Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

when culchies get mixed up...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Base price wrote: »
    When I read your post I couldn't stop smiling.
    Early eighties I was driving back to NCD in my red escort car from my Uncle's place in Longford at about 3am. I had swapped two BF heifers for two BWH heifers and a female kid goat thrown in for luck.
    We put the back seat down to give the calves more room, bedded it and trussed the calves. Simple trussing - tie the two hind legs together with a bit of baler twine, draw them up to the chest and tie a slip knot around the neck. The kid was also trussed but had pride of place on the passenger seat beside me. Before I made it to B'duff both calves had managed to undo the trusses and were standing in the back of the car looking out between the front seats. All was fine until I got to the Dublin side of Virginia (beyond Lakelands, Virginia Transport and the Church) where the road is straight.
    There was a serious check point in place with Garda and Army lads with guns on the look out for Don Tidey who had been kidnapped at the time. As I approached the checkpoint I eased off and at the same time tried to slap the two calves on the nose to try and get them to move to the back of the car, not a chance.
    When I stopped the feckin kid started to bleat when she saw the light from the Garda's torch shining on the windscreen which in turn started the calves off. The Garda came around to my side, shone the flashlight on me, the two bawling white heads beside me and the kid on the passanger seat and said "I don't want to know, Goodnight and Safe Journey"
    Back in the 80's we were coming home after buying sheeting for a new shed and we stopped off in a small rural pub for a quick pint on the way home. There was a vw golf parked outside with the engine running and two sheep in the back. When we went in we knew who owned them he was a man from our parish that was very fond of the drink, we were told after that at closing time the car was still running and the sheep still inside. If it happened today the man would nearly be arrested.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Early eighties I was driving back to NCD in my red escort car from my Uncle's place in Longford at about 3am. I had swapped two BF heifers for two BWH heifers and a female kid goat thrown in for luck.
    We put the back seat down to give the calves more room, bedded it and trussed the calves. Simple trussing - tie the two hind legs together with a bit of baler twine, draw them up to the chest and tie a slip knot around the neck. The kid was also trussed but had pride of place on the passenger seat beside me. Before I made it to B'duff both calves had managed to undo the trusses and were standing in the back of the car looking out between the front seats. All was fine until I got to the Dublin side of Virginia (beyond Lakelands, Virginia Transport and the Church) where the road is straight.
    There was a serious check point in place with Garda and Army lads with guns on the look out for Don Tidey who had been kidnapped at the time. As I approached the checkpoint I eased off and at the same time tried to slap the two calves on the nose to try and get them to move to the back of the car, not a chance.
    When I stopped the feckin kid started to bleat when she saw the light from the Garda's torch shining on the windscreen which in turn started the calves off. The Garda came around to my side, shone the flashlight on me, the two bawling white heads beside me and the kid on the passanger seat and said "I don't want to know, Goodnight and Safe Journey"

I had just got engaged to herself (we'll still to gether :) ) about this time .
    she was working in Dublin.

This was before the M7 west or any by passes

left rathgar about 2.am, was waved on through a check point , came to another check point out side Portlaoise & Guard asked where I was coming from?

Told him after visiting g/f in Dublin, He replied ..You must be in an awful hurry to get away from her, we'll monitoring movements to night & your're the fastest to come through yet.

Told me to slow down a bit and drive on

For all he knew you could have had Don Tidey tied up in the boot :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Sam Kade wrote: »
    For all he knew you could have had Don Tidey tied up in the boot :D

Now we know how to kidnap someone :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,296 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Was in US with a Donegal lad way back ordering a meal in a steakhouse. When finished ordering the waitress asked him
    'Would you like a Super Salad with that?'
    'Oh Aye' says he.
    She asks again 'Super Salad??'
    'Aye' he says looking at her puzzled.
    'Do you want SOUP or SALAD????'
    'Oh sorry, a salad please.'
    'And what dressing would you like?'
    'Huh????'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 43 Realist2

was with me mate who was from the countryside, we went up to dublin, he was around 23, we got a taxi, i paid the fare, which was 20 quid and he hands the guy another 20 quid, thinking it was per person, made me laugh

• Registered Users Posts: 18,480 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I think we've well balanced out the "Stick it to the silly townies" thread now folks :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 43 Realist2

2 lads from the country went to dublin and decided to go to a restaurant, the waitress came over and said can i help you, one of the men said could i have a quicky, the waitress said "what" and slapped him across the face, his friend said to him i think its pronounced quiche.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭ALANC81

Brian this thread has surpassed the townie tread by far I laughed out loud on a good few posts the parents must think I'm gone mad.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Am I the only one that keeps reading the title of this thread as 'when cubicles get mixed up'?:o

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Farmer Paddy went to the doctor , nearly 70 years of age & never been to the doc before, but his piles got so bad he had to succumb

Any how the doc prescribed suppositories & told Paddy to come in a week

"any improvement Paddy ? " asked the doc.

