Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

nd wrote: »
    From my calculations the new tyres are 11mm total taller than the old ones. Which shouldn't be the cause of any issues unless the last ones were very tight.

5.5 difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I know there is many varying factors, but any very rough idea to replace/recondition a gearbox for a 2004 1.4 petrol golf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    So I'm sitting in the car enjoying my mcflurry in nutgrove. A jeep pulls into the space on the drivers side of my car with a sour looking old bitch sitting in the passengers seat. She open her door belting it off my mirror. I'm sitting here with the window down. Do you think she apologised? Nope. Completely ignored my existence and didn't apologise to the driver of the jeep either. Not only is their car blocking my view of the world going by but I get to look at the red paint on their door that came off my car too :mad:

I hate when that happens. But what I've found is the more you care and try to park away and basically constantly try to prevent people denting and hitting you car the more it seems to happen. So my new attitude on it is not to care to much and if scratchs/ dents appear they appear you really can't prevent them.

Yet if I go out to my parentS Octavia it's almost 3 years old and you would struggle to find any marks on it and certainly no dents. And my mother couldn't care less about minding it and would often lark in the worse pd parking spots you could pick always as close to the door as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I know there is many varying factors, but any very rough idea to replace/recondition a gearbox for a 2004 1.4 petrol golf?

I can have a wee look for a box for you if you want ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

dgt wrote:
    I can have a wee look for a box for you if you want 

Tis already done, cousins car, she only mentioned it to me today. In the garage near 2 weeks getting done, just wondering how much it cost her :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Had a few young "boyyyz" looking at me car today, went into the local factors, while they were making baww and neeeuw noises and asked what the going rate on a set of rear discs and front and rear pads for the 9-5 was, they all stopped :pac: the lads behind the counter seen the build thread for it and go "ah lads you should see the work gone into that yoke, total sleeper of a thing" even though its not really, so a few wanted to see it, so i happily obliged and gave them the tour

It's apparently "saaaaavage" now :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Had a few young "boyyyz" looking at me car today, went into the local factors, while they were making baww and neeeuw noises and asked what the going rate on a set of rear discs and front and rear pads for the 9-5 was, they all stopped :pac: the lads behind the counter seen the build thread for it and go "ah lads you should see the work gone into that yoke, total sleeper of a thing" even though its not really, so a few wanted to see it, so i happily obliged and gave them the tour

It's apparently "saaaaavage" now :o

your local motor factor is an amature, i like to go to the professionals where they get their **** right without stealing ya ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

your local motor factor is an amature, i like to go to the professionals where they get their **** right without stealing ya ;)

Oh but that's the thing! I got the whole lot, what i needed for 115 quid, but yeah it depends on the person i find, the other crowd i was after wanted 220 for the exact same thing

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Bpmull wrote: »
    I hate when that happens. But what I've found is the more you care and try to park away and basically constantly try to prevent people denting and hitting you car the more it seems to happen. So my new attitude on it is not to care to much and if scratchs/ dents appear they appear you really can't prevent them.

Yet if I go out to my parentS Octavia it's almost 3 years old and you would struggle to find any marks on it and certainly no dents. And my mother couldn't care less about minding it and would often lark in the worse pd parking spots you could pick always as close to the door as possible.

One of the very few things, (and you'd be hard pressed to ask me to name three) that I love about my current work (apart from the odd pretty boy who also is good at their job) is the car park. The spaces are massive, no chance of door opening damage.

Oh but that's the thing! I got the whole lot, what i needed for 115 quid, but yeah it depends on the person i find, the other crowd i was after wanted 220 for the exact same thing

Yeah the right motor factors is the business I used use one in Swords that seemed good, until my mechanic pointed me towards his, unreal service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Lads, where would I get some brighter H4 bulbs in Dublin without going to Halfrauds? Something like Philips XtremeVision or Osram Nightbreaker.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Dord wrote: »
    Lads, where would I get some brighter H4 bulbs in Dublin without going to Halfrauds? Something like Philips XtremeVision or Osram Nightbreaker.

Are you in North County Dublin by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Near enough. I'm in Santry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Tis already done, cousins car, she only mentioned it to me today. In the garage near 2 weeks getting done, just wondering how much it cost her :P

Had a leon 1.6 with the same gearbox rebuilt a few years back which is the same Bix AFAIK and it was close on a grand and took about two or three days.

