Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

when culchies get mixed up...

• 26-06-2015 11:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭

A culchie goes to London

A green Muckit went over to London about 15 years ago with a few friends. We were staying in a posh hotel, my sister who was working over there at the time had got us a great deal, and she came to meet us in the hotel bar. We were there a few hours at this stage and had put away a few gargles, when l decided to go back up to room 'for a minute' to bring down a present l had got for her as a way of saying thanks.

Anyways up l went in the lift, fumbled the card in the room door, got present and back into lift. Press G and down we go. Lift stops but the doors don't open. Ok nobody panic. Decide to go back up to floor l came from. Door opens. Hmm. Ok lets try going down again. Same thing. No doors open. Only l could hear the noise of people chatting. That's weird. This went on for a while. Up and Down in the lift like a yo yo.

Eventually while down at G level (AGAIN!!) l hear the hum of what sounds like a crowded lobby but coming from behind the doors of lift ....or is it? Hold on.... that noise seems to be coming from behind... a never. ...

I turn around to a packed hotel lobby. There were doors on the front AND back of the lift.....first time I had ever seen it!!!

Oh the shame!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

A culchie goes to Italy

Muckit is over on the fabulous island of Capri. Out for a rosemantic meal with herself and have more than our fair share of wine (its rude not to sample the local produce don't you know! :D)

Anyways we are sharing a minibus taxi home with a few locals. Our stop is up first and as l'm getting out l decide to practice my 'great' Italian by saying 'buonasera' - 'good evening.'

What l actually end up saying benown to myself is 'Buenos Aires' (capital of Argentina)

Herself still rips me over that one!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Were you wearing your 1988 Galway jersey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

A bit of a meet up of the lads was agreed for a Sat night.

But now that we're a bit older, we said we'd make some sort of effort, and go for dinner first. And acourse, not any restaurant would do, a fine seafood place was selected.
    Into the place, sat down, ordered some drinks, got the menu, all sorts of fish listed...
    One fish no one had heard of it before, so we said we'd ask the waiter. The conversation went something like...
    "Hello - can you tell us what kinda fish is chard?"
    "Its a vegetable Sir"
    "I'll have the steak please"

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,834 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Saw in various places, mostly AH threads on boards the term MILTF, hadn't a damn clue go I googled it one evening.. Serious quick shut down of browser with Mrs and kids in the same room :eek:

Twerking, TBH I just have no idea and no desire to google it.. :o
    I heard it on the radio used in the same sentance as Miley Cirus and just know it doesn't need to be in my understanding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭votuvant

A bit of a meet up of the lads was agreed for a Sat night.

But now that we're a bit older, we said we'd make some sort of effort, and go for dinner first. And acourse, not any restaurant would do, a fine seafood place was selected.
    Into the place, sat down, ordered some drinks, got the menu, all sorts of fish listed...
    One fish no one had heard of it before, so we said we'd ask the waiter. The conversation went something like...
    "Hello - can you tell us what kinda fish is chard?"
    "Its a vegetable Sir"
    "I'll have the steak please"

:(
    I've never heard of it before and had to Google it to see what it was.

This one happened to us back in the eighties when I was a young fella. We were going to London for a 1st cousins wedding. In the days before Ryanair flying was beyond the reach of small farmers from the whest so we got the eurobus to London.

Mam packed a couple of lunch boxes as well in case there was no food in England. When we got off the boat in Holyhead to get back on the bus our bus was in quarantine with sniffer dogs and security teams searching it. The troubles in the north were still in full swing so security was tight. Dad went over to one of the security guards and asked him what was the problem and he said a suspicious package had been left on the bus. A few minutes later one of our lunchboxes was discovered as the suspicious device. I can still feel the mortification of everyone looking at us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I was abroad a few years ago, in a resturant of an evening, there was several of us ordered steak of some description, I say some description because I cant speak spanish!
    This large platter of steak arrived out on the table, the lad beside me reached over and lifted up a bit, it was raw. In fact his words were something along the line " would ya look at this, that raw a lion would eat it". In the spirit of exotic dining he took to eat the raw meat........ He didn't see the waiteress behind him with some sort of a mini BBQ that she was gonna cook it with on the table. :D
    We still remind of about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

Muckit wrote: »
    A culchie goes to Italy

Muckit is over on the fabulous island of Capri. Out for a rosemantic meal with herself and have more than our fair share of wine (its rude not to sample the local produce don't you know! :D)

Anyways we are sharing a minibus taxi home with a few locals. Our stop is up first and as l'm getting out l decide to practice my 'great' Italian by saying 'buonasera' - 'good evening.'

