Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best way of moving bales?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,368 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Been there done that. Have a small outside farm part of which is quite steep. Were baling there a few years ago and would bring the bale up to the flat bit before opening, any way one bale bounced out of the baler and bounced off another one and changed direction and took off down the field, though the boundary ditch through the neighbours ditch dropped about 4 feet and keep going to the bottom of the glen and stopped about 3 feet from the river bank. Had to use the digger to go in and get it.

Uncle was baling hay a few years ago and part of his place bounces a steep glen. Lad baling hit a bale with the tractor tyre and turned it down the hill. The bale started moving and keep going, went through the ditch and down the glen (about a 60 foot drop) across the main road through the neighbours place and into the forestry. He got such a fright he dropped the next bale wrong and went the same way.

'Twas some craic trying to get the out of the woods. Entered up getting a track machine to lift the out.

I'd have left it there

• Registered Users Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Reggie. wrote: »
    I'd have left it there

Horsey hay, so needed to be brought out.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Ooops
    Rolled barley

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Worst bit of the lot is that often you'll get away letting bales out of baler handy enough on a bank, but because the bale falls from more of a height on a wrapper it tends to have a lot more energy to make it roll ðŸ˜
    often saw bales left 20mins/half hour take off down a hill, or worse still when you've left a line of bales solid enough and the lad that comes to stack them takes away the wrong bale and they start to roll away..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭mayota

Saw a bale roll over a tent, and a lad asleep in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

mayota wrote: »
    Saw a bale roll over a tent, and a lad asleep in it.

Mmmmkay I'm going to need you to elaborate more here!!

Kovu wrote: »

Mmmmkay I'm going to need you to elaborate more here!!

Baling a campsite/caravan park, bale left baler, down the hill and over tent, was only a small 2 or 3 man tent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Baling a campsite/caravan park, bale left baler, down the hill and over tent, was only a small 2 or 3 man tent.

And how was the lad in it!

I hope that it wasn't a fusion bale

Kovu wrote: »
    And how was the lad in it!
    like a pancake :D :eek:

He was grand, welger 220 bale. Think it just got his legs.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭zetecescort

needed a change of underwear I'd say

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭9935452

I was baling for a farmer one day and left a bale on what was the steepest spot in the field . Bale was safe where it was. The farmer decided he would bring the bale to the wrapper. He couldnt reverse up to the bale so went to pick it from the high side. He always used a very long top link so he wouldnt damage the bales.
    End result was the bale went head over heels down the slope, over the ditch and into the neighbours glen never to be seen again.

Another day d boss was baling on a hill, a bale takes off , next thing i see him in the tractor making a run to see whether he could stop the bale.
    I was wrapping at the time and was laughing so much a bale went flying off the wrapper and overtook his bale heading down the hill.
    Those two bales got wrapper in the neighbours field

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Put a weight on fusion bale of barley silage cut dry and was probably on the last day for cutting without corn cracker was shifting them yesterday and they seemed mad heavy.i reckon they were 700 kg could up to 250 kilos of dm in them.had to shft some of them around a mile and the tractor and loader carrying 3 was taking fifteen minutes but when tractor and trailer was put with them we could do 14 in less than 35 minutes.so thats 5 minutes per bale for just the handlers and loader whereas its 2. 5 minutes per bale for the tractor and trailer added so it works out the same per tractor at 2.5 minutes per bale.on the home block it was 5 minutes per three bales but it was a very short draw.i would geuss that 1 mile is the border between the systems but I prefer the trailer .took nearly 2 minutes per bale to stack which surprised me but space was a bit tight and that includes a bit of patching:-)

Cut arable silage last week, 5ac and 65 bales. Mowed it myself left for 2 days and contractor came to do the rest. tedded, baled, drawn in by keltec, wrapped and stacked in 90 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Cut arable silage last week, 5ac and 65 bales. Mowed it myself left for 2 days and contractor came to do the rest. tedded, baled, drawn in by keltec, wrapped and stacked in 90 mins.

Did you loose much grain tedding it?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Was just ask that question!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Was just ask that question!

I did peas and barley same way and no you will not loose much (if any grain or peas).

No losses, mowed it with a disc mower and the Tedder wasn't going flat out kept it nice and solid, very little left on the ground

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Looking for a bit of info.

