Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

dgt wrote: »
    I'm feeling stupid.

I need some speakers, an indicator for a Mercedes C class and a Garrett GT35r....

That reminds me, i must give you that turbo back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

That reminds me, i must give you that turbo back

Gah!

Sure hauld onto it and Leran how it all goes together sure! I rebuilt it so shouldn;t be too hard to have a looksee:D

Gah!

Sure hauld onto it and Leran how it all goes together sure! I rebuilt it so shouldn;t be too hard to have a looksee:D

Sure i've no time! it's taken me nearly 3 weeks to take a bloody fuel pump out! :o

when i have a few hours to spare on one of the weekends ill swing by and drop it back to you

Sure i've no time! it's taken me nearly 3 weeks to take a bloody fuel pump out! :o

when i have a few hours to spare on one of the weekends ill swing by and drop it back to you

be grand sure! I haven't time to play anymore sure :pac:

It'll make a drive weekend i'll sometime weekend driv:De

SAve you rpetril!

be grand sure! I haven't time to play anymore sure :pac:

It'll make a drive weekend i'll sometime weekend driv:De

SAve you rpetril!

:confused::pac:

Righto! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

I'm feeling stupid.

I need some speakers, an indicator for a Mercedes C class and a Garrett GT35r....

Can't help you with any of that but a question for you :p. Any idea of what sort of mechanical pumps you could use to replace the electronic VE one in my primera. It's running an electronic controled bosch pump at the moment. Think it's a VP30 of some sort. It's indirect injection and the wastegate is actuated by a intake manifold - WG diagphragm hose type job. Injectors are running at 170 bar. Would a 200tdi pump work maybe?

It has a minor enough fault where it cuts out once every few weeks when you dip the clutch in 1st or 2nd. Giving me a random cyl. no7 injector fault code! Want to try get more power from it too.

Interslice wrote: »
    Can't help you with any of that but a question for you :p. Any idea of what sort of mechanical pumps you could use to replace the electronic VE one in my primera. It's running an electronic controled bosch pump at the moment. Think it's a VP30 of some sort. It's indirect injection and the wastegate is actuated by a intake manifold - WG diagphragm hose type job. Injectors are running at 170 bar. Would a 200tdi pump work maybe?

It has a minor enough fault where it cuts out once every few weeks when you dip the clutch in 1st or 2nd. Giving me a random cyl. no7 injector fault code! Want to try get more power from it too.

please, ask me tomorroww. i can barely read by now......

I Can help
    !

http://www.vwdiesel.net/forum/index.php?topic=6427.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

and a Garrett GT35r....

Fúck the price of those turbos.

please, ask me tomorroww. i can barely read by now......

I Can help
    !

http://www.vwdiesel.net/forum/index.php?topic=6427.0

Cool. I've been looking into it there is nothing definite to go by. All I found was this one done on a NA version of the same engine in an almera. http://www.pakwheels.com/forums/engine-transmission-powertrain/196506-swap-electronic-diesel-pump-mechanical-cd20e-2

No rush on it!

Sky Arts 1, can of beer, bag of O'Donnels crisps and a blazing fire. Happy happy happy Thursday night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Fúck the price of those turbos.

Cheap if you know where:P

In car related news, my power steering pump is knackered, so while its getting sorted Ive a loan of a 156 1.6 although theres feck all difference in consumption between the 1.6 and 2.5 :eek:
    But this 156 drives really well all the same, new clutch fitted and recently belted. Simonigs1, if you're still looking for a cheap enough run around for your missus, this is the one. Its as tight as a nut.
    But Damn those heated gta seats are nice, if I still had my v6 as a daily, id be changing them for it, they're zoo comfy:D

It was a pity I couldn't take the minty thema 2.0 turbo :cool:

Cheap if you know where:P

In car related news, my power steering pump is knackered, so while its getting sorted Ive a loan of a 156 1.6 although theres feck all difference in consumption between the 1.6 and 2.5 :eek:
    But this 156 drives really well all the same, new clutch fitted and recently belted. Simonigs1, if you're still looking for a cheap enough run around for your missus, this is the one. Its as tight as a nut.
    But Damn those heated gta seats are nice, if I still had my v6 as a daily, id be changing them for it, they're zoo comfy:D

It was a pity I couldn't take the minty thema 2.0 turbo :cool:

Had a couple of long looks at that. Great looking car.

bag of O'Donnels crisps

Those crisps are nice, which flavour did you go for?

