Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S05E08 - Hardhome - Have READ The Books

• 01-06-2015 2:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭

...and Discuss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Wow! Just Wow! Do the words "Holy Sh**balls, That Was Epic!" mean anything to anyone else. Like, I'm gonna be able to sleep after that.

Here was me thinking there was some really awesome conversations happening between Tyrion & Dany, Sansa & Theon at the start of the episode, as well as seeing Cersei get her comeuppance and then a rousing speech from Jon and Tormund to rally the wildlings, but then it escalated at lightning speed and my jaw was on the ground for the last 20 minutes of pure awesomeness... What an amazing hour of television!

The White Walkers were creepy as f**k, but especially those children. It was just incredibly eerie.

I was terrified at one point they were about to unexpectedly kill off Edd, but thankfully he's still standing alongside Jon and Tormund in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Return to form - what a f$€king brilliant episode!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Return to form - what a f$€king brilliant episode!

Up there with "The Watchers On The Wall" and "Blackwater" as one of the best episodes of the entire series for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Messi19

After a general disappointment of the first seven episodes, all is forgiven. That was amazing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

Did anyone notice a person in the back of Jon snows boat at the end who kept a hood on and never seemed to move? Don't know of it is relevant or not but seemed a little weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭ZeitgeistGlee

God damn that was an episode. The ending legitimately gave me chills.

viztopia wrote: »
    Did anyone notice a person in the back of Jon snows boat at the end who kept a hood on and never seemed to move? Don't know of it is relevant or not but seemed a little weird

Yeah, at first I thought it was one of the White Walkers (and maybe it could be), but then I was thinking now that Tyrion has teamed up with Dany, perhaps Jon Connington and Aegon never went across the Narrow Sea in the TV version but went beyond the wall to Hardhome and it's possibly one of them in the books. A huge leap, but anythings possible.

Or maybe Benjen Stark or Gendry or someone we've already met before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

Or maybe merlande (not sure of spelling) has left stannis ?
    Yeah, at first I thought it was one of the White Walkers (and maybe it could be), but then I was thinking now that Tyrion has teamed up with Dany, perhaps Jon Connington and Aegon never went across the Narrow Sea in the TV version but went beyond the wall to Hardhome and it's possibly one of them in the books. A huge leap, but anythings possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

And that's were the budget went!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Christ those kids were freaky as ****. Unbelievable episode though, really enjoyed it. Things getting serious and they did a great job of showing how hopeless the fight is against the white walkers without everyone banding together. The fights in the south seem utterly insignificant in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Why did I watch that hungover ? Absolutely spectacular. I'm still trying to calm down after that. Nerves are shot. I've been waiting and waiting for the White Walker's appearance since last year.

Did anybody else just shiver when that deep rumbling sound of the impending blizzard began creeping over the mountainside ? That wide shot of the wildlings gazing in terror was epic.

I think it's obvious that Jon is AA reborn after that white walker duel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭MrWalsh

That was amazing. I couldn't help but contrast how crap the fight scene in Dorne was compared to that.

The Nights King raising the dead was EPIC! How can you beat an army like that? They just raise the dead and increase the ranks as they go!

How come Jon Snows sword kills white walkers? Valerian steel?

Could be D&D's take on Coldhands maybe? Or maybe Benjen in a Coldhands-esque role?

You have to admire how both the books and the show keep us all hooked in terms of the mystery surrounding the Others. That was such a pay off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

That.....that was one of the finest hours of television I have ever witnessed What a ride! A truly spectacular battle. I'm shaking here, the OH in the next room thought i was watching a match. I leaped from my couch when Jon Snow sliced the White walker in two. It was incredible, fúcking incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

I'm kinda speechless after that. The episode was head and shoulders above anything we've seen so far this season, add in the battle of Hardhome and I think it's one of the best episodes of the whole show so far. Sansa knows Bran and Rickon are still alive, Arya was sent on her first killing mission, Qyburn has Robert Strong nearly finished, Ramsay saying "I don't need an army, I need 20 good men". What was that about? Daenerys taking Tyrion on as an advisor was a nice little scene. Sam just inadvertently gave Olly justification to give Jon a bit of a stabbing. But then he says "I've been worrying about Jon for years, but he always comes back". Now if that's not foreshadowing I don't know what is...

