Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 17/06/2015 to date

• 16-06-2015 9:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭

The Liv Lien is opin....:):):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

bbability wrote: »

You left out the "so to speak"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,535 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

It's that time, again.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

bbability wrote: »

I know that! I know that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,755 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

A new tapestry to spread the good word of Joe so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,039 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Given the positively subterranean low note that the last thread ended on, the only way is up for this one.

Surely.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I suspect there will be more of it today, I was in San Diego in 2001, not on a J1 mind you or in the right city but still have more connections than half the commentators yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Given the positively subterranean low note that the last thread ended on, the only way is up for this one.

Surely.......

no chance just when you think liveline has hit rock bottom it only turns out to be compacted soil and digging for a deeper low can continue. Joe will have more happy parents on, lads who built apartments in the 40 years ago in new york and he,ll continue to give us his expert quantity surveyors report on why the balcony fell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I fear he'll have managed to track down one of the parents or a relative of either the dead or the injured students. He'll insert the knife slowly at first, and twist and turn it until it's fully embedded and we actually hear the parent's heart break on the air or we get an avalanche of tears. Then he'll congratulate himself on doing such a "wonderful" job so to speak, amidst the sighs and the "my God"s.

Sample questions/comments:
    When did you first hear of d'tragedy?
    Were you wurried for your son/daughter?
    How did dat make you feeeeeeeel?
    Can you describe in minute detail the panic, fear and the eventual pain when you discovered it was your son/daughter?
    Have you lost any udder childers tragically?
    What would you like to say to the men who built dat apartment?
    And have you ever been on de J-WAN yourself?
    Where did you go?
    Did you live in an apartment with a balcony?
    What'll yous do now with de bedroom?

I won't be giving him the pleasure today however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

God forbid. God bless. God help us. My god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Reckless speculation in all the papers today surmising what might have caused this terrible accident.
    All this before the internationally recognised official liveline investigation has been completed.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Ding Dong Damien O'Reilly on duty today :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

The safe option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Did Joe hitch a lift with our National Airline to San Fran to experience people's grief first hand ( unlike asking a taxi driver for his 3rd hand opinion.:) )

furiousox wrote: »
    Reckless speculation in all the papers today surmising what might have caused this terrible accident.
    All this before the internationally recognised official liveline investigation has been completed.

thought the liveline investigation was done and dusted yesterday by CSI Duffy who told us a girder/support had failed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Maybe Damo will be looking at which forest the wood came from, Californian trees and all the insects that live in wood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Seems he's going to have Charlie McGettigan on. Charlie lost a son in a building accident in Boston 17 years ago, he was on a J1 at the time.

Sorry, but I find it all a bit macabre. I'm out already.

if sex sells, death must get listeners

Kinda touching to hear yer wan on the news saying she knew two of the deceased personally.

Joe will be kicking himself now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Hamilcar

Tears already.......... well done Damian.. Even Joe would have been proud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

What's the noise I hear ? The wail from Joe that he could have had tears so early into a show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,755 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Still raw after 17 years, poor Charlie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

I'm out ... this is a tragedy and I really feel for the families, but this macabre grief chasing I can't take ..

Gonna listen to some Karl Pilkington on XFM archives..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Joe travelling to Cali?

my friend wrote: »
    Joe travelling to Cali?

is he? that's all they need

Joe travelling to Cali?

Honestly, I hope he isn't. Even he wouldn't stoop that low, would he?

180px-200px-Grim_Reaper.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

So turns out the montrose set knew some of the kids.

That explains soo much about the OTT stuff going on around this .

I'm out too

I'm out too

That's a bit crass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

I'm out too

Former head of sport in RTE Niall Cogleys daughter is one of the injured also

If these adults were from Inishowen, I doubt there'd be as much talk about it, or half-mast flags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Is Duffy outside Clearys .?

Oh, bollocks. This is just raking over the coals of another man's grief to ride on the coat tails of others' current losses.
    Feck this - it's ghoulish beyond imagination.
    See yaz tomorrow.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    That's a bit crass.

There's some basis to their point

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

snubbleste wrote: »
    If these adults were from Inishowen, I doubt there'd be as much talk about it, or half-mast flags

I disagree there, i think it would be the same coverage no matter where they are from.

There's some basis to their point

6 Irish people killed in such an accident, and people believe that the only reason it's getting so much coverage on ALL Irish media outlets, and in so much US ones, is because someone in RTE knew 1 or 2 of them ?

I disagree there, i think it would be the same coverage no matter where they are from.

Agree with you, Ireland is that small there is always going to people connected. A tragedy like this is huge in Ireland because of it's size of population

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

I really hope the families of the victims and those injured get the support that they require.

But I can`t help thinking about the student featured on liveline about a year ago who was seriously injured while cycling in collision with a car in the the US and the insurance co would not compensate because he was not wearing a cycle helmet.

JM Skipton wrote: »
    Agree with you, Ireland is that small there is always going to people connected. A tragedy like this is huge in Ireland because of it's size of population

yeah me too, whatever about only reporting drug deaths etc when they happen in D4, the scale of this is so big

how many young Irish people have died in the last 10 years abroad? My young lad is never leaving the country....not that he'd be any safer here mind, we have plenty of our own shoddy builders, murders etc

ThisRegard wrote: »
    6 Irish people killed in such an accident, and people believe that the only reason it's getting so much coverage on ALL Irish media outlets, and in so much US ones, is because someone in RTE knew 1 or 2 of them ?

No I didn't say that but I will comment on the defensive narrative to which the incident is being presented

That New York times article was very ill judged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

The balcony would have collapsed anyway, whether or not they had been drinking

No I didn't say that but I will comment on the defensive narrative to which the incident is being presented

and here we go. Point proven

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

JM Skipton wrote: »
    That New York times article was very ill judged

Hugely. Tastless and alluded to some level of culpability for the victims.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Really pissed of with the American coverage and dont get me started on some of the comments.
    A lot of thick ignorant Americans in the media there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Really pissed of with the American coverage and dont get me started on some of the comments.
    A lot of thick ignorant Americans in the media there.

There are thick ignorant people everywhere.......including Ireland.

Woman complains about hard truths in a newspaper being negative on a call to the most negative radio show in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,540 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

this wan is a bit naive to think that a lot of the students going out to the US on J1 visas are well behaved. The article in the NY times was ill timed , but there is alot of truth to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Why is this being covered again............??

2smiggy wrote: »
    this wan is a bit naive to think that a lot of the students going out to the US on J1 visas are well behaved. The article in the NY times was ill timed , but there is alot of truth to it

If the discussion was about J1 behaviour in general, not on the back of 6 dead and 7 injured