Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gameweek 9 Transfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭Ziegler1988

I wonder if we'll be able to wait until after the Europa matches. Baines already rose this GW and Eriksen isn't being mass transferred in with Tadic in the same price bracket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Sterling->Eriksen - Thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

Considering:
    ADM -> Obertan
    Welbeck -> Aguero
    for a 4 pt hit. Any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

jive wrote: »
    Sterling->Eriksen - Thoughts?

If you have ADM wait for updates on his "injury".

Other than that, it depends on your team. Is it your only transfer or part of a saving cash plan to accomodate another player in?

Just on the 2 players fixtures and form, it's a tough call. Both on form and with good fixtures coming.
    spock. wrote: »
    Considering:
    ADM -> Obertan
    Welbeck -> Aguero
    for a 4 pt hit. Any thoughts?

What would be your midfield? Selling ADM for £4.4m MF sounds like you could have 2 cheapies in MF. Might be risky. Can't you accomodate Agüero in from a different route?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

FHFC wrote: »
    Where are you on selling ADM now (assuming it's only a dead leg)?

I'm getting tempted to do ADM to Eriksen and Moore to Baines.

Ive 2 free transfers this week Im going to take out PVA and 1 of silva and ADM. The following week Im going to take out whoever I didnt take out this week. Im looking at getting in baines/ chadli or kaboul/ sanchez this week. If costa was confirmed out this week Id actually take him out. Raging I didnt have the balls to do costa/pva to wellbeck/baines on sat morning. That tweet KevIrl posted just before the 1130 deadline had me set up those transfers but I just couldnt hit confirm after being stung by costa's supposed injuries in gw3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

iroced wrote: »
    If you have ADM wait for updates on his "injury".

Other than that, it depends on your team. Is it your only transfer or part of a saving cash plan to accomodate another player in?

Just on the 2 players fixtures and form, it's a tough call. Both on form and with good fixtures coming.

No ADM, 2 FTs no need to use either. Nice to have the extra cash and Spurs have easier fixtures + no potential for rotation of eriksen whereas with 2xMadrid games coming up Sterling will be protected I reckon.

Basically Eriksen seems to offer the same, only safer as he will definitely play every league game, for less.

...I've just convinced myself and pulled the trigger. He hasn't been involved in any UEL games so no point in waiting until Thursday night, don't want to get caught on the hop with a rise either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Ive 2 free transfers this week Im going to take out PVA and 1 of silva and ADM. The following week Im going to take out whoever I didnt take out this week. Im looking at getting in baines/ chadli or kaboul/ sanchez this week. If costa was confirmed out this week Id actually take him out. Raging I didnt have the balls to do costa/pva to wellbeck/baines on sat morning. That tweet KevIrl posted just before the 1130 deadline had me set up those transfers but I just couldnt hit confirm after being stung by costa's supposed injuries in gw3.

I'm thinking ADM may not get as much of the ball for a while now in these harder games. If United don't want to conceed 10 v City they'll have to sit back a bit.

Can see Sterling continuing to pick up points but if not will be able to swap him for Walcott.

Siggy's form is a worry too. His attacking stats are bad too which doesn't give a good prospect of a return to form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭MR NINE

Ill probably sell adm this week for chadli. Then use the funds to upgrade pelle to aguero the following week. It gives me piece of mind to see a few others considering selling adm

MR NINE wrote: »
    Ill probably sell adm this week for chadli. Then use the funds to upgrade pelle to aguero the following week. It gives me piece of mind to see a few others considering selling adm

Could be group think gone wrong! :)

Three posts including mine almost simultaneously at quarter past ten above all suggesting ADM to Eriksen have me thinking it must be fate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I wants all the differentials! The template is dead:

Sanchez, Tadic, Hazard, Eriksen, Obertan is the future...

...is what I'd be saying if I had the emotional energy for it but Nolan has open up the Yaya wounds again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,636 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

That makes Obertan this week's Nolan ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,404 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Oi. Less of the obertan bashing please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Lemlin wrote: »
    Definite chance I reckon. He was a hero last season but at fault for a couple of the goals at least on Saturday.

