Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is 22K a year, a good living wage in Dublin city or just outside of?

• 01-04-2015 8:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭

I'm starting a new job soon and I'm looking into moving in to the city or anywhere from Dublin 1 to 8. Is 22k a good wage to live on and what a good breakdown of where my money should go?
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

It should be wisely invested in Paddy Power and amphetamines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Well laa dee daa, €22k...no recession here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

When you say Dublin 1-8 I presume you mean the even numbers except for parts of Dublin 8 and parts of Dublin 1?

Rent is going to devour your budget every month, if you could maybe save a bit first or take out a loan of €5k (don't have to use it, just good to have it there) you will be good for cash.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,168 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1m1tless

Have a few kids and you will make more on the dole :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Easily get by with that.

You could try and double your wages by working twice as many hours as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

You won't have much of a life but I'm sure there's plenty of free things you could do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Mint Aero wrote: »
    You won't have much of a life but I'm sure there's plenty of free things you could do.

Yeah, especially if he rents somewhere with a crying chair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

When you say Dublin 1-8 I presume you mean the even numbers except for parts of Dublin 8 and parts of Dublin 1?

Rent is going to devour your budget every month, if you could maybe save a bit first or take out a loan of €5k (don't have to use it, just good to have it there) you will be good for cash.

Take out a loan "just to have it there"?

What kind of stupid ****ing advice is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Best thing you could do is get a cowboy hat and make friends with a guy that looks like Dustin Hoffman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Niall558 wrote: »
    I'm starting a new job soon and I'm looking into moving in to the city or anywhere from Dublin 1 to 8. Is 22k a good wage to live on and what a good breakdown of where my money should go?

If you live in the city centre, most of your money will go on rent.

Is that a good living wage?

Well that depends on a lot of things. Are you looking to rent alone or in shared accomodation? Do you own a car? Do you have kids?

The answer is yes and no depending on your circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

I cant help notice how wages are gone to ****e as the costs of living rise.

FalconGirl wrote: »
    I cant help notice how wages are gone to ****e as the costs of living rise.

Jobsbridge to thank for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I live on 20k in Dublin. Tight but doable, but I don't smoke or have a car and don't drink much so that makes a huge difference. I'm in D15, but inner D15 almost D7 so central enough. I live in a nice apartment with my BF, we each pay €525 per month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

Wouldn't be alot left over imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Well that's heart warming and encouraging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

kneemos wrote: »

And realistic

I'm all about the warming of hearts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

You won't be able to own a horse called Jasmine and ride it every weekend or drink Champagne every Saturday, but if you're economical and money-savvy youll get by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I'm all about the warming of hearts.

They really are a good cheap cut of meat, and a great source of protein and nutrients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

You will get by, but it won't be fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

Ought to get you one shot of coke and hookers. In the off season. And the hookers might be a bit rough.

Take out a loan "just to have it there"?

What kind of stupid ****ing advice is that?

Why save when you can just borrow? Carpe diem grandad.

Lux23 wrote: »
    You will get by, but it won't be fun!

I seem to manage to have fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Im on 22k in Dublin and don't think it's a struggle at all. Sure, rent takes up a fair chunk of it, but as long as you're not being a tit with your money you'll be fine. I head out 3/4 times a month and still have plenty left over to transfer to the savings account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

With the way rent is going in Dublin it might be doable to get a bit of experience and move to a better job but you won't have loads of spending money.

I'd say find the cheapest house share you're willing to put up with, something small but clean and free of mould (this can be a tough one in Dubland) and spend the weekends somewhere outside of the city to preserve your sanity. Sure you'd go stone fecking mad inside in that place, regardless of what wage yer on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

You'll be grand. I make a few grand more but I was on that wage for ages. As long as you don't blow all your cash on booze the weekend and pre drink should be okay. I used to spend it kind of like this, I'm sure you have other expenses but this is an idea...