Everything pales in comparison to Jon arriving in Hardhome. The sudden mist harks back to the prologue in the first episode and the last episode of season 2. I don't understand how Jon killed the White Walker. Was it because of the Valyrian steel? Surely Sam would've found that in some old book. Anyway, Jon had a stare down with the Nights King (who looked a lot like jesus on the cross while he resurrected his Wights). That scene justified the rest of the season so far in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭Jofspring

Class episode.

The Sansa and Theon scene I thought was poor but at least we got it out of the way that Sansa now knows.

Everything surrounding hard home was awesome. Totally flawless.

With no Dorne in this episode it really improved things drastically.

The mountain in another epic fight is surely on the cards now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Wow, just wow

I'm liking Tyrion and Daenery scenes together

Ah jaysus, Arya has turned into Molly Malone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Nice to see the little white walker girl from the first scenes of the very first episode of season 1 makes a reappearance.

kjhfkjhf.png

Also, the white walker shattering two weapons before being stopped by Jon Snows sword, possibly a nod towards the legend of lightbringer? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭tadcan

Wow, just wow. The lack of movement from the person on the boat also looked suspicious to me. Was waiting for a reveal.

Maybe Sam, Gilly and baby Sam, wont be travelling to Esteros, since Aemon is dead in the show and there was no hint of them leaving this episode. I wonder will Jon be back next ep and his stabbing is the epic reveal, since they don't tend to do cliffhangers for ep10.

So it wasn't just me who was signing Molly Malone in my head when Arya walked the streets with her wares. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭maryfred

Contrast the wideshot scene when Jon and Tormund are sailing into Hardhome and looking at the Wildling army with the final wideshot scene, the boat moving away from Hardhome, Jon looking back at the White walker army that had increased by probably thousands. Amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭letowski

Wonderful episode, really echo people's comments.

I thought the female leader of a wildling group looked to have a bit of a star about her and would be a good future character, then in good 'oul GOT fashion, she dies. :(

I think while up to this point it hadn't really been a brilliant season, I like the change in storyline arc's of Jorah and Sansa, while Jon Snow's battle today was obviously a great inclusion to his story.

Proper excited for the final 2 episodes. Winter has come! :p

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Valyrian steel baby! Always had an inkling of course, now we know for sure why those swords are all so important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kunkka

10421399_824128360974672_818480683258100730_n.jpg?oh=4358f196b7133860cf0748756602e61b&oe=55ECB336

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

Was anyone else waiting for the giant to reappear from the water as a wight (sp)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

letowski wrote: »

I thought the female leader of a wildling group looked to have a bit of a star about her and would be a good future character, then in good 'oul GOT fashion, she dies. :(

I knew she was familiar! The lovely Birgitte Hjort Sørensen from the Danish political show Borgen.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2171898/?ref_=tt_cl_t2

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Standman wrote: »
    Also, the white walker shattering two weapons before being stopped by Jon Snows sword, possibly a nod towards the legend of lightbringer? :eek:

Longclaw is made of Valyrian steel which is believed to be the 'dragonsteel' used to fight the Others that Sam read about.

It could be for either reason, valaryian steel or lightbringer. It seemed to come as a surprised to the leader/king of the wights when Jon killed the Wight with his sword.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

Great episode. Real development in the first half I can see Dany and Tyrion working well together (on screen and storywise).
    Sansa finding out about Rickon and Bran will really push her to light the candle/fight back.
    I don't think Stannis will finish out the season honestly.
    Jon is gonna die that scene with Sam Gilly an Ollie signalled it really.
    The fight at the end was great but the politics involved were great too. Jon's one saving grace may be that if enough of the Knights watch survived the lads left behind might cop on (I doubt it) when they made a big deal of Borjen lady I knew she was a gonner but how she died was epic, glad they got a good actress for the part. Valaryan steel clash and shock was cool I had the same reaction as Jon. Who is the man in the cloak!

