Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kelly hits out at Irish domestic scene

• 28-01-2015 8:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭

Just read on www.stickybottle.com that king Kelly seems none too impressed by the domestic scene.Seems to say that beyond Dunbar and O'Loughlin that theres nothing on the Junior scene.Far be it from me to disagree with the legend but in fairness at this time and with all his other commitments I think its fair to say that he would know feck all about what Juniors have gone through the system over the past few years.Have said it before and i'll say it again theres a great bunch of them have come through in the past while.Foley,Mc Kenna,Nulty,Fallon,Clarke etc to name but a few.They cant all be superstars but are still good riders IMO.Also appears unhappy with domestic race calendar and lenthgs of races etc.Says the ras should be in August.Seems to forget that the ras has a ''May slot'' in the UCI calendar,and cant just be stuck in anywhere that suits.Just like in his day we still rely on clubs goodwill to promote and produce a racing calendar,and its far more difficult than it was in the mid 70s when he was riding them.Its easy to criticise [and given his status he will be listened to]but maybe a little more hands on might help more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Front loading the calendar for the Ras when 99% of the amateurs who race on our shores will never race it does seem a bit pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

Inquitus wrote: »
    Front loading the calendar for the Ras when 99% of the amateurs who race on our shores will never race it does seem a bit pointless.
    That may be very well the case...But when you have guys slamming the too many races too early scenario,they seem to forget that its not a system that produces a calendar but clubs applying to run them when they want to.In other words how can you tell clubs that they must run them later or whatever.Nett result would be no race promoted.Believe this is the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭Junior

It's a catch 22 with the calendar, you can't run a big race without getting big numbers, no club is going to lose their arses running a race. So with the Post Ras drop off, it's not just the Ras - you see kids school holidays, factory shut downs etc so I would say yes the Ras is resposnible for front loading the calendar but it alone isn't responsible for the drop off after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,616 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

try running an a123race in july see when you get 15 turning up !

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

try running an a123race in july see how many turn up when you get 15 turning up !

Have you answered your own question by mistake here?

Junior wrote: »
    It's a catch 22 with the calendar, you can't run a big race without getting big numbers, no club is going to lose their arses running a race. So with the Post Ras drop off, it's not just the Ras - you see kids school holidays, factory shut downs etc so I would say yes the Ras is resposnible for front loading the calendar but it alone isn't responsible for the drop off after it.

What do you mean by factory shut downs?

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    What do you mean by factory shut downs?

August/Sept time you'll normally see manufacturing plants close for two weeks - so you'll get people taking their holidays at that time.

I didn't know that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

I think the fact that lads are racing since mid-Feb and interest has begun to ebb is a bigger influence on the lack of turnout than factories closing for summer.

Diarmuid wrote: »
    I think the fact that lads are racing since mid-Feb and interest has begun to ebb is a bigger influence on the lack of turnout than factories closing for summer.

Cycling is the sport of the working class! Or something like that. Kevin Myers would put it better I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

I didn't know that!

Nor I.

That may have been the case years ago, not any more.
    Traditionally the building trade closed the first two weeks of August, when we had a building trade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

If you move the Ras to August as suggested then it will never again come to the West Coast from Cork to Donegal. Competing with the height of tourist season for hotels and B&Bs. Best of luck trying to get road closures. August is the worst month for traffic in a good deal of Kerry towns - the same towns that the Ras tries to get to every three years.
    It is nuts that so much of the calendar takes places in horrible months weather wise, but August isn't the answer either.

There is a reason that the Ras and Ras mBan is in in. May and Sept. Might have more luck with Ras in Sept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

It used to be in late June but was moved to May because it was an international race and son that it was not clashing (to attract good teams)

Is the issue of the clash no longer relevant? If it was a domestic race it would not matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,616 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Have you answered your own question by mistake here?

post turbo brain fade

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭pedro_colnago

Interesting topic, would agree with Sean Kelly bout when the ras is on, seems very early in the year IMO and is a big reason for the fall off in numbers after it's on. Dunno if I'd agree with what he is saying bout the juniors coming thru tho, there always seems to be a good few quality cyclist s coming thru all the time no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

Is there a mention of a Tour of Ireland in the future to return? Maybe a swap of places timewise and the Ras go later in the year? Let the Tour attract more Pro teams and leave the RAS to the county men in August?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Hi Ho

Kelly seems a little out of touch. Apart from the big additional cost and lack of beds in August, there would be huge local opposition in tourism areas to road disruptions at the peak of the tourist season. His suggestion is just not feasible at all.