What l actually end up saying benown to myself is 'Buenos Aires' (capital of Argentina)

Herself still rips me over that one!!!

Whenever I'm in Italy, quite a bit these days, I love it there. Just to annoy the future ex wife, whenever I enter a shop or a restaurant, I nod politely to the staff and in my best Italian, I say "Bon Jovi"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Good few years ago when I had hobbies (i.e. pre wife and kids) I was in a local golf society and we went up the country for the annual weekend away. Staying in a nice hotel and sharing with a good friend of mine. Checked in to the hotel and off up to the room. My mate decided he needed to go to the little boys room so of with him. Couple of minutes later the phone in the room rings and its one of the girls on reception wondering if we were ok. Thought it a bit odd but said that we were fine...Ok, she says, but the emergency alarm in the bathroom has been activated, are you sure everything is ok. Hang on a minute I said and put the phone down. Over to the bathroom door and asked yer man if he saw an orange cord hanging from the ceiling. Reply....'Yes, I pulled it but nothing happened.' Had to apologise (embarrasingly) to the girl on the phone...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

MajorMax wrote: »
    Whenever I'm in Italy, quite a bit these days, I love it there. Just to annoy the future ex wife, whenever I enter a shop or a restaurant, I nod politely to the staff and in my best Italian, I say "Bon Jovi"

When my brother takes his teenage family shopping in the city , he really hams it up for the locals in front of his children"look at the height of the houses", look at all the shiney lights"etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Charliebull

first time going to australia, 98 i think, was approaching customs in sydney and had a bag of dillisk in my hand for my uncle who loves the stuff

handed bag of dilisk to one of the lads and asked him to carry that for me , went through customs and we all waited for 3 hours at bar while the lad carrying the dillisk was checked, searched , grilled and nearly deported

them were the days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

first time going to australia, 98 i think, was approaching customs in sydney and had a bag of dillisk in my hand for my uncle who loves the stuff

handed bag of dilisk to one of the lads and asked him to carry that for me , went through customs and we all waited for 3 hours at bar while the lad carrying the dillisk was checked, searched , grilled and nearly deported

them were the days

Say he loved you for that

Reggie. wrote: »
    Say he loved you for that

oh, he has returned the favour several times over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

oh, he has returned the favour several times over

Get him to sign up here to share a flavour of them ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

1st day in Boston ( and first time out of the country) many years ago with 2 friends. We got on a minibus to bring us from Boston to Cape Cod to where we would be working. Got on the packed bus with our luggage but there was only one seat free so one of the friends sat down. Myself and the other lad, Tom stood near the back wrecked, with our luggage and off we went. After alot of miles at the first stop the person beside my friend who was sitting down, got off. So the sitting friend shouts back, ,"Tom sit down" leaving me standing there on my own. P1ssed off I shouted down at both of them" what the Fcuk, am I black or something" ( and I'm not racist), .... to which everyone on the bus looked back at me horrified... It was only then I noticed that everyone on the bus were African American......then I realised what I had said. Ohhhhh the shame

ganmo wrote: »
    Get him to sign up here to share a flavour of them ;)

Better left unsaid,
    he was a master of the poo tash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Was dispatched to collect my sister at summer holidays from her school. Pulled up to the front steps in my Opel Record diesel. All the giggling girls being collected by their yummy mummies in their nice cars.

Sister gave me the filthiest look but wouldn't please me to ask me to move the car. We loaded the car and all that was left was her bike. I put in the boot and pulled out the finest piece of baling twine I could find. Proceeded to tie as I would a load of bales..........she and her friends never forgot it so much so that at her hen last weekend she was presented with a full roll of blue twine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

A culchie goes to London

A green Muckit went over to London about 15 years ago with a few friends. We were staying in a posh hotel, my sister who was working over there at the time had got us a great deal, and she came to meet us in the hotel bar. We were there a few hours at this stage and had put away a few gargles, when l decided to go back up to room 'for a minute' to bring down a present l had got for her as a way of saying thanks.

