If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

For us 11.00 o'clockers meeting for coffee, should we pick a meeting place at the expo?

Will there be more than 1 coffee place? I have your number C so I'll text you when I arrive and sure we'll post it up here for anyone whose number I don't have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Toulouse wrote:
    Will there be more than 1 coffee place? I have your number C so I'll text you when I arrive and sure we'll post it up here for anyone whose number I don't have

Sounds like a plan! See you later! Loved your post about your morning run! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭engol

Toulouse wrote: »

First run in 18 weeks where it's rained, perhaps it's to tell me that it if it's like that on Monday, it's not going to be too bad.

There's a forecast up on the met Eireann Facebook page. Hopefully there won't be too many changes before Monday. Should be ok if the current track stays true.

I'm off to bed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭frash

From Irish weather online

MONDAY 26TH OCTOBER

DUBLIN MARATHON
    Dry but stiff southerly wind which will be in your face for the mid part of the race but on your back from Mile 21 at UCD to the finish. Temperature a chilly 8 °C at the start, rising to around 12 °C by lunchtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

smashiner wrote: »

On the spreadsheet put me down for 4:00, no wait......4:15........em......em..... I mean 4:30......right then 4:09 'Final Answer' and Asics Cumulus 15........really bright orange and black ones with yellow on them that can be seen from space :)...hope that all fits on the spreadsheet...Thanks

Just added you there smashiner. Afraid no room for the colourful description. It would break the table :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

Morning!
    All set, ready and excited after a wonderful sleep as it's expo day part 1.
    Wishing you all a super race on Monday. Enjoy it most importantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭BIRDCAGE1

frash wrote: »

MONDAY 26TH OCTOBER

DUBLIN MARATHON
    Dry but stiff southerly wind which will be in your face for the mid part of the race but on your back from Mile 21 at UCD to the finish. Temperature a chilly 8 °C at the start, rising to around 12 °C by lunchtime.

No rain......This makes we really happy.......

Just heading up myself to the expo now. Should take about an hour to get up there. I'll be wearing a grey Connacht Rugby hoodie if anyone want to say hello!

Stuck in traffic

Got my number. Silly me cried when they gave it to me. I blame it on the taper.

I'm sitting at a table in the restaurant, just near the door, rooting through my goodie bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

If you wanted you could spend a fortune out here. Number collected anyway, so that's the main thing out of the way.

I'm in a black north face jacket with a north face bag on my back if anyone see's me.

Also, two buses passed me with out stopping in Nassau St. Try getting them on O'Connell St. Ended up getting a taxi to save time, which was a funny story- he seemed to know a fair bit about running so I asked him if he ran also. He said he didn't but claimed he collects the blood from the elites after races. That's what he said, I'd say it's doubtful but thought it was funny.

Losing the will to live, shouldn't be much longer

FYI I'm wearing a tshirt with a big white M on it.

Currently staring down everyone in a black jacket looking for the North Face logo, in a friendly way, of course! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Toulouse wrote: »
    Losing the will to live, shouldn't be much longer

I'm at the expo with a buggy in tow, I'll keep an eye out for ye all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

donglen wrote: »
    Quick question on fuelling regarding the lucozade sports stations. I have incorporated it into my long runs, just taking a gulp or two as part of a loop when I passed my car. How much of the bottle should I be consuming? Is it just a gulp or two or should I be looking to get in as much as I can?
    Obviously with gels, I'm consuming the packet each time, just a bit confused on the Lucozade Sport.
    Hi donglen, base it on what you've been doing on your lsrs. Hold onto the bottle for a half mile or so if you think you'll need a bit extra. Don't gulp all at once in case it bloats you or fills you too much. Try dispose of the bottle responsibly. I asked supporters to bin mine 'please' last year.
    smashiner wrote: »
    Good morning all.

The last few weeks have flown by and it's Expo day today......can you believe it??

Going with my friend at around 12 noon today to get our race numbers and sign the wall at the expo. It is his first DCM and he is hyper about it and is really looking forward to it too....

