Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    I don't like this attitude we have in Cork ..with respect O Connor takes over in Kerry and we are beaten already ...

Very valid point
    I probably should rephrased it better
    This kerry team he take overs has all Ireland school medal pcb and all Ireland minors and could be another one this year
    This team are talented hugely
    O Connor won school minor under twenty one senior and is proven winner

Cork times past no minor success were able to produce good under twenty one team with out minor success but kerry wouldn't had jack o Connor or under age minor success

Kerry have changed that and Cork Hayes etc do well but there taking over minors no success like kerry and while other managers get away it up against greatest manager kerry amongst them these small things before suddenly become huge things

Cork have super talent coming up line obegne dinneen kiely white hurley etc but it's not negative but I think out two year term it's realistic expect kerry win at home v Cork

Jack has lads won at school and minor
    Cork have develop academic school in sense like kerry pcb and put huge emphasis there and at minor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Pos087 wrote: »
    The thought of a small crowd in Killarney really bugs me. we pride our selfs on being a dual county but this only arms to be the case if we are winning. We don't know how lucky we are to have big days out during the summer. I for one am a cork supporter and will be travelling to Killarney and win lose or draw the cork flag won't be hidden to far for use the next day up the rebels. Cork to win by 2

3 senior hurling all irelands (won by players who are being blamed in certain quarters for Cork hurlings current problem lol!) and 1 senior football all ireland in 25 years for a county of our size and playing numbers not to mention our appalling record at underage level in hurling.Yeah aren't we the lucky ones.Oh well we'll just keep on blabbering on about 1990 for another 25 years.From Cork of the champions to Cork of the chumps, nodding dogs, yes men and happy losers.We are a pathetic shambles of a county.But as Bob Ryan would say let's shut our traps.Move on in a positive manner and roll on the monument.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

Was at the Imokilly v UCC match last night expecting cork seniors to be chomping at the bit... sadly i was mistaken. Waterford lads for UCC were awesome. I dont know how the college didnt win. Willie Leahy got some decent breaks and a few points for Imokilly.

Waterford's Tom Devine is a beast of a youngfella up close, likewise KK's John Power

Barry Lawton the pick of the Cork based players. I think the wrong Lawton is on the Cork panel. Barry scored some awesome points from play and frees. Definitely worth a look at. His brother and Paudie Sull pretty much anonymous for 60 mins.

Declan Dalton putting over frees from his own 45 (and missing some too) but what a whallop of a ball he has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Heard Brian played well too. Or at least that is what the East Cork GAA site said.

Barry is in fantastic form right now, unmarkable at club level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

Did colm Barry play full back? Up against dj foran I assume? How did get on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Corcaigh Abu1

A bit early but what do ye reckon the team v Wexi will be. There will be at least on enforced change with Luke being suspended, also Harnedy will be back and hopefully McLoughlin.

Cant really see JBM making much changes. Team is predictable enough.. I think we'll see a similar team.

Nash
    SON Calahane MacDonnell
    McLoughlin Ellis Murphy
    Kearny/walsh
    Cooper Harnedy Cronin
    Horgan Lehane Cadogen

Id like Rob O shea to start, JBM has to start playing a sweeper and it should be practiced against wexford. Id have O shea in (cronin to lose out maybe) and have him play deep in the middle. like others id like to see Horgan out working hard on the 40. if we could create space inside like tipp did on sunday lehane and cadogen could do serious damage with the right ball of course.
    If they play a two man FF line id have MacDonnell playing in front of calahane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

Orizio wrote: »
    Heard Brian played well too. Or at least that is what the East Cork GAA site said.

Brian was being cleaned out by Tom Devine at midfield and got moved half forward, didnt score, then went into a sweeper type of role for the last 10-20 mins and pucked a bit of ball.
    Horse84 wrote: »

Yeah colm barry full back. Not much ball went in there to be honest. DJ i think got 1 or 2 off him and Tom Devine went in there for the last 5 mins.