Anyways up l went in the lift, fumbled the card in the room door, got present and back into lift. Press G and down we go. Lift stops but the doors don't open. Ok nobody panic. Decide to go back up to floor l came from. Door opens. Hmm. Ok lets try going down again. Same thing. No doors open. Only l could hear the noise of people chatting. That's weird. This went on for a while. Up and Down in the lift like a yo yo.

Eventually while down at G level (AGAIN!!) l hear the hum of what sounds like a crowded lobby but coming from behind the doors of lift ....or is it? Hold on.... that noise seems to be coming from behind... a never. ...

I turn around to a packed hotel lobby. There were doors on the front AND back of the lift.....first time I had ever seen it!!!

Oh the shame!!!!!

Post of the month. Jesus I'm still laughing at that 4 hrs later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Headed out in Galway one night years ago with a couple of lads. We pulled a couple of girls and thought all was sorted so headed into the toilets to get some protection. Stuck the pack in my pocket and forgot all about them. We decided we,d spoil them and brought them into abrekebabra, one of the girls asked for a smoke so I put my hand in my pocket and threw her over what I thought were the smokes, she sat grinning at me holding a box of johnnys. Needless to say I was the but end of all the jokes for the rest of the night.

Post of the month. Jesus I'm still laughing at that 4 hrs later

I showed to Mrs Fraxz and she actually cried laughing

Miname wrote: »
    Headed out in Galway one night years ago with a couple of lads. We pulled a couple of girls and thought all was sorted so headed into the toilets to get some protection. Stuck the pack in my pocket and forgot all about them. We decided we,d spoil them and brought them into abrekebabra, one of the girls asked for a smoke so I put my hand in my pocket and threw her over what I thought were the smokes, she sat grinning at me holding a box of johnnys. Needless to say I was the but end of all the jokes for the rest of the night.

Bet you got your oats though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

That aberakebra was poison, lucky ye were fit for anything after eating it .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I showed to Mrs Fraxz and she actually cried laughing

It's funny because its like something I would do myself with pints in me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Xaracatz

I'm only culchie on my mum's side, but this reminds me of my first trip to le France. Summoning up all my courage and the French that I had learned from an audio app on the way over, I got into a taxi and said:

"Bon ami (good friend). Can you take me to [x]?"

We never did become good friends after that either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

A culchie goes to London

Oh the shame!!!!!

There is one of those dual opening lifts at Heathrow too. I am with you on this. We all go in one way and turn around, as you do to await lift door opening. Nothing. Then my experience was the same as yours.

Great laugh though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Friend of mine landed in New York for the first time . While stuck in traffic on the way in from JFK he turned to his friends in the taxi and with a straight face commented"god there must be a match ".
    My sisters father in law in a restaurant one night couldn't understand why she was getting. " spuds and gravy" after the dinner when the waiter brought her down profiteroles in caramel sauce for desert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Was on a school trip,
    At the airport, a student of mine followed the gang to the coffee shop.
    Boy: "I suppose I'll have a coffee".
    Attendant: Americano, latte or cappuccino?
    Boy scratching his head: "I'll have a tea so"

Was on a school trip,
    At the airport, a student of mine followed the gang to the coffee shop.
    Boy: "I suppose I'll have a coffee".
    Attendant: Americano, latte or cappuccino?
    Boy scratching his head: "I'll have a tea so"

If he knew the difference, classic reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Was dispatched to collect my sister at summer holidays from her school. Pulled up to the front steps in my Opel Record diesel. All the giggling girls being collected by their yummy mummies in their nice cars.

Sister gave me the filthiest look but wouldn't please me to ask me to move the car. We loaded the car and all that was left was her bike. I put in the boot and pulled out the finest piece of baling twine I could find. Proceeded to tie as I would a load of bales..........she and her friends never forgot it so much so that at her hen last weekend she was presented with a full roll of blue twine.

My old fella had a lada with a very broken exhaust for a few years, the sister used to make him park up the end of the town when he was collecting her from school :D

Heading home one evening after rugby training when I was 16. Myself and townie friend went into a petrol station for a quick bite to eat. I went to the fridge section and picked up a pre made roll. At the checkout my friend asked me what I was doing with garlic bread. Badly needed the ground to open up at that stage. At least I was young enough to blame the mother for my culinary ignorance.

