Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

keep going wrote: »
    Is it my imagination or arecows bulling mad

Ya, thought I was imagining things as well. Definitely a lot of early activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,787 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ya, thought I was imagining things as well. Definitely a lot of early activity.

Same here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Cows here are even bulling before they calve for some reason tjis year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

There's too much milk in the world for 2 years, NZ farmers are on their knees and what do we decide to do? Cut production at the cost of probably new entrants/expanded farms.. I can see the day when Fonterra milk is in the local Lidl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Dawggone wrote: »
    It will need a major reverse of policy from the Ag establishment, but you're correct, there are major savings to be made by embracing the use of old time farming methods coupled with modern research.

Dare I say the cussword...clover?

Feck clover . How about the auld fella next door that doesn't use any fertiliser. .... he should be your best friend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

keep going wrote: »
    Is it my imagination or arecows bulling mad

Neighbour said the same to me today. In my case 2 of em were autumn calver's I didn't serve in autumn the rest were spring. I took a chance on the autumn side and dropped the number I'll have in calf back to 28 or so in the hope I'll fill most of the winter volume with Nov and Feb milk and supply the bare minimum for Dec and jan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

As much as Ireland isn't NZ, it isn't France either.

True.

We don't have the work ethic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

There's a lot of negative media coming out of France and Germany about the extra production coming from IRL, DK, UK, BE and NL. Rumblings about enforcing nitrate regs on those countries...
    There is a lot of talk also that the Irish Ag dept did not show up at a meeting about the scheme proposed by FR and DE.

The confidence of the French that their proposals will be considered comes from the fact that the Germans have rowed in behind them.

What happens to Belview if this becomes law? Irexit along with Brexit?
    :):)

Edit. "We will build a wall around Ireland, and the Irish will pay for it!"...

I think this is a purely french proposal. Anyways Germany pumpped out as much extra milk as anybody.

I think 10c is coming from when Friesland Campina paid farmers last year to reduce production in Holland but that was because one of their driers packed in around this time last year. Cant see 10c being payed out here

Unlikely to get passed at European level but apparently if individual counties want to do it they can fire ahead.

Balic Countries would love to see it more than anyone. they are getting something like 16c/l at the moment. Russians are stillgetting the milk but buying through Belarus who are buying at a discount and then sending it on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Got out early to put this going, only to be told by OH that the hunt are coming through later...

Using rain guns and sprinklers for soiled water is illegal here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Got out early to put this going, only to be told by OH that the hunt are coming through later...

Do you have to move it much dawg? How many litres per hour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,717 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Fook the hunt I'd be more worried about those power lines which look very close !!!

Going with second round of fertliser late next week .2.5 of 18 6 12 everywhere .was thinking of using the 18s with 5% sulphur .opinions please is it too early for s ???.id normally start sulphur application on round 3 in April

Lads dry ground here is still seriously soft, with covers after melting away. Only out by day with damage being done. Will get thru ground fast enough with cows so may buffer when grazing silage ground at end of rotation if things are slow to pick up. Depending on silage stocks left this will delay closing but i may just cut after 5 weeks to keep quality and second cut shouldnt be delayed. Could do with heat and a breeze to dry things out. Due to lack of slurry out will go 2 bags of 18 6 12 when it arrives next wk and follow with urea

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Going with second round of fertliser late next week .2.5 of 18 6 12 everywhere .was thinking of using the 18s with 5% sulphur .opinions please is it too early for s ???.id normally start sulphur application on round 3 in April

Well if you're on your second round of fert and growth has been rel slow there may be more N in the ground than normal and the S helps the plant convert this to true protein so may be no harm to go this round with it?

Milked out wrote: »
    Well if you're on your second round of fert and growth has been rel slow there may be more N in the ground than normal and the S helps the plant convert this to true protein so may be no harm to go this round with it?

That's what I'm thinking ,bag of urea already out and most of grazed ground has already got 2.5 to 3 k gallons slurry as well at this stage.regrowths really jumped on grazed ground the last 4 days with dry weather ,sun and bit of kindness in weather .some transformation in my ground this week ,7 days ago it was heavy and wouldn't of took a tanker without doing some damage now I could lib a 3 k gallon tank out on grazed paddocks and do no damage with a decent driver on board

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Do you have to move it much dawg? How many litres per hour?

You just pull out the gun 450m and it pulls itself back in at 33m/hr.
    It spreads it 75m wide and is applying 35mm of 'water'.

Fook the hunt I'd be more worried about those power lines which look very close !!!

The hunt have mobile phones and the water police have a confidential line...

Power lines are no problem, it sizzles off the water.

Milked out wrote: »

I'm going with 40units/acre of Sulphur across all cereals and grazing/silage ground next week.
    I bought a few ton of 24%N + 58%S last week at €151/ton.
    The weather is very drying now with an easterly wind and 18*. If the Sulphur isn't washed in, would it be ok to graze with milking cows?

I'm going with 40units/acre of Sulphur across all cereals and grazing/silage ground next week.
    The weather is very drying now with an easterly wind and 18*. If the Sulphur isn't washed in, would it be ok to graze with milking cows?

I'd have major concerns going with that level of s on grazing ground .embryo loss ,and locking up vital trace elements and minerals line copper etc .a little and offer approach with s here in late spring early summer with a max of 25 units out before June

I'd agree with mj, only go with ferts with 5 or 7 % s here on grazing ground and would use asn which is 15% s on silage ground only.

I'd have major concerns going with that level of s on grazing ground .embryo loss ,and locking up vital trace elements and minerals line copper etc .a little and offer approach with s here in late spring early summer with a max of 25 units out before June

Little and often is not going to happen Mahoney. It's going to get it all in one go. Should I cut it back to 25units?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭orm0nd

we went with 27.2.5.5.+S yesterday , had a couple of pallets left over since last year,

'twas after spreading I thought was it too early?, hadn't much choice yesterday anyhow, was all we had.

got a flier from Liffeys about some new fert, claiming to cut down N losses, didn't really read it , still in jeep

Little and often is not going to happen Mahoney. It's going to get it all in one go. Should I cut it back to 25units?

If twas me that's what I'd do ,58% s in one go with cows grazing could lead to a lot of issues I think

First round grazing to be finished by Paddys day.
    First real spring day today with 18degrees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Cows looking well there Dwag, is that a Limo bull in the middle of them. You'll be busy for Christmas.

Yes. Calve cows for 10months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

No wonder you're giving out about dirty cows.
    You're cows are spotless. Credit to ya.:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

The east wind you are very welcome, the only thing that will dry out heavy ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭johnny122

Lads. Is it too dry for urea do he think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

johnny122 wrote: »
    Lads. Is it too dry for urea do he think?

Funny fcuker