Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

COLD SPELL Jan 28th Onwards: Wintry Showers/Frosty, Some Snow Accumulations

• Registered Users Posts: 23,916 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Yer wan on the news there would rather be anywhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭acassells80

Raining here in blackrock

• Registered Users Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

class man. did u make it to the car park. im heading up slieve foy tomorrow. cant wait

Yeah I made it to the car park. Here she is up there.

20150129_1246201.jpg

Ive a friend from Dromar Co. Down coming to see me tomorrow if he can get down South as he just has a normal car and its fairly deep at his house. Then we are taking my Lad Rover up the mountain in the Mournes. You can actually take your 4x4 right up the track, the gate is not locked. I passed a police land rover and he just waved, so it must be ok. Anyway we are hoping to be camping in on e of the forest there just for the lols!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭loubian

Lashing here in North Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭Iancar29

Re Polar Low

No it is not is my verdict.
    Polar lows always give snow and don't involve a rise in upper temps such as this one
    Am in shock that the Met suggest it is!?

Sorry i disagree , there had been a few cases of polar lows hitting ireland and the uk and not always giving snow. Yes they can bring snow showers , but to say the Always do , i dunno about that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Schadenfreudia

Getting very windy, temp 1.5C and the snow cover is degrading.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭BLIZZARD7

Sleety rain with the odd big flake coming down now in d14...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,522 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We had 17/18 CM's of snow this morning here in Cavan. Were at 170Meters.

Wonderful days fun with kids.

Mixed rain sleet now and quite windy.

Girls went to bed praying for fresh snow overnight but I'd be doubtful.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Pipmae

You can actually take your 4x4 right up the track, the gate is not locked.
    Off topic I know but would my Toyota Rav4 (2006) be able for that journey?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

Pipmae wrote: »
    Off topic I know but would my Toyota Rav4 (2006) be able for that journey?

You could drive up that journey in the video. The road underneath is tarmac, it was just covered in snow., The hill isnt all that steep and at each hairpin the camber is in your favour so as long as you keep the speed down and let the engine do the braking you wouldnt have any problem. The biggest issue is when its icy, thats a different ball game altogether.

Here is a Google map link showing where the entrance is. This particular road is in Coilte land, so it has a metal gate which is closed at night. If you are feeling much braver, and I dont suggest it without a low ratio gearbox which I wouldnt think a Rav4 would have, then you can head up to the mast at the back of Omeath just a bit further along, but it was utterly wild last night. I got stuck when I went off road and had to winch out, the pain of the snow as it smashed into my face up there was bad. I could only see about 3 or 4 feet in front until I got off the top and sheltered form the wind.

https://www.google.ie/maps/@54.0655758,-6.2201542,16z?hl=en

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Any sniff of snow for Limerick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭RED L4 0TH

Positive DPs in alot of places at the moment.

pointrosee_uk_qxn7.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭q85dw7osi4lebg

Heavy sleet / very wet snow / Icey rain flakes falling in the m1 around exit 6/7. Unbelievable amount of precipitation out there! Non treated and quiet roads in easy Meath not in great condition. Still snow on paths in Dunboyne 40 mins ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

18z gives Ireland tonnes of snow next Tuesday

• Registered Users Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭jimbis

Mech1 wrote: »
    And some amount of feckin eejits up there or at least trying to get up there in Civics, Bmw's etc.

I was up there earlier in a Ford Focus, thanks to snow socks :D.
    Over took a chap in a Subaru forester that just couldn't get up the hill, some people just don't have it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭rickdangerouss

I will have a beer for that great "Pub run". :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭maquiladora

Knife-edge stuff, but the 18Z GFS has the low on Monday just far enough east to bring frontal snow to the southwest inland from the coast. Marginal of course so might just end up being sleet/wet snow.

81-574UK.GIF?29-18

• Registered Users Posts: 15,944 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Knife-edge stuff, but the 18Z GFS has the low on Monday just far enough east to bring frontal snow to the southwest inland from the coast. Marginal of course so might just end up being sleet/wet snow.

Cork snow shield won't be breached again!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Could be interesting down here later!

nmm_uk1-1-8-0.png?29-23

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭Eileen Down

Is it just me or should we be worried now :eek:

WEB_sat_vis_eur.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭maquiladora

Tuesday looking more snowy as a low slides down the Irish Sea.

108-574UK.GIF?29-18

With winds gusting to 85 km/h inland at the same time. Would be interesting.

108-289UK.GIF?29-18

• Registered Users Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Mech1

Video processed now Johnnie foxes to D16 tonight approx. 19.45hrs, includes a few rethinking drivers in the wrong type of vehicle.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Is more snow due tonight ??

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Is it just me or should we be worried now :eek:

WEB_sat_vis_eur.jpg

what does that chart show us?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,642 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

What's 18z in lay man's terms?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

what does that chart show us?

Ireland , Great Britain and them mainland Europe crowd I'm guessing

• Registered Users Posts: 33,739 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Wet snow in north Kilkenny but temperature is falling fast and proper snow falling now.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Ireland , Great Britain and them mainland Europe crowd I'm guessing

so is it weather related or are we supposed to be afraid of Europe?:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭Steopo

Some photos from just outside Monaghan earlier today

cWVIcu.jpg

exgHk9JKj

• Registered Users Posts: 33,739 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Temperature here rose to 3.4C highest at 10.09pm, currently 1.3C.

Stopped snowing but maybe will get more.