Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Running Chaos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Very best of luck for Monday Marty.

Have a great race and enjoy the day.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Thanks all, I'm all set for it... Just a bit of packing, bit of ironing, bit of crossing off checklist, some unpacking and repacking "just to make sure".. You get the idea :D

Lets do this sh1t :D:D

Friday 24/10/2014 Rest (unscheduled :D)

Saturday 25/10/2014 9.6km @ 5:27/km ~ 6miles @ 8:46/mile

Nice trot in and out of town, didn't restrict the legs to much, let them go as the wanted, nothing crazy though.

A lot of leaves on the ground made me think back to the walk I made to the expo last year.... Picturesque :D

Wow, so many tall buildings and fancy shops, it's like a whole new world :-D
    But why is it that the first thing I see when I look out of my 4th floor hotel room window is a Canadian flag, buzz kill :-D

#2273, Red 2013 Athlone 3/4 top, "lucky " black shorts (bit tight :D) , red adrenalines. Shoutout if ya see me in a heap :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Enjoy tomorrow Marty - best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Well done Marty! Hope you are enjoying your pints

Quick post until this evening...
    Just under 3:28... The list of things that went wrong and things that I did wrong are endless, to the point of it being funny... Was a bit peed off yesterday but dusted myself off and ready for more.
    The garmin data should be comedy gold and a perfect illustration of how the marathon starts at 20 miles..
    Just got word that a mate of mine was in trouble at 24/25 miles and was in ambulance for a period receiving treatment. He's fine now, just puts bad runs into perspective...

Well I better jot down a few thoughts on the day. A day that showed me a lot regarding the seriousness and toughness of marathon running. If you take your eye of the ball or become complacent, it can, and will bite you in the ass. I may seem jokey in this report and pop in a few :D:D , but that is more like nervous laughter, the lessons learned are valuable to me....

The days leading up to is went fine, I felt in good order and excited about what was to come.
    Arrived in Dublin around 2ish, got settled and unpacked and had a nice cup of coffee in the hotel before heading down to the RDS. The queuing system seemed to work well, didn't block up the main hall, and although long, it was moving well. I had a quick look around but nothing really grabbed my attention to much. Went over to pacer stand but it was chocoblock with punters. Take That had nothing on those boys, like rockstars they were :D Thomas was giving an interview over the PA, cool as a breeze he was :D
    Back to the hotel for a bit of dinner. Was looking at the menu and sick of the sight of pasta, had it the previous 2 days:eek: so ended up with sirloin steak,champ and salad, a right big feed, to much TBH but it was damn tasty. Probably not the best choice for a pre marathon dinner...

Race morning came after a very broken night sleep. Restless nervousness and the wind howling around the fourth floor of the mespil hotel ensured a bit a yawning over my porridge breakfast. I was in good spirits though and soon headed off to the starting area for the build up.
    This is the part I don't really like, the waiting around before the start, but sure what can you do! Spot 2 galway city harrier women a few rows up ahead and figure maybe one of them might be DOCO12, but was a tad to far behind them to strike up a conversation without it being awkward :p

Anywho, back to racing, and without to much fuss we were off. Great to be here I think to myself, well those thoughts would change dramatically towards the end of the race :pac:
    The initial part of the race wasn't to bad, a few dodgy turns where runners suddenly came up to traffic islands/cones in the middle of the road without warning(these really should have been made more visible from a distance I think), but not to bad. At around mile 2 I got a bit emotional (again), which came as a surprise as I thought that I would be grand after doing 2 marathons already.
    It wasn't long before we hit chesterfield ave, which was a drag, and maybe I didn't back off the pace enough here. It was tough going and quite blustery, there was no hiding from it :D I was aware that I should ease off, but just wasn't disciplined enough.
    Another thing of note is that I didn't do enough homework. I've read plenty of info on the route but didn't really take it in enough, to the point where I knew what was coming and where. I was running, and not quite knowing what was around the next corner.

