Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Useless Operation Transformation Trainer (Karl Henry)

• 22-01-2015 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭NFH

One of the contestants lost over 5 lbs and after weigh-in's all the personal trainer (Karl Henry) did was give out to him for doing additional work outside the trainers plan. Karl actually said that he was pissed off and it undermines what hes doing. The lad defended himself saying he is just trying to work harder and the trainer was like "you work hard within the plan we've set you, it takes a lot of time to make these plans and if you wanna go off with another plan then don't follow mine". He finished with a final discouraging remark saying that he wouldn't make it all the way or something.

Don't really watch the show but what a dick! The lad is over 20st workin his ass off and the trainer goes off on him for workin hard, how discouraging like! As a trainer all he can say is you should probly just stick to the plan because you don't want to do any damage etc but fair play for the hard work and commitment.

And how does it take a lot of time to make up a flippin training plan, eat this and do this blah blah blah, the hard part is doin that damn work and if hes gettin the results then give him the encouragement he deserves!

All this demonstrated is that the trainer cares more about himself than the people he's trying to help! Anyway, rant over :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Karl Henry aside, it's understandable why the lad wanted to push it but it's also understandable that a trainer tell a trainee that he should stick to a plan that has been given to him for his own benefit.

As I found myself, trying to do stuff above and beyond what is programmed is usually counterproductive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

Especially at his weight, maybe overworking himself could be dangerous health wise or possibly burn him out leading more likely to him to exhaust himself and give in? I have no doubt that maybe the trainer could have explained himself better and in a more positive and polite manner if he said what you stated (I don't watch the tv show). I'm sure the exercise plan is specially formulated for his weight and exercise capabilities. Doing too much too fast, as Alf pointed out, could have negative consequences. I commend the man for making an real effort but sometimes taking gradual, baby steps is a more sustainable approach then rushing full speed at something you have only started. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭NFH

I completely accept that a personal trainer can advise that a client is overdoing it but I think it was just some run, that all the extra work he did. It was just the way he did it, completely discouraging and negative, not one word of encouragement. Its one thing if a client is completely going against the trainers advice but doing an additional run in a weeks work and then to be chastised like that, I thought it was bang out of order. Its on RTE Player actually, round the 20 min mark.
    http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/10367035/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

It's an entertainment show. They have to inject drama somewhere and a lot of the time, they do so by making a big fuss about something trivial.

That being said, I believe the guy in question has a dodgy hamstring and was advised to follow the plan carefully to avoid injury so I can understand a trainer being annoyed about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

He thought he hurt his hamstring when he was going for his first run in the first week, could well have been nothing.

Did anyone look at the workouts these people are given on the website? They're not exactly challenging.

Fair play to Mark for joining a running group (he seem's to be a very social guy so I'd imagine he would operate better in that environment anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭zubair

Suspect he was probably running on a rest day. Recovery is as important as the workout. He should work hard on the plan he has, it's designed for him, he can run all he wants once he's gained a level of fitness that allows him to. I think Carl was 100% right on this.

Naos wrote: »
    He thought he hurt his hamstring when he was going for his first run in the first week, could well have been nothing.

Did anyone look at the workouts these people are given on the website? They're not exactly challenging.

Fair play to Mark for joining a running group (he seem's to be a very social guy so I'd imagine he would operate better in that environment anyway).

They're challenging if you're in the shape they are.

He's trying to run before he can walk, so to speak and that's even before accounting for the fact he was risking turning a niggle into an injury.

KH's high dudgeon was a bit OTT* but the gist of his point was right.

