If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Down in north kerry for the week if any you boggers fancy a mini meet?

listowel ,killarney area;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

davycc wrote: »
    Down in north kerry for the week if any you boggers fancy a mini meet?

listowel ,killarney area;):D

Hey who you calling a bogger, ye jackeen.

I do spend a lot of my time in the bog though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Given that you've sold your motor already try see will they give you a loaner. Worth a shot...

Yep I have a loaner there now. Ah infairness it's their fault and they know my dad well so there was no issue with getting a car.

They gave me a 10 reg megane same spec but misses the odd feature that only came on the 11 onwards with the newer engine. Grand car but would be mechanically a lot rougher than the one I'm getting even though the mileage is a bit lower but the owner didn't kill themselves maintaining it. Anyway hopefully next Thursday I'll have it. They still have to do some body work on it and stuff anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Bpmull wrote: »
    I don't know about that. But it's certainly an unlucky thing to happen. There's a Clifford alarm on it too to make it more awkward not sure how that works with new keys from renault hopefully it was them that fit the system I think it was.

Why would someone put a Clifford alarm on a 1.5dci megane... :confused:

(btw, congrats on the new car when you do get it!)

Why would someone put a Clifford alarm on a 1.5dci megane... :confused:

(btw, congrats on the new car when you do get it!)

He used to work in rougher parts of dublin from what I can gather. It's a professional job cost over 500 euro. But my point is ordering keycards from Renault won't start the car or will they I don't know how a Clifford alarm works. Now there was no extra fob for the alarm when I test drove it's so it was built into the keycard fro what I can gather. I really know nothing about them alarms though.

It's actually probably the worst car they could have lost the keys for when you think about it there's nothing else that has that system on it over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

166man wrote: »
    Interslice wrote: »

What kind of Alfa if you don't mind me asking?

I have a fair few bits for them lying around if you need stuff. Also have a smashing leather interior that I'd probably move on, it's for a 156 though.

Good luck with it man!

Thanks man, hopefully it works out alright. Bought a 156 sw ye. Has cow already, although might do a swap if yours is better! Needs a drivers door and a rear wiper and motor assembly. It's a metalic navy colour. Cosmos blue I think. Hopefully I can find one. Still functions as a door but there's a big dent in it. Lets the whole car down.

Other plans are to replace the steering wheel as it all torn and the reg plates are a bit shoddy looking. Could do with a buff too. Will get some pics over the weekend. It's out in my friends house atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Hey who you calling a bogger, ye jackeen.

I do spend a lot of my time in the bog though.[/SIZEquote]

I'll be footing turf myself this week weather permitting with my bog family..they may as well make the most of the slave labor whilst I'm about 😊

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

166man wrote: »

Thanks man, hopefully it works out alright. Bought a 156 sw ye. Has cow already, although might do a swap if yours is better! Needs a drivers door and a rear wiper and motor assembly. It's a metalic navy colour. Cosmos blue I think. Hopefully I can find one. Still functions as a door but there's a big dent in it. Lets the whole car down.

Other plans are to replace the steering wheel as it all torn and the reg plates are a bit shoddy looking. Could do with a buff too. Will get some pics over the weekend. It's out in my friends house atm.

Ah cock. I binned the drivers door on cosmos blue

Horse sh*t to this :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Is there something wrong with boards, the last few posts on here the quotes are arseways.

dgt wrote: »

Ah cock. I binned the drivers door on cosmos blue

Horse sh*t to this :(

:(

Feck. Hopefully not too hard to source one. Going to have a go at popping it back out just for the time being. It's not creased and the paint work damage isn't bad. Sort of got pressed in along the edge of the pocket for the handle, hoping now the whole door panel might sort it self if pop that out.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

dgt wrote: »

:(

Feck. Hopefully not too hard to source one. Going to have a go at popping it back out just for the time being. It's not creased and the paint work damage isn't bad. Sort of got pressed in along the edge of the pocket for the handle, hoping now the whole door panel might sort it self if pop that out.

Why are all the replies showing as quotes?

Stheno wrote: »

Why are all the replies showing as quotes?

You talking to me? :pac:

I've not a clue how the internet works! Code and stuff. I'm sure someone will be along to turn it off and back on again soon :).

