Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luas Red Line - not suitable for children

• Registered Users Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭nc6000

Tow wrote: »
    If we introduced the level of policing they have on the Paris Metro it would clean up. The current system where the ticket inspectors don't even bother to ask the junkies and et all is a disgrace.

What policing on the Paris Metro? I couldn't tell you how many times I've used the Metro on my visits to Paris and can't recall ever seeing any "policing" on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,615 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Did anyone hear something along the lines of the Green line getting extended Christmas hours but that they're not doing it on the Red line? I saw the story somewhere but didn't read it. If true it says a lot about what the operators think of the problems on the Red line, they seem to be saying that running late night services on the Red line just isn't worth the trouble.

I think its a bit unfair to the majority of decent people who live and use the Red line Luas. As usual our authorities are letting a tiny minority ruin things for everyone else instead of standing up and addressing the issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,577 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Did anyone hear something along the lines of the Green line getting extended Christmas hours but that they're not doing it on the Red line? I saw the story somewhere but didn't read it. If true it says a lot about what the operators think of the problems on the Red line, they seem to be saying that running late night services on the Red line just isn't worth the trouble.

I think its a bit unfair to the majority of decent people who live and use the Red line Luas. As usual our authorities are letting a tiny minority ruin things for everyone else instead of standing up and addressing the issue.

I've copied my post from the other thread.

According to Transdev, there is not the same demand on the Red Line.
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/no-latenight-red-line-on-luas-over-christmas-as-operators-accused-of-discrimination-30826014.html
    However, Luas have rejected the suggestion that the lack of late-night services on the Red Line is discrimination.
    "There is absolutely no bias on our behalf, but what there is, is substantial evidence that there is just not enough demand for the service on the Red Line," a spokesperson said.
    The company said that it tested late-night trams on the Red Line but the carriages were empty, adding that if demand were to increase, additional services would be considered.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

lxflyer wrote: »

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/no-latenight-red-line-on-luas-over-christmas-as-operators-accused-of-discrimination-30826014.html

Indeed,a classic "Irish answer to an Irish Question",even if it is from a French outfit..:rolleyes:

I can imagine the outrage if BAC were to come out with such a statement...:D
    But what there is, is substantial evidence that there is just not enough demand for the service on the Red Line," a spokesperson said.
    The company said that it tested late-night trams on the Red Line but the carriages were empty, adding that if demand were to increase, additional services would be considered.

There has not been a Late Tram service on the Red Line for some years now,which makes the Transdev statement quite difficult to comprehend.

There is "not enough demand" for a late service.....but "if this demand increases" then additional services would be considered...so Ted,tell me,how do we assess this demand level,given the lack of services which might attract people to disappoint when they find it does'nt exist ?.

All very peculiar indeed ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    In all of this thread,this should be THE post which Transdev/RPA require fixed above their HQ.

It is so true of many people who,having tried the Public Transport option via Red Line,made a decision never to return...to Bus,Tram,Train or ANY mode which has "PUBLIC" attached to it. :(

What on Earth does this even mean?

Are you saying that Luas Red Line passenger numbers fell during 2014? Or what are you saying?

lxflyer wrote: »

How do they know? When was the last time they ran a late service?

There is a big structural difference between the two lines in the way they are used and the patterns of usage throughout the day. In relative terms, the Red Line gets more usage than the Green Line during the day from 9 to 5, but it's the other way round before 9 in the morning and after 5 in the evening.

But despite that, there doesn't seem to be a huge difference in the numbers using the two lines "last thing at night" - so one would think that there wouldn't be a huge discrepancy in demand on the two lines in the late hours.

So methinks there could be a bit of mental reservation going on when they say it's because of demand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

lolosaur wrote: »
    I really feel that your problem is not with the luas red line but with the people who eminate from Dublin.

It is a shame to say but a city build on whoring, theiving, slums has given way to a society of junkies, robbers, louts and general scum. take issue with what the city has become and dont blame the luas. They do what they can with what resources they have. It is not their job to clean up the scum of society. that starts with parents, teachers and police. look to the civil service and their complete lack of social and moral values they have instilled into inner city dublin. look to the justice system that doesnt enforce stricter penalties on junkies. look to yourself for turning your nose up at the problem, rather then taking action in some form.

dublin has very few redeeming features. the luas is one of its better ones though.

Funnily a vast proportion of those groups are from the country..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭man98

If it makes you feel any better, I witnessed a meeting for a drug deal on the Red Line. They got off the tram to do their business I think...

What on Earth does this even mean?

Are you saying that Luas Red Line passenger numbers fell during 2014? Or what are you saying?