1500 a month ish

Rent - 550e(if shared house)
    Bills- 100e
    Transportation- 100e
    Food 160e

590 / 4 weeks

140 quid a week to live on.... I know there are probably other things not thrown into the mix but it is fine as long as you have no dependants and are prepared to be smarter with your cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Why save when you can just borrow? Carpe diem grandad.

You know there's repayments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

You can live on it, but you'll need to come up with a budget to avoid living payday to payday. You'll feel much better off if you still have a bit of money in the bank by the end of the month.

It's a pretty typical starting salary at the moment in corporate type jobs if you've no experience, but you'll probably get a bit more before too long if you do a good job (obviously depending on where you work).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

You'll have to house share, not sure about why posters are suggesting you'll need to live on the southside.

D7 - great places to live and some cheap places too.
    D5 - some very cheap places if you don't mind coming in on the DART
    D3 - Every fecking student I know lives in D3 or D7.
    D1 - Yeah okay maybe not.

You know there's repayments?

It's based on the presumption that the 22k salary would increase by €4k after a year and a further €4k after 2 years and being in a far better position than that after 4 years at a time when the loan would be nearly paid off with only the interest remaining i.e. the repayments would be insignificant at that point.

The interest on the loan would be worth the security blanket of having the loan there if he didn't want to save up €5k before moving out (€5k obviously being an arbitrary figure) plus he would build up a good credit rating for getting a mortgage if he wished.

You'll have to house share, not sure about why posters are suggesting you'll need to live on the southside.

D7 - great places to live and some cheap places too.
    D5 - some very cheap places if you don't mind coming in on the DART
    D3 - Every fecking student I know lives in D3 or D7.
    D1 - Yeah okay maybe not.

D1 is soulless around the IFSC apartments and can be quite pricey to rent but the location is fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

D1 is soulless around the IFSC apartments and can be quite pricey to rent but the location is fantastic.

Hookers on tap though, not that the OP is going to be able to afford them :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

I wouldn't consider it a 'good' living wage for Dublin at all but many people seem to manage.

I imagine you will need to properly budget every month and consider your balance every time you want to take out 50E. Optimising your commute will help too (walking distance, tax saver options etc) but if nothing else, it's good experience!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

It's based on the presumption that the 22k salary would increase by €4k after a year and a further €4k after 2 years and being in a far better position than that after 4 years at a time when the loan would be nearly paid off with only the interest remaining i.e. the repayments would be insignificant at that point.

The interest on the loan would be worth the security blanket of having the loan there if he didn't want to save up €5k before moving out (€5k obviously being an arbitrary figure) plus he would build up a good credit rating for getting a mortgage if he wished.

You know the tiger is back when people are telling each other to take out loans they don't need. I think I'm going to quit my job and work on a building site for 1,600e a week cash in hand, with a brand new crew cab yoke and a jetski behind it, doing shoddy work I can repair a year later for 800e a day. Might lobby the local Fine Gaeler to let me attach a housing estate full of units onto the local village, just gotta make sure I shift all my units for the next bust a couple of years later and don't end up going 'unit-mad' and broke like so many before me.

Who said anything about needs?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

It's based on the presumption that the 22k salary would increase by €4k after a year and a further €4k after 2 years

Even though things are picking up, that's a very big presumption. Where I work new starters start on probably €25-26k, but if they were getting another grand on top of that after two years they'd be doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

I was on 25k net last year and with that I could just exist. Lived in Dublin 5 but I was left with about €50 a week after everything was was paid for. No car, don't smoke and only went out 2 nights a month. Couldn't afford to go on holiday or renew my passport last year. There was something every few weeks popping up like birthdays and weddings that ate into whatever I saved on quiet weeks.

IMO, If you plan to live on your own in Dublin and want to have a life you need to be taking in about 32k net, you'll be be able to run a car and a holiday a year if you want then. I got messed around with too much sharing, can't do it. So I pay more to enjoy my own time that I'm not in work, that to me is priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

IT depend s on how much rent you are paying,
    How much do you spend on getting to work .
    an identical flat ,apartment on the northside can be alot cheaper than one on the southside ,1/4 mile away,or just across the liffey .
    Get a flat near a bus route, luas stop, that go,s past your place of work.
    Sharing a house may work out cheaper than a single flat.