Eamonnator wrote: »
    Nor I.

That may have been the case years ago, not any more.
    Traditionally the building trade closed the first two weeks of August, when we had a building trade.

The Pharma company I work for have 5 plants across the country and still do have plant shut downs, and I know many more do the same.

As for Kelly being out of touch with the scene in Ireland - he rides most weeks during the winter with local groups - he is a lot more knowledgeable about who's doing what than you may give him credit for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

The Pharma company I work for have 5 plants across the country and still do have plant shut downs, and I know many more do the same.

As for Kelly being out of touch with the scene in Ireland - he rides most weeks during the winter with local groups - he is a lot more knowledgeable about who's doing what than you may give him credit for.
    I still think he's way out of touch.To name one junior [who just happens to be from Carrick]is a disgrace.Thats taking nothing away from that particular chap whom I know and admire very much as a rider.2013 Nat Jun R/R Champs in Omagh had about 60 starters and any one of a dozen or so could have won it.
    I would say he has no idea what running a race is all about.OK so we run a pile of 150k plus races all through the summer,but how many would ride them?In an ideal world he is probably right about running longer/harder races to prepare and develop riders,but whos going to ride them and whos going to foot the bill for the losses they will surely make.Sometimes its easier to have a go.than to do anything positive.To be honest i'd have more time for the 20 or so volunteers who helped with the training camp for the young last Sunday.Admired him as we all did as a rider but that doesn't make him always right.

wav1 wrote: »
    I still think he's way out of touch.To name one junior [who just happens to be from Carrick]is a disgrace.Thats taking nothing away from that particular chap whom I know and admire very much as a rider.2013 Nat Jun R/R Champs in Omagh had about 60 starters and any one of a dozen or so could have won it.
    I would say he has no idea what running a race is all about.OK so we run a pile of 150k plus races all through the summer,but how many would ride them?In an ideal world he is probably right about running longer/harder races to prepare and develop riders,but whos going to ride them and whos going to foot the bill for the losses they will surely make.Sometimes its easier to have a go.than to do anything positive.To be honest i'd have more time for the 20 or so volunteers who helped with the training camp for the young last Sunday.Admired him as we all did as a rider but that doesn't make him always right.

Maybe your getting a little caught up in specifics - i.e. he only named Micheal, however his message still stands on it's own merits. Take the Worlds last year - Eddie didn't have the programme that he required and ended up riding a two day - Micheal ended up going to France for a few weeks.

I'm sure if CI set up a commission to look at the Calendar and asked Kelly to take part he would, he isn't afraid of putting his shoulder to the grindstone, it's easy to say he's only complaining and sounding off, but I'm sure if someone sat down with him he'd happily try work with them - also we have to aware that at the end of the day, this is Sticky Rumour we are reading the report on - who knows what else he said.

I also think because you are involved with the Underage and Youth scene you are taking it as a personal slight from Kelly that you aren't doing good work. I don't see it as like that, I know as a whole coaches, club officers are doing more and more with less money, less riders and less involved adults, it is a hard slog. So I would say don't see it as a slight on you at all, you can only work with what's there - however as an organisation CI are failing you by not trying to rectify that situation.

Again we only have to look at as Tony Campbell has pointed out the withdrawal of the Irish Team for the Rás as further statement of intent from CI as to where they are with the development of younger riders.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Can the Rás not be moved to September like Rás na mban? Hotels would be cheaper as it's out of season and there would be less tourists about? It would give a longer season no?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,444 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

gadetra wrote: »
    Can the Rás not be moved to September like Rás na mban? Hotels would be cheaper as it's out of season and there would be less tourists about? It would give a longer season no?
    I think that would seriously detract from the Ras na mBan. September is already crowded with the Tour of Britain then the Ras na mBan and finishing with the Worlds. Moving the Ras to September would be a disaster in my book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Juan More Time

To be honest, I think Sean Kelly is bang out of order being so of critical young riders on our domestic racing scene. What Sean fails to comprehend is, times have changed and socio demographic of people who are into cycle racing in Ireland has also changed. (cycling is the new golf) and nowadays a pretty high percentage of people taking the start of road races on a Sunday afternoon tend to come from upper working class, and middle class back rounds. Lots of young people these days have college degrees, and this gives them options Sean Kelly didn't have when he left our shores in the late seventies with a burning ambition become a cycling superstar...