I'm saying that Red Line Luas is operating way below it's capabilities,particularly off-peak and outside the City Centre.

The Red Line SHOULD be the primary Public Transport Option of Choice along it's entire length 24/7/365,but it is not.

Customers,both existing and potential are not alone reading accounts such as this,but more importantly they are EXPERIENCING these incidents first-hand.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/man-beaten-with-bottle-in-horror-attack-on-luas-30832867.html
    The violent incident has led gardai to warn commuters to be "extra vigilant" when using public transport in the busy period before Christmas, particularly late at night.

The horrific Luas incident unfolded shortly after midnight on Thursday when innocent victim Noel O' Rourke was making his way back home from the Peter Gabriel gig at 3Arena.

When the Red-Line tram that he was travelling on reached the Smithfield stop, a gang of thugs caused a disturbance, these included a female and a number of males.

They targeted Mr O'Rourke who was hit a number of times with a bottle during a vicious assault.

It is understood that Mr O'Rourke suffered a fractured eye socket and needed staples in his head following the brutal incident.

Reading this kind of account is bad enough,but some of the Luas Passengers who actually experienced and witnessed this particular attack may in turn decide that THEIR risk is unacceptable as a result.

So to answer your point,YES current passenger numbers may be stable,but that they should be higher,they should be increasing rapidly throughout the operational hours....and as a mainstream Public Transport Option in a Capital City,it's operators should definitely NOT be issuing Press Statements such as THIS....
    However, Luas have rejected the suggestion that the lack of late-night services on the Red Line is discrimination.
    "There is absolutely no bias on our behalf, but what there is, is substantial evidence that there is just not enough demand for the service on the Red Line," a spokesperson said.

WHY are those carriages referred to by Transdev,EMPTY ?...WHY is there "Not enough demand"...?

I'm saying that the Authorities Attitude towards, and Inability to deal robustly with this ongoing savagery IS a major part in the "Lack of demand" and if it remains unaddressed it may eventually led to a significantly reduced level-of-service for everybody. :mad:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Maybe the demand isn't there as ordinary people are afraid to travel on it. I could never see myself on the Red Line after maybe 9pm unless travelling in a large group, but it shouldn't be necessary to travel in groups on any public transport to feel safe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭Reati

n97 mini wrote: »
    Policing would lead to prevention.

Not without consequences. These people laugh at the thought of the police because some of them with their 199 convictions for crimes they still only at worst get a 2 week suspended sentence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

They should shut the line down. It serves no real purpose.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Reati wrote: »
    Not without consequences. These people laugh at the thought of the police because some of them with their 199 convictions for crimes they still only at worst get a 2 week suspended sentence.

There's a pub not far off the Red Line that used to be frequented by similar clientèle. It changed ownership and when it re-opened a constant heavy security presence eventually got it through to them that they were not welcome. This is the only way to do it with the Red Line... show it to these people that they are not welcome. No such thing as letting them on if they behave. Don't let them on at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭kuntboy

Judges and barristers are operating as the equivalent of an organised crime gang, conspiring to legally fleece the taxpayer out of as much money as possible by keeping these thugs out of jail allowing multiple re-offending and multiple court fees. Judges undemocratically defy laws by setting precedents, with effectively no oversight. The two professions live in a cosy bubble, isolated from the outside world, sharing their free time socialising in between the Legal Eagle and the Law Society and similar venues, in arguably a blatant conflict of interest. They don't give a damn what the ordinary people, the government, or the guards think. All that matters is how much money they can make. The time has come to judge the judges.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

kuntboy wrote: »
    Judges and barristers are operating as the equivalent of an organised crime gang, conspiring to legally fleece the taxpayer out of as much money as possible by keeping these thugs out of jail allowing multiple re-offending and multiple court fees. Judges undemocratically defy laws by setting precedents, with effectively no oversight. The two professions live in a cosy bubble, isolated from the outside world, sharing their free time socialising in between the Legal Eagle and the Law Society and similar venues, in arguably a blatant conflict of interest. They don't give a damn what the ordinary people, the government, or the guards think. All that matters is how much money they can make. The time has come to judge the judges.

Judges are on a fixed annual salary so you are getting put onto my barstool spoofers list.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,108 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Living abroad the last few years so Ive only been on the red line luas 4 times in two years. So you could say I'm a very random selection for any analysis.

On each of those journies I witnessed anti social behaviour. Two were during the day on the Heuston OCS section and the other two were between Heuston and the RC.

I can only imagine what its like for regular users.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

Grandeeod wrote: »

I can only imagine what its like for regular users.
    As a regular user, I can assure you that it's not as you witnessed all the time. I also get the Green line a lot, and unfortunately the Red line is not as reliably comfortable. However it does get a bit too much criticism imo. Nine times out of ten it's perfectly fine. The smell of alcohol and the sight of some dishevelled-looking people becomes routine.

