********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

think "unofficial" was an important word in the post you quoted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Interslice wrote: »
    It's only out 6 days! Be a right prick of a guard to give you hassle over that. I've had it 10/11 weeks out at a checkpoint before. Guard just asked is it in the post. I said it is :).

Wasn't expecting hassle, but I was expecting "what's the story with the tax?"
    Stheno wrote: »
    ]

One of them keeps calling me young man has done it three times

:eek: flash him next time :p
    Bpmull wrote: »
    I think you generally get away with it for the first week or two but Id say when it starts to approach a month out you may be questioned I suppose it really just depends on the gaurd.

On another note two checkpoints in two days I haven't been through two checkpoints in two years and I still do a reasonable amount of driving I suppose it all depends on what part of the country your in.

One on the bridge in Lucan, one halfway between Kilcormac and birr (end of the long straight YBfocus ;) )

I don't get paid till the 18th, so there will be no tax bought before then:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

I can't remember the last time I've been stopped or went through a checkpoint definitely not in the last two years and Id ive definitely been through less than five since I started driving and I'm almost 4 years on the road.

There may be less off them now or just coincidence. With increased cut backs and health and safety etc. I wouldn't be surprised if there is less now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

pred racer wrote: »
    One on the bridge in Lucan, one halfway between Kilcormac and birr (end of the long straight YBfocus ;) )

I often think that it could be an emergency runway!
    I also hit quite a speed on my private road that runs adjacent to that in the 36 ;)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

:eek: flash him next

Lolol
    @ powerpants it's taking that unofficial as fact that could land you with a fine

And that's your second snidey post at me in the past day, have you got a problem with me?

If you do, put me on ignore, if you don't just get over yourself and your snidey posts

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Interslice wrote: »
    Friend of mine got an official warning in the post off a traffic warden the other week. No fine or anything just a warning. It was a few months out. 3/4 I think. Strange one.

Car can be seized with tax put more than two months

YbFocus wrote: »
    I often think that it could be an emergency runway!
    I also hit quite a speed on my private road that runs adjacent to that in the 36 ;)

I've had the 159 up to 220km/hr on that stretch, come out of Kilcormac and just let her have it till u see the church;)

I've also passed a Speed check on that road at 140 and wasn't stopped :D I think they were waiting for bikes!

I've had the 159 up to 220km/hr on that stretch, come out of Kilcormac and just let her have it till u see the church;)

147mph/236kmh! I'm better and have a bigger d**k

Ah no its all bravado I don't do that speed, neither do you of course!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

one halfway between Kilcormac and birr (end of the long straight YBfocus ;) )

I don't get paid till the 18th, so there will be no tax bought before then:o

My dad got done for speeding on that road when the points system first came out. I've been on that road so many times at this stage as my dad is from athlone and all his family live there so we go up several times a year. Also my great granny lives in kilcormac so We go there a good bit too to visit her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Lolol
    @ powerpants it's taking that unofficial as fact that could land you with a fine

And that's your second snidey post at me in the past day, have you got a problem with me?

If you do, put me on ignore, if you don't just get over yourself and your snidey posts

Ah lads relax! I did say unofficial as its the usual thing to be done but by no means the law, so don't take it as fact.

147mph/236kmh! I'm better and have a bigger engine

Fyp and of course:p

147mph/236kmh! I'm better and have a bigger d**k

Let me give you the following scenario.

You lilive in swords in Dublin, and are due to be on-site in belfast at 845

Ordinarily you leave at six to give you a cushion.

On this fateful day however you wake at 640 have to have a shower etc

Do you
    1. Have shower, and drive like the clappers to get there on time?
    2. Ignore shower fling in yesterday's clothes and drive like clappers hoping to get more time?
    3. Have shower and drive within speed limits and make an excuse for being late?

Fyp and of course:p

True, it was getting ready to peel apart at that stage :)

Stheno, No. 1 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Let me give you the following scenario.

You lilive in swords in Dublin, and are due to be on-site in belfast at 845

Ordinarily you leave at six to give you a cushion.

On this fateful day however you wake at 640 have to have a shower etc

Do you
    1. Have shower, and drive like the clappers to get there on time?
    2. Ignore shower fling in yesterday's clothes and drive like clappers hoping to get more time?
    3. Have shower and drive within speed limits and make an excuse for being late?

