Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

10 round numbers- How many of these can you run in 2015?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,505 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Graded 400 in Tallaght on Wed week if you fancy a go. Another one in Santry 2 weeks after that.
    Won't be around for the 400 in Tallaght, but will aim to give Santry a crack, if I can.

• Registered Users Posts: 767 ✭✭✭wrstan

Name|400m<60 secs|800m<150 seconds|1 mile<5 min|3k<10min|5k<20min|5mile<30min|10k<40m|10miles<1hr|Half Marathon<90mins|Marathon<3hrs

pconn062|||4.55|9.45|||36.57|||
    TFBUbendorfer|||||||38:26||
    Chivito550|56.04|2:14.98|||||||
    Krusty_Clown||||9:31|15:47|26:42|33:11|54:27|
    yaboya1|||||17:20|29:51|37:17||1:21:37|2:59:04
    CR 7|||||18:06||39:35||1:26:25||
    Calvin Johnson|||||19:07||39:13||1.29.05||
    66_Lad|||4:49||16:39||34:29|57:33|||
    Toblerone1978|||||19:30||39:12||
    Netwerk Errer|||||19:21||39:54||||
    DaveMcMahon|||||18:32||38:50||||
    wrstan||2:28.5|||18:07||37:43||||
    Tom Joad|||||18:05||38:58||1:28:17||
    John Dozer|||||19:52||||
    P_Fitz|||||19:01||||
    Bulmers74|||||19:23||||1:28:13|
    menoscemo|||||19:20||39:22||1:27:03|
    KielyUnusual|||4.32.72|9.02.49||27.28||55.58||
    vanderlyle|||||17:31|29:08|||
    Itziger|||||||38.15||1:19:26||
    BeepBeep67||2:19.8||9:53.5|17:22|28:53|36:33||
    PaulieYifter|||||18:46||39:01||1:26:34|2:59:20
    Conavitzky|||||17:10||35:29|||
    ClashCityRocker|||||19:46||39:01||1:24:56|
    FBOT01|||||17:42|29:59|39:32||||
    PaulieC|||||18:11|||||
    Dubgal72|||||19:28|||||
    rom|||||17:42|||||2:54:21
    dna_leri||2:06.66|||16:43|||||
    killerz|||4:51||16:58|28:12|37:00||1:21:00||
    career move|||||19:36|||||
    emerald007||||||29:55|33:30||1:17:30|2:52:50|
    Sandwell |||||17:28|28:57|||||
    Clear Thinking |||||19.03||||||
    ger664 |||||19:45||||||

Woohoo! Dunshaughlin 10k :-)
    Echoing all of the great stuff that is written and said about this race. In beautiful sunny conditions (I love running in the sunshine), although with a little b!tch of a headwind turning into the 7k marker - as if getting to the 7k marker wasn't b!tch enough :p

First time under 38' for me. What was really satisfying was that I managed to push myself deep into the pain zone at a point where I usually struggle and loose my concentration.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Name|400m<60 secs|800m<150 seconds|1 mile<5 min|3k<10min|5k<20min|5mile<30min|10k<40m|10miles<1hr|Half Marathon<90mins|Marathon<3hrs

vanderlyle|||||17:31|29:08|||
    jebuz |||||16:18|27:43||56:02|||

Editing this table is frightening! and that's coming from a software engineer.

Adding recent 5k, 5 mile and 10 mile times.
    1/2 Marathon, Marathon, 10k and 3k are all coming.
    400, 800, mile...we remain hopeful.

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭vanderlyle

vanderlyle|||||17:31|29:08|38:46||

38:46 from Saturday night's 10K in Dunshaughlin. My first time at it, and to echo everyone else, it was a top quality race.

Disappointed with my finishing time. Expected so much better (at least sub 38), but a nasty stitch came on in mile 3 that slowed me right down. I have never gotten a stitch in a race before, of any distance. Can't work out what could have caused it.

No more 10Ks planned, so that time is unlikely to improve this year. The half sub 90 mins is the only other target here that I'm confident of getting, but I'd like to have a go at the 800 before the year is out.

Krusty_Clown|||4:50|9:31|15:47|26:42|33:11|54:27|

A pretty disappointing performance in the Bray Runners invitational mile last night. I had to travel 150 miles on the bike to get to the race and was pretty tired. Wouldn't really have bothered, but I'd cajoled one of our newer club members into giving it a lash, so didn't feel right not to turn up. Around 10 in the race, and the fastest runner (Timmay) was pacing someone else, so he set the initial pace and nobody (myself included) was brave enough to take the lead, so we went through the first three laps far too slow and all ended up trying to recover the lost time in the final lap, which for me, given it was the 3rd race in a week, was never going to have a happy ending. I hit the half-way point in 2:27 and felt very comfortable and had I thought about it, I've done many training sessions on the same track where I'd be going through the 800m mark significantly faster, so it was a real flop. According to the Garmin, the splits were something like 72, 75, 75, 68.