In my experience the kids on the Red line can be just as annoying as those on the Green, though perhaps they're a bit more intimidating than simply loud.

It's a little different late at night. The Green line has no/few issues at night, mostly just drunk people going into town. The Red line tends to get skanger lads in their 20s who generally seem as though they're looking to cause hastle.

But despite the problems, those who call for it to be closed are as short-sighted as they are reductive imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭smokie72

A man was attacked on the luas red line at smithfield. Unprovoked attack as well.

http://www.thejournal.ie/smithfield-attack-gardai-investigate-1832948-Dec2014/

Aard wrote: »

But despite the problems, those who call for it to be closed are as short-sighted as they are reductive imo.

In fairness,only a single forlorn poster advocates closing the Red Line.

The calls which are repeated regularly,here and elsewhere,are for the Authorities to recognise the extent of the problem/s and take definitive and visible action to support ordinary customers,even if this action leaves the perpetrator behind....for as long as it takes to underline the message that they are equally welcome under the same T's & C's which everbody else accepts.

Longer Court Hours and the dispensation of immediate justice is one significant area where progress could be made.

Many of the regular RedLine troublemakers are en-route between business appointments and have quite tight timetable requirements....one strong countermeasure to these lads would be a situation whereby they were removed to a location remote to the Luas line where they would be required to wait whilst their case was processed....all the time with possession of their Mobile Phone/s and other items denied them.

The juvenile element do present a substantial challenge to "The System",as they carry a vast quantity of "rights" associated to their age-groups.

Gardai themselves are restricted in the methodologies they can use,and the mechanics of processing individuals under Juvenile schemes can be protracted and of little eventual use....All of these hamstrings well known and utilised by the under 18's and their handlers.

The eventual,inevitable conclusion,of the current policy to the RedLine problems will see the RedLines services being whittled away (Due to "Lack of Demand" ) until a level is reached which cannot be sustained...That will be the end of it.

Nobody with any sense or even a smidgin of Pride in their City wants to see that end-game reached !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Dedicated transport police are badly needed on all public transport services IMHO

• Registered Users Posts: 5,858 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

An old man got his wallet lifted on the Red Line this afternoon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

lolosaur wrote: »
    I really feel that your problem is not with the luas red line but with the people who eminate from Dublin.

It is a shame to say but a city build on whoring, theiving, slums has given way to a society of junkies, robbers, louts and general scum. take issue with what the city has become and dont blame the luas. They do what they can with what resources they have. It is not their job to clean up the scum of society. that starts with parents, teachers and police. look to the civil service and their complete lack of social and moral values they have instilled into inner city dublin. look to the justice system that doesnt enforce stricter penalties on junkies. look to yourself for turning your nose up at the problem, rather then taking action in some form.

dublin has very few redeeming features. the luas is one of its better ones though.

Let me guess, you're from Cork?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

Completely agree. I've been to numerous cities all over the world and i dread having to go to Dublin for any reason.

It's a cesspit and has been for a long time.

And ill guess you're from Roscommon.....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

I've been using the red line semi-regularly for at least 3 years and have never had any trouble on it. Surely I can't be the only one!?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,544 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

nc19 wrote: »
    Let me guess, you're from Cork?

Let me guess further. From Cork, decided to buy a house in a rough part of Dublin, do it up and "make a fortune", silly move, stuck with the house, not happy, venting on boards.ie about the "scum" he decided to get in to bed with.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,268 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Revoke all parking privileges for TDs at Leinster House and make it mandatory for them to park and ride from the Red Cow. Everything else will follow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

nc19 wrote: »
    And ill guess you're from Roscommon.....

Nope, i'm from a city where the batons come out at the sign of any trouble from the human garbage so that they are kept in their rightful place by being taught a lesson.

Knees in the back of necks is what is required on the Red Line. Make them terrified and grateful to be allowed on the LUAS. They are getting on for free anyway because they are "vulnerable :(".

Put these "people" in their place until they can act like actual human beings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Dedicated transport police are badly needed on all public transport services IMHO

Or just utilise the ones we have.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

s8080 wrote: »
    Lugs Branigan is needed today to sort these low lives out

I wish there was some kind of Godwin's law type internet rule for anyone who mentions "Lugs Brannigan" ffs

AlekSmart wrote: »
    I'm saying that Red Line Luas is operating way below it's capabilities.....

You're saying that despite its high and increasing popularity, it should be even more popular and get used even more? Have I got that right?