Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What games have you been playing lately?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

I've had Europa Universalis 4 in my library for a good while and can see myself enjoying it but it just overwhelms me and i just quit for another ffew months and try again. Lately, I've gone back into Mount and Blade: Warband, Viking conquest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

Sciprio wrote: »
    I've had Europa Universalis 4 in my library for a good while and can see myself enjoying it but it just overwhelms me and i just quit for another ffew months and try again. Lately, I've gone back into Mount and Blade: Warband, Viking conquest.
    I do that with M&B myself. Especially after getting taken prisoner :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,835 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Playing The Witcher 3 and enjoying the sh1t out of it. Thought I had gotten sick of open world games but this is brilliant. Over 50 hours into it and
    only just gotten to Skellige

Finished the main story yesterday at the 89 hour mark. I had been doing loads of side quests and treasure hunts but holy crap, what a game. Such value for money. I feel bad for buying it in a sale.

Hadn't played 1 or 2 so some of the back story and characters were lost on me. Glossary filled me in on some and wikipedia did the rest. Did the first part of HOS and am glad there's still more to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Finished the main story yesterday at the 89 hour mark. I had been doing loads of side quests and treasure hunts but holy crap, what a game. Such value for money. I feel bad for buying it in a sale.

Hadn't played 1 or 2 so some of the back story and characters were lost on me. Glossary filled me in on some and wikipedia did the rest. Did the first part of HOS and am glad there's still more to do.

There isn't that much crossover from game to game, but there's a bit.

Even so, it's worth giving Witcher 2 a go. It's a very good game. It has a much smaller world, but I think that helps with keeping you focused on the main quest a bit more. It certainly won't take you 100 hours to finish.

If you're into fantasy at all, the books are good as well.

If you're ever thinking of doing another run through of 3, it might heighten the experience a bit to learn some of the background.

Started Nier, died at the Saws after 30 minutes. Be careful to those of you who are not git gud enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Sight808

Really, that's unreal playtime. I got it on sale also. Just finishing doom and waiting for tomb raider!

I've then set aside the rest of the year to play witcher 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Sight808 wrote: »
    Really, that's unreal playtime. I got it on sale also. Just finishing doom and waiting for tomb raider!

I've then set aside the rest of the year to play witcher 3.

If you've not played it yet, get ready for one of those magical one off gaming experiences that only comes around once every few years... and be sure to get the goty version as it's the best and probably fullest DLC ever made. Basically two full extra games.

I think I topped out near 150 hours before I finished all of it, not even full 100 percent either though I did play the game very, very 'wide'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Playing GTA Online, building up my criminal empire. Anyone wanna join me, PM me

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,167 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Started Resident Evil 6. Not sure the RE engine is suited to this amount of action. Not as bad as I expected but I preferred earlier installments. Need to look at RE7 at some point.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

3 hours into monster hunter world and i find it very tedious. combat is slow and very limited. the monster fights are grindy and dull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Infernum

I've had a second attempt at playing through Half-Life and am currently stuck at the part where you gotta dodge the huge creature and ride on the cart while dodging other creatures, because I seemingly missed various weapons and ammo/health along the way and am now stuck with one pistol with very low ammo. The crowbar only gets you so far.

Meh, might have to start over eventually. Or I might just play Opposing Force instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭ginger_hammer

Just finished Dying light which was fun, now onto tomb raider after the steam sale offer. Still playing vermintide 2, PUBG and FTL (which is great).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Just finished Dying light which was fun, now onto tomb raider after the steam sale offer. Still playing vermintide 2, PUBG and FTL (which is great).

I never did get the combat in dying light.

I think it was in one of the first few missions where you have to go to a hideout just across the road and kill a half a dozen lads, but weapons break long before you can kill them.

The parcour stuff was grand but when it comes to actually killing anything it felt like I missed something, because I pretty much couldn't, unless I isolated a zombie and whittled it down over a period of about 10 minutes.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

F1 2018, Dota 2, Two Point Hospital. All great games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭ginger_hammer

Gbear wrote: »
    I never did get the combat in dying light.

