Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Arcade and Retro Chat - Insert Coin -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

I know there's a few fans of it here so just wanted to remind ye (and maybe share the excitement too :pac:)
    pb5w01Fl.jpg
    https://gamesdonequick.com/schedule

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I think we have been lucky to see The Last Guardian at all.
    The frame rate and clipping issues suggests a highly complex game to produce but a tiny team to produce it.
    I wouldn't be surprised at all if we get an optimised version in years to come on a later PlayStation console, just as Shadow of the Colossus did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭eddhorse

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

eddhorse wrote: »

I now expect that Nintendo are going to update the firmware the machine comes with and block newer Nintendo Mini Classics and Famicom Minis from enjoying this "feature"
    I wonder if there is an upper limit to the number of games installed?
    It'd be kinda cool to curate a selection of 100 or so of the very best games on the little machine.

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    eddhorse wrote: »

I now expect that Nintendo are going to update the firmware the machine comes with and block newer Nintendo Mini Classics and Famicom Minis from enjoying this "feature"
    It'd be kinda cool to curate a selection of 100 or so of the very best games on the little machine.

Ah sure i guess you could just Retropie your backups easier.

Yeah but, Wii Mini aside, Nintendo hardware is always just... Nice....
    Any old eejit can go the Retropie route.
    "Here, look at me, I have everything on my RP3!"
    "And here's me 15 minutes later and I can't decide what to play :( "

Sounds familiar, only a matter of time with this latest Nintendo hardware though.

Will they release other mini consoles like Snes/N64/Gamecube?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,328 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I spoke to the guys behind Virginia a while back, and they made a convincing and passionate case of why they included a 30 FPS lock as default - I know the 'cinematic' argument is often justifiably mocked, but I think Virginia more than any other game I've played makes a strong argument for a legitimately cinematic aesthetic. And they included 60 FPS anyway as an option. But that's a genuinely exceptional case.

In conclusion: screw Capcom.

Well it's pretty understandable in that case and in slower games it's not as important unless the camera swings violently around which makes me want to throw up. You you get people arguing that they can't tell the difference or some nonsense about how it doesn't make a difference which is quite frankly a load of arse. Then there's devs using the cinematic excuse or flat out bull**** like team ninja with DMC.

If devs do target 30 fps at least make it consistent. It's the lurches in framerate that are worse than the low framerate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

So has everybody hacked their NES mini yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,009 ✭✭✭Inviere

I'd like them exploit it further & allow external storage to be used for NES roms. Wouldn't be mad about flashing memory every time, so if they can dump/exploit the OS part & patch in external memory, much nicer.

DinoRex wrote: »
    The other end of the spectrum are just as bad. The ones who throw a fit because a turn based card game has its frame rate locked just because morons like Total Biscuit told them to.

Indeed, certain groups spend more time tinkering with ambient occlusion, hdrr, and bloom settings than they do actually playing, and enjoying, the bloody game.
    That said... I absolutely can't play the Last Guardian at all because the frame rate is so poor. Makes me feel ill after about 10 minutes. It will have to wait until I get a PS4 Pro at some point.

Does the Pro help in this regard (with this particular game)?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,328 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I'd go so far as to say it's a game made for the pro first with the poverty PS4 an after thought. That said on 1080 it still lurches and in 4K it's pretty much unplayable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Decided to give the NES Mini Classic hack a go. Works perfectly :)
    I've stuck about 80 games on it so far(along with the artwork for each game), that includes the 30 already there. Homebrew and hacked roms seem to work fine as well.

All I need now is a Nintendo Mini Classic!

Is the memory full at that Steve, or will more go on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    I'd go so far as to say it's a game made for the pro first with the poverty PS4 an after thought. That said on 1080 it still lurches and in 4K it's pretty much unplayable.

Wasn't it supposed to be sorted in the last update?

I have it on Pro but haven't started it as of yet...

I'm not really picking up on frame rate being a problem in The Last Guardian at all.
    I know it happens but it's just not intruding on my enjoyment of the game at all.
    I'm not getting a lot of time to play much at all these days, with an expected role change in work meaning even less time again, but The Last Guardian definitely fills that SotC shaped hole in my gaming life that I wasn't aware was there.
    Choppy frame rate that doesn't bother me... Check
    Gorgeous environment... Check
    Animal that acts with a mind of its own... Check
    Am i happy out? ... Check!

Inviere wrote: »

More will go on, I just stopped there. It's got 512MB of flash mem, but so far there's no way to check the free space. So it all depends on how much the OS and other software is using. The roms are small as you know so I'd say 100 games is reachable.
    I wouldn't want a full romset on this, just a really good selection of about 80-120 games is perfect I think.

Steve X2 wrote: »
    I wouldn't want a full romset on this, just a really good selection of about 80-120 games is perfect I think.

Ditto, any more & the risk of flash cart syndrome is high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭80s Synth Pop

Steve X2 wrote: »
    More will go on, I just stopped there. It's got 512MB of flash mem, but so far there's no way to check the free space. So it all depends on how much the OS and other software is using. The roms are small as you know so I'd say 100 games is reachable.