So the only purpose this race really served was to tick a box, and to be honest, that's all a little pointless. I don't think I'll get another shot at the mile this year, so next year will try to find a more competitive 'eyeballs out' mile race, to see what I can achieve. On a positive note, the new club member ran a 4:54, which is pretty good, for someone who hasn't set foot on the track before.

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭66_Lad

66_Lad||2:17|4:49||16:39||34:29|57:33|||

Been out injured with a disaster of an inflammation in my 2nd metatarsal for 9 weeks so only getting back running again this month. Have kept the base fitness to a decent level with cycling, xtrainer & swimming but getting back to racing is a shock to the system! Did the Masters 800 & 3000 in the Wexford track & field last night, great to be back but the times are way down on where I was in Mar/Apr. Felt good in the 800 and finished strong in 2.17 feeling I had a little more in the tank. The 3000 ended up being a bit messy as women & men ran together and there was a lot of running in lane 2 overtaking...I ended up doing 10.07 but was sure I was on track for the sub 10 as the garmin pace was around 3:15 on the watch, but forgot the extra distance I was running and the garmin not being too accurate running around in circles, so I missed the target and doubt ill get to another 3000 this year. Hope to tick the 5 mile & half mar off this year also, but taking the comeback slowely and hopefully the foot continues to improve and the remaining stiffness fully goes away.

• Registered Users Posts: 676 ✭✭✭davemcmahon

DaveMcMahon|||||18:15||38:50||||

St Cocas 5k last night and a 17 second PB. First race in the start of May so very happy with it. Will probably do a few more 5k's in the next few weeks and see if I can take any more off it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Graded meet 400m in Tallaght this evening for anybody up for giving it a go. All standards welcome at these meets. Only requirement is that you are a member of a club.

• Registered Users Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Bulmers74|||||19:23||39:33||1:28:13|

First time going sub 40 last night in Dundrum. Don't think I'll be hitting any more round numbers this year although might try and improve the 5k time.

Chivito550|55.96|2:14.98|||||||

Finally I get to update this table. At last I've got back under 56 seconds, with a 55.96 in Tallaght on Wendesday, slightly faster than my indoor best from February. Great conditions but poor track for sprinting so more to come. I've attached the race report for anyone interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Given the conditions (I don't run distance well in heat ever!), I shoulda scrapped the 3k and jumped into the 400 instead for the craic ha. Should be able to dip into the 54s based on my current 800 training, a bit more speed work would do no harm either ha. Maybe another day tho!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

skeleton_boy |||||17:35|28.34|38.04||1.21.42||

Just at the halfway point of the year so may as well add my times. Besides the 5 mile time, not a whole lot of improvement on last year so far. Still I feel training has been going well the past month/6 weeks so I'm hoping the second half of the year will see the times start to tumble.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Given the conditions (I don't run distance well in heat ever!), I shoulda scrapped the 3k and jumped into the 400 instead for the craic ha. Should be able to dip into the 54s based on my current 800 training, a bit more speed work would do no harm either ha. Maybe another day tho!

Yeh I was surprised to see you run the 3k to be honest, at this time of the season. Would have thought the speed of a 400 would have been more beneficial this close to Nationals, assuming you will be doing the 800 at that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

Itziger|||||17:51||38.15||1:19:26||

Did the Garda 5k in Cork last night. Happy enough given the lack of any 5k type training recently

Chivito550|55.61|2:14.98|||||||

An update to the table after this weekend's 400m at the National League. A season's best of 55.61, in fairly decent conditions for a change. I'm now 0.73 down on my PB. I've 2 races left, so if I can get the perfect conditions I got at last year's nationals then who knows. I've attached a report for those interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭conavitzky

Conavitzky|||||17:10|27:56|35:29|||

Updating my 5mile/8k time after racing at the weekend. 91 second PB for 27:56. Was in 7th place after 3k but kept the pace consistent (even though every part of me wanted to jump into the hedge) and picked a few off to finish 3rd. I hope that there is enough of a time cushion under the 30 mins to allow it to count for a 5 mile! Wouldn't want the extrapolation police to get upset!:D

66_Lad||2:14|4:49|9:56.76|16:39||34:29|57:33|1:26:57||
    Conavitzky|||||17:10|27:56|35:29|||

