Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most embarrassing thing you've done on a plane?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

said i had ebola......i regret it now

• Registered Users Posts: 6,040 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Roquentin wrote: »
    said i had ebola......i regret it now

Ebola corn flakes. :D

Reminds me of that pilot on the domestic American flight who announced on the intercom, "Your mom is on the plane." Everybody thought he said, "There's a bomb on the plane." :eek: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Similar to the OP I too had a touch of flatulence on flight. Never fell asleep on a plane though- I'm usually too tense to sleep on public transport.
    Only memorable moment I had was when we hit a patch of turbulance coming in to land-I let out a shriek as the plane hit the tarmac roughly. Sure I was only nine or so and it was my first flight so I was naturally a bit nervy.

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭AulBiddy

I have a panic attack every time during take off, cue hysterical crying and hyperventilation from myself, a lot of regular flyers rolling their eyes at me or just general looks of disapproval. I tried to muffle it but I'd have to cover my mouth and nose meaning I couldn't breathe even more. The air hostesses were absolutely lovely about it though so that was a positive aspect

• Registered Users Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Did you ask her for one last goodbye in the mile high club or something? :D

Nah. She was trying to avoid me and I stupidly went off on one and in the process dragged up all the **** from the past. Back end of the plane heard it all. Hence the old bill on arrival.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,428 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Nah. She was trying to avoid me and I stupidly went off on one and in the process dragged up all the **** from the past. Back end of the plane heard it all. Hence the old bill on arrival.

Classy ....

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Hit the cabin staff lady a mighty whack on the leg with my elbow. I had just put my headphones on and was taking down my arms, she was rushing up the aisle at top speed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

This thread is full of amusing anedotes about people accidently passing wind or not locking a toilet door.

Then there's you - Unfunny and completely despicable behaviour. You should be ashamed of yourself.

This thread is full of amusing anedotes about people accidently passing wind or not locking a toilet door.

Then there's you - Unfunny and completely despicable behaviour. You should be ashamed of yourself.

FFS no one died.

Relationships ending can cause unbelievable stress on the mind and make good people do things that they normally wouldnt do. Give the guy a break, he made an ill-judged error. He who never made a mistake never made fúck all

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Well the thread is most embarrassing not funniest thing that happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Ah stop will ya, I would have lovin to be there listning to him lol

FFS no one died.

Relationships ending can cause unbelievable stress on the mind and make good people do things that they normally wouldnt do. Give the guy a break, he made an ill-judged error. He who never made a mistake never made fúck all

The Gardai were called and took the guy off the plane.

That sounds like more than just a bit of "I never loved you anyway you b..ch".

The Gardai were called and took the guy off the plane.

That sounds like more than just a bit of "I never loved you anyway you b..ch".

To be fair i dont think the guy is proud of his actions. Who are you to judge him really anyway?
    Plane security is generally tight so assuming the guy lost his temper, they arent going to take a chance.

To be fair i dont think the guy is proud of his actions. Who are you to judge him really anyway?
    Plane security is generally tight so assuming the guy lost his temper, they arent going to take a chance.

Are you for real?

It's pretty straightforward to "judge" a passenger on a plane who attacks an air hostess and has to be hauled off the plane by the guards.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Wore flight socks with my flip-flops.

:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

Are you for real?

It's pretty straightforward to "judge" a passenger on a plane who attacks an air hostess and has to be hauled off the plane by the guards.
    Would you say it was embarrassing for him, Larry?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

I had just finished telling herself that my stomach wasnt great when someone near me either farted, or opened the gates of hell (one or the other), unleashing the most vile stench of death I ever smelt.

No point trying to explain to people it wasnt me...

I dont know who the baxtard was, but well played a$$hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭UCDCritic

Buying a scratch card from Ryan Air

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭Areyouwell

bear1 wrote: »
    Most embarrassing thing you've done on a plane?

Made a monstrously loud fart once. The fumes nearly forced the pilot to divert to the nearest airport.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭bear1

The same can be said about yourself. Everytime a thread pops up which is based on lighthearted humour there is always someone ready to derail it. As per the thread title, the op was obviously embarrassed. Fighting in a plane in front of everyone and then being escorted off of the plane? Meets the criteria of the thread in my mind. Are you willing to share a story?

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭Areyouwell

Larianne wrote: »
    Wore flight socks with my flip-flops.

:o

The worst thing I've read here. Shame on you.

Are you for real?

Yes attack as in probably a verbally attack. His exact words were 'he went off on one'. There is nothing to suggest that a physical assault took place. In the context of someone showing any sort of anger on an airplane id imagine it would be a security policy to call transport police.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

Areyouwell wrote: »
    The worst thing I've read here. Shame on you.

Joined mile high club going to Italy thinking we were fun and sneaky. Walked out separately, saw people sniggeribg and then a guy give me a thumbs up and smiling. Longest 60 mins of the remainder of the flight.

Alot of flatulence anecdotes on here. If only that combusted energy could be harnessed to fuel the plane :pac:

Galway K9 wrote: »
    Joined mile high club going to Italy thinking we were fun and sneaky. Walked out separately, saw people sniggeribg and then a guy give me a thumbs up and smiling. Longest 60 mins of the remainder of the flight.

But she got the best 5 minutes of her life i assume? :P;)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Well I wasn't proud of myself, but let me put you straight on a few things.

1. It was the police in Birmingham, not the Gardai. I wasn't hauled off. I was escorted as is protocal in these situations. I got a caution after explaining what happened.

2. I didn't "attack" her. It was a verbal spat. She gave as good as she got. Im sure as a customer/passenger I could have got her sacked/reprimanded, but I took full responsibility.

3. It was embarrassing and I regret it. But life goes on.

4. It happened on a Dublin - Birmingham flight in 1995 before people were up their own holes and before people flew planes into skyscrapers. Different times pal.

5. I thought it was an embarrassing story and added to the thread, until you came along with your preference for fart stories.

If every man was to be locked up for having a verbal row with their girlfriend there wouldnt be enough prisons in the world to keep them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Not me personally (thankfully) but someone I know through work had a nightmare moment on a transatlantic flight about ten years ago. About an hour into the flight he went to use the toilet but didn't lock the the door properly. When he stood back up from the seat and reached to get some toilet paper he hit the door with his hip and swung it open. By the time he realised and closed it again two old ladies sitting nearby got to witness the glorious moment where he wiped his fat ass in front of them. Cue another nine hours on the plane trying to somehow hide from them despite being three seats away.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Well I wasn't proud of myself, but let me put you straight on a few things.

1. It was the police in Birmingham, not the Gardai. I wasn't hauled off. I was escorted as is protocal in these situations. I got a caution after explaining what happened.

2. I didn't "attack" her. It was a verbal spat. She gave as good as she got. Im sure as a customer/passenger I could have got her sacked/reprimanded, but I took full responsibility.

3. It was embarrassing and I regret it. But life goes on.

4. It happened on a Dublin - Birmingham flight in 1995 before people were up their own holes and before people flew planes into skyscrapers. Different times pal.

5. I thought it was an embarrassing story and added to the thread, until you came along with your preference for fart stories.

Wouldn't be so bad except he isn't even sharing a story himself. Reads through the thread, posts nothing nor likes anyones post. Sees one post which he doesn't agree with and decides to post. Typical.
    To the others who did post, thanks :) had quite a few giggles :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

It's After Hours. Unpleasantness is to be expected here. I wouldn't worry about Larry's opinions.