Seemed to be going up to half way, slight discomfort in stomach but nothing to bad. I had been taking little sips for the water stations and I'm sweating a lot here. Stomach still a bit achy so at the 25k waterstop I duck into a loo for a little pee pee. Seemed to help a little of of I head again. A lot more effort required now it seems.
    Legs feel heavy around here and deep down it was an "oh oh" moment when I realise I'm cooked.
    Sweat pouring off me now and pace difficult to maintain. Feels like marathon ended effort but still coming up to 12k to go....... I stop... Legs got nothing much and I give a wry smile to myself in acknowledgement of my failure. I know it's going to be a struggle to the finish now. Even though it may have only been a 30sec stop, it was enough and was akin to throwing in the towel.
    I get going again, this time managing to string about another 2k of running before having to walk again. I'm getting these details from the garmin as TBH, a lot of it is a bit of a blur. I remember bits, and some of it just passed by.

By 38km, the walks are more frequent, and the runs slower and far shorter.
    Slog, suffer, soldier on..... Repeat.... Totally wiped. Like a banger of a car, I pull to the side for my walks, all the while getting great encouragement from supporters and runners alike. Seems a lot of people suffering now and have seen people getting medical help for last couple of miles. A sobering sight.
    I remember trying to run again at one point and only managing maybe 100 meters before having to stop again. I actually had a little laugh to myself before starting to give myself a tirade of abuse and expletives :D
    'C'mon Martin, don't give in', 'not long to go, you can do it' , so much encouragement it was astounding. But I was in a bad place and felt like I was letting them all down as I wasn't able to respond.

Think it was around the 40k mark(could be mistaken), a dude in red, with a bike I think was at the side. One of those moments where ya just connect with someone for a brief second but was strange. Gave me encouragement telling me 'you can do it, just shorten your stride and get going again, you can do it". It was strange, felt like a boxing coach giving advice right in my ear and no-one else was there. I was about to say no I'm not able when the legs started to break into a jog again. Still in bits but motoring again.

I glance to my right and I see a guy who looked like a mate of mine, collapsed and getting help. I dismiss it thinking "Na, couldn't be him, could it?? Naa" Turned out it was him. He's OK now but was with ambulance guys for a period of time getting sick and heart rate unstable. Chatting to him yesterday and all good but scared the crap out of him.

Forgot to mention, a few km before this the 3:20 train passed me. When I say pass me I mean they absolutely flew past me. I didn't even try to latch onto them, they were gone before I knew it.
    Thoughts turned to the 3:30 guys...Please God don't let them pass me. Please God, don't let them pass me...Please God Do.... Fook, they pass me, well the first guy, I go with him. The second pacer comes up alongside before easing back a little to the others in the group. This was my race now, to stay with these guys. About a k to go I recall a wide section of road with huge support on both sides. I was I the middle of the road, with not many if anyone around me. I close my eyes while running, opening them occasionally to make sure I'm running/shuffling straight and true. Coming up to the matted area of finish straight and open my eyes in case of an embarrassing stumble, and realise I'm gonna get under the 3:28 mark. Cross the line with a cheeky grin and another few lessons learned.

I won't bother putting up full splits, ye can have a look at the linky...
    Halfway at 1:37:10
    30k at 2:20:12
    Gun time at 3:28:36
    Chip time at 3:27:57 (PB by 4mins 15sec, from connemara '14 so doesn't count for much)

http://www.strava.com/activities/212903524

Well that's about it, i'll take a few days off now before getting back at it. Still feeling positive for next year, and hopefully a few PBs along the way.
    Was great meeting some of you in mcgrattans after, was good craic even though I was wrecked. Good to meet a few legends :D

I'm sorry you had such a bad day! Although going under 3.30 is nt a bad day in my book! Where do you think it went wrong really? Was it physical or mental?