They made a big deal of the giant he'll have a role to play at some point I'm sure. Given how heavy handed they are this year with the fore shadowing

Jon is gonna die that scene with Sam Gilly an Ollie signalled it really.

On that, I really hope Sam has left before it happens, his poor phrasing was basically a big thumbs up for Ollie. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Great episode, plenty of subtle nods to book readers. The cat running across screen when Arya mentions the canals was great.

Tyrion adding some much needed wit and chuckle value to Dany's arc.

Curious to see what Sansa gets up to with her new info, if anything.

There's been several heavy hints at Olly being the one to stick the sword in Jon's back. Wildlings killing his village/family, him killing Ygritte, his becoming Jon's ward and bringing up the wildlings in every one of his scenes.

Wun Wun's introduction pretty much confirms Jon's 'death' for season finale, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

break the f***ing wheel.
    That was one of three moments where I roared and clapped at the telly, only on the third time (the wight king resurrecting the wildlings) did I actually realise what I was doing.
    Up there with Pine Barrens from Sopranos and Dead Freight from Breaking bad as one of the best TV I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Mormegil

They made a big deal of the giant he'll have a role to play at some point I'm sure. Given how heavy handed they are this year with the fore shadowing

He does have a name you know :D

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Jofspring wrote: »
    It could be for either reason, valaryian steel or lightbringer. It seemed to come as a surprised to the leader/king of the wights when Jon killed the Wight with his sword.

Nah, it's pretty clear it's because of the valyrian steel imo, it's been hinted at several times through out the show and books that it has special properties, not to mention the big deal that gets made about all the different named swords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Anyone notice that Dorne appeared in the title credits but not actually in the episode?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Kick ass!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

You wait seasons for more White Walkers then 2 hundred thousand come at once !!!! Now THATS how to hammer (Hard)home the threat the White Walkers pose.

Absolutely amazing episode, the sort of big budget blowout normally reserved for episode 9, which along with Ramsey's boast that all he needs are 20 good men leads me to believe that Stannis's army will be defeated off screen (or at the very least shrouded in a snowstorm) ala whispering wood. To be honest I'm ok with that, the budget sadly can only stretch so far and it was far more important to showcase the long absent White walkers imo.

Was that small satchel all the dragon glass they have because if it is they are absolutely ****ed. The lords of the big houses may all have valaryian swords but that's not nearly enough to make a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

Wonder will it be Briene sent to Skaros to find Rickon?

And how will Ramsey defeat Stannis with 20men?

You wait seasons for more White Walkers then 2 hundred thousand come at once !!!! Now THATS how to hammer (Hard)home the threat the White Walkers pose.

Absolutely amazing episode, the sort of big budget blowout normally reserved for episode 9, which along with Ramsey's boast that all he needs are 20 good men leads me to believe that Stannis's army will be defeated off screen (or at the very least shrouded in a snowstorm) ala whispering wood. To be honest I'm ok with that, the budget sadly can only stretch so far and it was far more important to showcase the long absent White walkers imo.

Was that small satchel all the dragon glass they have because if it is they are absolutely ****ed. The lords of the big houses may all have valaryian swords but that's not nearly enough to make a difference.

Stannis commented a few episodes about dragon glass. It seemed like he was suggesting dragon stone had plenty of it.

Son0vagun wrote: »
    Wonder will it be Briene sent to Skaros to find Rickon?

And how will Ramsey defeat Stannis with 20men?

I suppose with the weather it might be easier for 20 men to infiltrate Stannis camp and kill him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Jon Stark

Given how much time they have given to developing Stannis this season there's no way they're having him defeated off screen.

Ramsey's boast deserves to be fcuking crushed, if they let him do serious damage to Stannis with 20 ****ing men, a man they've already described as the greatest military tactician in Westeros this season, then it's a farce.

