Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

cul beag wrote: »

Can't wait for it. Hoping it will be a great read. Hope he makes a killing on it he deserves every penny he gets from it having put his body on the line,like so many others for the cause of Waterford hurling. Legend.
    Here here, as the fellah says; 'tisn't often I buys a book' but I'll be straight down the shop to buy this one. I grew up in awe of this guy, my all-time hero. I was completely sold on Ken ever since he came to my primary school one day back when he was a young lad himself only after breaking through onto the Waterford senior team, but remember thinking what a sound, laid back and down to earth lad, and how it was in total contrast to the absolute warrior you'd see out on the pitch in Thurles or Pairc Ui Caoimh.
    We produced many great players in that era, Tony Browne, Mullane, Shanahan, Kelly, Hartley. but Ken in my eyes was always head and shoulders above the rest. Unbelievable ability, a phenomenal athelete, and sheer will to win out on the field. A joy to watch. Up there with Shefflin and all the greats in my opinion, I know the cats like to ask us 'but how many All Irelands does he have' that's absolute bulls**t a guys individual ability should not be judged on his teams success, its certainly not Kens fault he didn't get the big one he left everything out on the field for Waterford and should rightly be remembered as one of the greatest ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    Here here, as the fellah says; 'tisn't often I buys a book' but I'll be straight down the shop to buy this one. I grew up in awe of this guy, my all-time hero. I was completely sold on Ken ever since he came to my primary school one day back when he was a young lad himself only after breaking through onto the Waterford senior team, but remember thinking what a sound, laid back and down to earth lad, and how it was in total contrast to the absolute warrior you'd see out on the pitch in Thurles or Pairc Ui Caoimh.
    We produced many great players in that era, Tony Browne, Mullane, Shanahan, Kelly, Hartley. but Ken in my eyes was always head and shoulders above the rest. Unbelievable ability, a phenomenal athelete, and sheer will to win out on the field. A joy to watch. Up there with Shefflin and all the greats in my opinion, I know the cats like to ask us 'but how many All Irelands does he have' that's absolute bulls**t a guys individual ability should not be judged on his teams success, its certainly not Kens fault he didn't get the big one he left everything out on the field for Waterford and should rightly be remembered as one of the greatest ever.
    cough cough ,Paul Flynn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,602 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

So the draw for the 2017 senior championships take place 2morrow night.

No matter what draw we get in the hurling it's going to be tough. We're due a draw with tipp and a qf match. I'd like us to get a semi final in the draw (as we win that were guaranteed at least an AI QF). Cork or Limerick will be the draws everyone will want

In the football we will play in the qfs vs Clare, Limerick or Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

PTH2009 wrote: »
    So the draw for the 2017 senior championships take place 2morrow night.

No matter what draw we get in the hurling it's going to be tough. We're due a draw with tipp and a qf match. I'd like us to get a semi final in the draw (as we win that were guaranteed at least an AI QF). Cork or Limerick will be the draws everyone will want

In the football we will play in the qfs vs Clare, Limerick or Cork

I'd like a draw v tipp....first round belter. ....know we're at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭seananigans

Here lads, having a bit of fun on Twitter, think ye'll appreciate

https://twitter.com/OSullivanSeanie/status/786221827408494596

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

DLS hammered by Thurles CBS in the Harty today 3-17 to 1-8. They were 5pts up just before half time but seems as though they just never turned up second half. Disappointing.

On the 2017 championships draw, would be nice to get drawn straight into a semi final and you'd have to say Cork and Limerick would probably be the most favourable draws but we're due a quarter final appearance and also to meet Tipp before a Munster final.

cough cough ,Paul Flynn
    Spoken like a true gunner ;-)
    Flynn was a genius but Ken for me the more complete all round team player. Both lads carried Waterford on many a day but ask me to pick one I'd have Ken all day long

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

robopaddy2 wrote:
    Spoken like a true gunner ;-) Flynn was a genius but Ken for me the more complete all round team player. Both lads carried Waterford on many a day but ask me to pick one I'd have Ken all day long

Flynn had more craft, skill and natural talent than any Hurler I ever seen. Very fast when he was younger but never looked as fit as the others but a genius nonetheless. Ken had more drive and will to win along with all his talent. Difficult to say who was better

Spoken like a true gunner ;-)
    Flynn was a genius but Ken for me the more complete all round team player. Both lads carried Waterford on many a day but ask me to pick one I'd have Ken all day long
    im not a gunner(eeeeewh)and not trying to pick one over the other ,but one does not simply mention Waterford Hurling Legends without mentioning Paul Flynn !

