Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

ballbag05 wrote: »
    Will Leahy Colm Barry & Ciaran Ó Brien have been called into Cork Senior squad for Wexford game. On strengh of their Monday nights performances
    Better late than never.

Too late and an indictment of senior management-egan has been gone all year and osullivan gone 2 months. Obviously killian burke is totally out of favour why have him there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

My goodness lads is this for real fellas called up on the strength of playing well in a club championship game that was more like a challenge match....it has to be said if Cuthbert did this we would all think that hes gone mad ....I agree Killan Burke must not be high on the management plans ...this strikes me as panic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    My goodness lads is this for real fellas called up on the strength of playing well in a club championship game that was more like a challenge match....it has to be said if Cuthbert did this we would all think that hes gone mad ....I agree Killan Burke must not be high on the management plans ...this strikes me as panic.

Valid points
    However Barry deserves it absolutely one hundred and ten per cent this lad has balls steel a want a desire a dogged inward resolve and he can hurl but half back not full back

He was on Waterford crystal panel and played challenge v limerick start year awesome and yes injured but begs believe how wasn't called up earlier

Brennan showed well in under twenty one game but I wouldn't have him there yet and John Cronin Michael sullivan ahead him
    Of all lads should been called up from under twenty one Christ sweet heavenly lord should be dennehy
    Has the penny not dropped in we don't need midfield players but we need a full back
    Unbelievable to be fair absolutely unbelievable and hear some Cork say we must improve goals v Wexford yes that true but they don't mention we need a full-back
    The rock so fast point out this negativity in cork hurling surely he could spared another few words with greatest respect to the legend and said Cork need a full back
    This is just unbelievable
    Are they watching games at all Cork management

O brien is tough bit stuff and may have potential but he's hardly stood out over Jamie Nagle or niall cashman and cashman imo better and yes ucc game I heard no intensity

Leahy good in air and can hurl but yes may make it in time but what do they have against John Cronin who hurled well at club and college intermediate and him or Michael sullivan or Shane o keoffr good under twenty one last year and captain Blackrock and good in tight intense barrs match

Some calls here are good while others there's lads ahead them should be getting games
    The two lads added sean I think won't affect Burke at all

TTM what ages are O Brien and Leahy ? Cheers.

O brien is under twenty one I think
    Leahy is twenty two and be fair had fine game for Cork intermediate and flying in club last two years but I just think Cronin done more Fitzgibbon cup and all Ireland intermediate championship winning run last year
    Leahy probably more potential than lswton be fair who should be no where near the cork panel in he's had plenty of chances to be fair now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

Countdown to Killarney - so who will start ?

Our FF line will be Donncha, Hurley and CON and keeper will be KOH - every other line is harder to call. I'd say the HF line will be the one that started v Clare - COD, Collins and Kerrigan.

KOD did very well v Brennan and could he be asked to do a man-marking job again or will we go for the fielding skills of Maguire or Goold ? AOC will start but I haven't a clue who'll partner him.

Shields and Loughrey will be in the FB line but who else ? Cronin, Tom Clancy, Jamie, Cadogan - stumped again.

BOD will be in the HB line but again, no clue who else. Can't even guess this.

Ideas ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

Our FF line will be Donncha, Hurley and CON and keeper will be KOH - every other line is harder to call. I'd say the HF line will be the one that started v Clare - COD, Collins and Kerrigan.

KOD did very well v Brennan and could he be asked to do a man-marking job again or will we go for the fielding skills of Maguire or Goold ? AOC will start but I haven't a clue who'll partner him.

Shields and Loughrey will be in the FB line but who else ? Cronin, Tom Clancy, Jamie, Cadogan - stumped again.

Ideas ?

Dorman will start in the half back line. I don't think Jamie will start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭ballbag05

I feel that game in Limerick next week is even more important than the Wexford game to follow, need for a run to croke park at least needed at this grade, some good young hurlers need to get some big venue experience

Football team...
    Ken O Halloran
    Jamie O Sullivan Michael Sheilds Eoin Cadogan
    James Loughrey Tom Clancy Conor Dorman
    Alan O Connor Fintan Goold
    Brian O Driscoll Mark Collins Paul Kerrigan
    Cplm O Neill Brian Hurley Donncha O Connor

subs..Paddy O Shea, Noel Galvin, Stephen Cronin, Tomas Clancy, Barry O Driscoll , Ruairi Deane, Ian Maguire, John O Rourke, Paddy Kelly, Daniel Goulding and Colm O Driscoll. its a disgrace that young talented players like Michael Martin, Alan Cronin, Sean White, Kevin Crowley, Sean Kiely , Cathal Vaughan and Dan McEoin have not been involved enough and developed the way a good management would be able to do .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