Has anyone any experience of Keltec bale transporters and specifically, can they be used to transport wrapped bales?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Has anyone any experience of Keltec bale transporters and specifically, can they be used to transport wrapped bales?

Yep they can move wrapped bales - but you need a good man on it, it takes experience.

Spent a couple of days last year on one and you'd get the hang of it - BUT these were unwrapped bales!!

I think they are best suited to wrapping at the stack

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=02NDi4D8JRE

• Registered Users Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭visatorro

I often thought if they were as good as they look that more contractors would have them. They are around along time. Lad used to have one twenty years ago for moving unwrapped bales. Never seen anyone with them since around here anyway

visatorro wrote: »
    I often thought if they were as good as they look that more contractors would have them. They are around along time. Lad used to have one twenty years ago for moving unwrapped bales. Never seen anyone with them since around here anyway

It would be hard to make them pay in my opinion.
    20k new for a 10 bale one. 10k for a second hand one if you can get it.
    If a farmer got you in for 100bales , it might be 2 hours work. not something you can use all year round. A good bale trailer can be bought for 3 or 4 grand and has multiple uses all year

• Registered Users Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭visatorro

9935452 wrote: »
    If a farmer got you in for 100bales , it might be 2 hours work. not something you can use all year round. A good bale trailer can be bought for 3 or 4 grand and has multiple uses all year

If contractor charged you per bale. Maybe three euro or something. He wouldn't be long making it back. If in reality if it saved time contractors would have them, so when you don't see them your prob right about flat trailer being quicker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Speed is good. But I think price is the factor of why there's not more of them around. If the draw wasn't too far they would be faster than bale trailer.
    Otherwise bring 14 or 17 bales on a flat trailer. But that can have compaction issues in field also if wet.

No direct experience of them though.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

They're the business. Bales stacked here within 20mins of the bales finishing. Pay by the hour. Usually comes in at a little over a euro per bale. Most of contractors customers now using it fulltime incl a couple of guys making 1500+ bales per year incl my bil. Fusion so all bales wrapped. You need a biggish area to unload though. Trailer will need north of forty feet to pull forward off bales. No real increase in number of bales damaged compared to a loader and standard trailer. Need a good pilot on loader as his ears will be well back keeping bales stacked on a short draw. Wouldn't hook on a trailer here to haul bales again unless the keltec was unavailable.

9935452 wrote: »

It's all keltecs round here in east cork, very few fusions round here. Most lads doing bales use them and having used loader and bale trailer aswell as the bale carrier there is no comparison.

Contractor here has an 8 and a 10 and depending on the yard size will use one or the other.
    Pick up the bales in the field and drop in yard, picked up by a telehandler with a loader mounted wrapper and wrapped as it goes to the stack. Keltec will have a load ready by the time the bales are wrapped.

You do need to have a lad that knows what he is doing through so as not to damage the bales. Know a lad that also uses his to bring in hay and straw to the yard for smaller farms where the farmers stacks them himself. Used him myself a few times to bring in straw.

Doesn't make sense for a farmer to have one but does for contractors. Most lads don't pick the wrapped ones but I know a few that do. Big thing is lining up the bale right and you need to drop on grass before they are stacked.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 de stig

I was in Keltec engineering on Monday getting two blades for my Bale slice and saw them testing a new design for the bale carriers.
    They were able to drive at a wrapped bale at nearly 90 degrees and it guided the bale in without damaging the film.
    They covered it up quick enough when they saw me so there must be another patent on the way?

To be fair my contactor draws all our bales with one and doesn't really damage any ( all fusion bales). The lads driving them are good to be honest but they never like to start until a good shot of the field is baled.

I agree with the quote above about the lad stacking after them... I wouldn't do it for love or money, I'd crack up. And my average draw is over a mile to the field.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Made a few bales recently and hired in a keltec and did a bit of timing.about a mile of a draw each way and the supwr move was gathering ten in 25 minutes or slightly more.but i was spending something under 90seconds each bale to stack as the super move was droping in a field near the stack.at the end the fella was under pressure to go and there was seven bales left but they were near the ditch so brought them home with treble handlers.the round trip was taking me 20 mi utes to do three but i was leaving them in the stack.so the sums are the super move was doing 20 bales in50 minytes plus 30minutea for stacking is eighty minutes. In 80 minutes you would move 12 bales the treble so the super move is a good bit faster