Mostly physical i'd say. As I think Yaboya said in a different thread, I really should have re-adjusted my target to match conditions. The worse part is that I knew this before hand, and even having breakfast while looking out the window, I gave it another thought, but still didn't follow through and adjust. This and bad pace strategy regarding chesterfield ect all lead to my loss of go at the end. There was a bit of giving up but it was at a stage of the race where I hadn't a chance of reaching goal A or goal B.
    It's not all bad, I've taken some positives from the experience as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭dcorcaigh

well done Marty, it takes some heart to keep going when you see the pacers flying by. and still a PB!! I hope your buddy is ok, some amount of people having ambulance people looking at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,764 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good going, martyboy, 3:28 was a great time the other day, no doubt about it. Good to meet you afterwards. Recover well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭DOCO12

Congrats Marty on sticking with it on Mon, sorry you didn't hit your target, but from reading all the reports on here everyone suffered badly on Mon, conditions were cruel. You would be well under sub 3.20 in better conditions . Mother Nature wasn't in our favour this time.
    martyboy48 wrote:
    Spot 2 galway city harrier women a few rows up ahead and figure maybe one of them might be DOCO12, but was a tad to far behind them to strike up a conversation without it being awkward 

That was me , the slower of the two :) Pity now that I missed you no doubt we must have been nearby during the race too. I'm sure our paths will cross in races during the next few months. Any on the to do list? I've had too much thinking time this week and want to do everything going :)
    Hope your recovering well !

DOCO12 wrote: »
    no doubt we must have been nearby during the race too. I'm sure our paths will cross in races during the next few months. Any on the to do list? I've had too much thinking time this week and want to do everything going :)
    Hope your recovering well !

All good here DOCO, ya, by my reckoning we were around each other at halfway/30k(bib 2273). I spotted you around that mark and was in a position to chat but already knew I was in trouble going forward so didn't want you to see me crumble :D

Will catch you at a local race I'm sure :)
    Athenry 10k is the next one really, but I know what you mean about taking on anything, mad for a race already and haven't even done a little recovery run yet :D

Well done again, well deserved result for you :)

Monday 03/11/2014 11.6km @ 5:17/km ~ 7.2 miles @ 8:30/mile

First run out post DCM'14, and it's good to be back at it. Legs felt not to bad, but even though I was just going on effort, I decided to pull back a couple of times as I was picking up pace a bit to much for first day back.

An easy week to get back into it and then I'll up distance/intensity a tad.
    Looking to get some short races done just to banish the demons and feel the racing buzz again.

Looking forward to Winter running :)

Tuesday 04/11/2014 11.1km @ 5:17/km ~ 7 miles @ 8:30/mile

Another little run in and out of town on a nice cool evening. Legs felt a bit heavier today, and I felt like I was out of energy like I was in the marathon :eek: . I was surprised with this as I felt grand heading out.

Will take a rest day tomorrow. Last year I think I made to much of a push to get back into running at pre marathon levels, and this lead to my trouble with Plantar Fasciitis, I do not want to make that mistake again :)

Wednesday 05/11/2014 Rest

Thursday 06/11/2014 11.6kms @ 5:20/km ~ 7.2 miles @ 8:35/mile

A nice run in the rain and the legs seem back to themselves. Will keep it cool for the next couple of runs with maybe a few strides to wake them up fully.

This evening I attended a talk on hip problems relating to runners.
    It is the first of a series of talks on various aspects of running/injuries(prevention),gear ect. Hosted by a well respected physio/runner and in conjunction with AKW.
    A nice relaxed informative talk but had to shoot off straight after so didn't get a chance to ask more detailed questions(which was on offer), but I'm sure I'll catch them at the next talk.

A pleasant evening all round... :)

Friday 07/11/2014 11.1km @ 4:37/km ~ 7 miles @ 7:26/mile

Saturday 08/11/2014 8.7km @ 4:46/km ~ 5.4miles @ 7:40/mile

Sunday 09/11/2014 16.5km ~ 5:00/km ~ 10miles @ 8:03/mile

So, after me just saying on thursday that I'm going to keep the pace easy for the couple of runs, off I go and up the pace on friday ... Numpty :D

Anyway that's just another example of my lack of discipline, must try harder...

