guardian) of Peace,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

...and English is a bastardisation of Frisian.
    Enthusiastically humping French for all its vocabulary.

The term "Sports tourer" in cars for an Estate,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Buns are things you use to make a burger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

The term "Sports tourer" in cars for an Estate,

Which irish car manufacturer started that?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Tesco's
    Is the most annoying Oirishism of them all.

No, a lot of English people call it Tescos. You'll often hear "Asda's" despite no S in that either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

mikhail wrote: »
    Enthusiastically humping French for all its vocabulary.

The Normans made a right old mess of that English language alright!

Which irish car manufacturer started that?

Didn't say it was an Irish car manufacturer (??), just a terminology used.

http://www.carsireland.ie/detail.php?ad_id=1317534&r=s.php%3Ff1%3Dsports+tourer%26g%3D0

An Astra estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Marks and Spencers..... it's just Spencer

Takeout.... it's a takeaway

• Registered Users Posts: 707 ✭✭✭Bayberry

lertsnim wrote: »
    It was a dark day when Marathon changed to Snickers
    Some handed me packet of Starburst the other day, and they were puzzled when I said "Opal Fruits, made to make your mouth water!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

I heard someone refer to The Emergency as World War 2 the other day.

Just shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

I was listening to the Irish nine o'clock news yesterday and I mentioned the usage of "Team Ireland" to Mr A. I thought that was a new use of the language for Irish TV.

When I was growing up my mother baked buns, queen cakes or fairy cakes, the latter two might not be politically correct these days. Buns and burgers weren't really food fare in Kerry in the 1970's. Cupcakes is an American use of the word for buns, I think, but correct me if I am wrong.

Tarts were either either of the apple or rhubarb variety.

I've noticed the usage of takeout versus takeaway lately too.

Language is language and it evolves.

• Registered Users Posts: 707 ✭✭✭Bayberry

sugarman wrote: »
    Aldi's
    Not just an Irishism. Aldi have stores in the US, and I have heard it called Aldi's there (by Americans).

For the apostrophe obsessed, the New York based grocery chain Wegmans has a FAQ about the apostrophe that they don't have in their name!

As far back as I can remember (I'm 29 so longer than some, not as long as others) buns were always savoury unless otherwise specified (hot cross bun, cinnamon bun, etc). 'Cupcakes' or whatever you want to call them were typically called fairy cakes, or as someone above said, even queen cakes. Christ, even the odd time cup cakes. But a bun for me has always been something you put a burger in between, or something closer to a bap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭tigerboon

Ah, shame you can't therefore appreciate the mingled frustration and accuracy of a phrase describing a broken down car from the perspective of the stranded driver;

"The fukkin' fukker is ****ed". One word, a noun, adjective and verb all in one. Pure feckin' poetry.

Read once General Montgomery, when broken down in the desert, asked his driver how it was looking. The reply " the fukkin fukker's fukkin fukked". Article said the driver was Irish

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

A bun is the sweet type.

A burger bun is what you put a burger n.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

Go into any shop and ask where the buns are, I'm almost certain you will be sent to confectionery and not to the burger buns!

ComfortKid wrote: »
    A bun is the sweet type.

A burger bun is what you put a burger n.
    Then a burger bun is not a bun at all. And what would the difference be between a bun and cake, then?