He is in good form but there's a huge huge difference in club and county and nothing against him but he's not senior inter county level
    Was only sub intermediate team last year couldn't even start the final and while be fair he did make sub impact role it was no where near as good as he's own club man wrote in following night papers where he gave him mention least four times and didn't even mention outstanding Barry by name who was awesome at half back

That writer I like him is good writer but imo tends to get bit carried away if he's own club men do well and lswton other brother be fair good club Player but never great inter county

I was advocating at the start he get games but he's got plenty to be fair and is just average senior like other some Cork players and shouldn't be near the panel

Two lswton are fine hurlers typical loose type Cork craves but no good in a battle win hard ball
    Cronin cit isn't as tasty hurling wise in boys better score but Cronin much much better them as he'll win you dirty hard ball
    Michael sullivan like wise but never got a chance

English was huge fans lswton and that's what gave me confidence but he's just not performing and been around long enough panel now no excuse

One player who came on as sub Killeagh weekend was Eoghan kinery
    Strong ball winner and got three points
    I'm surprised irwin who same club didn't play him last week
    He's player needs work but huge potential
    I posted here two year ago after Cork winning all Ireland under seventeen title he was imo potential seniors and I saw young Harnedy type player
    He's strong as ox and wins aerial ball

I'm surprised he didn't make the under twenty one panel
    Next year Cork have all those starters bar cahalane and course Spillane

Cork intermediate are playing limerick munster final next in limerick
    I'm surprised best tipp but credit management they changed things and brought in finn morrisey and few minors

Cork should done same minors last year hopefully they will
    If same team beat waterford play limerick limerick will win
    Cork should introduce luttrrll mallow playing intermediate at club luke meade under twenty one and senior Cork sean o donughe like wise Martin Brennan from under twenty one last week herihly and Sean Hayes and browne and casey etc to the panel as they need building youth and do like limerick does

It remains to be seen if it's done and be interesting how Ronan dwane management this year goes at club level with meelin
    Dwayne can't be judged with Cork in have field new team and he's got one win so next year is key but I like many remain be convinced by he's management record
    Good news was cahalane played well for barrs got two points bad news is he's now seen as half back club so affect him at full back and Cork need a full back

Foran cleaned Barry out in cork ucc earlier year
    Barry proved even last year against Waterford when they had numerous goal chances and v clare under twenty one not full back
    Should be half back and has huge potential and should be senior panel
    Real aggressive ball winner

A bit early but what do ye reckon the team v Wexi will be. There will be at least on enforced change with Luke being suspended, also Harnedy will be back and hopefully McLoughlin.

Cant really see JBM making much changes. Team is predictable enough.. I think we'll see a similar team.

Nash
    SON Calahane MacDonnell
    McLoughlin Ellis Murphy
    Kearny/walsh
    Cooper Harnedy Cronin
    Horgan Lehane Cadogen

Id like Rob O shea to start, JBM has to start playing a sweeper and it should be practiced against wexford. Id have O shea in (cronin to lose out maybe) and have him play deep in the middle. like others id like to see Horgan out working hard on the 40. if we could create space inside like tipp did on sunday lehane and cadogen could do serious damage with the right ball of course.
    If they play a two man FF line id have MacDonnell playing in front of calahane.

Horgan v Lee chin horgan should be winning skill wise but when chin hits him hard every time and chin majestic work rate horgan will not do centre forward and this talk that horgan who been held scoreless even last week at club again and must be fifth game now last year or so club level it happened but course Cork pundits won't say that but they critsed other players no problem it shows horgan needs up game

At centre forward you need a timmy mac mccormsvk Harnedy etc bonner maher who will work but he won't work hard enough for centre forward and it's wrong to facilitate player most key areas field for work ethic just because he won't work at full forward

Holden last year cody dropped and look him now he could be outstanding full back
    Cody improve player when dropped
    Horgan seen golden boy Cork hurling which he is talent wise and best Cork team by mile but surely people can see he's not working tracking back like dowling for Limerick who was awesome or awards Kilkenny or callilan tipp
    They all had problems work rate but we're dropped and look then now

I blame management not horgan in they should drop him make him better and sooner taken off frees the better as imo he things he scores them he starts every game for Cork

O shea injury doubt Cork I think

You can't leave lehane full forward as proven time and time again with ucc and club and Cork first two years he can't play staying square he likes to drift in from deep so you play horgan forty it won't work lehane in two man line and both unites are now ineffective

I'd have same team as you and if I shea out start Cronin
    I'd have cooper at midfield with Walsh on chin centre forward and Walsh only job limit chin and he should do that
    Tell Walsh no need try spectacular shooting just win ball and break even with chin
    Lehane and Harnedy on wings
    Cadogan and horgan but if doesn't perform take him off
    He has twenty minutes to perform I'd tell him or he's off
    Cronin at fifteen but playing around middle with kearney playing sweeper and mcdonnell Cork playing spare defender as Wexford will play one if not double sweeper
    We should hope guiney doesn't come back as if he does him McDonald under high ball are huge threat to Cork and if Wexford get an early goal it's game on for Cork

