Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Running Chaos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Thursday 11/12/2014 10.8kms @ 5:19 ~ 6.7miles @ 8:33/mile

Nothing of note, nice run today. Got it done a bit earlier than usual so
    took the pressure of the rest of the evening :)

Friday 12/12/2014 7 miles @ 7:32 BOOM :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Friday 12/12/2014 7 miles @ 7:32 BOOM :D

that's some run man! Are you fully converted now?:D

Yep, I think so.....
    There just wasn't enough room in my life for the three of us. While me and metric had fun initially, the lure of imperial was to irresistible. Lets hope
    we have a long and productive relationship :D:D

if my running goes to pot, I'm blaming this change :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

What's your target for the 10 km Marty?

SamforMayo wrote: »
    What's your target for the 10 km Marty?

Plan to go out at 40min pace and see how it goes. All indications tell me i'll be a good bit off bit will be giving it everything and use it as benchmark for 2015.

Hope to do a bit more racing next year. I don't think I did a 10k since this race last year. Did 2 8ks, a bunch of 5ks in the galway 5k series, maybe 3 half marathons, and 2 marathons.

Will try to get 2-3 10ks, 2-3 5mile/8ks, do my first 10 miler:eek: and whatever else. They will not be all goal races but they will push me a bit more.

I don't feel the racing hurt often enough, so when I do race it tends to be a shock to the system.

Sounds like a plan! I don't do near enough races either, might attempt the Maree 5 miler again at beginning of February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

Sounds like a plan! I don't do near enough races either, might attempt the Maree 5 miler again at beginning of February.

an old coach i had years ago used to say one race a month. probably u could do one or 2 more if they were 5kms. gud rule of tumb.

Cheers Dar, I'd say I'm averaging 1 a season!

Cheers Dar, I'd say you're not far off the mark there alright.
    A lot of the problem is a lack of proper sessions where I'd run at any kind of pace that would take me out of my comfort zone.
    I've run plenty of miles but not enough quality.

Sunday 14/12/2014 10 miles @ 8:31

Had work Christmas party last night and it was a late one. Feeling rough all day but said I'd at least do a 3 mile easy pace so it wouldn't be a total write off.
    The 3 turned into 10 as I felt grand once I got out there. Nice evening for it.
    Another work night next friday and can't really get out of it either, oh well.......

Monday 15/12/2014 7 miles @ 8:54

Still felt a bit tired today so took it handy... Will try to inject a bit of oomph tomorrow :)

Tuesday 16/12/2014 7 miles @ 7:48

Today I had planned to put myself under a bit of pressure... And I did :D

Left the house this evening to see a lot of rain and fairly blustery... Sh1te...
    Decided to go out easy and try to up the pace and see how I'd get on.
    8:56
    8:11
    7:23
    7:01
    6:39
    8:24
    8:03

I must say, I found it tough going on the last pace mile(6:39). I may even had some wind assistance but was huffing and puffing by the end...

During the 2 cool down miles, I came across a damsel in distress... Flat tyre. She was trying to pump it with a foot pump but not really getting anywhere. I told her I lived about 10 mins away and wound be back with electric pump.
    True to my work, I went back after the run with said pump and a headtorch, well kitted out :D

Turned out the tyre looked to have been slashed :( Changed the tyre for her and sent her on her way. She tried to throw me a fiver as it was all she had but I couldn't take it, It would ruin my good deed for the day.....

Good man Marty on the run and the kind deed!

Wednesday 17/12/2014 6 miles @ 8:25

Took is reasonably handy, although the wind was marking it harder than it should have been. Dirty night out there......

I have accepted that the weather will be unpredictable
    for the next month regarding wind and rain so I better just get on with it :D

Thursday 18/12/2014 10 miles @ 8:01

An out and back route out by the the prom in salthill, hit blackrock and back home. A bit of effort required as I was feeling a bit sluggish, but got there in the end.

Last of the work partys tomorrow. Will try to get a short recovery run in beforehand though. Think the "party" is starting after work, so should tucked up in bed early as I'm not able for these sessions anymore....

Friday 19/12/2014 5 miles @ 8:10

Saturday 20/12/2014 5 miles @ 8:18

Fridays run: Happy to get the run in before the works drinks party, but really should have been a lot slower. Garmin went a bit gaga at the start. 1 mile beeped around 4-5 hundred meters down the road with a mile pace of 4:30 :eek::eek: I wish :D Stopped it and reset for new activity, and off I went again... Sometimes I wonder about this 310xt....
    The drinks thing was actually good craic, but probably not the best for the body. Pints of bulmers were flowing and hit the vodka when I got full of cider.... Kebab on way home to... Delicious every now and then :)

Saturdays run: Feeling rough as heck all day but dragged my ass out for a run this evening. Again, should have been a lot slower but just went with the flow. Glad I did it in the end. Feeling less guilty ant the kebab now :D

From next week I'm going to have to get my LSRs back on track. I've let them slip a lot over the last few weeks...

I fecking knew it, with your I ll be home early ... It's worth it though if it was good crack!

Sunday 21/12/2014 12 miles @ 9:08

Felt nice and relaxed doing this. Kept a good eye on the watch to keep it slow and consistent.
    Plenty of wind and rain out there, but it was really a joy seeing so many runners out there this evening braving it... Plenty of nods of respect out there... Nice feeling :)

Monday 22/12/2014 Rest
    Tuesday 23/12/2014 7 miles @ 7:34

Nice run today, got out around midday which was a novelty for me :D
    7:58, 7:53, 7:20, 7:18, 7:02, 6:59, 8:25

Felt good during it, didn't overdo it, just enough to stop myself from daydreaming about winning olympic medals :D

Monday 22/12/2014 Rest
    Tuesday 23/12/2014 7 miles @ 7:34

Nice run today, got out around midday which was a novelty for me :D
    7:58, 7:53, 7:20, 7:18, 7:02, 6:59, 8:25

Felt good during it, didn't overdo it, just enough to stop myself from daydreaming about winning olympic medals :D

Hope Bulmers does nt see this with all the guff you had on his log about your lack of quality runs etc. Sneaky , sneaky...

It'll take more guff than that to rattle him, he's well used to my ways at this stage :D I'm like a little puppy pug and he's a prizewinning greyhound :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

It'll take more guff than that to rattle him, he's well used to my ways at this stage :D I'm like a little puppy pug and he's a prizewinning greyhound :D
    Make that 2 x 50kg sandbags :D

Wednesday 24/12/2014 5 miles @ 7:47

Nice little run. As usual, didn't follow what I had planned to the letter, but not to far off.
    Few strides thrown in at the end for a change :)

Fields of Athenry 10k on St Stephens day. There's a couple of flyers on here doing it. I hope they wait around the extra 7/8 mins it will take me to finish.....

Best of luck Marty, you won't be far behind them! Happy Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Best of luck Marty, you won't be far behind them! Happy Christmas.

By the sound of things he'll be joining us :)

TbL

By the sound of things he'll be joining us :)

TbL

If this is about the licking I'm not commenting! What happens in Galway stays in Galway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

If this is about the licking I'm not commenting! What happens in Galway stays in Galway!

Bulmers should drop by, he's the biggest lick around :)

TbL

By the sound of things he'll be joining us :) TbL

You know that song.." I'm just a poor boy, but my legs are just
    to damn slow" :D:D:D
    Bulmers should drop by, he's the biggest lick around :) TbL

Mr. On the fence... Diplomat my hole :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

By the sound of things he'll be joining us on the sandbagging wren hunt :)

TbL
    FYP