Irish cider vinegar and sea salt. Was feeling a tad posh tonight :p

Although that poshness didn't last too long after I opened a can of Tuborg :pac:

Interslice wrote: »
    Had a couple of long looks at that. Great looking car.

Id have been driving it right now, only its due a belt and the last thing I want is for the belt to go on a car I don't own. If it wasn't a lancia or alfa I wouldn't care, but feck that ****.
    This Thema was minty, taxed and tested until the middle of next year

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Id have been driving it right now, only its due a belt and the last thing I want is for the belt to go on a car I don't own. If it wasn't a lancia or alfa I wouldn't care, but feck that ****.
    This Thema was minty, taxed and tested until the middle of next year

Where be the ad? Dying to see what it looks like

Back when I was a small kid, I entered a competition and won a brand new van (in my fathers name)

He promptly sold the van and bought a lancia

Stheno wrote: »

Back when I was a small kid, I entered a competition and won a brand new van (in my fathers name)

There was one on DD up to last week or so. Maybe QV is on about a different one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Irish cider vinegar and sea salt. Was feeling a tad posh tonight :p

Although that poshness didn't last too long after I opened a can of Tuborg :pac:

They are lovely crisps altogether. Does be a hard task at times to choose between them and McCoys Salt and Vinegar though. Both are pricey enough, in excess of €1

I got a nice big bag in Tesco. €2 something. Try out Keoghs too. Lovely crisp.

Nothing wrong with a packet of tayto! 4 in the morning, 4 cups of coffee and first assignment of the year is in. It begins again!

It wasn't advertised...it was traded in against an integrale. I hope now he bought you out. It'd only be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

So I got let go from the garage :o fair enough, and im up to my eyes in projects now so it made sense i suppose, so to make myself feel better, tomorrow I'm making sugar rockets :pac:

Jaysus, sorry to heat that. What did you do to get an axe?

OSI wrote: »
    Broke the chainsaw.

I done nothing, just no work coming in, plus im already up to my eyes in college work, so i suppose it made sense like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Update regarding the timing chain.
    Parts have been ordered and the car is going in next week for the surgery. Fingers crossed those feckin injectors stay intact!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭maceocc2

Saying goodbye to my VW boat tomorrow :( so sad, here she is next to her work carpark buddy (dar83's ST)... E38 Will be my daily driver for the next 3-4 months so obviously happy about that though :)

20141031_084651_zpsqkk9lpli.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Why you selling if I may ask? I love the E38, but with no diesel option it wouldn't make sense to me as a daily, mileage too high.

That was a bit of good luck.
    I got a nice big bag in Tesco. €2 something. Try out Keoghs too. Lovely crisp.

I always get the big bags as well. I like all those hand cooked crisps even the tayto premium ones are nice.

Sobanek wrote: »
    Why you selling if I may ask? I love the E38, but with no diesel option it wouldn't make sense to me as a daily, mileage too high.

There was a 725tds...

Some boyoooo to go I'd say!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

There was a 725tds...

Some boyoooo to go I'd say!!!

Was the 730/740d only available in LHD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭maceocc2

Sobanek wrote: »

Ah I need to money for other projects. Would like to keep a low cost daily option, but E38 is there and I can get it on the road for ~€500 (tax).

It would cost ~1500-2000 to buy and put something decent on the road, so I'll have to grin and bear the E38 for a while, it's a 740i 4.4L so shouldn't be to hard on my happiness :)