This is very very tricky game and if I see the west wind blowing and a rain drop I'll be worried as if weather makes this a war rather than a open game it suit Wexford as they want a tight game

Horgan v Lee chin horgan should be winning skill wise but when chin hits him hard every time and chin majestic work rate horgan will not do centre forward and this talk that horgan who been held scoreless even last week at club again and must be fifth game now last year or so club level it happened but course Cork pundits won't say that but they critsed other players no problem it shows horgan needs up game

At centre forward you need a timmy mac mccormsvk Harnedy etc bonner maher who will work but he won't work hard enough for centre forward and it's wrong to facilitate player most key areas field for work ethic just because he won't work at full forward

I dont think Chin would pick up Horgan. Chin didnt seem to follow Richie Hogan around last sunday. Hogan was popping up all over the place. Chin played his own game at CB put left Hogan roam. he did hurl a lot of ball chin, but hogan put in a MOTM performance. Id have Harnedy starting on him but move Horgan out there.
    If horgan upped his game out on the half forward line he would get on a lot more ball and who knows what he could produce then.
    Thats probably the only way cork will get the most out of him. I cant see JBM dropping him..

I dont think Chin would pick up Horgan. Chin didnt seem to follow Richie Hogan around last sunday. Hogan was popping up all over the place. Chin played his own game at CB put left Hogan roam. he did hurl a lot of ball chin, but hogan put in a MOTM performance. Id have Harnedy starting on him but move Horgan out there.
    If horgan upped his game out on the half forward line he would get on a lot more ball and who knows what he could produce then.
    Thats probably the only way cork will get the most out of him. I cant see JBM dropping him..

I see your point and it makes sense on paper but I think moving him out won't change he's attuide
    He needs be dropped
    No one man greater any team as Dunne said
    Keane correctly so got door united as he thought he was one man and he was great great really really great player
    Horgan imo thinks won't be dropped way he plays
    I mean just drop him one game not anything more and you would see a different player
    He's going through the motion imo and he's unbelievable skill and Corbett was same but dropped became better player
    It would benefit horgan no end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭seventh7

If chin does Man mark hoggi he will find it very hard to get scores. Harnedy on Chin would probabaly be a classic to see, both athletes and well able to mix it. I agree that Horgan should be on the bench 30 or forty minutes sitting there should focus the mind. Horgan type players are endemic to cork hurling, oodles of ability and skill but little appetite for a scrap, some thing we can not say about Harnedy. The key now is the match ups get it right and we win, get it wrong and we all know where we end up.

seventh7 wrote: »
    If chin does Man mark hoggi he will find it very hard to get scores. Harnedy on Chin would probabaly be a classic to see, both athletes and well able to mix it. I agree that Horgan should be on the bench 30 or forty minutes sitting there should focus the mind. Horgan type players are endemic to cork hurling, oodles of ability and skill but little appetite for a scrap, some thing we can not say about Harnedy. The key now is the match ups get it right and we win, get it wrong and we all know where we end up.

That's exactly it horgan has like great great great i mean really really great players like rings sheffkin kelly Joe deane Ben o Connor etc have the desire the want the hunger the will the stomach battle inside as then and only then can he outhurl opponents
    I'd have any those ahead horgan as better imo and by a distance at that for sustained excellent performance from play and not just frees

Of course this recent article lauding him up there's Cork most proflic scorer when you never judge book by cover in lot placed balls you think he's better ring but he wouldn't even come close as ring outstanding play club something horgan isn't last three years and for Cork

Horgan always had ability but poor coaching never focused work ethic
    Ten years ago minor game munster final v limerick he done nothing for most games ps Cronin was immense winning ball and scoring brilliant goal
    Horgan then game opened up brilliant goal
    Horgan got lime light Cronin didn't
    Now as minor there's excuse he's learning but ten years on horgan same brilliant and magnificent on good day other days doesn't perform
    Le chin will be physical and tough and he'll work hard
    Half forward line you need workers
    Horgan should be no where near that line
    Amount critsim McCarthy in he dsy and niall McCarthy and Cronin got was unfair mainly due weren't flashy hurling but horgan all skills can do no wrong and horgan needs step it up big time now

What would be help is if some Cork ex player said this and media said needed step up when only one say it was Tony considine
    In kk your good as your last game
    On that basis horgan would been dropped after munster final last year if cody was there
    Horgan is JBM type hurler so won't be dropped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Ryan will take Horgan, Chin will be on Harnedy. If Dunne is smart anyway, which he might not be considering the KK match.