*Operation Transfor-Tainment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

NFH wrote: »
    I completely accept that a personal trainer can advise that a client is overdoing it but I think it was just some run, that all the extra work he did. It was just the way he did it, completely discouraging and negative, not one word of encouragement. Its one thing if a client is completely going against the trainers advice but doing an additional run in a weeks work and then to be chastised like that, I thought it was bang out of order. Its on RTE Player actually, round the 20 min mark.
    http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/10367035/
    I think you are taking it way too seriously, its an entertainment show and its edited in such a way to create drama.
    I wouldn't be fan of KH either but if he gives a plan to somebody and they don't follow it properly then whats the point. The two guys on that programme are extremely overweight and they are not going to lose it overnight, they need to take things slowly. The guy went for a run on a dodgy hamstring so he was just telling him to stick to his plan or don't. He will end up giving himself a injury if he is running on a weak hamstring and overdoing it. If that happens then he could end up not being able to do any exercise at all and he'll back to square one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

Great bodies and healthy lifestyles are built on consistency and sustainability . Not on overworking yourself a few times , becoming over-trained and injured and then comfort eating because you feel sorry about yourself. Less is more.

The guys are looking for help from a pro because they haven't been able to do it themselves, he puts effort and expertise into designing them a program and then they're like lolno. They need steady progress and overdoing it early on may sabotage them entirely
    I didn't see his reaction so maybe it was ott but i cant blame him for having a ftdp reaction

*yes i am sometimes bad at ftdp also but i try :p

bluewolf wrote: »
    The guys are looking for help from a pro because they haven't been able to do it themselves, he puts effort and expertise into designing them a program and then they're like lolno. They need steady progress and overdoing it early on may sabotage them entirely
    I didn't see his reaction so maybe it was ott but i cant blame him for having a ftdp reaction

*yes i am sometimes bad at ftdp also but i try :p

He said he was 'pisséd' on national TV!!!eleven!

Ermagerd

bluewolf wrote: »
    Ermagerd

Poor Karl. It's been a rollercoaster of emotion.

Only 24 hours previously he was blushing as some 50-something woman said she liked his buns (with Niki Minaj's Anaconda the soundtrack..)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Why do people get so butt hurt when they've been told they do something wrong?

FFS I was given a chance to turn my life around and someone who's very successful at doing what I want to do was a bit rough with me I'd thank them and follow their advice.

I'm growing tired of this special unique snowflake indignant pity attitude people display.

Hanley wrote: »
    Why do people get so butt hurt when they've been told they do something wrong?

FFS I was given a chance to turn my life around and someone who's very successful at doing what I want to do was a bit rough with me I'd thank them and follow their advice.

I'm growing tired of this special unique snowflake indignant pity attitude people display.

To be fair, the chap in question didn't seem to be put out. He took what was said on board.

It's other people being offended on his behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

One of the contestants lost over 5 lbs and after weigh-in's all the personal trainer (Karl Henry) did was give out to him for doing additional work outside the trainers plan. Karl actually said that he was pissed off and it undermines what hes doing. The lad defended himself saying he is just trying to work harder and the trainer was like "you work hard within the plan we've set you, it takes a lot of time to make these plans and if you wanna go off with another plan then don't follow mine". He finished with a final discouraging remark saying that he wouldn't make it all the way or something.

Don't really watch the show but what a dick! The lad is over 20st workin his ass off and the trainer goes off on him for workin hard, how discouraging like! As a trainer all he can say is you should probly just stick to the plan because you don't want to do any damage etc but fair play for the hard work and commitment.

And how does it take a lot of time to make up a flippin training plan, eat this and do this blah blah blah, the hard part is doin that damn work and if hes gettin the results then give him the encouragement he deserves!

All this demonstrated is that the trainer cares more about himself than the people he's trying to help! Anyway, rant over :D

The reason Karl had a go at him was because the previous week he damaged his hamstring and wasn't able to do much exercise, the plan Karl devised was to help him build up his hamstring again slowly to get it back to full strength but because he did the extra running he was putting more pressure on it, What Karl was explaining to him was the plan he devised was to his benefit and pushing harder may damage it even more - Karls final remark was that if he didn't stick to his training plan ( to help build up the hamstring again ) then he wouldn't be able to take part in the 5k run at the end of the series

Karl's anger and criticism was discouraging, over the top and self absorbed. Personal trainers are essentially suppose to be motivators, its not rocket science to make a fitness plan up for someone, people are goin on about his "plan" like he is some sort of consultant. There are a 100 ways to skin a cat like! He didn't damage his hamstring, he's fine. Expecting the client to do exactly as hes told or then give out to him like a child because he did a bit extra is pathetic. A reasonable response in that situation would have been "you need to stick to the plan but fair play".

