Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Had them off so the wheel could be taken off easily.

Sound, just wondering!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Made a massive decision with my life today. I hope to god it's the right one :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,331 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Made a massive decision with my life today. I hope to god it's the right one :(
    What exactly if you don't mind me asking?

joujoujou wrote:
    What exactly if you don't mind me asking?

As one person gets a job another decides to leave his. Leaving the profession altogether, couldn't hack it for much longer. Don't know where to go from here... but i'll gather myself and re focus myself. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

As one person gets a job another decides to leave his. Leaving the profession altogether, couldn't hack it for much longer. Don't know where to go from here... but i'll gather myself and re focus myself. :)

Your a secondary school teacher is it ?

Bpmull wrote:
    Your a secondary school teacher is it ?

yup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

yup.

Don't feel bad.

I lasted a year teaching.

Good luck.

yup.

Ah ok. Best of luck with whatever new careers you decide on. Do you have any idea what you would like to do ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Ya know, I didn't at all like what I was supposed to do and chucked it in relatively early on and took a different direction. I'll still bitch and moan about the job but I know I'm a happier and saner person than I would have been. Onwards and upwards dude.

We're only here for a blink really.

Bpmull wrote:
    Ah ok. Best of luck with whatever new careers you decide on. Do you have any idea what you would like to do ?

Still really undecided. Might try something to do with computers, excel, databases kind of thing etc, but another part of me would love to put my love of cars into practise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,331 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

I'm sure you'll be grand and choose wisely. :)

Did that with sparking a few years ago shortly after I qualified and it was the best decision I ever made. Had to suffer a stint of unemployment for a bit, got a fantastic job in something completely different for a year and a half then which I loved but that came to an end recently (50 people let go) and now I'm back job hunting again but I don't care. I'll sort something.

Packing in something you despise doing (although I do like electrical work, just hated it as a career) does you the world of good.

Hopefully you (and me actually) will sort something soon. Best of luck

Did that with sparking a few years ago shortly after I qualified and it was the best decision I ever made. Had to suffer a stint of unemployment for a bit, got a fantastic job in something completely different for a year and a half then which I loved but that came to an end recently (50 people let go) and now I'm back job hunting again but I don't care. I'll sort something.

It's amazing when you think about how people suddenly go from loving a certain job to despising it. My own dad has had 3 completely different careers/ profession. He loved the previous two when he was doing them but now he wouldn't even talk about them as he has no interest in them. But then most people you ask won't be working at the same thing that have qualified at at all it's almost a rare thing.

In a recent interview I had the opposite experience with the guy doing the technical side of the interview he done the same degree as I'm doing but he has worked in the same company at the same plant for 35 years. Granted he's higher up now obviously but ultimately doing the same thing. All I could think of at the start of the interview when he said it was there be will know bullsh!ting this guy. What he doesn't know about that company and particular plant wouldn't be worth knowing.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

yup.
    Still really undecided. Might try something to do with computers, excel, databases kind of thing etc, but another part of me would love to put my love of cars into practise.

I have worked in the past as a trainer in IT, not what you mention above but the company I then worked for were always looking for MS apps trainers, and they always had opportunities to expand your skill set

If you want to pm me for any advise or to get put in touch with them, feel free to do so :) Your teaching background will stand to you and it might do as a stopgap if you decide it's not for you :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Bpmull wrote: »

In a recent interview I had the opposite experience with the guy doing the technical side of the interview he done the same degree as I'm doing but he has worked in the same company at the same plant for 35 years. Granted he's higher up now obviously but ultimately doing the same thing. All I could think of at the start of the interview when he said it was there be will know bullsh!ting this guy. What he doesn't know about that company and particular plant wouldn't be worth knowing.

I have consistently changed job/role every 3 years at a maximum, when contracting that can be every six months.

Being in the same place for 35 years has it's drawbacks, even with multiple roles

Stheno wrote:
    If you want to pm me for any advise or to get put in touch with them, feel free to do so  Your teaching background will stand to you and it might do as a stopgap if you decide it's not for you 

Thanks :) I'll take a bit of time out before I decide what to go at.

It's amazing what some consider light damage :pac:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/damagedcars-for-sale/131-dacia-dci-/7730258

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Who wants to do some burnouts?
    http://www.adverts.ie/tyres/free-tyres/6743782

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,549 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Bpmull wrote: »
    It's amazing what some consider light damage :pac:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/damagedcars-for-sale/131-dacia-dci-/7730258

That's a 4wd one too!
    Where would you even get parts for that :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

colm_mcm wrote: »
    That's a 4wd one too!
    Where would you even get parts for that :o

probably get a 131 one in perfect nick for 10k in january . would definitley cost 2-3k to put that one as right as it could be put.

And even mended it will be worth sweet feck all with a past history of being damaged.

I used to resent those things, but my parents have two now, they aren't bad. :o

And even mended it will be worth sweet feck all with a past history of being damaged.

I just can't get to like them at all I've seen a few in the road but they just do nothing for me. Plus haven't they go a up in price there around 20k not 15k euro. I even like most Renault stuff but Dacia just No. Like Renault vans my dad bought in 2005 had the same computer between the clocks which were fine on vans in 2005 but even they don't use them in 2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

the interior plastics make baby jesus cry. And my d-max sounds less diesel-y than the engine. For the price they really arent terrible but the interior quality is just something I could never sink to .

My folks have a Duster 1.5 diesel and a Sandero on steroids thats 900cc or something.

Fully agree what you both say, but for the money, not bad at all tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

GvidoR wrote: »

Nah yer fine, I have a good supply of tyres.... ;)

GvidoR wrote: »

We have hundreds upon hundreds of spare old tyres thrown around in a pile at home, which used to be used on the silage pit before we changed to bales.
    A bloke from a tyre centre delivered them for €80 during the boom :rolleyes: What I found funny was a year after, yer man rang back asking if we want more tyres.... think he thought the cattle ate the friggin things :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

We have hundreds upon hundreds of spare old tyres thrown around in a pile at home, which used to be used on the silage pit before we changed to bales.
    A bloke from a tyre centre delivered them for €80 during the boom :rolleyes: What I found funny was a year after, yer man rang back asking if we want more tyres.... think he thought the cattle ate the friggin things :pac:

Why did you change to bales?

Easier to work with really, less waste. The shear grab was also broken too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Forgot the pay the M50 toll last week and the penalty letter arrived at my parents house.
    Went to pay it, inserted the ref number and number plate and saw almost 200e in penalties associated with my car.
    All of them from July. Wrote to eflow and told them to remove it from my reg as I am not liable for them.
    Wonder what they will say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

OSI wrote: »
    "Prove it"

No problem, here's a copy of the logbook plus a screenshot from the motortax website :D