The Weird, Wacky and Awesome World of the NFL - General Banter thread V2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Patww79 wrote:

Cheers sir

Would love to go to Clemson for a night game. Their entry is one unique experience

Any idea when the longhorns 2017 schedule might be available

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Cheers pat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,285 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

brinty wrote: »
    Realt
    Might be hitting Dallas in September or October
    What's a game day in Jerry world like??
    How much for tickets parking etc
    What's the tailgating scene like
    Failing that we might go to Austin and take in a Texas longhorns game? Any experience there??

I haven't been to Jerry world yet. I was going to go for the Bears game this year when we were moving down and I saw it was on the schedule, but it was a late game and we'd have needed to bring our infant along, which would have been a nightmare. What I do know...

Tickets are pretty pricey especially if you want to be at the sides rather than the ends of the field (actually there's a big difference in price between the two, probably because people want to be able to see the world's largest televisions). Not sure about parking prices, but anecdotally people have told me that it really makes the day expensive when you factor it in, so it must be fairly high. A few people have suggested getting an Uber to the stadium instead.

And of course since I haven't been, I can't comment on the tailgating but what I do know is that it is both a religion and a fine art throughout Texas, so I have no doubt it would be really good craic at a Cowboys game. You won't go wrong there, simple as that.

I've only been to Austin once, to play a hurling match, so I have a limited knowledge of the city but it is, undoubtedly, a much more trendy, student-oriented city than Dallas. It's much more walkable so for me that makes it more enjoyable to go out in, and drinking and what have you. My suspicion is that a Longhorns game would be really good fun too. The stadium is a LOT closer to the city (Arlington is really far from Dallas, but the stadium itself is also really far from Arlington, there's nothing really around it except parking spaces), so I think it would be much better in terms of atmosphere and your own ability to move from the game to just being out in town. That's always my preference for a game day in any sport, so I would say a UT game, because of the city of Austin, the stadium, the reputation of the atmosphere at the games, the whole college football vibe in general, is something you should definitely do. I'll be going to one next year anyway, even if I haven't a ticket, college games can be great, great fun.

Cheers realt
    I'll let you now how things progress
    MS Brinty has suggested taking in one or the other ???

Wouldn't like to give a definitive answer to that! I suppose as a neutral I'd probably pick the Austin game, but knowing how much it meant to me going to soldier field the first time, I could definitely understand how a cowboys fan might feel about going to Arlington.

Tbf if i suggested both shed probably be OK with it. She knows how much I've wanted to go to a cowboys match but she's into college football too so would probably say yes to both
    And she wants a longhorns Jersey so she might as well wear it at a game....

If you have the money for both and a better half who is not only willing to go but actually likes football, I would try and do both. The football obsession and the outdoor drinking weather are the two best things about Texas, best to take advantage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭TOss Sweep

I've never been to Lambeau but I have friends with season tickets. One of the funny things about the winter there is that the seating is in long benches. And because a lot of their fans are absolutely massive, cheese-filled beasts, and are wrapped up in puffy jackets, if you are seated near the end of the row there's a good chance there just won't be space for you to sit. (I can confirm this is an actual issue that comes up in South Bend as well). So arrive early and stand your ground when the buttock real estate becomes more heavily contested. Also I'm told that staying in Appleton is definitely a good idea, supposed to be a nice place, whereas Green Bay, outside of the stadium, is quite obviously a terrible, bleak pit of despair with absolutely no redeeming features whatsoever.

I've been in Soldier Field on cold days and if you're in the upper tiers, it's no joke, but the Green Bay fans are a tough, good-humoured crowd, the misery is part of the fun of the whole thing, and you're all suffering together. A few beers and a few brats, you'll be grand.

Appleton is definitely the best place to stay if one is staying up around that area. Green Bay has nothing in it and Appleton is college town with plenty of night life.

The bench thing is annoying and Camp Randall is like that also in Madison. As a big dude myself its squashedville all the time. Good thing is most Packers fans understand this is a thing and always make it work haha

Randy Gregory suspended for at least one year
    I'd imagine he'll be cut by the cowboys
    Third strike

TOss Sweep wrote: »
    Appleton is definitely the best place to stay if one is staying up around that area. Green Bay has nothing in it and Appleton is college town with plenty of night life.

The bench thing is annoying and Camp Randall is like that also in Madison. As a big dude myself its squashedville all the time. Good thing is most Packers fans understand this is a thing and always make it work haha

I just wanted to bring up those things to have a pop at Green Bay fans. Sorry, "owners"...

Just kidding, they're a grand bunch of folks, I'd say going to a playoff there will be a really unique experience, I'd do it in a heartbeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Snacks adding another reason to why he's one of my favourite players.

https://streamable.com/oge1d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭phatkev

Knex. wrote: »
    Snacks adding another reason to why he's one of my favourite players.

https://streamable.com/oge1d

He said the exact same thing last year just before the Bills ended the Jets season. For your sake and his, I hope it doesn't turn out the same way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭markontap

Billy86 wrote: »
    markontap wrote: »
    Haha long johns packed.. let the lucky git aspect flow!