To be honest, I think Sean Kelly is bang out of order being so of critical young riders on our domestic racing scene. What Sean fails to comprehend is, times have changed and socio demographic of people who are into cycle racing in Ireland has also changed. (cycling is the new golf) and nowadays a pretty high percentage of people taking the start of road races on a Sunday afternoon tend to come from upper working class, and middle class back rounds. Lots of young people these days have college degrees, and this gives them options Sean Kelly didn't enjoy when he left our shores in the late seventies with a burning ambition become a cycling superstar...

I dunno bout that, That's a fairly middle class view in my opinion. People who become pro cyclists are pretty much a different breed and it's genetics and talent rather than an option to go to college that defines their career. Sean Kelly had an option to be a builder or a farmer, he was an incredle cycling talent who went abroad and became one of the best in the world. If hadn't that talent chances are he would have been a builder or a farmer. U could argue however cycling has always been a minority sport and has always had it's hardcore followers, there's definitely more people racing/cycling than there was before and maybe theres a legitimate argument as wether there should be more coming thru the ranks with more cycling.

Mr. Colnago sir, how dare you call me middle class;)

Yes Sean Kelly possessed an incredible talent for cycling, and when a minor French aristocrat (Jean De Gribaldy) turned up in Carrick On Suir and offered him a pro cycling contract in the late seventies, he signed it immediately. I guess the hard life of a professional cyclist scrapping it out with other farmers and factory workers sons on the rough roads of France and Belgium was preferable to scratching a living on the small family farm. Or indeed taking the boat to England and slaving his guts out on a dirty and dangerous building site.

Yes traditionally cycling was always a working class sport much like boxing still is. But show up at any road race nowadays, and you can see plenty of brand new BMW's, Lexus, and Mercedes cars with equally expensive bikes hanging off roof/boot racks. These cars are invariably driven by the well scrubbed middle classes who tend to speak with pseudo D4 accents regardless of where they come from.. I just can't see any of these middle class folks or their children having the will or the inclination to scrapping it out on the cobbles of Paris- Roubaix or Tour of Flanders even if they did posses the required athletic ability... With a degree from Trinity or UCC and a lucrative career in the civil service, medical profession , or in finance, why the hell would you want to risk your neck ? This is why the racing has changed....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Yes Sean Kelly possessed an incredible talent for cycling, and when a minor French aristocrat (Jean De Gribaldy) turned up in Carrick On Suir and offered him a pro cycling contract in the late seventies, he signed it immediately. I guess the hard life of a professional cyclist scrapping it out with other farmers and factory workers sons on the rough roads of France and Belgium was preferable to scratching a living on the small family farm. Or indeed taking the boat to England and slaving his guts out on a dirty and dangerous building site.

Yes traditionally cycling was always a working class sport much like boxing still is. But show up at any road race nowadays, and you can see plenty of brand new BMW's, Lexus, and Mercedes cars with equally expensive bikes hanging off roof/boot racks. These cars are invariably driven by the well scrubbed middle classes who tend to speak with pseudo D4 accents regardless of where they come from.. I just can't see any of these middle class folks or their children having the will or the inclination to scrapping it out on the cobbles of Paris- Roubaix or Tour of Flanders even if they did posses the required athletic ability... With a degree from Trinity or UCC and a lucrative career in the civil service, medical profession , or in finance, why the hell would you want to risk your neck ? This is why the racing has changed....

This is total bullsh't. Yes, there are a few such people at races, and there always was, but the vast majority are not wealthy in the way you imply. Jesus, we all flipped it when they increased reg fees by a few quid. When I go to races, I end up bring three other people as they've no other way toget to races and I need them to help pay for the fuel used getting there. Keep your "class war" mentality out of it, it's better applied to other elements in society. Anybody with wealth shows up to what is pretty much a level playing field in their Cat. It's like death, money doesn't leave you any better off.

Have you just started a "Simplistic Socialism for Beginners" course somewhere?

Also, cycling is not the new golf, that's triathlon.

