Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Household Habits That Annoy You

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭The Strawman Argument

When your only housemate has really loud and aggressive sex with someone for hours, then you head downstairs to find your frozen peas are gone. 12 hours later you find your now unfrozen peas have been put back into the freezer after presumably being used to reduce the swelling on a sprained knob or whatever.

I hate when that happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tails142

Saw this on the Irish Times

“Bhí subh milis, Ar bhaschrann an dorais, Ach mhúch mé an corraí, Ionam d’éirigh, Mar smaoinigh mé ar an lá, A bheas an baschrann glan, Agus an láimh bheag, Ar iarraidh.”

(“There was jam on the door handle, But I suppressed the anger that rose up in me, Because I thought of the day that the door handle would be clean, And the little hand would be gone.”)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

My girlfriend is unable to use the fan above the oven. You just look at the window to see condensation covering it. No matter how many times she just doesnt put it on until told.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭lulu1

OP The medication you took for your headache I wonder who bought it and the same goes for the tea bag in the sink. As the saying goes Dont bite the hand that feeds ye.

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭Ticking and Bashing

If I'm looking for house mates in the future I'll advertise here :p haha

I saw my father doing the most disgusting thing over the Xmas holidays...before he eats an apple he'll spit on it to 'clean' it. However, one day as I was cleaning dishes (not a huge fan of dishwashers), he spat on his apple and dried it with the dishcloth used for drying the dishes...
    he did this a few times - spit on apple, dry with dishcloth, spit on apple, dry with dishcloth. Disgusting! I didn't say anything, as it's his house and I'm only a guest :) hopefully he doesn't spit on the cutlery / plates before putting them away :p

btw - the dishcloth went into the washing machine haha.

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭Ticking and Bashing

Also....there seems to be a lot of tea bag issues noted here....Samantha Jones' response to Charlotte's 'tea bag situation' was to ''just breathe through your nose'' :p hahaha

• Registered Users Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

My girlfriend is unable to use the fan above the oven. You just look at the window to see condensation covering it. No matter how many times she just doesnt put it on until told.

Asked, doesnt put it on until asked :rolleyes:

dieselbug wrote: »
    Asked, doesnt put it on until asked :rolleyes:

Asked implies she has the option.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭lulu1

I have the exact same habit

OH We paid 150euro for a fan and now you wont even put it on look the whole house is steamed up.

ME ok keep your'r hair on

• Registered Users Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

People who put the mugs and glasses into the cupboard upside down... just dry them properly! I don't have time to be washing the insides of the cupboards in a house I'm only in for a few months and where the cup in touching is where you put your mouth. It's disgusting.

One of my housemates at the moment likes to splash his face and hands with water and not bother drying them so he just drips water all over the house. Since the amount he showers is questionable, it's disgusting as germs from his potentially unwashed body get left all over the house far easier with water. What makes it odder is he wears glasses and he doesn't bother even wiping them after splashing his face.

People who use my cupboards and fridge shelf space... Feck off! There's barely enough room for my food, I don't wanna have to keep shoving yours out of the way any time I go shopping, or be sitting in the shop debating whether or not I'll have room for the food I want to get.

People who take over friends (not a problem with this) and cook them all dinner (not a problem with this) but use every single pot, pan, dish and fork in the house and then sit there for hours with the plates still in front of them and left over food still in the pots. Another of my housemates did this for near a month and then had the nerve to glue (yes, glue) a sign to the wall to say not to leave any dishes in our rooms. The truth was, the rest of us started keeping plates aside for ourselves because if you didn't have your dinner before six in the evening, you weren't eating dinner because they usually stayed at the table until after midnight.

People in general are just annoying. If I could get housemates who I rarely see, who clean up after themselves, who aren't weird/creepy, who don't expect me to join in with the whole socialising thing, and who are silent for the most part, then I'd be happy. Can't wait to afford my own house...

sup_dude wrote: »
    People who put the mugs and glasses into the cupboard upside down... just dry them properly! I don't have time to be washing the insides of the cupboards in a house I'm only in for a few months and where the cup in touching is where you put your mouth. It's disgusting.

One of my housemates at the moment likes to splash his face and hands with water and not bother drying them so he just drips water all over the house. Since the amount he showers is questionable, it's disgusting as germs from his potentially unwashed body get left all over the house far easier with water. What makes it odder is he wears glasses and he doesn't bother even wiping them after splashing his face.