"not 1 bit " says Paddy " for all the good them yokes are doing I may as well have been sticking them up my ar$e"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

blue5000 wrote: »
    Am I the only one that keeps reading the title of this thread as 'when cubicles get mixed up'?:o

Nope. Me too.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Realist2 wrote: »
    2 lads from the country went to dublin and decided to go to a restaurant, the waitress came over and said can i help you, one of the men said could i have a quicky, the waitress said "what" and slapped him across the face, his friend said to him i think its pronounced quiche.

A fan of Brenda Grace are we?

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

had a bit of a get together with all the family and their partners etc for dinner

anyways all the women were kind of bunched together at one end of the table on about beauty stuff like makeup and all that stuff

one of them asked the other how do you get rid of ''whiteheads'' says she as one of them was a beautician

my auld fella pipes up and says '' ya slaughter them''

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭arctic8dave

First time in Amsterdam 7/8yrs ago with the lads. They landed on friday& I didn't get there till Saturday. Early flight from cork by the time I met the lads was starving.
    Few of lads went for grub with me. Didn't want to say during eating all theyhad was tea and cakes & the likes. Came out of place & felt like ****e & the lads in stitches. Breakfast of hash tea (lots of) and hash cakes!!!!!! Bastards!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

1st day in Boston ( and first time out of the country) many years ago with 2 friends. We got on a minibus to bring us from Boston to Cape Cod to where we would be working. Got on the packed bus with our luggage but there was only one seat free so one of the friends sat down. Myself and the other lad, Tom stood near the back wrecked, with our luggage and off we went. After alot of miles at the first stop the person beside my friend who was sitting down, got off. So the sitting friend shouts back, ,"Tom sit down" leaving me standing there on my own. P1ssed off I shouted down at both of them" what the Fcuk, am I black or something" ( and I'm not racist), .... to which everyone on the bus looked back at me horrified... It was only then I noticed that everyone on the bus were African American......then I realised what I had said. Ohhhhh the shame

Great ould story!
    Cape cod is full of African Americans allright!!

1st day in Boston ( and first time out of the country) many years ago with 2 friends. We got on a minibus to bring us from Boston to Cape Cod to where we would be working. Got on the packed bus with our luggage but there was only one seat free so one of the friends sat down. Myself and the other lad, Tom stood near the back wrecked, with our luggage and off we went. After alot of miles at the first stop the person beside my friend who was sitting down, got off. So the sitting friend shouts back, ,"Tom sit down" leaving me standing there on my own. P1ssed off I shouted down at both of them" what the Fcuk, am I black or something" ( and I'm not racist), .... to which everyone on the bus looked back at me horrified... It was only then I noticed that everyone on the bus were African American......then I realised what I had said. Ohhhhh the shame
    Hmmm, and while getting on the bus you never noticed it was full of blacks, they're pretty easy to spot from behind as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,157 ✭✭✭✭Base price

blue5000 wrote: »
    Damn you blue :D
    My brain is playing tricks on me and now I read "when cubicles get mixed up" :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Please Mods, never delete this thread. Have read some of the posts 3 or 4 times and it's funnier they are getting.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 caseyjones01

Years ago when myself and her indoors were working in Australia the people she worked for invited us over for a BBQ. He was a hospital consultant and she a barrister so they were well posh snd I was warned to be on best behaviour. Anyway after a few pints and all going well all sorts of food was produced and we were told to come sit at the table n to tuck in. Me either my greedy head on took a bit from every bowl in front of and started to lap it into me. 'Twas then I noticed an awful taste like perfume or soap. It reminded me of the soapy sweets from years ago so I tuck no heed and gave myself a second helping. It was then that herself got a chance to call me aside and tell me not to be making a show of her and to stop eating the po-per-ee. Didn't I think it was a big bowl of salad. She still slags me about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭sucklerlover

Was in Boston years ago with a gang of lads. One fella 'twas his first time on a plane and he's in his late forties. Went to a steakhouse and the waitress asked the lad did he want salad and French fries with his steak. I will he says and give me a heap of chips as well.

When my wife and I went on honeymoon to the canaries the hotel we stayed in had a long dark hallway to our room. A few times we were going or coming from the room the lights were on in the hallway but most of the time it was in darkness. My wife had to get her lighter to see where we were going but we couldn't figure out how the lights were on some of the time. After a few days of burning our fingers with the lighter we saw a big switch outside every door :o

When we went into the supermarket I had a plastic bag with the sun cream in my hand the woman that owned the shop came over to me and in bad English said lift the bag I was thinking what the fcuk does she want me to lift the bag for she kept repeating it and after a while I clicked as to what she was raving on about, leave the bag :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Went on holiday to France with my wife. Was quite surprised at some of the toilet facilities. I'd never seen a 'squat and drop' before. Also, some of the urinals were on the outside of the public toilets. There were just some small partitions coming out from the wall around the height of your mid-section that you stood into and shielded you while you did the necessary. Seemed all very 'care-free'.