How does that work county players playing for UCC?
    Part of a paid scohlarship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Corcaigh Abu1

I cant remember a cork team that was hit with so many injuries. With O Neill out, its either W Kearny to do a direct swap or start calahane FB with Murphy and MacDonnell in the corners. Id say JBM will go with the latter.

If Mcloughlin is fit enough to start its too bad as he can go back to the half back line. Id be more concerned with O shea out injured. O neill has been poor in the last number of games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

Valid points
    However Barry deserves it absolutely one hundred and ten per cent this lad has balls steel a want a desire a dogged inward resolve and he can hurl but half back not full back

He was on Waterford crystal panel and played challenge v limerick start year awesome and yes injured but begs believe how wasn't called up earlier

Brennan showed well in under twenty one game but I wouldn't have him there yet and John Cronin Michael sullivan ahead him
    Of all lads should been called up from under twenty one Christ sweet heavenly lord should be dennehy
    Has the penny not dropped in we don't need midfield players but we need a full back
    Unbelievable to be fair absolutely unbelievable and hear some Cork say we must improve goals v Wexford yes that true but they don't mention we need a full-back
    The rock so fast point out this negativity in cork hurling surely he could spared another few words with greatest respect to the legend and said Cork need a full back
    This is just unbelievable
    Are they watching games at all Cork management

O brien is tough bit stuff and may have potential but he's hardly stood out over Jamie Nagle or niall cashman and cashman imo better and yes ucc game I heard no intensity

Leahy good in air and can hurl but yes may make it in time but what do they have against John Cronin who hurled well at club and college intermediate and him or Michael sullivan or Shane o keoffr good under twenty one last year and captain Blackrock and good in tight intense barrs match

Some calls here are good while others there's lads ahead them should be getting games
    The two lads added sean I think won't affect Burke at all

Agree with all of this except the part about Cronin. I've seen John Cronin play quite a bit and as recent as 2 weeks ago. Heis attitude is all wrong, an awful winge-er on the field. Everytime i've seen him play he's been giving out to the ref, so much so that his team mates and support have to tell him to shut up. He drops the head when things go wrong and fades out, and although a lovely hurler and athlete with a great hand, until he changes his attitude he'll never make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

Football team...
    Ken O Halloran
    Jamie O Sullivan Michael Sheilds Eoin Cadogan
    James Loughrey Tom Clancy Conor Dorman
    Alan O Connor Fintan Goold
    Brian O Driscoll Mark Collins Paul Kerrigan
    Cplm O Neill Brian Hurley Donncha O Connor

subs..Paddy O Shea, Noel Galvin, Stephen Cronin, Tomas Clancy, Barry O Driscoll , Ruairi Deane, Ian Maguire, John O Rourke, Paddy Kelly, Daniel Goulding and Colm O Driscoll. its a disgrace that young talented players like Michael Martin, Alan Cronin, Sean White, Kevin Crowley, Sean Kiely , Cathal Vaughan and Dan McEoin have not been involved enough and developed the way a good management would be able to do .

Brian O'Driscoll will be in the back line for certain. and Paddy Kelly has got to start the game while I reckon John O'Rourke will start ahead of Kerrigan.

As for the young players not involved i believe Sean White & Kevin Crowley are injured while Cathal Vaughan has choosen to go to the states for the summer.

slingerz wrote: »
    Brian O'Driscoll will be in the back line for certain. and Paddy Kelly has got to start the game while I reckon John O'Rourke will start ahead of Kerrigan.

As for the young players not involved i believe Sean White & Kevin Crowley are injured while Cathal Vaughan has choosen to go to the states for the summer.