Valid point but too much being made Wexford v Kilkenny
    Ask yourself this would Cork fared much better v Kilkenny
    With the current full back situation no and we'd conceded five goals at least and possibly more as unlike cody make changes end game give lads token caps he wants beat JBM he would ruthlessly went for full game make statement like done previous Cork teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

This match will be an acid test for sure Wexford were kicked in the stomach against Kilkenny ...they are a much better team than performance suggests ....I remember going to Wexford Park in 2010 with the footballers in a quailfer match what a battle that was and the weather was very bad too ! If this Cork team is to do anything this year this type of game is a must win the pressure in on but these are the type of knockout games that can make your season one win in the backdoor gives great confidence ....hopefully the lads can take off .

From talking to wexford lads I work with, before the match they were giving out that Dunne doesn't do tactics. That was evident on Sunday. Given the nature of their loss and going on Dunnes tactics to date, they will play a sweeper possibly two... so we could end up like a packed defence like waterford, but wexford don't have the hurlers waterford have to make it work.
    So if Ryan picks up hogan and if there's a sweeper in front maybe of him. He could be bottled in the corner again. If it happens hoggie should be brought out the field. Chin will have his hands full with Harnedy.

TTM, I agree that dropping Horgan might wake him up but doubt jbm will do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭HillFarmer

From talking to wexford lads I work with, before the match they were giving out that Dunne doesn't do tactics. That was evident on Sunday. Given the nature of their loss and going on Dunnes tactics to date, they will play a sweeper possibly two... so we could end up like a packed defence like waterford, but wexford don't have the hurlers waterford have to make it work.
    So if Ryan picks up hogan and if there's a sweeper in front maybe of him. He could be bottled in the corner again. If it happens hoggie should be brought out the field. Chin will have his hands full with Harnedy.

TTM, I agree that dropping Horgan might wake him up but doubt jbm will do it.

I think you will beat Wexford fairly well, at least 6 or 7 points. For me they havn't shown a whole lot this year. The crucnh match in the league v Waterford they were poor. Likewise against the cats, can't see them competing tbh.

In regards to Horgan, if as you said Wexford have sweepers in place, I'd definetly move Horgan out to half forward / midfield with a roving role.
    Much like Cronin against us. Question is who loses out if Cronin starts, which in my view he should.

HillFarmer wrote: »
    I think you will beat Wexford fairly well, at least 6 or 7 points. For me they havn't shown a whole lot this year. The crucnh match in the league v Waterford they were poor. Likewise against the cats, can't see them competing tbh.

In regards to Horgan, if as you said Wexford have sweepers in place, I'd definetly move Horgan out to half forward / midfield with a roving role.
    Much like Cronin against us. Question is who loses out if Cronin starts, which in my view he should.
    O shea is injured so likely be lehane Harnedy cooper cadogan horgan Cronin
    Wexford will be far from a push over in Wexford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭HillFarmer

Look it will be competitive enough but I fully expect Cork to pull away with a fair few points to spare.

The next draw will be the thing. As I've seen you say already I think avoiding Clare will be key. Wouldn't mind seeing a Cork limerick game, would be close I reckon.

Would you give us much of a chance against Tip?
    I think their forwards will pick off long range scores with our system. Particularly with Pauric Maher as a free man at center back.

whats wrong with O'Shea? that's a pity, i think hes a very good player and should start v wexi.

Didn't start for club recently
    Cronin doubt football as didn't start for nemo under twenty one either weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Cronin came on as a sub for the Nemo u21s a slight hamstring ...

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Cronin came on as a sub for the Nemo u21s a slight hamstring ...

Oh fair enough
    He's outstanding player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

Shane o'neill is out for the Wexford game with an ankle injury.

Huge loss but could be blessing disguise as will have play mcdommell and Murphy corner back with cahalane full once course don't play kearney corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭ballbag05

Will Leahy Colm Barry & Ciaran Ó Brien have been called into Cork Senior squad for Wexford game. On strengh of their Monday nights performances
    Better late than never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭malascoile

Martin Brennan also called up. Anyone else?

You'd wonder what the u21 management are at considering Obrien wasnt even a sub against waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭zetecescort

So its 6 from the following plus anybody that gets called up. we really are wafer thin in defence

Brian Murphy (Bride Rovers)
    Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
    Damien Cahalane (St. Finbarr's),
    Killian Burke (Midleton),
    Mark Ellis (Millstreet),
    Cormac Murphy (Mallow),
    William Kearney (Sarsfields)
    Brian O Sullivan (Fermoy)
    Aidan Ryan (Midleton)