I would not agree at all that its a working class based sport, its a minority sport historically in ireland and the cycling community has been close knit and often been clustered around cycling families, etc etcnot nevessarily working middle or upper class. It is and always has been looked on as being an odd sport and expensive to those who aren't involved in it. ( the "look at yer man in the Lycra with the shaved legs on his lightweight bike that costs thousands" brigade.. )
    As regards the idea that people these days would rather take the college or handy job i reckon the vast vast majority of amateur racers who spent 500+ hours a year training on a bike would take the opportunity to be a pro if they were given the option. (Junior to vet)Talent is the difference tho not whether they will take the handy option and get a real job or not. That's always been the way.
    As for the generalisations you make about the type of people who race, that's nonsense, it's an expensive pastime for any amateur racing or sportive cyclist and that might reflect the standard of bikes they turn up with. But other than that they come from all walks of life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

This is total bullsh't. Yes, there are a few such people at races, and there always was, but the vast majority are not wealthy in the way you imply. Jesus, we all flipped it when they increased reg fees by a few quid. When I go to races, I end up bring three other people as they've no other way toget to races and I need them to help pay for the fuel used getting there. Keep your "class war" mentality out of it, it's better applied to other elements in society. Anybody with wealth shows up to what is pretty much a level playing field in their Cat. It's like death, money doesn't leave you any better off.

Have you just started a "Simplistic Socialism for Beginners" course somewhere?

Also, cycling is not the new golf, that's triathlon.

correct,, most of the guys down here in south east always try and car pool to keep cost down , and when you get to a race , sure there are a few expensive cars that stand out but that is the same in any car park or any sport around the country . just because a guy drives a big car does not always mean he is wealth, it more likely means he is up to his neck in debt . As for the guy with the fancy bike , how often have you seen a top of the range bike, several gadgets on the bars spewing out performance and course related info and the minute the pressure is on your man is out the back with alarms bleeping

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Cycling is a working class sport? Could have fooled me. I wore Lycra in the 80s and 90s in Tallaght, it was not well recieved by the neighbours.

Cycling very much a family sport, in my experience . My Da raced as a young fella, so myself and my brother raced as young fellas. My 2 sons, even though they're 2 and 4, have 2 bikes each in the hope they'll race when they get older. Kimmages, McQuaids, Roches all had multiple cyclists in their families.

It's one thing that surprised me in the last few years, I meet so many people who cycle now but don't have any heritage associated with the sport. Sometimes I even have to explain who Eddie Merckx is, to guys on 4 grand carbon bikes! They're mainly sportive cyclists, hopefully their kids will race.

That point rambled a bit, but essentially cyclingn has nothing to do with class.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Also, not to get too Monty Python, we used to cycle to races and cycle home again.

All we had at the feed station was a handful of hot gravel etc....

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

Brian? wrote: »
    Also, not to get too Monty Python, we used to cycle to races and cycle home again.

Ouh you had a bloody luxury you did. I worked down mines, 26hour day and all you had to sleep on was a rock in the lake

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,444 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Ouh you had a bloody luxury you did. I worked down mines, 26hour day and all you had to sleep on was a rock in the lake
    Ah! - childhood memories of Yorkshire.....

('tis Friday)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

It's one thing that surprised me in the last few years, I meet so many people who cycle now but don't have any heritage associated with the sport. Sometimes I even have to explain who Eddie Merckx is, to guys on 4 grand carbon bikes! They're mainly sportive cyclists, hopefully their kids will race.

A few sportives, a Sky jersey and a holiday to watch "THE Tour". That's all you need.

I find the same thing frightening and annoying, but it's not really a fair point. People can do whatever the hell they like, for whatever reason they like and we're not helping by being the hipsters of cycling, I'm-more-into-it-than-you types.

I'm with Junior on this. It's a newspiece, we have no real idea of the context and what else Kelly said. He was a great rider and really continues to do a lot for the sport and doubt he's out of touch as many here feel he is. I don't think wav1 should take slight at the comments, as I feel Kelly's comments may be directed more at the establishment than the volunteer/club level.

A few sportives, a Sky jersey and a holiday to watch "THE Tour". That's all you need.

I find the same thing frightening and annoying, but it's not really a fair point. People can do whatever the hell they like, for whatever reason they like and we're not helping by being the hipsters of cycling, I'm-more-into-it-than-you types.

I didn't mean to have a go at them at all. The more people that cycle the better. I was just making the point that the popularity in cycling is not really being represented at junior level yet.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Hi Ho

...I feel Kelly's comments may be directed more at the establishment than the volunteer/club level.