If he knew the difference, classic reply

Young fella didn't. His eyes were definitely opened that week.

This reminded my of a night spent in the Lemon Tree pub in Ruchmond after an Ire Eng rugby match. A crew of about 30 of us travelled all had met in Oz.

After a few visits to the men's I noticed they had flavoured condoms intrigued I investigated to discover curry flavour!!

Told the women but they wouldn't believe me asked them to come look they declined so nothing would do me but to vend some. Welli must have put in £20 and had every flavour except curry.

Came our with hands full of boxes went to the bar and told them in all seriousness that I couldn't get the curry ones out.

They ended themselves laughing with one telling me the machine was designed for tools like me. To be fair they gave me back my money but only after getting DJ to point me out...........bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭tomieen jones

Why I'm called tomieen !
    Few year ago in London went into a coffee shop the beautiful tanned blonde girl came to me and I in my best accent asked for a cappuccino
    " and sure I'll try one of those free wifi 's "
    that I saw advertised above the counter. Took her a few seconds to realise I wasn't joking but actually hadn't a clue about wifi and went hysterical telling the rest of the staff while I sat in the corner facing the wall burning my mouth trying to slug back the scalding coffee

Tomieen hits the big smoke
    Few year ago in London went into a coffee shop the beautiful tanned blonde girl came to me and I in my best accent asked for a cappuccino and " I'll try one of those free wifi 's "that I saw advertised above the counter. Took her a few seconds to realise I wasn't joking but actually hadn't a clue about wifi and went hysterical telling the rest of the staff while I sat in the corner facing the wall burning my mouth trying to slug back the scalding coffee

LMAO :):):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

I have a cousin living across the water he is awful ould fashioned and stuck in his ways. The type of fella who only eats steak. Anyways we were heading over there for my stag. He rang and told me to call to his fathers for a package before we left. 12 bloody kilos of kellys black pudding. There was 8 of us outside knock airport stuffing pudding into our hand luggage. Security people had a good laugh at as when they seen the 4inch foot long puddings. We were on the great pudding run not a stag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

A culchie goes to London

Oh the shame!!!!!

My first experience of that hapened a few of years when i was staying in a hotel. I had taken the stairs up to my room so my first experience of the lift was when I was when going back down to the lobby. I find the lift, push the button and when the doors open I see 3 people standing with their backs to me (they obviously new the score) It was a little bit un-nerving and I almost didn't get on.
    It was an awkard 10 seconds and I became convinced I was being had as part of live camera tv show. But then the doors opened and it all made sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,997 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Working construction in new york we were doing work on a complete building refurb. A new lad, just out , disappeared for a while while going to get tools downstairs. . I found him standing at the lift . When i asked if he was ok he said the lift wouldn't work . He really didnt know he had to press a button to call it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

A woman from the local village went with a group to London back in the 80's. The first morning they were having the breakfast she looked at the menu and asked for bacon and eggs and I'll have a few rashers as well if ye have them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,299 ✭✭✭orm0nd

had one of said opel record dsl which had seen better days b4 I acquired it (could'nt figure out why girls never came on a second date :mad: )

any how the back seat was nearly always removed , bought 2 fr heifer calves off a fellow & was transporting them home in the back of the car. This was in my R&R craze period & I had longish almost shoulder length hair , fecking calves started sucking my head & to pacify them held up a banana I had .

came to an armed check point with me driving with 1 hand & holding banana to calves with second . I honestly thought the soldier's gun was going to go off he was laughing so much , the guard wasn't too impressed & gave me a bit of a bollikin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

orm0nd wrote: »
    had one of said opel record dsl which had seen better days b4 I acquired it (could'nt figure out why girls never came on a second date :mad: )

any how the back seat was nearly always removed , bought 2 fr heifer calves off a fellow & was transporting them home in the back of the car. This was in my R&R craze period & I had longish almost shoulder length hair , fecking calves started sucking my head & to pacify them held up a banana I had .

came to an armed check point with me driving with 1 hand & holding banana to calves with second . I honestly thought the soldier's gun was going to go off he was laughing so much , the guard wasn't too impressed & gave me a bit of a bollikin

So that was you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Many years ago in London myself and two friends were taken to a lovely Chinese restaurant by the boss and his wife. None of the three of us were ever in a Chinese before. The boss's wife said she's order for all of us.