Ramsey with a full army should be no match for Stannis, never mind Ramsey with 20 ****ing men.

It would hardly make sense for the Boltons to prevail. All this time developing Stannis, AA reborn, Melisandre is on the road with them + with Sansa, I reckon the North's revenge can't happen without Stannis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Ramsay will meet his end upon Ned Starks blade or at least what's left of it.

Great episode but one thing was missing, Ser Barristan to whisper the tale he once heard told of The Mad King and the night he visited Lady Lannister at Casterly Rock...

We might get a ghostly vision next week perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭mackthefinger

Incredible jaw dropping last twenty minutes of television there. I was just gawping at the screen by the end,
    up there with Ned's beheading and the red wedding. Damn them for killing off the Borgen lady. So Valaryian steel
    is forged using Dragon fire.

Agree that it's looking like Jon Snow is toast, everything's set up for it. Be more of a curveball if it doesn't happen I think.

Cersei's storyline ticking along nicely. Project Mountain seems to be gathering pace. Great to see Dany
    and Tyrion clicking, the Mereen storyline badly needed it.
    Por Ser Jorah friendzone, going down nobly fighting before he succumbs to greyscale. Really rooting for
    Stannis now, really hope he doesn't get flayed by Ramsey.No Brienne for a bit, maybe she can ride to the rescue.
    Arya's storyline has become a bit Meh for me.

Thankfully no Dorne. The last twenty minutes show how pointless that story is. Though I would like
    to see a white walker introducing himself to the sandsnakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,772 ✭✭✭✭fits

Great episode but one thing was missing, Ser Barristan to whisper the tale he once heard told of The Mad King and the night he visited Lady Lannister at Casterly Rock...

We might get a ghostly vision next week perhaps.

I don't remember that at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭seamusk84

Loved it and my god those kids were creepy! Did ye notice Ramsey casually name dropping "A feast for crows"?

Loved the banter between Tyrion and Dany, it sort of how I have always imagined how it would go.
    Also seems that instead of Tyrion and Penny in the fighting pit in front of Dany when Drogon makes his epic appearance, it will be Jorah. Hopefully we get to see Jorah fighting his way through the ranks Gladiator style in the next episodes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

WOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

I was under the impression it was known in Westeros that Valyrian steel contained dragonfire, and was thus effective against the Others, but maybe not.
    GerB40 wrote: »
    I don't understand how Jon killed the White Walker. Was it because of the Valyrian steel? Surely Sam would've found that in some old book.

He did, or at least he did in the books. He finds reference to 'dragonsteel' which him and Jon assume to be Valyrian steel.
    Incredible jaw dropping last twenty minutes of television there. I was just gawping at the screen by the end,
    up there with Ned's beheading and the red wedding. Damn them for killing off the Borgen lady. So Valaryian steel
    is forged using Dragon fire.

It's manufactured using dragonfire. It can be forged without it, like we saw with Ice being melted down and made into Widow's Wail and Oathkeeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Great episode. Something I've often wondered about from the books as well as this episode is how do they fight that army without thousands of dragonglass daggers/Valyrian swords.

From what I recall from the books, there are only an estimated 200 Valyrian swords distributed among the houses. Obviously the show can change that detail if they wish but I'd love to see some type of 'coming together for the greater good' whereby Dragonstone is harvested for it's dragonglass and a united Westerosi army goes up against the Others and their slaves.

Wishful thinking though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Sugar Free wrote: »
    Great episode. Something I've often wondered about from the books as well as this episode is how do they fight that army without thousands of dragonglass daggers/Valyrian swords.

From what I recall from the books, there are only an estimated 200 Valyrian swords distributed among the houses. Obviously the show can change that detail if they wish but I'd love to see some type of 'coming together for the greater good' whereby Dragonstone is harvested for it's dragonglass and a united Westerosi army goes up against the Others and their slaves.

Wishful thinking though!

With dragons.......