I think it was in one of the first few missions where you have to go to a hideout just across the road and kill a half a dozen lads, but weapons break long before you can kill them.

The parcour stuff was grand but when it comes to actually killing anything it felt like I missed something, because I pretty much couldn't, unless I isolated a zombie and whittled it down over a period of about 10 minutes.

It took a while to get used to but I ended up liking the system, with weapons breaking you are forced to keep switching (besides ranged weapons). You can slice zombies in half or have their arms off which is always fun.
    It takes a while to unlock better attack moves, etc.

Started on Shadows : Awakening yesterday. Can recommend it to anyone into good ARPG's.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,680 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

Just started The Witcher 3 - not normally a fan of the swords-and-spells type of open-world game, but so many people have raved about it that I felt I had to give it a go.

So far, so ok - we'll see how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

It took a while to get used to but I ended up liking the system, with weapons breaking you are forced to keep switching (besides ranged weapons). You can slice zombies in half or have their arms off which is always fun.
    It takes a while to unlock better attack moves, etc.

The end game is not using any weapons. Unarmed is the best strategy against standard sized enemies on hardest difficulty. Uses least amount of stamina, quickest recovery, high critical/knockdown chance. Having stamina left over is crucial for floor kills and pushing enemies left/right/rear into hazards, off buildings or just onto the floor for instant kill.

When I use weapons it's modded baseball bat for ease of use. Tears bigger zombie armour right off, causes knockdown if you happen to be doing hard swings into crowds.

Whenever I pick up a new weapon I throw it at the next enemy I'm fight because it has incredible critical chance which opens up instant kill takedowns if you have the upgrade. Weapons are disposable and not something you should invest a lot of trust in. Always good to have firearm for vs human w/ firearms. I've switched to revolver which was added as free DLC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

TrueDub wrote: »
    Just started The Witcher 3 - not normally a fan of the swords-and-spells type of open-world game, but so many people have raved about it that I felt I had to give it a go.

I felt the same way.. whats all the hype about!?

But every now an then, a quest would end up like a GoT episode, where you have to come back and see what happens next!

200 odd hours later... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

froog wrote: »
    3 hours into monster hunter world and i find it very tedious. combat is slow and very limited. the monster fights are grindy and dull.

I think that's because they assume you'll be playing with a party. I don't know if they ever balanced the game for single player or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,195 ✭✭✭Glebee

Lego Marvel Superheros 2. I love these Lego games.....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,167 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Glebee wrote: »
    Lego Marvel Superheros 2. I love these Lego games.....

Are they good? Never played them.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

TrueDub wrote: »

You'll be a gwent expert in no time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,195 ✭✭✭Glebee

Are they good? Never played them.

I get them for the kids (thats my excuse anyway), they can be got for a few Euros. I think there great for what they are. Nothing too serious and if some of the material they cover is great (Indiana Jones / Pirates of the caribeann / Star wars / Batman/Marve/Ninjagol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

Sudden Strike 4. Simple stuff. Isometric WW2 RTS. North africa add-on coming soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Smiles35 wrote: »
    Sudden Strike 4. Simple stuff. Isometric WW2 RTS. North africa add-on coming soon.
    liked the first one, although it was incredibly slow paced.
    Is 4 worth it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

Zulu wrote: »
    liked the first one, although it was incredibly slow paced.
    Is 4 worth it?

I had the first one aswell. It's quicker overall, I remember even the tanks used to pause while they started up their engines, that's gone now. Graphics are good, same with the sound (Katyusha still scary as feck). Go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Sight808

New TR, which I am enjoying a lot.

Somewhat gave up on Doom. It's very repetitive. The arena fights do get more interesting when they chuck a cyber-demon or two in but there isn't a huge amount to it other wise. Not sure I will go back to it after this break.

TR?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,184 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Tomb Raider, I assume.

I keep forgetting games are coming out like Spider-man and now Tomb Raider. Guess that happens when don't plan on buying at launch