People who use my cupboards and fridge shelf space... Feck off! There's barely enough room for my food, I don't wanna have to keep shoving yours out of the way any time I go shopping, or be sitting in the shop debating whether or not I'll have room for the food I want to get.

People who take over friends (not a problem with this) and cook them all dinner (not a problem with this) but use every single pot, pan, dish and fork in the house and then sit there for hours with the plates still in front of them and left over food still in the pots. Another of my housemates did this for near a month and then had the nerve to glue (yes, glue) a sign to the wall to say not to leave any dishes in our rooms. The truth was, the rest of us started keeping plates aside for ourselves because if you didn't have your dinner before six in the evening, you weren't eating dinner because they usually stayed at the table until after midnight.

People in general are just annoying. If I could get housemates who I rarely see, who clean up after themselves, who aren't weird/creepy, who don't expect me to join in with the whole socialising thing, and who are silent for the most part, then I'd be happy. Can't wait to afford my own house...

They are called cats

• Registered Users Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

They are called cats

Yeah, except I don't think I could put up with being bossed around either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

People using a knife still covered in ketchup, mayo, brown sauce, jam and other condiments to take a gouge out of the dairy butter spread tub. Often I will look forward to a nice sandwich, only to be confronted by a rainbow coloured assortment in the Dairygold.

I have often made my postion known on this in the household, but most often the reaction is a) a grunt b) laughter and usually c) a blank stare and silence.

Solution.

Buy a new tub of butter when your housemates are gone out.
    Fill a mixing bowl with really warm water and sit the tub of butter in it.
    Upon retrieving the tub from the water you should then be able to slide the whole block out onto a plate.

Squat and take a solid shite onto a sheet of newspaper.
    Chop the turd to a size that will sit comfortably in the base of the butter tub. Gouge a turd sized hole in the upturned block of butter before slipping it back into the tub and on top of the "surprise".

Leave the "new" tub of butter in the fridge for use only by the people using a knife still covered in ketchup, mayo, brown sauce, jam and other condiments.
    What are the bets that their reaction upon discovery is neither a) a grunt b) laughter, or c) a blank stare and silence.

I can't believe it's not scutter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭berger89

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Ok folks tonight I'm having a sleepless night because I have a blinder of a headache and I just got up to get some Nurofen.

I am 26 years old and have the great misfortune of still having to live at home with my parents..

So I went to the kitchen sink to get water to take with the Nurofen and I see a tea bag that my dad left in the drain of the sink like he always does, even if the bin is 3 feet to his right! Absolutely bothers me, like why the sink?, just put it in the bin. Just after mumbling "Ssssake!" and throwing the soggy tea bag into the bin in my sleep deprived state before rambling back up to bed I spot another Dad Error.

He leaves the only carton of milk that we have outside of the fridge where it will go off...or at least go disgustingly warm, who likes room temperature milk on their cereal in the morning? I certainly don't.

He has loads of other things that annoy me but these two are constant. God I need to move out!

So what household habits do your housemates/partners/parents do that get on your wick?

I feel your pain. I don't even know where to start..

- my father does the very same thing with the teabag. or if he attempts to put it into the bin, and misses it, he WILL NOT pick it up.
    - leaving a buttery knife on the counter
    - all the boys pissing on the bathroom floor
    - not washing shaven face hairs down the sink
    - not washing dirty used toothpaste down the sink
    - not emptying the bins when they are so full they are climbing up the wall
    - leaving back empty milk bottles into the fridge..or the other day, an empty biscuit tin
    - putting jam jars with about a spoonful of jam back into the press
    - opening my food and eating it before me->a BIG NO NO

• Registered Users Posts: 7,796 ✭✭✭Calibos

Putting dirty dishes on the counter right over the dishwasher and not putting them into the Dishwasher. Why don't they put them in the dishwasher?? Because if they open the dishwasher to put the dirty dishes in but find it full of clean dishes then they'd feel obliged to empty it. They don't want to empty it, they don't want the guilt of seeing it needs emptying but not emptying it....so they choose to simply put the dishes near it without opening it so then they cant know whether it needed emptying or not and thus cant feel guilty about not emptying it. They don't seem to feel guilt about leaving the dishes for someone else to load however for some reason. This is the logic of some of my family members. I call it Shrodingers Dishwasher.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

lulu1 wrote: »
    OP The medication you took for your headache I wonder who bought it and the same goes for the tea bag in the sink. As the saying goes Dont bite the hand that feeds ye.

