If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Siamsa is not looking for many just 4-6 cattle. On buying now compared to June/July it depends on what you are doing with cattle. I find badly done cattle bought from poorer land in That period turns into decent stores going into the shed. However it is not a time to buy if reselling at end of year or intend winter finishing them. If however you are taking to finish the following summer it as good a time as any to buy

Perhaps it's that since we typically have a shorter grazing season here in the North West that seems to impact thrive as the summer progresses. A standard winter for us would be mid November until mid April with the potential for an extra month in bad weather. If I leave it until mid July to buy cattle they only have about 4 months at grass until housing. When you've to face 5 months or more feeding indoors every day's thrive at grass starts to count at least in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭memorystick

kk.man wrote: »
    I think you are over playing the problems somewhat. I too have finished culls and here's what I learnt.
    1. The fr culls will eat alot of meal, too much to finish.
    2. Mastitis will be a big problem if you have high ditches. Flies tend to be less on neat trimmed ones.

Keep them in paddocks in the middle of fields if you can and away from rivers or watery drains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭leoch

Were in the north west are u albert .....u and base and a few others on here are a mind of knowledge i love reading the posts from ye all very informative indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,899 ✭✭✭Robson99

The jobber men tend to buy a lot of the cull cows. As one of the prebious posts outlined once you notice a problem with them you need to be off to the factory and take what you get.
    Mastitis would break you heart and poor drivers are common enough

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

leoch wrote: »
    Were in the north west are u albert .....u and base and a few others on here are a mind of knowledge i love reading the posts from ye all very informative indeed

I'm in south Sligo on the Roscommon border, the land type locally would be very mixed quality with a lot of forestry planted in recent years. As for being knowledgeable I don't know really but I'm glad someone enjoys my input. I've been lucky enough to have a few good farming mentors locally and I'm still learning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭kk.man

Robson99 wrote: »
    The jobber men tend to buy a lot of the cull cows. As one of the prebious posts outlined once you notice a problem with them you need to be off to the factory and take what you get.
    Mastitis would break you heart and poor drivers are common enough

I know of a jobber man who was known to be fairly shrewd. Got into culls in a big way and by all accounts is now a bit of financial bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

The insights on here are unreal - thanks.

I’m looking for 6-8 yearlings at the moment. Still building sheep and calf numbers so have extra ground that I won’t get to graze this year. Sold silage off it last year but the ground needs lime and don’t want to take more silage off it this year.

Small numbers I know and it’ll be just summer grazing as I won’t be keeping them past November. A neighbour mentioned HE or AA heifers and finishing them in Nov or Dec, but they seem dear at the moment.

Any other recommendations?

The colour of them doesn’t bother me a jot!

The best way to make money is give/ set the ground to a neighbour to graze and no gambling money to try make a 100 euros on a small number of cattle and big thing extra work with another batch/ type of stock on the farm. Play it plan and simple.

I was reading it too and thought wtf!

The man buys those continental bullocks, he must pay a minum of 2 é per kg even the 0s into r types. There is very little money in that. He be lucky to have 50 é net per head with current beef prices. Those stores haven fallen in price and I been to a good few Marts recently.

The rag has to champion this type of finishing to keep the supply of good cattle coming along for the factories, in the same way it was beating the drum for a 200 suckler cow scheme to keep lads keeping the cow to produce the calf for this type of finishing for Larry and the boys to mop up.

I know of a jobber man who was known to be fairly shrewd. Got into culls in a big way and by all accounts is now a bit of financial bother.

There one in Kildare who has gone I thing three times over the years and keeps returning to the game, drug addiction would be as expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,202 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The best way to make money is give/ set the ground to a neighbour to graze and no gambling money to try make a 100 euros on a small number of cattle and big thing extra work with another batch/ type of stock on the farm. Play it plan and simple.

Siamsa is farming it himself. He is building up his farm to a mixed sheep and cattle enterprise. He is slightly understocked for this summer and I'd looking for options. Setting a 4-5 acre field is not a feasible option in this situation.

