Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 17/06/2015 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,110 ✭✭✭✭neris

this seems like an im "Entitled" call. You havent got your visa yet tough luck but its not up to Canada to look after you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

sligojoek wrote: »
    It's not the middle of the night in Canada.
    Middle of the night!!!

Its 8 o'clock in the morning there as far as i know

You must take into account Joes working hours which he uses for comparison purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,304 ✭✭✭bigroad

Has she got a truck licence.

This person should come the feck home, they have no business being abroad, havn't a clue.

She has a long wait ahead of her, the LE Eithne is on the way to Tunisia at the moment for those other people in dire need of government help.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I'd love to hear Canadian views on the influx of immigrants to their areas

Economic migrants taking Canadian jobs
    Customs agents at Pearson airport have refused entry to hundreds of suspected economic migrants from cash-strapped European countries who claim they are visitors but really want to work in Canada illegally http://www.torontosun.com/news/torontoandgta/2010/10/06/15607461.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Did I just hear Joe saying she was in Nova Scotcheea for Nova Scotia ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,110 ✭✭✭✭neris

Did I just hear Joe saying she was in Nova Scotcheea for Nova Scotia ?

no "Says catch e wan" in joe speak or Saskatchewan in normal speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,064 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

snubbleste wrote: »
    Is that your beaver?

:eek:.:eek:.:eek:.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Red Kev wrote: »
    From first hand experience of looking after my Dad the home help scheme is in dire need of reform. He's right about the 40 minutes, and its crazy that that is all they are allowed.

The irony is that the old man will end out in a home costing the state 3-4 times what an extra hour a day would cost. Madness.

Mt Dad is in a nursing home, costs the state about €500 per week to keep him there. There's a load of people in there who could survive at home with an extra hour help a day or in secure accomodation that the government refuses to build or part finance. People are getting older, the financial burden on th taxpayer is getting worse and the government is doing little or nothing about it.

Kicking a can down the road.

My point is that people can have all the home help they need - if they can afford to pay for it themselves. These particular gentlemen appear to have the means to do so, in that they don't seem to have any significant outgoings. As I posted separately, the hourly rates for home help are between €10 and €10.50 per hour and they say they would be happy with only another 15 minutes - so pro rata, the cost is pittance.

I have an elderly aunt, who is infirm, who is only getting an hour a week home help and when I suggested that she perhaps pay herself for somebody to come in and help her, her response was 'oh, can I do that?'. (like it's engrained into some people's minds that they can only get stuff for free!!). She was more than happy to pay out of her own pocket for extra hours - and it's something that Joe should at least have gotten around to asking the man today on his show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

My point is that people can have all the home help they need - if they can afford to pay for it themselves. These particular gentlemen appear to have the means to do so, in that they don't seem to have any significant outgoings. As I posted separately, the hourly rates for home help are between €10 and €10.50 per hour and they say they would be happy with only another 15 minutes - so pro rata, the cost is pittance.

I have an elderly aunt, who is infirm, who is only getting an hour a week home help and when I suggested that she perhaps pay herself for somebody to come in and help her, her response was 'oh, can I do that?'. (like it's engrained into some people's minds that they can only get stuff for free!!). She was more than happy to pay out of her own pocket for extra hours - and it's something that Joe should at least have gotten around to asking the man today on his show.

Not so much the engrained freeby, it's that most people don't know you can hire home-helpers yourself, as self-employed subbies. Just like plumbers and plasterers and it becomes clear to them then. The perception is that nurses and home-helpers all come via a government agency or somesuch.

Potential fun today
    One listener is pregnant, has two kids already and is having huge difficulty finding accommodation with rent allowance
    We'll be taking calls on the lone parent payment coming in to effect today - How is it going to affect you?
    The difficulty securing more home help hours - Have you been successful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,886 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

snubbleste wrote: »
    Potential fun today
    One listener is pregnant, has two kids already and is having huge difficulty finding accommodation with rent allowance
    We'll be taking calls on the lone parent payment coming in to effect today - How is it going to affect you?
    The difficulty securing more home help hours - Have you been successful?

I feel the word ''Entitled'' might get a lot of use today

Given the latest Egyptian attack, Joe will seize upon the tenuous link to Tunisia and have a LL listener call in from the Aswan Dam or somewhere entirely distant from the scene, simply because they're out there.

WTF was he thinking having kids at that age, knowing both his age and work situation.

Not to be unsympathetic, but you should have thought of that before you started spawning near pension age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

I hope his riding days are over as well as his working days

ThisRegard wrote: »
    WTF was he thinking having kids at that age, knowing both his age and work situation.
    He wanted to propagate his seed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

"I get all these allowances Joe and now I want even more" type of caller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

"does the other parent contribute?" a first for Joe, never heard him asking that of a female lone parent...

"school fees"
    Are they in private school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,344 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Why is the other parent not contributing, is it because they are a woman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

can we have the back story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

He forgot to mention the Childers Allowance?

Joe, the state won't pay for my decision to have kids so late in life and fund that life style choice.

Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Methinks there is a lot he's not telling us!

This is Liveline - do not ask sensible questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

One minute he says the mother has no involvement, the next he says she has regular access!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Given the latest Egyptian attack, Joe will seize upon the tenuous link to Tunisia and have a LL listener call in from the Aswan Dam or somewhere entirely distant from the scene, simply because they're out there.

If there is a retired Garda or a taxi driver out on their holidays there, you can guarantee it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

totally unfair to those kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,344 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Joe now encouraging the old geezers to go riding younger women.