I've read several posts recently that the flash memory is 512MB but this teardown from last year says it's 8GB: http://www.eurasia.nu/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&topic=7481&forum=82
    Is 512MB confirmed now?

I'm not really picking up on frame rate being a problem in The Last Guardian at all.
    I know it happens but it's just not intruding on my enjoyment of the game at all.
    I'm not getting a lot of time to play much at all these days, with an expected role change in work meaning even less time again, but The Last Guardian definitely fills that SotC shaped hole in my gaming life that I wasn't aware was there.
    Choppy frame rate that doesn't bother me... Check
    Gorgeous environment... Check
    Animal that acts with a mind of its own... Check
    Am i happy out? ... Check!

It kind of frustrates me. When the stupid AI does its own thing and you have to repeat stuff because it didn't trigger leading to an inconvenience or even death... That's just bad game design and it gets even more frustrating when the game keeps slowing to a crawling and just feels horrible to move in when the framerate tanks and you are repeating tasks through no fault of your own.

It's a good fame alright but it really does have issues, mostly the inconsistent trico AI.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,619 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Bad game design? Given that Trico is by several orders of magnitude the most complex and dynamic AI companion I've ever encountered in a video game, I was amazed at how few hitches there were. Off the top of my head, bar a few minor and brief inconsistencies, a missed 'slo-mo' jump and one single significant glitch (where the game appeared to skip a 'feeding' phase and Trico wouldn't act as expected - rectified by a reload) was pretty much all I encountered. Not saying everyone will have the same experience, but it was a mostly very effective experience for me with only a few blemishes (and I believe some degree of randomness and inconsistency is essential for what the game is trying to communicate artistically, especially in the earlier hours). Major technological advances are rarely made in perfect leaps, but TLG is remarkably accomplishment for something so ambitious and groundbreaking. Not to mention the sheer amount of times the game amazed, impressed, thrilled and even moved massively outweighed any irritants :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

Don't most of the guides state that it's a max of 60 addition games or 60 new games you can add on with the mod?
    Doesn't seem that it's a limitation of the flash but the current menu/software on the unit

KeRbDoG wrote: »
    Don't most of the guides state that it's a max of 60 addition games or 60 new games you can add on with the mod?
    Doesn't seem that it's a limitation of the flash but the current menu/software on the unit

Well, i have 81 installed and running on my one. At the end of the day you're just inserting a bit of code and some files into a Linux distro.

Bad game design? Given that Trico is by several orders of magnitude the most complex and dynamic AI companion I've ever encountered in a video game, I was amazed at how few hitches there were. Off the top of my head, bar a few minor and brief inconsistencies, a missed 'slo-mo' jump and one single significant glitch (where the game appeared to skip a 'feeding' phase and Trico wouldn't act as expected - rectified by a reload) was pretty much all I encountered. Not saying everyone will have the same experience, but it was a mostly very effective experience for me with only a few blemishes (and I believe some degree of randomness and inconsistency is essential for what the game is trying to communicate artistically, especially in the earlier hours). Major technological advances are rarely made in perfect leaps, but TLG is remarkably accomplishment for something so ambitious and groundbreaking. Not to mention the sheer amount of times the game amazed, impressed, thrilled and even moved massively outweighed any irritants :)

I've had Trico miss a couple of jumps leading to death, not eating barrels and then thinking I was doing something wrong in a level only to find out it was because I had figured out the solution but was thrown off because Trico's AI wouldn't respond to me. Does the good outweigh the bad? Yes it probably does but they are still serious game design issues and can't just be brushed under the carpet.

NES mini hack also works on the Famicom Mini. Not much of a surprise really as it's the same hardware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Does the Pro help in this regard (with this particular game)?

If you run it at 1080p then it's great on the pro, if you run it at 4k it's arguably even worse.

I actually really like it, only problem I have is the chugging frame rate making me feel ill, makes it all the more frustrating. Might pick up at some stage soon as it will give me better performance out of the PSVR too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

I actually got a new tv yesterday, 50" does 4K and all that. I found no way of changing the Hz on my ps4 for it. It's currently in 1080p 24hz.

Feck it, it seems Nintendo has stopped selling the non XL model of the new 3DS. I really hate the XL model, too big and the bigger screen makes everything look blocky and aliased. Wish I hadn't held off but I didn't have the money. Now it's next to impossible to find the gorgeous SNES style small new 3DS :(

It's like the model has been recalled at this stage.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Feck it, it seems Nintendo has stopped selling the non XL model of the new 3DS. I really hate the XL model, too big and the bigger screen makes everything look blocky and aliased. Wish I hadn't held off but I didn't have the money. Now it's next to impossible to find the gorgeous SNES style small new 3DS :(

It's like the model has been recalled at this stage.

Once the scumsucking @sswipes on Adverts find out there'll be plenty of New 3DS' for sale on there, and they'll all be R@RE!! and cost €250!!! Bargain!!