Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Wow fair play to him. Hope you get her sorted now TP for the sheer amount of hours and graft put into her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

YbFocus wrote: »
    You need to bow down to that man, fair play to him
    He gets my vote for an instant poster of the year!

Without a doubt!
    Hal1 wrote: »
    Wow fair play to him. Hope you get her sorted now TP for the sheer amount of hours and graft put into her.

I'm making up plans as we speak, it's gona be another learning curve, but that seems to be the way it goes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Seeing as its near the end of the year and all, I just thought I'd say thanks to ye all for the amount of help I've gotten off you all over the last year with both cars. This last year I've learned an absolute mountain of things just from, some would say "foolishly" buying a saab, but that in itself is what has taught me 90% of what I know now, along with some very helpful people on here, who more often than not helped me out when i was stuck the most, I think this picture sums up my year mechanically speaking, it was near the 10th of feburary and I needed to push on with getting the sump out, i got off the bus from college and it was snowing, most sensible people would have went inside and stayed warm but I spent a good 4 hours out under the car working away

66j0gh.jpg

Eventually the sump was cleaned out and everything put back together with the help of dgt and ybfocus, and I'll be forever grateful to the two of ye for that, you wouldnt find it anywhere else

/soppy post :P

Bawwwww mush mush mush mush mush :D

Don't mention it big guy! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

FBD are useless. Offices closed on Christmas - I can understand, but a bloody phone line too? What if I needed to get insurance ASAP?
    This day is ruined for me, honestly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Sobanek wrote:
    FBD are useless. Offices closed on Christmas - I can understand, but a bloody phone line too? What if I needed to get insurance ASAP? This day is ruined for me, honestly.

Insurance companies always find a way to piss you off. Every time I need a transfer, they're closed. Come renewal time I'm going with axa or Aviva, they let you log on and add a driver or change your insurance to another car, amongst other things yourself 24/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

WP_20141227_001.jpg

WP_20141227_002.jpg

WP_20141227_003.jpg

WP_20141227_004.jpg

WP_20141227_007.jpg

WP_20141227_006.jpg

WP_20141227_005.jpg

Nice to finally meet a boardsie today. Good craic, lots of chat and froze our asses off. That Honda Beat is a mad looking thing. Cool little car. Davycc's MR2 is a credit to him. Some roar off it! :D

Also, cheers too whoever posted the cheap tomtom sat navs in halfords. Picked up two today for €90! Just finished messing about with it and setting it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Sobanek wrote: »
    FBD are useless. Offices closed on Christmas - I can understand, but a bloody phone line too? What if I needed to get insurance ASAP?
    This day is ruined for me, honestly.

Friday is when they told me they'd be open. Mines up on the 5th and I'll be damned if they are getting the money early.

One trick that worked for me in the past though is if you hit the option for having an accident or a claim and pretend to be apologetic. They can usually sort you out.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Oh got his car valeted inside and out for Xmas present have to say the guy who did it did an amazing job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

That beat is awesome! who owns it?

I wonder if I could fit in one. :pac:

Nice to finally meet a boardsie today. Good craic, lots of chat and froze our asses off. That Honda Beat is a mad looking thing. Cool little car. Davycc's MR2 is a credit to him. Some roar off it! :D

Also, cheers too whoever posted the cheap tomtom sat navs in halfords. Picked up two today for €90! Just finished messing about with it and setting it up.

Glad you got sorted with the sat navs in the end:cool:some bargians

we had a great meet today even if we were the only boardsies crazy enough to to put up with the horrible weather:D

the cars were a credit to us all and your couple of glitches will soon be a thing of the past :)

Stheno wrote: »
    Oh got his car valeted inside and out for Xmas present have to say the guy who did it did an amazing job

pics or it never happened:pac:

Dord wrote: »
    That beat is awesome! who owns it?

I wonder if I could fit in one. :pac:

depends on your physique and how many xmas dinners you have had but im 6'1 and 12.5 stone of lankieness and i fitted fine loads off headroom and seat adjustments space left:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

How owns the little honda thingy?

friend of mine from limerick- she is a Honda Beat. proper kei car under 700kg and 660cc 3cyl ITBs of fury-got to drive it a few miles to the meet and it revs away like a 9000rpm motorbike behind your ear:cool::D

mid engined rarity- this one has some rare parts added to make it even more fun-HKS R-SR etc;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Itb's I'd say it sounds awesome.

davycc wrote: »
    depends on your physique and how many xmas dinners you have had but im 6'1 and 12.5 stone of lankieness and i fitted fine loads off headroom and seat adjustments space left:D

6' 5" and 15ish stone. :pac:

Dord wrote:
    6' 5" and 15ish stone. 

And yet you can manage a Panda. I salute you sir :pac:

Panda is surprisingly roomy. I can sit in the back and still have spare headroom. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Transporter 3 on E4 some savage metal in it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,953 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

The documentry film Road(2014) is on BBC2 NI now about the Dunlop Brothers

Dord wrote: »
    6' 5" and 15ish stone. :pac:

your probably fecked but it would be fun to see you trying:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

The documentry film Road(2014) is on BBC2 NI now about the Dunlop Brothers

Seen it before its fantastic!

davycc wrote: »
    your probably fecked but it would be fun to see you trying:pac:

I got into dgt's cinquecento at one of the meets and that was cool. I'd drive one! :D

Hal1 wrote: »
    Itb's I'd say it sounds awesome.

factory fitted:cool:

i was luckily enough allowed to drive it to the meet and yes she sounds amazing :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

That looks/sounds like copious amounts of fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

That looks/sounds like copious amounts of fun

I think you have enough cars :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

YbFocus wrote: »
    I think you have enough cars :)

You can never have enough :mad:

Dunno bout the rest of the country, but the roads neat me are mad slippy. Gritters aren't even out.. nor are the roads salted. Be careful out there guys and gals!

I saw two gritters on the M50 on christmas day. Not doing anything mind you, just driving along. I think it'll be a bit icy in the morning.