Yes, it's interesting that both himself and McQuaid having a go at the establishment(s) from the same An Post camp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭slow

Mentioning only two young riders was unfair in my opinion. Perhaps Mr Kelly doesn't know that three of the new 2015 juniors - Gray, McCarthy and Stenson have already won really good youth races abroad with huge fields. That rarely happened in the 1980's even when we had big numbers cycling.

Go to any post-primary school around the country and search for the bike shed. You won't find one as less than 2% of students cycle to school.

And how many of the really top notch Irish cyclists in the 1980's have sons or daughters racing? I can only think of Stephen Roche and Seamus Downey. Yet, if you go to GAA, you find names like the Fennellys, the Brogans, the Ó Sés keeping their counties going. Consistency requires continuity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Slightly Ot but this thread has evolved.

Cycling was very firmly family based and in the past this was both a strength and a weakness.

As a kid growing up in the 70s and 80s in a sports mad Limerick family I wanted to join a cycling club. No one in my family or the surrounding area knew anyone at all in Limerick CC - we had no idea how to join. It seemed like a secret society. I had a great bike so I simply spent a lot of time on it.

Instead I played rugby and liked it but always hankered for cycling. Cycling now is so much more open - clubs exist and actively promote themselves. Yes social media does help.

My dad is sports mad - he was very keen for my brother and I to play sport - lots of sport. Yet we couldn't get into organised cycling when the sport was at it's height. My old man is not shy and certainly made many enquiries at the time. We played all sorts of obscure sports (squash FFS).

Cycling has been held together by a relatively small number of very dedicated families and individuals. There is both a positive and negative side to this.

It matters not a fig whether Joe Blow in his 10k Colanago knows how Mr Merckx is. What matters is that he gets involved and hopefully gives something back.

ROK ON wrote: »

It matters not a fig whether Joe Blow in his 10k Colanago knows how Mr Merckx is. What matters is that he gets involved and hopefully gives something back.

I seriously regret that remark now. I wasn't having a go at anyone who's taken up cycling later in life and doesn't know the history of the support. All I meant is that a lot of people involved in cycling now are very different from the way it was in the 80s. It was a very insular community back then.

they/them/theirs

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I had a brief moment where I thought I had money to spare a few years ago, the first time I thought I had money I got a train to the locale of the event, later that year I drove to an event on my own. Then the recession came along, if its not within 200km of my house, I won't take part anymore :cool:

Nowadays I have given up socialising so I can afford the entry fee :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

Hi Ho wrote: »
    Yes, it's interesting that both himself and McQuaid having a go at the establishment(s) from the same An Post camp.

Kind of silly seasons stuff. No races to comment on so structures etc. get debated. Not sure any of this will make a blind bit of difference to Cycling Ireland.

Hi Ho wrote: »

Pat was there with the Baku Team his son runs. They were in the same hotel, along with Astana and a few more ProTour teams.

Another point Sean Kelly has failed to understand is, since the demise of the Celtic tiger younger people were forced to emigrate in their thousands.. Obviously this is going to impact the quality of the racing.. Plus cycling Ireland has done a pretty good job at supporting the elite end of the sport, but have always neglected the grass roots. If cycling Ireland really wish to encourage racing, they should make it more accessible to working class folks and the €125 racing licence fee should be cut to a more realistic €70.

If cycling Ireland really wish to encourage racing more people into racing, the €125 racing licence fee should be cut to €70.
    Do you really think that would make any material difference? A4 racing is more popular than it's probably ever been, and CI are hitting new peaks of both leisure and racing licences every year. Most people who race don't have a major issue forking out that sort of money, and probably get a lot of benefit out of the insurance cover it offers alone

Also have you any idea of how big a hole that would blow in the finances of CI (which is already at its limit and not really in a position to throw more money at the likes of the Junior Tour)? The amount you are talking about would be the equivalent of what CI is contributing to the Junior Tour, the Youth Tour, the International Track GP, the Ras na mBan and the Ras na Og in total this year

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Beasty wrote: »
    Do you really think that would make any material difference? A4 racing is more popular than it's probably ever been, and CI are hitting new peaks of both leisure and racing licences every year. Most people who race don't have a major issue forking out that sort of money, and probably get a lot of benefit out of the insurance cover it offers alone

Also have you any idea of how big a hole that would blow in the finances of CI (which is already at its limit and not really in a position to throw more money at the likes of the Junior Tour)? The amount you are talking about would be the equivalent of what CI is contributing to the Junior Tour, the Youth Tour, the International Track GP, the Ras na mBan and the Ras na Og in total this year

That's not true. This year is the only year I will have a full license as I'm a student and it's half price. It's taken me until the 4th week in January to afford it at €65. After this year it's LC only for me as I can't afford €125 on a license.