You dont need to shower, splash some water under your arm pits and off you go, grab a chocolate bar from the fridge and a coke to get caffeine into your system, you should be out of bed and out the door in less than 15 minutes, eat and drink in the car.....oh wait your a girl right.....scrap all that and just call to say you will be late.

Did the same lol even had a smoke before the shower. Got there at ten to nine with a costa latte in hand

Spent a few weeks dreading the post.

I was in the ohs 15 year old merchant think I probably 120mph at a few points so about 192kph

Was fully prepared to stump up if I got fined

I think my speedo is wildly optimistic at that speed;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

Lolol

dont have a problem with you personally, sometimes your posts or the majority of them do actually do my head in when I think about it now

yeah, ill pop you ignore, thanks

You dont need to shower, splash some water under your arm pits and off you go, grab a chocolate bar from the fridge and a coke to get caffeine into your system, you should be out of bed and out the door in less than 15 minutes, eat and drink in the car.....oh wait your a girl right.....scrap all that and just call to say you will be late.

Disgusting.

And bad time management. In less than 15 minutes I was ffully showered, moisturiser and dressed, stopped en route for a couple of coffees and while on the car park that is lisburn to Belfast did makeup and perfume

Multitasking ftw

dont have a problem with you personally, sometimes your posts or the majority of them do actually do my head in when I think about it now

yeah, ill pop you ignore, thanks

Excellent no more my having to put up with your I'll mannered posts

Disgusting.

And bad time management. In less than 15 minutes I was ffully showered, moisturiser and dressed, stopped en route for a couple of coffees and while on the car park that is lisburn to Belfast did makeup and perfume

Multitasking ftw

Best thing about being a bloke, showered, dressed, coffee'd.........done!

Seriously you've met me with makeup on

Without that stuffi look even more like an aging version of the ugly sister's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Why do people shower in the mornings I get up at 5.45am (start work at 7am) and having a shower would be the last thing on my mind way too early and cold for that. Haven't been late so far but I'm being careful not to be as when your only there a few weeks showing up late doesn't give a great impression.

Seriously you've met me with makeup on

Without that stuffi look even more like an aging version of the ugly sister's

I have, I meant that I as a bloke don't have to bother with all that!

Believe me, my daughters have makeupped me, and I don't look any better with it on;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Showering is the last thing I'd do in the morning, not a morning person! I literally get up 15 minutes before I have to leave. Shower before bed, get up, on with the clothes and out the gap!

Why do people shower in the mornings I get up at 5.45am (start work at 7am) and having a shower would be the last thing on my mind way too early and cold for that. Haven't been late so far but I'm being careful not to be as when your only there a few weeks showing up late doesn't give a great impression.

Shower before bed for me, 10 mins extra in bed...get up at .6:00 or 6:10...... No contest!

I have, I meant that I as a bloke don't have to bother with all that!

Believe me, my daughters have makeupped me, and I don't look any better with it on;)

No I can see how that would be the case with what they've to work with :D

As for showering in the morning it takes me hours to wake up so a shower speeds that up

Shower and at least two large lattes are necessary for me before I can interact with people

Unless I'm working from home but regularly on work calls before eight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Are ye mad. I couldn't leave the gaff in the mornings without a shower, like Stheno says it really wakes you up, otherwise I do be half asleep well into the day, and I need a shower if I want my hair to look good

As well I couldn't be going into work unwashed after a nights sleep I'm one of those people who are active sleepers so I wake up all icky and sweaty
    gross

Eh what's with true hair looking good? Do you have some sort of unruly mop?

I get out of the shower and ten seconds with a comb sorts it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

As well I couldn't be going into work unwashed after a nights sleep I'm one of those people who are active sleepers so I wake up all icky and sweaty
    gross

Eh what's with true hair looking good? Do you have some sort of unruly mop?

I get out of the shower and ten seconds with a comb sorts it

Yeah it can be unruly, it's not mad long, just sorta medium length, hard to explain, think that curly headed chap from the conoras, I just can't do anything without clean hair though

Same here I've gone back to having slightly longer than a four shave it used be long and was a nightmare

Curls are the devils work