I would have been fine if Karl explained he was angry with your man for doing extra work because he thought he would cause damage or burn out etc, but he didn't, it was more of a 'im the boss and do what I say' thing. It was like he has some kind of inferiority complex about what he does 'ya know its really hard making up these training programs'...ya, good man!

Karl's anger and criticism was discouraging, over the top and self absorbed. Personal trainers are essentially suppose to be motivators, its not rocket science to make a fitness plan up for someone, people are goin on about his "plan" like he is some sort of consultant.

Well...he is.
    There are a 100 ways to skin a cat like!

Precisely none of which they have been doing until now.

And joining a running club when picking a football off the ground is a difficult is hardly a sensible way of starting off.
    He didn't damage his hamstring, he's fine.

This time.
    I would have been fine if Karl explained he was angry with your man for doing extra work because he thought he would cause damage or burn out etc, but he didn't, it was more of a 'im the boss and do what I say' thing. It was like he has some kind of inferiority complex about what he does 'ya know its really hard making up these training programs'...ya, good man!

Pretty sure the cameras didn't show every part of the exchange. The chap seemed happy enough with why he had to take it on the chin.

If he was ok with it, why are you so angry?

Maybe you should sign on to his Facebook page and tell him it's ok babz xoxo You did really well not injuring yourself :)

When I was watching this I was impressed with your man's effort and progress that week and just thought it was completely unnecessary and self serving what Karl said to him. In my opinion his criticism stems from a place of inferiority because he is sitting up there beside a doctor, someone who is an expert in an actual genuine profession, when lets face it, hes just someone who really enjoyed PE as a young lad but didn't get enough points to do physio so thought "jaysus I can make a bita money outa trainin people in gym" and now he thinks he's an actual expert in something! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

You seem very invested in this.

Did Karl run over your dog or something?

When I was watching this I was impressed with your man's effort and progress that week and just thought it was completely unnecessary and self serving what Karl said to him. In my opinion his criticism stems from a place of inferiority because he is sitting up there beside a doctor, someone who is an expert in an actual genuine profession, when lets face it, hes just someone who really enjoyed PE as a young lad but didn't get enough points to do physio so thought "jaysus I can make a bita money outa trainin people in gym" and now he thinks he's an actual expert in something! :D

You need a hug.

And some valium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »

I cant answer for him but I'll admit I have on occasion an irrational dislike for some people on tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Darkest Horse

Didn't see the show but I'd like to think that OT is not going down the same road as shows like the biggest loser and can retain some dignity in the way it deals with the contestants. In Ireland the Jillian Michaels act doesn't fit with our psyche so hopefully OT continues on the same path this year that it generally has done in the past.

I was reading that awful article about biggest loser and the insane stuff they were doing and how badly they treat the contestants. At least from what I've seen OT keeps it into their daily lives and seems nicer

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »

As the creator and therefore captain of this thread I feel obliged to keep digging!

giphy.gif

Didn't see the show but I'd like to think that OT is not going down the same road as shows like the biggest loser and can retain some dignity in the way it deals with the contestants. In Ireland the Jillian Michaels act doesn't fit with our psyche so hopefully OT continues on the same path this year that it generally has done in the past.

I don't think it does. In the piece to camera after his weigh in and talking to the panel he seemed to be ok with it as though it had been explained in more depth why it was wrong to deviate so far from the plan.

They're generally supportive but they will get called when excuses are being made. But it's never anything overly harsh, from what I've seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

They should just put them on clen and see what happens

#curiouspanda

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

Karl Henry aside, it's understandable why the lad wanted to push it but it's also understandable that a trainer tell a trainee that he should stick to a plan that has been given to him for his own benefit.

As I found myself, trying to do stuff above and beyond what is programmed is usually counterproductive.