FYI, I bought that packet of Nurofen, because the father usually eats them all. Going to start keeping some in my room so I don't have to bother my bollocks going down to find only one or even none in the box! Another habit of my dad's too sometimes, I could have a headache like there's a hatchet buried in my skull, open the drawer to find an empty box of Nurofen.

Arrrrgh!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

seamus wrote: »
    Well you see, as a hairy man, drying myself after a shower is like drying a dog.
    The towel thusly, is absolutely soaking wet, almost like it had been dunked in the sea.

So, it can't go in the hot press. It can't go on a hook at the back of the door (used to do that, door became discoloured from mildew), and the towel rails we have aren't big enough to hang a bath towel fully open - the towel has to be folded, which means it won't dry.

So I have to hang my towel on the curtain rail (the shower curtain rail) after a shower. I make no apologies for this.

you must be a giant too? who needs a bath towel to dry off

• Registered Users Posts: 13,387 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Someone that boils the kettle 6 times in a row before making a cup of tea.

Ooh, also, people who boil a full kettle every time they want to make a single cup of tea. Wastrels!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Ooh, also, people who boil a full kettle every time they want to make a single cup of tea. Wastrels!

I have my own way with that, pour a cup of water into the kettle and then just boil that, not wasting water or electricity. Currently beating that into my parents heads, may as well talk to a brick wall.

I'd be either the best housemate in the world or the worst one for those who are stuck in their habits :P

I'm sure I have my own habits though, I like to think I'm neat enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,796 ✭✭✭Calibos

Had a cousin give out to me for the kettle thing. Got on his moral high horse about the environment and carbon emissions etc....He shut up when I pointed out that he flies away on a foreign holiday every year while I've taken 2 in 15 years. ie. I had a feeling his annual trips on an Airbus A330 released more C02 than me boiling the kettle with a few more milliliters than I needed a few times a day.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Housemate comes in from work puts the (full) kettle on straight away then fücks off upstairs for an hour.
    Boils my blood so it does :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Woshy wrote: »
    My husband leaves towels in really annoying places after he's had a shower - e.g he hangs them over the door instead of on the hook on the back of the door so you can't close the door without removing the towel. Or he hangs it on the banisters. How much harder is it to hang them in their proper place or put them in the airing cupboard?

I also hate tea bags left in the sink and shoes just randomly left all over the house for me to trip over.

Why would anyone reuse a towel after a shower ie after you have rubbed your ballsack all over the towel??

I dunno about you but my ball sack tends to be clean after a shower...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭iusedtoknow

The wife does the follow

- plates/cups left in the sink instead of the dishwasher
    - tea bags left in the sink instead of in the bin
    - finishes a carton of milk, leaves it on the counter, opens fresh one...

BUT

- i never close the cupboards all the way
    - Lights left on...she always knows I'm home if our house is lit up like a christmas tree

sammyjo90 wrote: »
    I dunno about you but my ball sack tends to be clean after a shower...?

Nice so you basically rub your ballsack on your face and anyone else living with you - after a shower/bath the towel is done as far as im concerned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

jester77 wrote: »
    Putting large saucepans that were only used for boiling potatoes or vegetables in the dishwasher. Just rinse the bloody pot instead of blocking half the dishwasher.

Is that you dad? lol:D

Warper wrote: »
    Nice so you basically rub your ballsack on your face and anyone else living with you - after a shower/bath the towel is done as far as im concerned

Ok 1: I have my own towels because its a house share..

And 2: I dont actually have a ball sack.

But anyway, at the end of the day your sack is just skin!

sammyjo90 wrote: »
    Ok 1: I have my own towels because its a house share..

And 2: I dont actually have a ball sack.

But anyway, at the end of the day your sack is just skin!

Ya its like rubbing your face with your underpants/knickers - fair enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

Warper wrote: »
    Ya its like rubbing your face with your underpants/knickers - fair enough

HAHAHAHA:rolleyes:

Ok If I take off my underwear that I've been wearing all day and rub it all over my face then yes that is not appealing( to some it might be!)

Do you wash your hand towel everytime you use it too?