The closest comparison I have is when it got to -8 or whatever here in either 2010 or 2011.. standing in bleachers for 4 hours is a whole different ball game I'd imagine!
    I'm assuming it's the same 'cold' as Toronto - surprisingly nice, at least if it's sunny and you're fully wrapped up. Also for the weekend in general once you get indoors you are warm within seconds because it's a dry cold, I'd take that over the Irish 'soaked to the bone marrow' winter weather every time. It also gets the morning after hangover head off of you in no time because the air is so crisp. That's if it's still and sunny, though. Cloudy and windy... god help you!! :p

Clear sunny skies are forecast! I know what you're saying about the damp cold, makes a huge difference having low humidity. Hopefully the wind isn't too bad!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭markontap

I've never been to Lambeau but I have friends with season tickets. One of the funny things about the winter there is that the seating is in long benches. And because a lot of their fans are absolutely massive, cheese-filled beasts, and are wrapped up in puffy jackets, if you are seated near the end of the row there's a good chance there just won't be space for you to sit. (I can confirm this is an actual issue that comes up in South Bend as well). So arrive early and stand your ground when the buttock real estate becomes more heavily contested. Also I'm told that staying in Appleton is definitely a good idea, supposed to be a nice place, whereas Green Bay, outside of the stadium, is quite obviously a terrible, bleak pit of despair with absolutely no redeeming features whatsoever.

I've been in Soldier Field on cold days and if you're in the upper tiers, it's no joke, but the Green Bay fans are a tough, good-humoured crowd, the misery is part of the fun of the whole thing, and you're all suffering together. A few beers and a few brats, you'll be grand.

Thanks for taking the time to reply realt, very helpful. I hadn't considered the knock on effects of dozens of oversized behinds on the bleachers!! Will make sure I stake my claim early,

I was looking at seats in the new section added last year, I'd say it's rediculouslu cold in the wind up there! Made sure I was tucked in down in the bowl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Just a heads up the official temperature tends to mean sweet feck all when it gets properly cold, it's all about the 'real feel' which is showing -14 - -17 degrees after checking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭the baby bull elephant

http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap3000000770458/article/three-rookies-matt-ryan-among-players-named-to-allpro-team

First and Second All-Pro teams. Lions are the only play-off team to have no players on them and 49ers are the only team to have no player receive a vote.

Was browsing around the web and was shocked to discover this fantastically cheesy video of fox's coverage of the 1997 preseason game between the bears and steelers at croke park:

https://youtu.be/dYRscLD1BtA

Not sure what the highlight was for me, but the voiceover for the intro and Howie long waxing lyrical about his Irish roots would be up there. And John madden bring absent because he didn't fly! Must have been a nightmare getting him to have across the states!

Anyway I was actually completely unaware that they had ever played NFL game here. People frequently mention the 1996 nd game but this seems largely forgotten. I know it was only preseason, but still, in later years I'd have given my right arm to have seen the bears in Dublin. Was anyone at this game?

Shame they couldn't build on this towards getting a real game played, I know the Rooney's made some noise about doing this when he was ambassador to Ireland.

Anyway the video is worth a look. Can't find much other evidence of the game online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,008 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Madden had his own Camper Van to travel around the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,393 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Howie Long from County Dungiven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Ah, MAtt Millen before he went on to great things as Detroit's GM. :D

A friend of mine was at the game, would have been about 10 or 11 at the time and his dad who was a massive Munster rugby fan from got tickets through someone. They left at half time, not having a clue what was going on but I still remember to this day them complaining that the ref kept stopping play every few seconds for no good reason! :pac:

What's surprising to me is how old the footage looks. I know it's twenty years old, but for people of a certain age, 1997 is still very recent history!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭TOss Sweep

I had tickets for the game and never actually went. No idea now why I didn't go. Think it was some stupid thing like I would rather my first game be in the US watching the Pats. I drank a lot between then and now so my late teens was fuzzy at best :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

I remember the game due to the bit of controversy it gained, i.e. No foreign games at Croker (no Irish soccer or rugby) yet American Football was allowed. ~10yrs later that would change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,393 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

markontap wrote: »
    Thanks for taking the time to reply realt, very helpful. I hadn't considered the knock on effects of dozens of oversized behinds on the bleachers!! Will make sure I stake my claim early,

I was looking at seats in the new section added last year, I'd say it's rediculouslu cold in the wind up there! Made sure I was tucked in down in the bowl.
    http://m.packers.com/news/article/packers-offer-free-hot-chocolate-for-fans-attending-sundays-packers-giants-wild-card-game-b65ff07c-a9e0-4c4a-9392-40220ec3615b?campaign=sf49834980_TW_C-Content-GB_CT-Press+Release-GB_sf49834980#ixzz4V1ioKdHf

Free Hot Chocolate at Lambeau for you as well!

I remember the game due to the bit of controversy it gained, i.e. No foreign games at Croker (no Irish soccer or rugby) yet American Football was allowed. ~10yrs later that would change.

That I have no recollection of this is stranger because this was the first year that the hurling championship had a back-door, and the date of the game was originally meant to be a hurling quarter final. That they moved a hurling match for American football must have caused a serious stir (there was some grumbling when people wrongly believed the All Ireland final had been moved a couple of years ago for the Penn State-UCF game)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Just Jeff Fisher carrying a dog through the airport

C1lsfTlWIAADyjE.jpg

He just went up in my estimation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

That I have no recollection of this is stranger because this was the first year that the hurling championship had a back-door, and the date of the game was originally meant to be a hurling quarter final. That they moved a hurling match for American football must have caused a serious stir (there was some grumbling when people wrongly believed the All Ireland final had been moved a couple of years ago for the Penn State-UCF game)

Galway played Kilkenny in a classic in Thurles .Kevin Broderick and DJ Carey had brilliant games that day.