No issues to report thankfully, 3 runs went well.

Finally committed to introducing some core and flexibility work. I know I'm lacking in both areas and really need to address these issues.

Any youtube video recommendations greatly appreciated....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

Check out the program Clearlier posted in the graduate thread. Kinetic Revolution, I had a look and seems pretty good.

Would you believe, I came across it just after posting my log bit :D
    Does look good alright and signed up for it. I've a feeling I might have a long list of workouts by the end of my search :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Does look good alright and signed up for it. I've a feeling I might have a long list of workouts by the end of my search :D

Probably enough to shame a prima-ballerina I'd say:D. As long as we don't see you in a leotard in the before and after thread, I'd say it's a good idea.

On the log that caused the war I think there were a few links that were good for this kind of thing. Jay something was the name of fella in the clips, Oslslo might remember the full name. Fitness blender is also good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

SamforMayo wrote: »
    On the log that caused the war I think there were a few links that were good for this kind of thing. Jay something was the name of fella in the clips, Oslslo might remember the full name. Fitness blender is also good.

URV1kq9.gif

Fair point, well made!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

martyboy48 wrote: »

I started it tonight ..... ouch!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

I started it tonight ..... ouch!!!!!

Marty if the youngsters are feeling it tough doing this then an auld buck like you is in for a world of pain ;)

Active Isolated Stretching (AIS) is one of the routines that Ososlo does - Jay Johnson is the coach on YouTube doing the demo.

Monday 10/11/2014 Kinetic Revolution 30 Day Challenge-Day 1

Day 1??? God help me :D:D
    I knew I was lacking, and by God did it show. Pretty much all the stretches/exercise were an effort.
    Hip flexors I though would burst through me even though I wasn't forcing them. Hamstring stretch, well lets just say my legs were shaking until maybe the last rep, again not forcing them and left leg not straight :(
    Adductor stretch was an effort to even get in that position, and an effort to get out of it.
    Balance drills not to bad until I got to doing the alphabet. Right leg not to bad(bit of effort required), but the left leg all over the place. Some serious imbalance I think.

I'll keep at it, it just shows me that as bad as I thought I was, I'm actually worse...

I'm thinking maybe I should be giving the strength exercises just as much focus as the running.......

Monday 10/11/2014 Running rest day (See above post)

Tuesday 11/11/2014 11.1km @ 4:57/km ~ 7 miles @ 7:58/mile

Wednesday 12/11/2014 8.7km @ 5:24/km ~ 5.5 miles ~ 8:41/mile

Thursday 13/11/2014 Rest

Friday 14/11/2014 8.4km @ 5:21/km ~ 5.2 miles @ 8:37/mile

ok a bit of an update.... Not feeling well all week really.. Totally drained, any run is a real struggle at any pace(unable/struggle to go below 5:00km/8:00mile) so going 'easy' pace which is still a struggle. Bit of dizzyness at times and starting to feel it in chest when running.
    Took an unscheduled rest day on thursday and may take another tomorrow.
    Even the kinetic revolution work was dropped(will start again when right), everything is a struggle...

Hopefully a bit of rest and no work over the weekend and I'll be right as rain by monday 100%.

To cheer me up I hit Amphibian king for 2 pairs of Adrenalines(on offer), and bought a sh1tload of useless stuff on aliexpress :D:D

Now, time to catch up on things around here in the logs :)

I'm giving you a cert to stay away from running until you are 100 percent right( although given the county you're from that may take some time). Seriously nothing to be gained by training while sick.

SamforMayo wrote: »
    I'm giving you a cert to stay away from running until you are 100 percent right( although given the county you're from that may take some time). Seriously nothing to be gained by training while sick.

Ah cheers SfM, it's just a bit frustrating. Feel not to bad but just the body is not able for any exertion, like the end of DCM, generally ok but just no energy :D:D

Hope it's not a precursor to the dreaded man flu...... God forbid.......