Yeah that was the answer I was expecting tbh. A more pressing transfer than Silva -> tadic really. Dropped or not, I don't want to be relying on mannone as my only keeper. Now to find a replacement. Might just go for Forster and find a different replacement for azpi.

Right I think I've decided to let Clyne reluctantly go for Baines. Keeping both and upgrading Moore to Baines was the temptation but can't justify the extra 1.1m it ties up in defence. Moore has good fixtures for 3 or 4 weeks which I hadn't realised. I also have Forster for Saints defence cover.

So taking that as done I now have the following options for second ft.

A) Sterling > Tadic
    B) Sterling > Eriksen
    C) ADM > Tadic & Siggy > Eriksen for -4

C would leave me with Fabregas, Sterling, Tadic, Eriksen and Boyd, Aguero, Pelle, Costa and 0.6 in bank.

It's quite tempting. It could also more sensibly be done over next week leaving Siggy for another week (home to Leicester).

I think Sterling could do well if the whole fatigue thing blows over which I think it will.

Btw. To those questioning the wisdom of both Pelle and Tadic, it just crossed my mind that people who had both Lallana and J Rod were laughing all the way to the top of their mini leagues for large parts of last season.

Ben Dinnery expects ADM to be fit for Sunday. I'll definitely be waiting until Thursday/Friday to make any moves. Another boring, don't waste a transfer of Mannone to Foster or Tomkins to Alcaraz possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭MR NINE

I dont think theres anything wrong with tadic and pelle, but the thing to consider is that their fixtures get pretty rotten pretty soon. Four more games and ill be wanting rid of my southampton contingent. Anyone with three southampton players should probably be looking at an exit strategy already, i know i am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Ben Dinnery expects ADM to be fit for Sunday. I'll definitely be waiting until Thursday/Friday to make any moves. Another boring, don't waste a transfer of Mannone to Foster or Tomkins to Alcaraz possible.

Aside from his 'injury', his next 4 games aren't exactly attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Big games, and big name players like to perform in big matches,

Chelsea at OT, Chelsea missing Azipil - there will be goals (at least i hope so don't want to go to a boring 0-0 game)

City V United - again huge game.

Arsenal away - They don't exactly have the best defensive record so again there should be goals.

There is no untied striker that i would touch atm, and so i think keeping ADM is best choice - he had countless number of crosses and he's on corners.

Problem is that he's in such great form and high ownership/captaincy choice. Safe move for me would be holding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

DiMaria impressed me hugely last night and I've been to the fore of any negativity towards his potential to justify a 10m price tag. His dead ball delivery is superb and he's always demanding the ball, I can see that he will be involved in a lot of goals, particularly against weaker teams. For that reason I will be holding out on him until this difficult run is over, FHFC made a very good point up further, United will be far less gung ho in those games and gung ho suits DiMaria for our purposes

FHFC wrote: »
    Right I think I've decided to let Clyne reluctantly go for Baines. Keeping both and upgrading Moore to Baines was the temptation but can't justify the extra 1.1m it ties up in defence. Moore has good fixtures for 3 or 4 weeks which I hadn't realised. I also have Forster for Saints defence cover.

So taking that as done I now have the following options for second ft.

A) Sterling > Tadic
    B) Sterling > Eriksen
    C) ADM > Tadic & Siggy > Eriksen for -4

C would leave me with Fabregas, Sterling, Tadic, Eriksen and Boyd, Aguero, Pelle, Costa and 0.6 in bank.

It's quite tempting. It could also more sensibly be done over next week leaving Siggy for another week (home to Leicester).

I think Sterling could do well if the whole fatigue thing blows over which I think it will.

Any thoughts on this in the cold light of the day after the GW before lads?