He could consider silage or Hay but there is takes around at present. So what is his optiomn with stock that might leave a margins with least risk.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,409 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Siamsa is farming it himself. He is building up his farm to a mixed sheep and cattle enterprise. He is slightly understocked for this summer and I'd looking for options. Setting a 4-5 acre field is not a feasible option in this situation.

He could consider silage or Hay but there is takes around at present. So what is his optiomn with stock that might leave a margins with least risk.
    There’s allot of silage in the country
    Lots cut silage instead of stocking last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭Good loser

The rag has to champion this type of finishing to keep the supply of good cattle coming along for the factories, in the same way it was beating the drum for a 200 suckler cow scheme to keep lads keeping the cow to produce the calf for this type of finishing for Larry and the boys to mop up.

A conspiracy by the Journal to provide good, cheap cattle for the factory?

Fantasy stuff in the extreme - like SF politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Good loser wrote: »

The factories own FF and FG, why would they have the Journal fall into line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,665 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Good loser wrote: »

Or like beef plan pulling everyone down, everyone's out to get farmers.
    I'M afraid some farmers are very much ''authors of their own demise''
    Begrudgers would be a bigger problem than the conspiracy theorists.
    Young farmer on the journal is proud of his farm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 602 ✭✭✭TooOldBoots

I see registerations are open for Claremarts on May the 5th. Are other marts about to reopen too?
    Could see a couple of huge marts in May.
    I wonder will they relax the minimum stocking density of 0.15 livestock units per forage hectare for 7
    consecutive months this year?

http://www.claremarts.ie/auction-registration/register/1965

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 795 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

I see Newport which would be a small mart are advertising same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Fine Day

CHOPS01 wrote: »

See Portumna has an add on Donedeal for mart tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Newport have 2 tender sales each week. Even b4 the lockdown they had taken a lot of stock from Nenagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Is Ennis a tender sale next Tuesday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,981 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

orm0nd wrote: »
    Newport have 2 tender sales each week. Even b4 the lockdown they had taken a lot of stock from Nenagh.

Wouldn’t be hard 5 minutes from nenagh and I try avoid going there if I can at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Wouldn’t be hard 5 minutes from nenagh and I try avoid going there if I can at all

I know the manager has been very ill and was out of action, but their efforts to help their customers during the lockdown has been pitiful.

Every other mart in the region in fairness tried their utmost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Gman1987

Anyone buy cattle in the marts via the online auction Livestock live? How did you find it? Prices look fairly decent compared to beef factory price so I'm not going to be buying anytime soon but it got me thinking that with this type of system whats to stop the seller bidding up his own cattle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Gman1987 wrote: »
    Anyone buy cattle in the marts via the online auction Livestock live? How did you find it? Prices look fairly decent compared to beef factory price so I'm not going to be buying anytime soon but it got me thinking that with this type of system whats to stop the seller bidding up his own cattle?

You have to be logged in to bid and the app wouldn't let you bid on your own cattle. But nothing to stop your mate bidding just like any normal mart apart from the chance of getting stuck with them. I do think lads are getting bit carried away bidding at home as the prices are very strong when you see beef at €3.40 in the factory. I know a few lads that have bought on line and they are happy with the stock, but have said remember thing always look a bit better on a television so discount accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭jfh

Any idea what price per kg weanlings are making at the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

jfh wrote: »
    Any idea what price per kg weanlings are making at the moment?

Picking decent yearlings up for round 2.20 - 2.30 a kg for 350kg ish.

Pretty sure this has been answered before. If an animal is taken to the mart but not sold and brought home. Is there a movement count ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,683 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Pretty sure this has been answered before. If an animal is taken to the mart but not sold and brought home. Is there a movement count ?

Think its recorded on the system but isn't counted as a movement between herd numbers

Reggie. wrote: »
    Think its recorded on the system but isn't counted as a movement between herd numbers

Ya that's it alright. Bought 6 on DD during the week and 2 of them seem to have done a share of moving. Must check the movements again later on agfood. Is it maximum 4 residencies for QA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,202 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Ya that's it alright. Bought 6 on DD during the week and 2 of them seem to have done a share of moving. Must check the movements again later on agfood. Is it maximum 4 residencies for QA

Yes max of four residences/owners, movements to and from marts do not count but BnB's do count

Slava Ukrainii