Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Machinery Photo/Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭MfMan

Could be close to 12cum. Great yoke to shift dung.

Could ye be persuaded to fit a PTO cover?

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

Reggie. wrote: »
    The two feeding tractors here MF 168 and MF 188

Yv9LPe5l.jpg

V47WYjVl.jpg

Reggie, are the studs on the 10-16 tyre the same as the one on the 165. looking a set for a 165 to put a loader on, thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭johndeere3350

Few from abroad

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭ford 5600

The two feeding tractors here MF 168 and MF 188

Yv9LPe5l.jpg

V47WYjVl.jpg

The "real workhorses". Not polished and pampered like the 398. Looks better than it did new. Easy for it when this pair are doing the work, and it only for posing. :rolleyes::)
    That's one of the last 168s with the Lambourn cab. 2 nice honest tractors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

My trusty MF698, ****e cab and all. It's the tractor i learned to drive on. Still mechanically sound bar the brakes, which pull to one side or the other no matter how they are adjusted

ZoaSBzyl.jpg

Tv2KtnUl.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

My trusty MF698, ****e cab and all. It's the tractor i learned to drive on. Still mechanically sound bar the brakes, which pull to one side or the other no matter how they are adjusted

ZoaSBzyl.jpg

Tv2KtnUl.jpg
    Our landini getting overhaul here atm. Dad has whole yoke striped down
    has all lights working now and got her starting on key again.
    have a lad coming to look at electrics.
    She needs brakes looked at now and new 4wd unit in front axle

• Registered Users Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭visatorro

Our landini getting overhaul here atm. Dad has whole yoke striped down has all lights working now and got her starting on key again. have a lad coming to look at electrics. She needs brakes looked at now and new 4wd unit in front axle

you've spent a few pound on it recently, must be staying around for the long haul

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

two feeding tractors MF 168 and MF 188
    ]

That FIL of yours is no messer. Fair play to him

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That's a big girl alright. What does it hold

**** aka dung

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

visatorro wrote: »
    you've spent a few pound on it recently, must be staying around for the long haul

I've no plans in changing her any way. 30e for ignition switch and another switch. And she's slot safer now.
    Dad found a s/h 4wd unit in cork last yr but we never followed it up

• Registered Users Posts: 24,370 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Muckit wrote: »
    That FIL of yours is no messer. Fair play to him

The 168 belonged to his father so it's part of the landscape at this stage

That time of year again

2mcsSjLl.jpg

JyOm5xGl.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

That time of year again

The joys of footin turf...sprayed 3 acres today and knapsacked the roadway and both yards.i suppose I'll be shot for it this time next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

That time of year again

2mcsSjLl.jpg

JyOm5xGl.jpg

Will ya fcuk off with that depressing scutter the fcuking bog and turf

I said wrote: »
    Will ya fcuk off with that depressing scutter the fcuking bog and turf

Oh yeah that's right I forgot your a wimp :D

I'll take a hopper of ya once ya peg it into the shed when ya deliver it what s the price of a hopper this year

15 euro for us as We use the smaller 4 sod behind the tractor. Don't know what is a 10 sod hopper. That self propelled throws them out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,373 ✭✭✭stanflt

At maize

bChfaufl.jpg

17ZgK1vl.jpg

37HrEOEl.jpg

stanflt wrote: »
    At maize

That's a fair lump of a fert spreader

stanflt wrote: »
    At maize

Nice outfit

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

stanflt wrote:
    At maize

That spreader is an animal! How many tonnes will that fert spreader hold? Does it do lime as well?

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭johndeere3350

That time of year again

2mcsSjLl.jpg

JyOm5xGl.jpg
    Usually end up in bogs cutting silage or mulching.
    Wouldn't draw anymore of it on myself haha

Usually end up in bogs cutting silage or mulching.
    Wouldn't draw anymore of it on myself haha

This generation is very soft :P

• Registered Users Posts: 5,116 ✭✭✭Grueller

Thanks be to jaysus we have no bogs down here. Come to think of it we always had strawberries to be picked. Trust me, every bit as bad as footing turf.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Grueller wrote: »
    Thanks be to jaysus we have no bogs down here. Come to think of it we always had strawberries to be picked. Trust me, every bit as bad as footing turf.

You can't eat a sod of turf though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

15 euro for us as We use the smaller 4 sod behind the tractor. Don't know what is a 10 sod hopper. That self propelled throws them out.

10 sod hopper here is €70 I think but she's a sow. I fecking HATE the bog I'd rather sit down with the mother in law for a chat than go to the bog. The lads here turn it by machine and all but bringing it home is still to much.

The turning by machine is only a balls of a job. Is it the tractor one or quad one

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

The turning by machine is only a balls of a job. Is it the tractor one or quad one

Why do you say that, never saw one working apart from on youtube, thought it looked a might job! Have no love for the bog either though.

It breaks up the sod too much plus the sod might not turn right so won't dry. So would have to be turned again leading to more breakages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Never seen it I'll try get a pic when they are at it. I think this is a home invention from local lads that work the bog for a few generations.