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

No just a general question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Ordered an updated intercooler today for ST the engine modding has begun could be a slippery slope now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Dartz

I need a 'Prius Repellant' sticker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

On the way to Galway this afternoon, coming the opposite way was a hiace towing a cattle trailer at a snails pace on a real straight stretch of road, massive room on the hard shoulders to pull in, but no. I counted a tailback of 57 cars behind him. Ignorant human being!

Also seen 3 2006ish is220's with loads of blue smoke coming out of them!

Some neighbours came in there and said to me congrats and I went to explain the story as to how that wasn't the exact car I'm getting. They turned around and said oh well we meant congrats about the exam results sure you change your car that often we don't even pay attention to it anymore :pac: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Some neighbours came in there and said to me congrats and I went to explain the story as to how that wasn't the exact car I'm getting. They turned around and said oh well we meant congrats about the exam results sure you change your car that often we don't even pay attention to it anymore :pac: :D

Well what car did you get??? P.S my car has the gear indicator thingy ;)

Autosport wrote: »
    Well what car did you get??? P.S my car has the gear indicator thingy ;)

If you read back I didn't get it as such as they lost the keeps they came me a temporary car. It's a megane 3 1.5dci dynaamique 5 door silver anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

BP when you say they don't have the bodywork done it might be a case that they didn't have it ready maybe?

Ah no I was up there today they actually lost the key they would have said it straight out otherwise infairness. It was already in with the mechanics so they replaced the battery checked everything out on the new fitted mudflaps I asked for it was due to go to the body shop yesterday and that's when they discovered the keys were gone missing. They have there own body shop and all so it's not like it was being sent out for work.

Anyway at least I'm motoring now. It's very inconvenient though as next week is my long week and I don't finish work until 7pm every night and although there would still be people around the garage at that stage Liberty close at 7 and I'm 40mins away. So I'm praying they'll have it all sorted by next Thursday as I'm off.

Liberty weren't exactly trilled about having to do temp cover change on the first day of the policy! But they done it anyway which I was happy enough about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

If you read back I didn't get it as such as they lost the keeps they came me a temporary car. It's a megane 3 1.5dci dynaamique 5 door silver anyway :)

Congrats on the new motor when you get it :)

Ah no I was up there today they actually lost the key they would have said it straight out otherwise infairness. It was already in with the mechanics so they replaced the battery checked everything out on the new fitted mudflaps I asked for it was due to go to the body shop yesterday and that's when they discovered the keys were gone missing. They have there own body shop and all so it's not like it was being sent out for work.

Anyway at least I'm motoring now. It's very inconvenient though as next week is my long week and I don't finish work until 7pm every night and although there would still be people around the garage at that stage Liberty close at 7 and I'm 40mins away. So I'm praying they'll have it all sorted by next Thursday as I'm off.

Liberty weren't exactly trilled about having to do temp cover change on the first day of the policy! But they done it anyway which I was happy enough about.

Could you not just do the transfer online next week?

Stheno wrote: »
    Could you not just do the transfer online next week?

What do you mean though I needed to take the temporary car today as I'm working 7am Monday so I had to ring as obviously the policy was in the reg of he car I am buying. I never realised you could do it online can you ?

Well I can with axa I setup my online account with them and everything is there and you can transfer your policy

Maybe check if liberty offer the same thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭Old diesel

I still have to make up my mind - the garage-man gave me a call yesterday and I asked him would he mind keeping it out the back of the garage until mid next week and that was no problem.

Im going to Limerick and on to Kildare tomorrow, and then back to Limerick again on sunday so I might see something that might change my mind :)

Whats happening that red Mondeo you've posted pics off :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

New cars to have automatic alert systems from 2018

Surprising it's not widespread already I suppose.

Looks like I'll be talking the loaner over the magic 100k mark.

B40172BE-D6BE-4CDD-91E3-F2AE6CE5B087_zpsiql9h25f.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Best of luck with the new motor BP! Those Meganes are a very under-rated car IMO. If you get one with a bit of spec they are a very nice car and in terms of reliability they are a match for anything in our experience.

Looks like I'll be talking the loaner over the magic 100k mark.

B40172BE-D6BE-4CDD-91E3-F2AE6CE5B087_zpsiql9h25f.jpg

The rev counter only goes to 5k?

And what's that weird white circle in the middle? Sorry no, being nosey as opposed to critical :)

Best of luck when you get the car I think they look lovely