So in the hurling it's

Us vs cork/tipp in the semi

Great to get a bye but it's going to be a tough one either way

So in the hurling it's

Us vs cork/tipp in the semi

Great to get a bye but it's going to be a tough one either way

whoever wins the semi has an awful soft munster final, tipp will be gearing for later in the year , cork not up to much, best chance to take a munster since before we even won it last 7 years is too long.

on another note, anyone catch gleeson saying he'd "get behind the managment,if they stay on" he might have let slip a cat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

on another note, anyone catch gleeson saying he'd "get behind the managment,if they stay on" he might have let slip a cat

Management haven't confirmed their intention to stay on this year. Dereks heartbreak was clear after the semi final replay loss and as far as I'm aware he wasn't sure of returning for next year.
    I'd imagine he will stay. Possibly a ploy to have more control of certain issues from the county board before agreeing to stay on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

DiscoStew wrote: »
    Management haven't confirmed their intention to stay on this year. Dereks heartbreak was clear after the semi final replay loss and as far as I'm aware he wasn't sure of returning for next year.
    I'd imagine he will stay. Possibly a ploy to have more control of certain issues from the county board before agreeing to stay on.

Don't be fooled for one second here,he's definitely staying.

It would be a bit late to begin a search for a new management team with the county championships near an end but anything can happen in Waterford.

Either way we need clarification from Derek and Co very soon

whoever wins the semi has an awful soft munster final, tipp will be gearing for later in the year , cork not up to much, best chance to take a munster since before we even won it last 7 years is too long.

Surly Clare will go gungho as they've pint to prove

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Tough draw for ye what's worse than getting tipp? Getting them when they've already played a match
    I can see why limerick are being written off as we haven't performed in last two years but with our new mgt team hopefully the nightmare of the last two years will be binned next year.

No more so than anyone else.
    Joint management has rarely if ever worked at senior intercounty. Roscommon were supposed to be the next biggest thing in football last year, appointed joint managers with Kevin McStay and O'Donnell but it was a complete disaster. I know the 2 Clare lads have been together a while, but Limerick appointed Dave Keane to senior manager after he had guided them to 3 u21s in a row, everyone thought it was the final piece in the jigsaw, but that didn't last p****g time either.

No more so than anyone else.
    Joint management has rarely if ever worked at senior intercounty. Roscommon were supposed to be the next biggest thing in football last year, appointed joint managers with Kevin McStay and O'Donnell but it was a complete disaster. I know the 2 Clare lads have been together a while, but Limerick appointed Dave Keane to senior manager after he had guided them to 3 u21s in a row, everyone thought it was the final piece in the jigsaw, but that didn't last p****g time either.

lim4ev wrote: »
    Tough draw for ye what's worse than getting tipp? Getting them when they've already played a match
    I can see why limerick are being written off as we haven't performed in last two years but with our new mgt team hopefully the nightmare of the last two years will be binned next year.

If we're to have any dreams on winning anything we've to back ourselves to turn over tipp/anyone on the day

Really hope it's in Thurles thoigh

lim4ev wrote: »

If we're to have any dreams on winning anything we've to back ourselves to turn over tipp/anyone on the day

Really hope it's in Thurles thoigh
    Id rather turn them over in an AI semi or Final than a Munster semi if were going to do it.
    Not overly fussed on Munster championship to be honest. at the end of the day its all about trying to get back to hurling in August at the business end of the championship, anything else for us is regress after the past 2 seasons and that's the reality

Id rather turn them over in an AI semi or Final than a Munster semi if were going to do it.
    Not overly fussed on Munster championship to be honest. at the end of the day its all about trying to get back to hurling in August at the business end of the championship, anything else for us is regress after the past 2 seasons and that's the reality

We won't be playing til the middle of June so the management might decide to go for the league again as it would be more matches for us but we could experiment in the league with the aim of securing our 1A status. No doubt about it we have a horrible league schedule with our first outing being Kilkenny Away and then Tipp at home. We then travel to Croke Park to play the Dubs but before playing Cork at home and travelling to Clare on the last day. Wins in Nowlan Park, Croke Park and over Cork or Tipp are a must in the league next year (securing the 1A status is a must too)