Karl henry is abit stupid after that, if the lad was doing an extra bit of running and felt up to it fair play, id say something if he was ignoring the trainer altogether or not training atall,

Typical trainer ego only a fool would put someone down for trying to work harder instead of directing there attempts and encouraging it

evo2000 wrote: »
    Karl henry is abit stupid after that, if the lad was doing an extra bit of running and felt up to it fair play, id say something if he was ignoring the trainer altogether or not training atall,

Typical trainer ego only a fool would put someone down for trying to work harder instead of directing there attempts and encouraging it

Thank you, but get ready for abuse :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

What's peoples view on the amount of weight some of these guys are losing each week I see Alan lost 6lbs last week is this good?

Have you been reading the comments? It has been stated several times that the guy had a suspected damaged hamstring and that they were concerned that extra strain would make the injury worse. There is a reason they draw up detailed exercise plans like this especially for people who are overweight. You don't run before you walk. Baby steps have to be taken or else at the weight he is he could be putting unnecessary strain on his heart, lungs and limbs. It's good that he is motivated but he has to follow the plan strictly to ensure he does not overtax himself which could lead to health complications and injuries especially at his weight. Slow and steady is better. You have to build up your fitness however tempting it might be to run full force into it that will only lead to failure and injury.

Oh! Actual support from a personal trainer! (with video)

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=1017670954916590

Have you been reading the comments? It has been stated several times that the guy had a suspected damaged hamstring and that they were concerned that extra strain would make the injury worse. There is a reason they draw up detailed exercise plans like this especially for people who are overweight. You don't run before you walk. Baby steps have to be taken or else at the weight he is he could be putting unnecessary strain on his heart, lungs and limbs. It's good that he is motivated but he has to follow the plan strictly to ensure he does not overtax himself which could lead to health complications and injuries especially at his weight. Slow and steady is better. You have to build up your fitness however tempting it might be to run full force into it that will only lead to failure and injury.

Come on, only briefly mentioned the hamstring! He was more worried about his damaged ego and the fact that his authority and expertise as personal trainer was being "undermined". I agree with what you are saying but this lad was not giving out to him because of possible damage etc

The lad himself had mentioned early in the piece about him, i.e. that he was worried that his hamstring injury might have meant he wouldn't be able to exercise.

I know it said I should only be deadlifting 90kgs this week but I said I'd try and lift 150kg.

I lost 4 pounds!!!!111!!!

I hope ,my snapped up sh*t is ok next week.

Even if the damaged hamstring was a side note staying within the exercise plan is important. It has nothing to do with his ego. At that man's weight taking on additional exercise is counter productive and unsafe. They don't just pluck these plans out of thin air, they are tailored to the fitness levels capabilities of the participant. Pushing himself too much too fast will lead to injury and failure. Taking baby steps is key. However, I did not watch the exchange but I well believe that was the reason then the trainer's alleged ego.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I really wonder about people who go on the likes of this show

They want to turn their lives around.
    But yet aren't prepared to put in the effort beforehand.

So many people actually let themselves go for most of the year with the excuse that they can go on the weight loss and fitness buzz in the new year.

I know it said I should only be deadlifting 90kgs this week but I said I'd try and lift 150kg.

I lost 4 pounds!!!!111!!!

I hope ,my snapped up sh*t is ok next week.

Because thats comparable to abit of extra running... good one.. NOT!

For a man at his weight, running would be a considerable strain. Do you not realise that? They are out of breath just using water bottles as weights or walking. If he pushes himself too soon he will injure himself or put unnecessary strain on his joints that is the point we're trying to make. These exercise regimes are tailored to them for a reason.

Do you realise that

"I know it said I should only be deadlifting 90kgs this week but I said I'd try and lift 150kg."

and

"Abit of extra running"

Are not comparable

I realise what your saying, what i disagree with is the way in which the trainer handled it was absolute ****e

The big lad went running with the right intentions no matter how wrong he was to go off the plan abit

Do you realise that

compared to

Abit of extra running

Are not comparable

I realise what your saying, what i disagree with is the way in which the trainer handled it was absolute ****e

The big lad went running with the right intentions no matter how wrong he was.
    But it's not just "an extra bit of running" and it is comparable to a person moving up in weights too soon, it's an invitation for injury and unnecessary strain. You can't just jump from doing zero exercise to going for a run, it simply doesn't work like that. These things have to be built up to and that is way he's following an exercise plan pure and simple. It's good that he is motivated to exercise but sticking to the plan and taking baby steps is the most effective strategy. If he rushes into strenuous exercise before he is fully able he could end up with an injury and be unable to properly exercise for weeks especially if the contestant has expressed concern that his hamstring injury might act up again.