After enjoying some lovely barbequed spare ribs the finger-bowl was left on the table. One of the lads then grabbed a spoon and started to shovel the contents of the finger-bowl into him to the amazement and the boss and his wife. We all enjoyed a great laugh about it and still mention it to him when he gets too cocky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,299 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Reggie. wrote: »
    So that was you :D

yep

but I reckon you was only a twinkle in your dad's eye at that time :rolleyes: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Back when I was a wee bit older than an auld chiseler, I had to go to hospital for some key hole surgery on my knee. When in the ward recovering I got chatting to the guy in the bed next to me, who asked if I smoked. I told him I did, to which he asked if I smoked smoked.

So he wheeled me out of the hospital and around to a some what secluded place where he rolled a joint and the two of us got quite high. Retuning to the ward we were very sketchy and worried that we would be caught. When we got into the lift we breathed a sigh of relief as we had made if back without any trouble.

Five minutes later when the doors of the lift opened on the ground floor we realised that we never pressed any button when we got into the lift.

After typing that I realise it might not be as funny as it actually was.

Many years ago in London myself and two friends were taken to a lovely Chinese restaurant by the boss and his wife. None of the three of us were ever in a Chinese before. The boss's wife said she's order for all of us.

After enjoying some lovely barbequed spare ribs the finger-bowl was left on the table. One of the lads then grabbed a spoon and started to shovel the contents of the finger-bowl into him to the amazement and the boss and his wife. We all enjoyed a great laugh about it and still mention it to him when he gets too cocky.

Knew a lad once who ate the small candle in the centre of the table while sitting in the local Indian in London while awaiting his takeaway,
    Thought it was some food,
    Tipp lads are a rare bunch

This reminded my of a night spent in the Lemon Tree pub in Ruchmond after an Ire Eng rugby match. A crew of about 30 of us travelled all had met in Oz.

After a few visits to the men's I noticed they had flavoured condoms intrigued I investigated to discover curry flavour!!

Told the women but they wouldn't believe me asked them to come look they declined so nothing would do me but to vend some. Welli must have put in £20 and had every flavour except curry.

Came our with hands full of boxes went to the bar and told them in all seriousness that I couldn't get the curry ones out.

They ended themselves laughing with one telling me the machine was designed for tools like me. To be fair they gave me back my money but only after getting DJ to point me out...........bastards

Beef curry to go

Knew a lad once who ate the small candle in the centre of the table while sitting in the local Indian in London while awaiting his takeaway,
    Thought it was some food,
    Tipp lads are a rare bunch

We were in a Chinese in town one Sunday evening full of beer when one of the rougher lads in the gang went outside , got a dead cat off the road and lashed it down on the Chinese' counter . "I'll give ye that one but ye won't get another ****ing cat off me till ye pay for the last 15 " ! The place got quiet fairly quick

My very first time in a Chinese, I was about 17. Boss was treating me to dinner.

I ordered steak. Was asked how do you want it cooked? I said in a frying pan. Boss couldn't believe his ears. 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

Lying in the sun beside a couple of boats on a beach in Crete many years ago, idly watching Don Conroy, of RTE fame, having a paddle with the binoculars round his neck..( a real Father Ted moment!) when I was approached by a very pink Irish woman, IS THE BOAT FOR HIRE? She bellowed at me..I suppose with the dark hair and beard and a good tan she reckoned I was a local, so I said to her in what I thought was a superb Greek type accent " No theees boat no for hire", " God" says she " is it Wicklow or Wexford you're from"...

Bullocks wrote: »
    We were in a Chinese in town one Sunday evening full of beer when one of the rougher lads in the gang went outside , got a dead cat off the road and lashed it down on the Chinese' counter . "I'll give ye that one but ye won't get another ****ing cat off me till ye pay for the last 15 " ! The place got quiet fairly quick

What a fcukin prick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭dollyk

Our honeymoon was the first holiday ever my H had.
    So we get to Spain, and first day on the beach and my
    Husband looks at me and said " jesus that dog understands
    what that man is saying in spanish. ". :eek:
    Im still married to him 12 years later, never a dull moment .

What a fcukin prick!

It was a quare act alright , he is married to a traveller now and by god they're putting manners on him !