Cheers for the responses and help relating to the tyres, lads. Will get the car to a mechanic shortly to take a mooch (but first I'll get my brother to drive over a speedbump and I'll admire from outside.. just incase it is clipping something).

My initial thinking was that the inside of the tyre was colliding with a part in the wheel arch. I stolen this picture from google, as I'm no good with car part names, but when I was driving, i thought the tyre was thumping this part (of the suspension?):

(you can hear it more so after you go over the bump, and the car bonnet is being pressed down as it returns to the lower, normal, road surface).

3E120B8639E4499091254576A8F5ED4D-0000333410-0003679331-00968L-6E04CCE310C9475FBA807F988A9672B8.jpg

But as ye guys have rightly pointed out, the tyre size is only negligibly different. The timing of this noise appearing is very annoying though (right after changing tyres).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Dord wrote: »
    Near enough. I'm in Santry.

Nobby Clarkes' motor factors wholesale in finglas might.the last left turn into an ind est before you hit the m50 southbound on ramp.
    I used to work there a few years back,

Cheers for the responses and help relating to the tyres, lads. Will get the car to a mechanic shortly to take a mooch (but first I'll get my brother to drive over a speedbump and I'll admire from outside.. just incase it is clipping something).

My initial thinking was that the inside of the tyre was colliding with a part in the wheel arch. I stolen this picture from google, as I'm no good with car part names, but when I was driving, i thought the tyre was thumping this part (of the suspension?):

(you can hear it more so after you go over the bump, and the car bonnet is being pressed down as it returns to the lower, normal, road surface).

3E120B8639E4499091254576A8F5ED4D-0000333410-0003679331-00968L-6E04CCE310C9475FBA807F988A9672B8.jpg

But as ye guys have rightly pointed out, the tyre size is only negligibly different. The timing of this noise appearing is very annoying though (right after changing tyres).

Looks like all the telltale signs your continume transfunctioner has failed 😊

Off to London town on Sunday for a few days catching Up with the long lost first cousins! If I see any Ferrari or stuff ill take a sly pic,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Not going to bother slating the ad or the seller, but finally went to view a banger/fixer upper tonight and, after getting the runaround from him regarding viewing (im busy etc etc), made the trek to see it, test drove (< 1km) bit of a chat & agreed price, then he finally decided to tell me he had not got, or access to the vlc. fcuking waste of time. :mad:

Car was good and all which really pisses me off.

I'm dizzy :o should be asleep :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

dgt wrote: »
    I'm dizzy :o should be asleep :(

Good lad! I'm locked, I should be off ragging the arse off my new banger :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Cheensbo wrote: »

Drinking IPA. I don't like IPA! I've a yolk there for sale. Not worth selling it for under 900 but it's invincible. Slow and steady but no fear of not getting home. It's an old man car!

Cheensbo wrote: »

Well I got it the right way round :p

Enjoying a nice glass of Jack Daniels here, car getting a well earned rest :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Interslice wrote: »
    Drinking IPA

Followed by G-techniq C1 and EXO?? :pac:

After inspecting my tyres, I have decided I need 2 tyres :D

What classy tyres can I pull out of my arse this time! :cool:

I also need to get a driveshaft boot, possibly the coupling too :(

Still, if it fails I still have 1 wheel drive! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

davycc wrote: »
    Off to London town on Sunday for a few days catching Up with the long lost first cousins! If I see any Ferrari or stuff ill take a sly pic,
    Finding Ferraris is easy - try to find a Fiesta or Corsa that is not a driving school car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

No smoke, no poke sticker on the back of...............a petrol Almera. Fcuktard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Dartz

Man.... I've arranged to have a second person to hand for some of the tricky bits.
    Machine.... Jacks. Stands. Caliper Tool. Wire Brush.
    Methods... Three youtube videos and a dash of common sense
    Materials... Brake Fluid, Brake Pads, Brake Cleaner. Silicon lube.
    Environment... Hope to **** it doesn't rain tomorrow. And move the other car out of the drive.

All going well. I'm set for tomorrow. Because I overslept massively today. Oops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Followed by G-techniq C1 and EXO?? :pac:

You're not in the detailing forum now, buddy ;)

How I feel after failing to change my fuel pump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Been looking up online, I could land a 2010/2011 Fiat Punto Abarth 1.4 Turbo with VRT paid for half the price it would cost for another RCZ this January. So tempt.