Ssean white in amreica also I believe? paddy Kelly wont start for some reason this management don't start him. John o rourke must be very doubtful with the shoulder injury?

slingerz wrote: »

Sean white in usa

They will make no great difference Cork half back line in we have huge depth but not playing best lads

I'm not sure with kerrigsn in he's always doing interviews and press evening and publicly said he thinks cuthbhertt great manager so I think hes main part team and Driscoll likely get other half forward spot so I don't think there much up for grabs

Kerrigsn outstanding footballer but doesn't always performance big games and decision making on field at key moments never improved either

Not being smart here but it's hard to predict what this management will pick to a great degree of certainly

sean mac wrote: »
    Ssean white in amreica also I believe? paddy Kelly wont start for some reason this management don't start him. John o rourke must be very doubtful with the shoulder injury?

What do make of the hurling chances v Wexford and if we win who would you prefer clare or limerick in round two
    Who do you think Cork have better chance against in do you fear limerick or clare

Ideas ?

Your post summed this up what's wrong with killarney looming there's more questions than answers yet last week you were saying we need to be more postive and you think Cork have a real chance
    I find it hard to Base confidence when we have so many questions to answer
    Next Thursday team will tell us if we have learned anything from the last game
    That's the key indicator
    Looking at the team named it will tell a lot
    I really hope they looked at the clare game and make changes and for start please don't let the brilliant absolutely brilliant Brian o Driscoll centre back where kerry will allow him bomb forward and get a point or two as blanket defence will mark him when the Gooch who be told not to track deep but stay in he's zone and with Driscoll out position he'll absolutely destroy Cork by scoring and creating and it will be play making role like pirlo destroying England in last world cup

Driscoll at ten would be an all star
    I hope this outstanding talent is not played centre back against one greatest Gooch asked do job he's not suited to that man marker him

What do make of the hurling chances v Wexford and if we win who would you prefer clare or limerick in round two
    Who do you think Cork have better chance against in do you fear limerick or clare

I think even with oneill out we may beat wexford but it will br tight and physical,after that i hope we get clare no point messing about lets see how good bad cork are and if jbm has learned,last thing cork need is an easy draw and sleep walking into a beating off tipp or kilkenny

sean mac wrote: »
    I think even with oneill out we may beat wexford but it will br tight and physical,after that i hope we get clare no point messing about lets see how good bad cork are and if jbm has learned,last thing cork need is an easy draw and sleep walking into a beating off tipp or kilkenny
    Fair point
    How do you rate limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

lets not jump the gun. lets try to get over this hurdle first. we know our injuries going into the Wex match. Hope we don't start putting the injury list as an excuse for the result. JBM is into his 4th year. Joyce got his long term injury in Feb (i think). that gave the management plenty of time to try out Fullbacks who have played in that position. In their wisdom they put corner backs there, half backs in the corner. they tried everything except put a FB at No3. Dennehy hasn't put a foot wrong in any game I've seen him in with CIT just like Ellis did at CB before he came into Cork panel. IMO Dennehy should have been drafted into Cork panel before Joyce got injured so if Joyce got cleaned in a match you have a genuine FB to replace him.That way you've have real competition for places. We see it in rugby & soccer all the time. In hurling there are a few special positions FB is a position you must be playing all the time.

youngbob wrote: »
    lets not jump the gun. lets try to get over this hurdle first. we know our injuries going into the Wex match. Hope we don't start putting the injury list as an excuse for the result. JBM is into his 4th year. Joyce got his long term injury in Feb (i think). that gave the management plenty of time to try out Fullbacks who have played in that position. In their wisdom they put corner backs there, half backs in the corner. they tried everything except put a FB at No3. Dennehy hasn't put a foot wrong in any game I've seen him in with CIT just like Ellis did at CB before he came into Cork panel. IMO Dennehy should have been drafted into Cork panel before Joyce got injured so if Joyce got cleaned in a match you have a genuine FB to replace him.That way you've have real competition for places. We see it in rugby & soccer all the time. In hurling there are a few special positions FB is a position you must be playing all the time.
    I'd agree with all that and I'm not jumping the gun in I said if we beat Wexford

Huge huge game minor next week next Thursday and Thursday huge day Cork gaa as team for kerry is named also

Dennehy would be better corner back option than kearney even

Sarsfirlds winning county imo has given some their players game time shouldn't got
    McCarthy would still be on the panel only for walking away himself
    Cork badly needs new county champion and Sarsfirlds as shown in the last two games are past the form of previous years
    Just a matter of when not if their beaten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

The mindset in this management team and in fact Nash alluded to it in an interview before the waterford match I think it was, is that there's no such thing as a specialist full back in the game anymore. I don't agree with that but it's their thinking it seems and it's a big reason why this team is very weak defensively.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Horse84 wrote: »
    The mindset in this management team and in fact Nash alluded to it in an interview before the waterford match I think it was, is that there's no such thing as a specialist full back in the game anymore. I don't agree with that but it's their thinking it seems and it's a big reason why this team is very weak defensively.