I agree it would leave huge holes in the budget, but I don't think it's fair to say everyone who's racing is full of cash. Maybe there should be 2 rates, one regular, the other for students/unemployed. Get more people out road racing who can't afford it the full license, more €65's instead of €25's would add up surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭StevieGriff

I think the whole argument of the money side of things isn't very true. It's no more expensive than any sport, when I was 16/17 I got very much into Archery, forked out a lot of cash (my parents cash) on equipment and fee's. There was always a constant cost, money for training nights, having to upgrade kit...ect
    At least with cycling is a matter of paying your license/club fee and after than you can do as you please. There's no forceful cost after that and races are very responsible at €15-€20 when you compare them to things like adventure races which are €70 a pop.
    In retrospect I would love have done junior racing but I didn't even know there was such a thing at the time.

gadetra wrote: »
    That's not true. This year is the only year I will have a full license as I'm a student and it's half price. It's taken me until the 4th week in January to afford it at €65. After this year it's LC only for me as I can't afford €125 on a license.

I agree it would leave huge holes in the budget, but I don't think it's fair to say everyone who's racing is full of cash. Maybe there should be 2 rates, one regular, the other for students/unemployed. Get more people out road racing who can't afford it the full license, more €65's instead of €25's would add up surely?
    I was referring to most and certainly not all racers. I appreciate it is a financial burden to a lot of people, but not, in my view, to most, who will happily splash out on their bikes, cycling gear, club subs etc as well as their licences

Would more €65s instead of €25s (actually €30) "add up"? - no I don't think it will. A3 and A4 fields in the Republic, and particularly in Leinster, are pretty much at or beyond their limit for the circuits used (despite some promoters wanting to maximise revenue and encouraging as many as possible to sign up). A1 and A2 fields are smaller, but that's not where those who may be encouraged to start racing will be

Personally I think Sean Kelly should put some of his money where his mouth is, and spend some of his millions on a fund or outreach program to provide equipment and coaching to youngsters from less well off back rounds. Otherwise we loose these tough kids to sports like boxing and mixed martial arts/ cage fighting..

Cycling was always an equipment dominated sport, but back in the seventies It was still possible for a super talented youngster like Sean Kelly to show up on an ill fitting old bike and and beat those kids from more affluent families with their posh bikes..

Personally I think Sean Kelly should put some of his money where his mouth is, and spend some of his millions on a fund or outreach program to provide equipment and coaching to youngsters from less well off back rounds.
    Millions? Seriously? Where did he get these "millions" from? Do you have anything to back-up the suggestion he is so well off? Certainly when he was at his peak there was not that much money in cycling, and even now many pros struggle to make a living out of the sport

Beasty wrote: »
    Millions? Seriously? Where did he get these "millions" from? Do you have anything to back-up the suggestion he is so well off? Certainly when he was at his peak there was not that much money in cycling, and even now many pros struggle to make a living out of the sport

Beasty dude, Please I don't think for one second I begrudge Sean Kelly the affluent lifestyle he enjoys today, because he has earned every cent of it by risking life and limb in the pro peleton for many years..

I still think his comments about the domestic racing scene are uncalled for, and he should be doing something positive instead of complaining...

I'm not defending his comments, but I do know that it's easy for comments to be taken the wrong way, or for statements to be made that are later regretted. I also know that it makes sense for those reporting such statements to make the most out of them by sometimes selectively choosing what to report. I have no idea whether any of that is relevant here. However I would again question your comments and in particular that he enjoys an "affluent lifestyle"

I am only guessing here because I really have no idea of his finances, but do really struggle to believe he has made a "fortune" out of cycling. The public perception of anyone that may be considered a tv or sports "personality" is they must be well off. In a lot of cases they are not. They may enjoy some of the trappings of a high profile media role, but actually getting up early to catch flights to different parts of the world to then sit in what may well be a cramped broadcasting facility and talk all day about cycling before doing the same again the following day and having to shoot off for other public appearances is not all that glamerous. I equally suspect the likes of Eurosport pay nowhere near as much as higher profile broadcasters such as Sky and indeed the BBC