Don't think we will play Tipp in Thurles so if PUC is ready or else Limerick again (either way tipp will have played in one of the venues in the QF, as it's corks turn to host a game vs tipp or a neutral venue (Limerick). If we're playing Cork it will be in Thurles

Can't wait for 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

We won't be playing til the middle of June so the management might decide to go for the league again as it would be more matches for us but we could experiment in the league with the aim of securing our 1A status. No doubt about it we have a horrible league schedule with our first outing being Kilkenny Away and then Tipp at home. We then travel to Croke Park to play the Dubs but before playing Cork at home and travelling to Clare on the last day. Wins in Nowlan Park, Croke Park and over Cork or Tipp are a must in the league next year (securing the 1A status is a must too)

Don't think we will play Tipp in Thurles so if PUC is ready or else Limerick again (either way tipp will have played in one of the venues in the QF, as it's corks turn to host a game vs tipp or a neutral venue (Limerick). If we're playing Cork it will be in Thurles

Can't wait for 2017

It's time to be forgetting about the league. The only benefit that is now is to help financially for the county board. Munster title is the very minimum in 2017. No more excuses about it being a young team etc its time we stand up and be counted and deliver on what's a fabulous pool of talented players. He must know himself that this is year 4 in charge and there can't be any excuses only as I said a Munster or an all Ireland title that will be accepted as progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭thesultan

Flynn had more craft, skill and natural talent than any Hurler I ever seen. Very fast when he was younger but never looked as fit as the others but a genius nonetheless. Ken had more drive and will to win along with all his talent. Difficult to say who was better
    That's the pity about Flynn for all the talent he has in his prime years he was never fully fit. I would have loved to see him push himself more .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭thesultan

cul beag wrote: »
    It's time to be forgetting about the league. The only benefit that is now is to help financially for the county board. Munster title is the very minimum in 2017. No more excuses about it being a young team etc its time we stand up and be counted and deliver on what's a fabulous pool of talented players. He must know himself that this is year 4 in charge and there can't be any excuses only as I said a Munster or an all Ireland title that will be accepted as progress.

We need to beat Tipp.

thesultan wrote: »
    We need to beat Tipp.

too true, Munster league is for experimentation League to be taken seriously, only downside is avoiding the qualifiers we have to avoid putting Davy out.

Plenty of those u21s overage need to be bedded in and brought up, Curran, Conor Gleeson Prunty Jordan Henley DJ all need to be given Munster league and league time to get them up to pace, they all have something to contribute later in the year .

Im always wary of playing Wexford but even more wary of them now with Davy at the helm

Looks like PUC won't be ready til July 2017 so we're Thurles or Limerick bound in the championship

When are the draws for the Munster minor and under 21 championships ???

Do we have a chance of doing 2 in a row in the u21 ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭culbaire

Progress is winning the Munster Senior Hurling Championship and an All Ireland. The time for excuses is over. It is time to actually WIN in the CHAMPIONSHIP. It is not progress to be knocked out of the Munster Championship. Being happy with it means an acceptance of failure. No point in always being a "nearly team" and being awarded the title of "gallant losers".

There is a lot of nonsense being spoken about the team being in transition. It is an excuse for failure. Tipperary went through the process in one year and WON. The talent is there. No more excuses. Its delivery time!

culbaire wrote: »
    Progress is winning the Munster Senior Hurling Championship and an All Ireland. The time for excuses is over. It is time to actually WIN in the CHAMPIONSHIP. It is not progress to be knocked out of the Munster Championship. Being happy with it means an acceptance of failure. No point in always being a "nearly team" and being awarded the title of "gallant losers".

There is a lot of nonsense being spoken about the team being in transition. It is an excuse for failure. Tipperary went through the process in one year and WON. The talent is there. No more excuses. Its delivery time!
    yeh we are in transition now for 50 years ,

culbaire wrote: »

I agree, I wasn't making excuses for anyone. My point being just get back to the AI semi final next year, via Munster Championship or backdoor, it doesn't matter, just get there, then worry about winning it. I'm not thinking along the lines of being in transition or not, I'm thinking along the lines of being good enough to beat KK and Tipp. This year we weren't, simple as. Get back to the business end of the championship again, that's when we will be judged. Not league or Munster championship