Theres not a big difference living in say drumcondra ,northside,
    than living in rathmines ,southside,for example.
    buy food ,in aldi, dunne stores ,tesco.
    Look on rent.ie , daft.ie flats, for rent .
    I remember like in the 90.s most country people would rent on the southside , rathmines etc
    before the new apartments were built .
    It,s like any city ,its easy to waste ,spend money on things like taxi,s ,
    than say just using a bus travel card .
    Dublin has bus,s luas,
    no every single person needs a car .
    House sharing does, not suit everyone .
    See what a 1 bed flat costs , on rent.ie etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I was on 25k net last year and with that I could just exist. Lived in Dublin 5 but I was left with about €50 a week after everything was was paid for. No car, don't smoke and only went out 2 nights a month. Couldn't afford to go on holiday or renew my passport last year. There was something every few weeks popping up like birthdays and weddings that ate into whatever I saved on quiet weeks.

IMO, If you plan to live on your own in Dublin and want to have a life you need to be taking in about 32k net, you'll be be able to run a car and a holiday a year if you want then. I got messed around with too much sharing, can't do it. So I pay more to enjoy my own time that I'm not in work, that to me is priceless.

You're doing something very seriously wrong if you can barely manage on 25k NET.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Angrybastard

If you live in the city centre, most of your money will go on rent.

Is that a good living wage?

Well that depends on a lot of things. Are you looking to rent alone or in shared accomodation? Do you own a car? Do you have kids?

The answer is yes and no depending on your circumstances.

The answer is no. Under NO circumstance is 22k a good living wage in Ireland, let alone Dublin.
    I suspect you are an employer.

The answer is no. Under NO circumstance is 22k a good living wage in Ireland, let alone Dublin.
    I suspect you are an employer.

I wish! It's not too bad if you are just starting out, sharing, don't need to run a car, have no children etc, etc.

I started off on a wage similar to that, lived in Dublin, ran a car on it and still managed to save a little bit. It is do-able. Obviously, you won't be a millionaire but you shouldn't be scraping by either if you budget correctly.

If you have 4 kids, a mortgage etc, it would be a very poor wage.

You're doing something very seriously wrong if you can barely manage on 25k NET.

Like enjoying life?

25k net? You're terrible with money. After all my rent and living costs inc bills, I'd have 220 per week to play around with on that.

I wish! It's not too bad if you are just starting out, sharing, don't need to run a car, have no children etc, etc.

I started off on a wage similar to that, lived in Dublin, ran a car on it and still managed to save a little bit. It is do-able. Obviously, you won't be a millionaire but you shouldn't be scraping by either if you budget correctly.

If you have 4 kids, a mortgage etc, it would be a very poor wage.

Where'd ya get the fancy avatar? Posh burd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

If you share -- and why would people in their 20's not share - it's fine. You'll have the guts of a grand a month to spend ( or more) after rent and house related outgoings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Zaph wrote: »
    Even though things are picking up, that's a very big presumption. Where I work new starters start on probably €25-26k, but if they were getting another grand on top of that after two years they'd be doing well.

Was going to say that. Going up 8k in 2 years presumably without promotion is just ludicrous.

Monthly net is 1,611. Pay 611 or less in rent and utils, which is possible sharing, and you will have a good disposable.

Live alone and rent will be > 1000 and utilities will not be shared and you will scrape by.

Birneybau wrote: »
    Was going to say that. Going up 8k in 2 years presumably without promotion is just ludicrous.

It is?

<_<.......

.........>_>

Oh right.

Where'd ya get the fancy avatar? Posh burd.

I paid for it with all of my money.

Like enjoying life?

But he said he couldn't do anything. I bet he meant gross.