One day walking along a promenade needed some facilities. Saw a longish three-sided building with the side open to the sea missing. The walls and floor were tiled and there were pipes coming down from the ceiling for flushing each urinal... just there were no urinals...presumed you aimed at the tiles and flushed when finished...

Did my business and pushed the button to flush..... and a stream of water went down the back of my shirt from the ceiling ....

Had to walk back through the streets of the town wearing a soaked shirt, feeling as if I was being stared at by everyone and was wearing a sign saying what I'd done.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

Sam Kade wrote: »
    When my wife and I went on honeymoon to the canaries the hotel we stayed in had a long dark hallway to our room. A few times we were going or coming from the room the lights were on in the hallway but most of the time it was in darkness. My wife had to get her lighter to see where we were going but we couldn't figure out how the lights were on some of the time. After a few days of burning our fingers with the lighter we saw a big switch outside every door :o
    As one does on a honeymoon :D

greysides wrote: »
    Went on holiday to France with my wife. Was quite surprised at some of the toilet facilities. I'd never seen a 'squat and drop' before. Also, some of the urinals were on the outside of the public toilets. There were just some small partitions coming out from the wall around the height of your mid-section that you stood into and shielded you while you did the necessary. Seemed all very 'care-free'.

One day walking along a promenade needed some facilities. Saw a longish three-sided building with the side open to the sea missing. The walls and floor were tiled and there were pipes coming down from the ceiling for flushing each urinal... just there were no urinals...presumed you aimed at the tiles and flushed when finished...

Did my business and pushed the button to flush..... and a stream of water went down the back of my shirt from the ceiling ....

Had to walk back through the streets of the town wearing a soaked shirt, feeling as if I was being stared at by everyone and was wearing a sign saying what I'd done.
    First time I visited France was on the back of a Cevam/CEJA (EU Young Farmers programme) in the early 80's to Paris & Bordeaux. I was really going to the Bordeaux region to check out BA stock :D
    Everything was going tickety boo until I travelled to the outer regions of Bordeaux and headed into the wild East and booked into a rural village hotel.
    The hoteliers were down to earth farming type people. In fact the husband was also the local boucher.
    However I had a major problem with the loo. There was an upside down colander type thingie in it. No matter how many times I flushed the toilet, the colander thingie never moved. Totally freaked me out as I felt that I couldn't do a "number 2" for fear of it getting caught in the contraption.
    For the best part of two days I held until I got back to Bordeaux. Ahh the relief :D
    To this day I don't know what the hell the upside/down colander was doing in the loo.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

A gang of us went to Spain on a youth exchange tour, first day was a trip to a forest park. Lunch was a huge 4' diameter paella cooked on an open fire, rice meat etc. with a Moroccan stirring away. We got served and sat down to eat, one of our lads yelled out 'A rat, a rat' and threw his lunch on the ground, turns out there was rabbit in the paella and he had the misfortune to get the head, with the two bug teeth facing him when he dug in. :D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Was telling friend about some of these stories.
    She told me that she was going with her elderly father to New York to see a son and their family. The man had never been in Dublin, never mind out of the country in his life. Was totally mesmerised by the whole experience - roads, airport etc etc. He was nodding at everyone or saying 'howya' to them. She sat him on window seat so he could look out and out of harms way, and she sat beside him. When some young one sits on aisle seat, he stretched out his arm to shake hands and says 'howya doing.....are you going to America as well'

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭welton john

A new doctor moved in to our locality a few years ago.One of his first out calls was to one of two cranky elderly bachelor's. Upon entering the house the conversation went something like this
    Doctor: hello Joe ,how are you?
    Joe: not too bad doctor.
    Doctor: How's mike?
    Joe: No bite, no sup,no sh1t with a week.How do you think he is!

• Registered Users Posts: 51,512 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Was telling friend about some of these stories.
    She told me that she was going with her elderly father to New York to see a son and their family. The man had never been in Dublin, never mind out of the country in his life. Was totally mesmerised by the whole experience - roads, airport etc etc. He was nodding at everyone or saying 'howya' to them. She sat him on window seat so he could look out and out of harms way, and she sat beside him. When some young one sits on aisle seat, he stretched out his arm to shake hands and says 'howya doing.....are you going to America as well'

The first time Dundalk qualified for Europe many years ago there was a meeting in a local pub to discuss attending the away leg.
    None of those present had even flown before. About 40 agreed to attend and set up rules regarding paying, passports etc. One of the organisers read out a list of rules regarding the trip. One of the rules was "no throwing empty bottles out the windows of the plane".

Donkeys years ago the sports were on in the parish one farmer that always put himself across as an intelligent man decided to get his fortune told by an old woman at the sports. She was able to tell him his life story from the day he was born, when he came out he told everyone outside that she knows her stuff. It turned out after that the old woman was a near neighbour of his dressed up beyond recognition :D