Im pretty sure a person that randomly jumped from 90- 150kg would be alot more ****ed up than a lad that went out and did abit of extra running i mean he didnt do a triathlon or anything and he was still standing for the weighns so obviously he must been alright and his running must not have been that hectic!

going from 90kg to 150kg is not the same as abit of running which is what the lad did dont make into something its not

Again my point is the way the trainer handled it was ridiculous pure ego trip, not with the workout itself i dont disagree with the risks of someone running before they can walk as u put it.

Im pretty sure a person that randomly jumped from 90- 150kg would be alot more ****ed up than a lad that went out and did abit of extra running i mean he didnt do a triathlon or anything and he was still standing for the weighns so obviously he must been alright and his running must not have been that hectic!

going from 90kg to 150kg is not the same as abit of running which is what the lad did dont make into something its not

Again my point is the way the trainer handled it was ridiculous pure ego trip, not with the workout itself i dont disagree with the risks of someone running before they can walk as u put it.

Still, moving up weights (of course not as extreme as the example) is still unwise when you can barely do x amount of reps with the weight you have. I just watched the scene there and it was fairly obvious that despite advice given to him about his hamstring injury (which it was stated that Karl had devised a careful plan to nurse it back to full strength) he went on a jog/walk that was inadvisable because he seriously risked doing further damage to it which could leave him unable to exercise for weeks. Prior to that there was a scene of him lifting weights which he admitted were too heavy for him and too much.

Clearly, eager to see results and to really work at it when told to do "x" amount of exercise he went off and did above and beyond that thinking it was better when in fact it isn't. It needs to be made clear in no uncertain terms that the plan is what needs to be followed especially when the risk of injury is high and I suppose that is what the trainer was making clear. If he did more than what was on the plan he risked injury and would he would be forfeiting the race at the end. However, I agree from watching it he could have gone into his reason for being annoyed more thoroughly and more politely so that he is still encouraging him and praising him for being motivated but making it clear why the plan is there.

You and your other personality are terrible at trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

Oh! Actual support from a personal trainer! (with video)

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=1017670954916590

I shouldn't have clicked on that link !! more delusional comments from posters, one such comment was this
    I love that operation transformation really encourages the nation to get up and get moving but I hate that it focuses on weight loss, rather than fat loss and muscle gain ... Making the contestants feel bad for 'only' losing 2lbs ect when at this stage they would be gaining a lot of muscle....what annoys me more is they use a tanita machine which gives you all the readings you need..and no need for guilt trips like that from the trainer #rantover

the contestants are gaining a lot muscle :confused::

You and your other personality are terrible at trolling.

Trolling ? more like pointing out how dumb your comparison was, laughable to say the least !

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Less backseat modding and sniping please guys

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

http://www.henryfitnesscentre.com/general-articles/six-week-eating-plan-46

jesus wept..

1)Eat this 600-800 calorie a day diet with minimal protein and fibre for 6 weeks,
    2)try and figure out what the fúck "Clear Consommé Soup" is
    3)give up

Seeing these kinds of "fitness gurus" getting mainstream media coverage sickens my mickey.. On this very forum there are trainers like COH, Hanley and Transform (who's website is an awesome resource) who are top class and can only dream of that kind of exposure...

And finally does he even lift

Minimal protein? I duno day 2 looks bad but the rest has protein in lunch and dinner
    breast of chicken for lunch, loads of fish for dinner
    large tin of tuna lunch, breast of chicken dinner
    cottage cheese lunch, 340g beef dinner (which is 500-700 cals on its own isn't it?)

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Some days are as little as 50g of protein, its an extremely low fat diet, and the calories are way too low even for a 50kg woman

Its a one size fits all "6 week" eating plan, There are so many things wrong with it