Update to my 800m time from the Wexford T&F 2nd evening at the start of July, and I have also knocked off the 3000m and half marathon last week in the World Medigames which were held in UL.
    The Games were open to medical & health staff all over the world, and you could also participate if you accompanied a participant, so I tagged along with my wife for a few days. They were good fun but not that big or competitive, but still I got a few decent races and electronic timing on the UL track was a nice touch.
    I had ran a 10k XC race the day before the 3000m so knew it would be a close call on getting the sub 10 min considering my current shape. I went out in 38 sec for first 200 and then did the next 4 laps in 79/80/80/80. I started hurting on 5th lap and dropped to 81 and 6th lap was 82 so I was fearing it was going, but got a good bit of encouragement from people around and dug in and pulled out a 76 sec last lap which I was delighted with...legs were full of lactic after it...suppose the few beers I had the night before may not have helped, but I was on hol's after all!
    I wasn't planning on doing the half marathon, but felt good on the morning of it and woke early, so decided to do it as a hard training run. All went to plan, worked hard but didn't have to dig too deep which was great. I dropped pace in the last 3 miles a little as I expected, but still my longest run in nearly 4 months and no problems with the foot, so things looking up.
    I plan on doing a local 5 mile race in Wexford on 8th Aug so hopefully can cross that off, but doubt I'll run a 400m as missed the chance over the summer and I'm not pushed on trying a marathon this year unless I feel the body can hold up to the long runs. Still nice to have that many knocked off the list anyway.

66_Lad wrote: »
    ...pdate to my 800m time from the Wexford T&F 2nd evening at the start of July,
    Some really solid results (but that half-marathon time is pants!)...

Thanks KC, I'll make another decent effort when I get the mileage back up!! My foot feels 100% at last so I'll start upping the mileage in Aug and probably aim for a Sept half. You goin to try complete the 10 or giving the sprints a miss?

66_Lad wrote: »
    Thanks KC, I'll make another decent effort when I get the mileage back up!! My foot feels 100% at last so I'll start upping the mileage in Aug and probably aim for a Sept half. You goin to try complete the 10 or giving the sprints a miss?
    Would love to have, but right now, nothing could be further from my mind. Have hit a real slump in form over the last couple of weeks and don't know what's up. Thinking of clearing out the race calendar for a while, until I see an improvement.

You have been training and racing hard all yr, hard to hold that...body may need 7 to 10 days recovery but know how hard it is to make that call. Even if you just skip races for 3 wks and cut a few sessions, it may freshen you up for Sept/Oct. Hope to see you at some race ltr in the yr

Conavitzky|||||17:10|27:56|35:29||1:21:00|

Entering my half marathon time from national half yesterday.Time of 1:21:00 for a pb of 7mins plus. My third half and first since last September. Was expecting a killer of a course looking at the profile online and comments on last years event. Didnt find the course too severe although the last few miles in the park were a drag mentally and physically. Didnt have any clue what time I could run as we had done no race pace work. All our training had been 2 mile intervals at 5-10k pace and tempo runs of three miles at slightly faster than 10k pace with 16k hill runs midweek and 26k long run at the weekend. Coach said i could run 1:21 but i thought he was nuts. Scribbled down the 5k splits on the palm of my hand on race morning for a 1:21 and said if i could run between 3.45 and 3.50 per k on the garmin i wouldn't be too far away. Last minute.com or what!
    Got into a good rythym with a clubmate and Tallaght runner who helped share the workload. Passed the 10k mark in 38:18 Nice headwind on the drag through chapelizod (I think!) Up to the entrance to the park. The Tallaght lad turned around to the rest of the group and suggested (politely!)that someone else share the workload with the three of us but in fairness i think the rest were just hanging on. We caught a group of about 10 with third place lady just before the park and passed probably 20 runners in total from the 5k mark on.
    The park was seriously boring and the mind was drifting like crazy. The tallaght lad kept the pace up and if I felt it dropping I stepped in to push it on a bit. Selfless work from all the group. Brilliant to experience. With about a mile to go i slowly upped the pace and gapped about 5m going up a hill. However I couldn't maintain it and knew i wasabout to enter a world of pain for the remainder of the race. The tallaght lad picked up the pace and my teammate said to me come on we will finish this together. I now wanted to lie down on the road so told him im goosed dont wait! I saw the finish line in sight and had about 20 seconds to cover 150 metres. I tried to pick it up but was running on treacle. I closed my eyes and tried to embrace the pain searing through my body. 1.20.57,58,59. F*ck it legs whats wrong, move! Gone. Crossed the line. Massive pb and all I can think of is you should have broke the 1.21 and why could I not sprint. That has never happened me before.
    My sister took a few photos of me coming down the final stretch and I could see why I couldnt sprint. Shoulders swaying, hips swaying, knees wobbling, face grimacing, eyes closed. A spent man.
    Found my team mates who had run phenomenally. Id say we might have an outside chance of an old mans team medal.
    Dust settled now and Im over the moon. First marathon in October??? I just dont know yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭CR 7

CR 7|||||18:05||37:25||1:26:25||

Just updating my 10k time from yesterday. Haven't raced a 10k for a while so there's a big enough drop in time. Probably won't race one again this year though.