Having porridge and Nurofen, a winning combination, for breakfast to try and shake this damn knee niggle.... I think that I am slowly winning the race to be ready.... Did a fair bit of Foam Rollering last night that seemed to help, thanks DG and Mentors. ;)

On the spreadsheet put me down for 4:00, no wait......4:15........em......em..... I mean 4:30......right then 4:09 'Final Answer' and Asics Cumulus 15........really bright orange and black ones with yellow on them that can be seen from space :)...hope that all fits on the spreadsheet...Thanks
    Hey smash, take it easy on the nurofen. Lots of negative implications for taking them when you're putting your body under stress. You also don't want to mask the pain as that could put you in a whole other ball game of trouble.....Best of luck!
    Very difficult week at work ended yesterday, but now I think it might have been the best thing for me cos the nerves are just starting to kick in:)
    Going to be hard pass today and tomorrow, lot of lounging around ahead!
    Hi SD, you're right to be lounging around but take your mind off things by reading a good book or watching a film....or two :) Keep off your feet as much as poss, all of you.
    frash wrote: »

MONDAY 26TH OCTOBER

DUBLIN MARATHON
    FOR ALL OF YOU: we'll leave a final call til Sunday night/Monday morning but bear in mind that wind is not a runners friend. You generally don't gain back what you lose in a headwind. The mid part of the race is long and straight so pick a group/tall hefty fella and tuck in ;)
    Gillo wrote: »
    If you wanted you could spend a fortune out here. Number collected anyway, so that's the main thing out of the way.

I'm in a black north face jacket with a north face bag on my back if anyone see's me.

Also, two buses passed me with out stopping in Nassau St. Try getting them on O'Connell St. Ended up getting a taxi to save time, which was a funny story- he seemed to know a fair bit about running so I asked him if he ran also. He said he didn't but claimed he collects the blood from the elites after races. That's what he said, I'd say it's doubtful but thought it was funny.

Hi Gillo, stranger things have happened! Maybe he transports their anti-doping samples to the lab?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

FYI I'm wearing a tshirt with a big white M on it.

Currently staring down everyone in a black jacket looking for the North Face logo, in a friendly way, of course! :P

I'll keep an eye out for you, just grabbing a much needed coffee.

If anyone see's a stand selling ITB supports can they give me a heads up, they look like a knee support but a just a strap that goes above the knee. I can pick them up in town but would rather leave here with them to be safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭ratracer

Break it to me gently folks...... How long is the queue for race number?? Although I won't be there until tomorrow

ratracer wrote:
    Break it to me gently folks...... How long is the queue for race number?? Although I won't be there until tomorrow

It's grand. Not long and moving fast.

Just went through there and no queue at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Just waiting in the bus. Good to see they're just as efficient as I remember. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Nice little surprise on the goody bag...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

:confused: Somewhat puzzled by the can of Dutch alcohol-free beer in the goodie bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

nop98 wrote:
    Somewhat puzzled by the can of Dutch alcohol-free beer in the goodie bag.

Isotonic at a guess, good for afterwards. (Haven't seen it )

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Casey78

Best of luck to all the novices on Monday.
    This time last year I was in the same position as yourselves as a novice. It's hard to believe it is a year ago actually.
    Not doing it myself this year but will give it another crack in 2016.

Just go and enjoy yourselves,you'll never again have a first marathon.
    Whatever your time is at the finish by Monday evening you'll all be Marathoners and part of the 1% club!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

12726!! Didnt hang around the expo. Bag grab and back to the car. Great to see Toulouse briefly. Next time we meet will be at the start line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Just arrived. Reality kicking in. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Do we need a table with the Novice bib numbers, to facilitate the spectators :) The one on the official thread is getting very long!

Bib No.| Username
    8651|nop98

To add yours:
    1) reply to the latest by clicking the "Quote" button
    2) remove the QUOTE and /QUOTE tags
    3) Add a new line within the TABLE tags: username|number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Pretty poor bag.. Ah well not what its about I guess..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Bib No.| Username
    8651|nop98
    860| neilthefunkeone

To add yours:
    1) reply to the latest by clicking the "Quote" button
    2) remove the QUOTE and /QUOTE tags
    3) Add a new line within the TABLE tags: username|number

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

All the best folks!:) well done to you all for making it to here, the marathon is 100's of miles, the finish is the last 26.2 as they say so ye should be all proud of what ye have done to get this far.

A final few tips from me are to get to bed early tonight, it's the most important night to get in a good deep sleep. If it does turn out to be windy on Monday, take shelter everywhere you can. It's a simple but often overlooked part of running, take cover in the middle of the group or behind the tallest person you can see and conserve as much energy as possible for the final stretch.

A mental cue I use if it's getting tough is to keep visualising a short 2 or 3 mile loop at home that I run and focus on making it to the end of it and keep the legs moving.

All the best again everyone and enjoy, Have a gud un!:)