Selling ADM would be high risk but would allow a significant freshening up of midfield with form (somewhat differential) players and good fixtures plus Baines. If it all goes wrong it would cost about 0.4 to buy him back again, some of which I'll have gained in rises on the lads coming in hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Antibac

Is swapping out Wellbeck for Berhanio madness? Want to get Walcott-Baines/Coleman and BertrandClyne? And this seems to the only way I canaffird them.
    Any help appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,513 ✭✭✭Shedite27

MR NINE wrote: »
    I dont think theres anything wrong with tadic and pelle, but the thing to consider is that their fixtures get pretty rotten pretty soon. Four more games and ill be wanting rid of my southampton contingent.
    Bizarrly, Southampton's season is panning out very similar to last year.

After 8 games...
    Last year - 15
    This year - 16

Games 9-11 (3 easy fixtures)....
    Last year - Ful (h), Sto (a), Hull (h) - 7pts from 3 games
    This year - Sto (h), hull (a), Lei (h) - ???

Games 12-21 (rough patch)
    Last year - 6 tough games out of 10 - 8pts from 10 games
    This year - 7 tough games out of 10 - ???

Obviously totally different team/manager etc, just an interesting observations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭JR6

Folks, advice welcome here please...

Wilson and sterling to Baines and tadic (0.1 left if I do this)
    Or
    Naylor and sterling to Baines and eriksen (0.0 if I do this.
    This is for - 4.

Team is...
    Mannone
    Wilson Taylor chambers
    Sterling Di Maria Fabregas siggy
    Costa Aguero pelle
    Subs. McCarthy Moore waynama duff

Doing pretty well, overall rank around 10k but I want Baines in my team. If I wait til next week I probably wont be able to afford it.
    Keeping Costa even if injured for another week.
    Keeping Di Maria unless Out long term.
    I realise I may not have a playing keeper this week. I will Sort that out next week if so.

Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

DiMaria impressed me hugely last night and I've been to the fore of any negativity towards his potential to justify a 10m price tag. His dead ball delivery is superb and he's always demanding the ball, I can see that he will be involved in a lot of goals, particularly against weaker teams. For that reason I will be holding out on him until this difficult run is over, FHFC made a very good point up further, United will be far less gung ho in those games and gung ho suits DiMaria for our purposes

I didnt see the game last night but ADM playing in a front 3 would interest me much more than where he was playing in that diamond formation. The points he was getting from that position weren't sustainable IMO. I still think Ill take him out for the next few GWS but if he is to play where he played last night I can see myself getting him back in unless Rooney can get a place up top which would interest me at 10.2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭langer91

thinking of taking Clyne and Fabregas out and bringing in Baines and Eriksen..thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

JR6 wrote: »
    Folks, advice welcome here please...

Wilson and sterling to Baines and tadic (0.1 left if I do this)
    Or
    Naylor and sterling to Baines and eriksen (0.0 if I do this.
    This is for - 4.

Team is...
    Mannone
    Wilson Taylor chambers
    Sterling Di Maria Fabregas siggy
    Costa Aguero pelle
    Subs. McCarthy Moore waynama duff

Doing pretty well, overall rank around 10k but I want Baines in my team. If I wait til next week I probably wont be able to afford it.
    Keeping Costa even if injured for another week.
    Keeping Di Maria unless Out long term.
    I realise I may not have a playing keeper this week. I will Sort that out next week if so.

Thoughts?

I'd change your keeper and hang onto Sterling this week against Hull.

Personally, I've gotten rid of ADM over Sterling as I'm not fancying our next 8 fixtures (Chelsea, City, Arsenal, Liverpool and might as well throw Southampton in there) with 5/8 big ones. ADM will score well I'd say but I'm not sure he'll outscore Sterling or Fab. I can't see us scoring 2 or more against any of those teams so I don't think he's going to go nuts.

Maybe have a look at Coleman as an alternative for next weeks transfers. He is price protected at present so he probably won't rise from 6.9 this week.
    And If you at Coleman's stats for last year and this (allowing for the fact he was injured), there really isn't any difference between himself and Baines... It's just hard to stomach that they've got his pricing right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,687 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Some people are going to get a shock when Costa plays against Utd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭internet_user

SlickRic wrote: »
    Some people are going to get a shock when Costa plays against Utd.

And looking at our defence last night, he'll score a couple