Edit: Updating my 5k time too from 2 weeks ago, it probably didn't warrant it's own post. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭clear thinking

Clear Thinking ||2.20.95|||18.00||||||
    PB in the 800m, 3rd last in 6th of 6 races but still feels great :D

And a 5k in 18.00 on track, I don't wear a watch and still waiting on an official time, but it knocked c. a minute into my SB

I'll be jumping into the clonliffe club races in August so fingers crossed on a few seconds here and there, albeit a <5 mile is a big stretch.

conavitzky wrote: »

Entering my half marathon time from national half yesterday.Time of 1:21:00 for a pb of 7mins plus. My third half and first since last September. Was expecting a killer of a course looking at the profile online and comments on last years event. Didnt find the course too severe although the last few miles in the park were a drag mentally and physically. Didnt have any clue what time I could run as we had done no race pace work. All our training had been 2 mile intervals at 5-10k pace and tempo runs of three miles at slightly faster than 10k pace with 16k hill runs midweek and 26k long run at the weekend. Coach said i could run 1:21 but i thought he was nuts. Scribbled down the 5k splits on the palm of my hand on race morning for a 1:21 and said if i could run between 3.45 and 3.50 per k on the garmin i wouldn't be too far away. Last minute.com or what!
    Got into a good rythym with a clubmate and Tallaght runner who helped share the workload. Passed the 10k mark in 38:18 Nice headwind on the drag through chapelizod (I think!) Up to the entrance to the park. The Tallaght lad turned around to the rest of the group and suggested (politely!)that someone else share the workload with the three of us but in fairness i think the rest were just hanging on. We caught a group of about 10 with third place lady just before the park and passed probably 20 runners in total from the 5k mark on.
    The park was seriously boring and the mind was drifting like crazy. The tallaght lad kept the pace up and if I felt it dropping I stepped in to push it on a bit. Selfless work from all the group. Brilliant to experience. With about a mile to go i slowly upped the pace and gapped about 5m going up a hill. However I couldn't maintain it and knew i wasabout to enter a world of pain for the remainder of the race. The tallaght lad picked up the pace and my teammate said to me come on we will finish this together. I now wanted to lie down on the road so told him im goosed dont wait! I saw the finish line in sight and had about 20 seconds to cover 150 metres. I tried to pick it up but was running on treacle. I closed my eyes and tried to embrace the pain searing through my body. 1.20.57,58,59. F*ck it legs whats wrong, move! Gone. Crossed the line. Massive pb and all I can think of is you should have broke the 1.21 and why could I not sprint. That has never happened me before.
    My sister took a few photos of me coming down the final stretch and I could see why I couldnt sprint. Shoulders swaying, hips swaying, knees wobbling, face grimacing, eyes closed. A spent man.
    Found my team mates who had run phenomenally. Id say we might have an outside chance of an old mans team medal.
    Dust settled now and Im over the moon. First marathon in October??? I just dont know yet.
    Missed out on old mans team bronze by 34 secs!

Clear Thinking ||2.20 HT|||17.55||||||

A hand timed PB in the 800m, 0.95s but I'm taking it..!

The previous 5k was in 18.13, on track, managed 17.55 last night - over the moon as been training pretty hard and didn't taper... and no space on the table for 1500s unfortunately!!!

Light sessions from now until the mile club race next week... and maybe the elusive sub 5. And a major diabetes inducing and alcohol splurge to tee up a few weeks break after that.

Just a thought, should there be +10% rule/allowance for the ladies on this?

e.g. 800m <165s; 10m <66mins etc...

There is a women's 10 round numbers thread which is much softer than +10% and the participation on it is still shocking.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Nice thought but the OCD in me says NO and the racer in me says nah....I still think there should be 2/3 tables inclusive of both genders: beginner (like on the graduates' thread but it's hidden away), intermediate (like the ladies' but for both genders) and advanced (this one).

• Registered Users Posts: 10,438 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Nice thought but the OCD in me says NO and the racer in me says nah....I still think there should be 2/3 tables inclusive of both genders: beginner (like on the graduates' thread but it's hidden away), intermediate (like the ladies' but for both genders) and advanced (this one).

Interesting idea, but you'd have to set it up over Chivito's dead body. (Dumbing down, lowering of standards, fun running etc.) :pac: