Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Arcade and Retro Chat - Insert Coin -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

DinoRex wrote: »
    Do DPD not have lockers? See I don't want stuff being sent to my house as I won't be home and my neigbor will steal it.

Get some anthrax sent to yourself when you're not home

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Get some anthrax sent to yourself when you're not home

Give their address to the Scientologists, they'll be sending them crap for decades more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

Not really retro but might interest people here.

Went to order the Google Pixel 2. Since can't be gotten in Ireland for some reason, I ordered it off the Curry's UK site. Paypal and parcel motel.

Order was cancelled straight away. They still took my money though so I'm waiting to get that back. Read the terms and conditions and says they don't post to lockers. Having similar problems the last while with ebay aswell.

So I've signed up for address pal. The address is in London so should solve those problems. I chose to pickup in my post office. Anyone else use it yet and know if its good?

Curry's customer service is a pile of crap too. Takes up to a week to get back to you. Meanwhile they have £500 of my money in limbo

Just use http://store.google.com and click the Ireland flag down the bottom and select the UK. It will take your Irish credit card details and happily ship to Parcel Motel. You also get the Google Store support which is most awesome from experience (phones replaced in a day etc. if there is an issue during the warranty period)

KeRbDoG wrote: »
    Just use http://store.google.com and click the Ireland flag down the bottom and select the UK. It will take your Irish credit card details and happily ship to Parcel Motel. You also get the Google Store support which is most awesome from experience (phones replaced in a day etc. if there is an issue during the warranty period)

Already tried but seems like theres no phone available on the google Irish shop.

Plus its £130 more on the Google store

Already tried but seems like theres no phone available on the google Irish shop.

Plus its £130 more on the Google store

Nice discount so. Indeed, not on the Irish store but my directions are to use the UK Google store "click the Ireland flag down the bottom and select the UK". Again, accepts an Irish credit card and billing address, your delivery address just needs to be in the UK.

KeRbDoG wrote: »
    Nice discount so. Indeed, not on the Irish store but my directions are to use the UK Google store "click the Ireland flag down the bottom and select the UK". Again, accepts an Irish credit card and billing address, your delivery address just needs to be in the UK.

My mistake, thats what I get for reading and replying in the que at Aldi. I'll have to hang on until I get the full refund to see what the next step is. I'm commited to getting it now though, I've gone too far to not to now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

Tried out my Dreamcast again, won't play back ups or Sonic Adventure but will play Shenmue and Power Stone.
    What's the verdict? Look out for another?

That's odd. You have me dreading getting my Dreamcast out of retirement now. It'll play originals but no backups :(

Sonic Adventure was launch so it might be a different kinda disc if you haven't tried it on yours.
    Mine used to no problem just not this time.

Maybe its time for a GDEMU?

Edit: Just noticed that a 'monitor this website' might be needed for a GDEMU as the maker is only opening up ordering when he has them on hand as people got bitchy with waiting on a pre-order list :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Sonic Adventure was launch so it might be a different kinda disc if you haven't tried it on yours.
    Mine used to no problem just not this time.

It's an intervention to free you from Big the cat and his frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

Continuing on from the Daytona 3 announcement, Sega breath life into another dormant IP in the form of House of the Dead: Scarlet Dawn.
    House of the Dead: Scarlet Dawn will make its arcade debut on January 19 at the Sega Akihabara Building 3. According to Famitsu, Scarlet Dawn was developed using the Unreal 4 engine, so its porting possibilities seem really good if Sega should want to go down that route in the future. The two-player arcade cabinet will feature a few gimmicks including an air cannon and vibrating seat.

https://www.destructoid.com/sega-launching-new-house-of-the-dead-in-japan-482514.phtml?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

Is there a home option outside of the PSVR?

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    It's an intervention to free you from Big the cat and his frog
    You can't break the bond between me and Froggy that easily

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    Continuing on from the Daytona 3 announcement, Sega breath life into another dormant IP in the form of House of the Dead: Scarlet Dawn.

https://www.destructoid.com/sega-launching-new-house-of-the-dead-in-japan-482514.phtml?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

Just stick them both on Switch and we'll so no more about it!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,261 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Feel like a mug. Turned on the PS4 and had a quick browse in the shop. I saw metal slug anthology and made an impulse buy.

Turns out it's the PS2 game.... and the European 50Hz version at that.

Going to chance my arm trying to get a refund, the game is awful in 50 Hz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

Hmm hopefully it's one of the Japanese teams making it and not outsourced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Inviere

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Turns out it's the PS2 game.... and the European 50Hz version at that

Jaysus, who makes the decision to make available a 50Hz version of a game these days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭wheresmahbombs

Reminds me very much of my experience with the PAL and NTSC versions of Super Mario 64. Back when I first played the game at age 4, I did not know of any regional speed differences at all. As time went by, I was introduced to YouTube, and binge-watched SM64 videos in my early days with YT. I noticed the faster speed of the NTSC version, and was curious to emulate it. To me, the higher frame rate of the NTSC version made all the difference.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,261 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Well Metal Slug was never in 50 Hz so it was a shock at how bad it was. The minute I could move and the slow soundtrack I just face palmed and deleted it. It's gross.

Same happened to me a few months ago. The games unplayable. I'm by no means a master at metal slug but Im certainly above average and i was down one credit by the time I beat the first boss in X. The lag is unreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Haha! That's absolutely crazy. I kind of want to give it a bash now as a matter of interest.

The sections where the game slows down must be like treacle in 50hz.

Metal Slug X must play a 4-5 fps :D

Surprised it took this long to mention the Wii version of Metal Slug Anthology. Yes, it runs in 60HZ (somehow still laggy, which makes 2 even more fun than usual), but only Japan got Classic Controller support and the rest of us got lumped with this bare-bones, sub-fanmade quality anthology that has 10000 controller options and exactly all of which are **** (you're waggling for bombs or playing it with the 2D-struggling GCN pad). At least your PAL version has got a decent controller going for it. Suspect they'll have the whole series on Switch soon enough, so there's some hope. Never mind it'll cost a fair whack.

Also, Metal Slug 3 is an overrated slog where SNK tried to bleed you of enough 20Ps to save themselves from bankruptcy.

Master of the Universe

Completely agree with your assessment of Metal Slug 3.

It's far too dependent on quantity over quality. There are some really great ideas in there, but they were in dire need of an editor.

Metal Slug 1 for me is and always will be by far the best of the series. Followed by Metal Slug X. I think a sign of how good they are is how achievable 1cc is with practice. They can be tough at times, but never unfair.

Metal Slug 3 I'd fall asleep playing before seeing the end, let alone a 1cc end!

Metal slug 3s big issue is the zombie level is utter garbage and it's the second stage to slog through. Not a fan of the game either.

In an absolute shocker I have some good consumer feedback to give about Sony who refunded me the money despite me having downloaded and played the game. Fair play to them in this case.

Surprised it took this long to mention the Wii version of Metal Slug Anthology. Yes, it runs in 60HZ (somehow still laggy, which makes 2 even more fun than usual), but only Japan got Classic Controller support and the rest of us got lumped with this bare-bones, sub-fanmade quality anthology that has 10000 controller options and exactly all of which are **** (you're waggling for bombs or playing it with the 2D-struggling GCN pad). At least your PAL version has got a decent controller going for it. Suspect they'll have the whole series on Switch soon enough, so there's some hope. Never mind it'll cost a fair whack.

Also, Metal Slug 3 is an overrated slog where SNK tried to bleed you of enough 20Ps to save themselves from bankruptcy.

I have to agree, major disappointment at the bizarro-world control options in the Metal Slug Anthology, given that the blurb on the case talks about arcade accuracy, but then take away the option to use buttons and a d-pad and lump you with a whole bunch of waggle or nunchuk options, just awful.
    Happier to emulate them via the homebrew channel instead, can use my proper stick then.

Metal slug 3s big issue is the zombie level is utter garbage and it's the second stage to slog through. Not a fan of the game either.

At least with the zombie deal you can cheese the utter nonsense that is the boss of that level. One well-placed vomit-lazer thing can reduce an absolute credit-muncher into a laughing stock. I suspect it's because SNK were hurting for funds that QA was the last thing on their minds. The final mission is an absolute piss-rip, though. It'd put the ****tiest bullet-hell to shame in terms of flat-out unwinnable situations.

Master of the Universe

An interesting comparison to show up the lazy level design in 3 is that zombie level compared to the Metal Slug 2/X Ancient Egypt level (as it has those mummy transformations are pretty similar to the Zombie ones.)

You can get through all of the Egypt levels in 2/X without a single transformation. And it's actually a lot of fun.

Fecked if I ever get through without transforming into a zombie (and screaming 'OH FOR **** SAKE!') several times in 3.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

So I know some of the good folks on here also like games that are a little outside of the mainstream - I spotted the below on Eurogamer and immediately thought of the A&R folks. A different kind of party game for the next beers maybe! :pac: :P

Genital Jousting
    ...the joy of Genital Jousting is that, even if you're not especially interested in its underlying message, you still get to be a wang in a dress, play a bunch of silly penis-themed mini-games, and politely penetrate your friends.

I know theres a couple of Dark Souls fans here.

I'm a huge fan, even managed to sneak Gwyns theme onto my wedding playlist for the reception last month.

Someone else might appreciate this remix of it

https://youtu.be/rvb48_S8CYo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,291 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Bob Wakelin very sadly died of leukemia today. If you bought a Ocean game for your 8 bit computer (and others) in the 80s, chances are he'd have designed the box art.

Some really great ones, few of my favourites were Head over Heels, Batman - The Caped Crusader and Renegade. There's a lot of nice tributes out there to him.

Couple of good links to some of his work:

https://www.exotica.org.uk/wiki/Bob_Wakelin

https://www.digitiser2000.com/main-page/a-tribute-to-the-art-of-bob-wakelin

RIP

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.