There is a certain element of truth to it but it is a little disingenious, certainly the traditional role of a full back is no longer applicable - as in a big strong physical no non-sense player able to field high ball been rained down on him ( Rock and Lohan two perfect examples) a modern FB needs to be far more versatile and need most of those attriburtes but also need to be fast and a good reader fo teh game in front of them. Basically the modern FB is a mixture between the old traditional FB and a modern day corner back - not an easy mix to find. Galway and Cork have none, Limericks was found out last Sunday and against Clare, Tipp had to convert a wing back to the position and slight doubts still remain and KK tried Murohy there, eventually have settled on Joey Holden. Peter Kelly of Dublin is the best Full Back in the game IMO.

What do people make of Tompkins and mulchay wanting county champions having captain of county teams back
    I'd be against it

danganabu wrote: »
    There is a certain element of truth to it but it is a little disingenious, certainly the traditional role of a full back is no longer applicable - as in a big strong physical no non-sense player able to field high ball been rained down on him ( Rock and Lohan two perfect examples) a modern FB needs to be far more versatile and need most of those attriburtes but also need to be fast and a good reader fo teh game in front of them. Basically the modern FB is a mixture between the old traditional FB and a modern day corner back - not an easy mix to find. Galway and Cork have none, Limericks was found out last Sunday and against Clare, Tipp had to convert a wing back to the position and slight doubts still remain and KK tried Murohy there, eventually have settled on Joey Holden. Peter Kelly of Dublin is the best Full Back in the game IMO.

I'd agree with that full back description totally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

ballbag05 wrote:
    I feel that game in Limerick next week is even more important than the Wexford game to follow, need for a run to croke park at least needed at this grade, some good young hurlers need to get some big venue experience

Next week's minor game is important no doubt. But not bigger than Cork/Wexford. A loss in Wexford Park would heap more pressure on the lame duck that is CCB.
    Would be great if minors could progress and I think they have a great chance. I reckon Limerick will be improved on their April performance but I'm anticipating a huge step up from Cork. As you say there are good hurlers in this group, too many for Limerick to contain on this occasion I feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

What do people make of Tompkins and mulchay wanting county champions having captain of county teams back
    I'd be against it

There's no merit to it at all, it was a lond standing tradition as a reward for being county champions that is no longer needed as the county champions get to represent their county in teh provincail championship, that is there reward ( if any is needed above and beyond actually winning a county final), the role of the captain is very much a diminished one anyway and apart from accepting a trophy if one is won and possibly a small bit of media work its meaningless. Any successfull team will have far more than one ''leader'' in the dressing room, and they won't need an armband to display their leadership.

Management are surely in a far more qualified place to select their captaiin that the committee of a club who happened to win the county final, and its simply not worth it for the situations that inevitably arise where the county champions dont have anyone good enough for the first 15.

danganabu wrote: »
    There's no merit to it at all, it was a lond standing tradition as a reward for being county champions that is no longer needed as the county champions get to represent their county in teh provincail championship, that is there reward ( if any is needed above and beyond actually winning a county final), the role of the captain is very much a diminished one anyway and apart from accepting a trophy if one is won and possibly a small bit of media work its meaningless. Any successfull team will have far more than one ''leader'' in the dressing room, and they won't need an armband to display their leadership.

Management are surely in a far more qualified place to select their captaiin that the committee of a club who happened to win the county final, and its simply not worth it for the situations that inevitably arise where the county champions dont have anyone good enough for the first 15.

I'd totally agree and I see no value but in cork means lads just cause their from county winning team would be starting as their captain and Cork aren't ruthless like kk to allow captain sit on the bench

Of all the problem Cork gaa has in both codes it never ceases to amaze me what ex players give out about when the serious problems go unnoticed with out a whisper mentioned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I'd be against it

Of all the things they can come up with to improve hurling they propose this? Completely irrelevant.

Orizio wrote: »
    Of all the things they can come up with to improve hurling they propose this? Completely irrelevant.

As I said many times the attuide in cork gaa has to change
    I agree with you