Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Garda Trainees (Templemore)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

My brother interviews. He says a CV should be 2 pages including references. Ref to Leaving Cert should just indicate points achieved. No Junior cert. No first aid cert. No Spanish for beginners nite classes.only include hobbies and interests that you can back up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

mrsbyrne wrote: »
    My brother interviews. He says a CV should be 2 pages including references. Ref to Leaving Cert should just indicate points achieved. No Junior cert. No first aid cert. No Spanish for beginners nite classes.only include hobbies and interests that you can back up.

That's mad, I was on to a friend that works in HR and does a lot of recruitment work and when I asked should I put a CFR, Cardiac First Responders, cert on my CV she said yes, it's a huge plus to show that you are willing to train and upskill on your own initiative. Any certs I have like CFR, MTA, etc all go on. Just little one liners for each but they all go on

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭AaronMul1

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    That's mad, I was on to a friend that works in HR and does a lot of recruitment work and when I asked should I put a CFR, Cardiac First Responders, cert on my CV she said yes, it's a huge plus to show that you are willing to train and upskill on your own initiative. Any certs I have like CFR, MTA, etc all go on. Just little one liners for each but they all go on

Couldnt agree more with that. They will most likely ask us to fill out a form to list our education when we get down there. I was told to put down my EFR so they know that if they need someone with say EMT level training they know who to get

• Registered Users Posts: 38 babybell

AaronMul1 wrote: »
    Couldnt agree more with that. They will most likely ask us to fill out a form to list our education when we get down there. I was told to put down my EFR so they know that if they need someone with say EMT level training they know who to get

Ye iv got an EMT cert and they were fairly intrigued about it during interview as you will most likely be first on scene it can help if u have an EFR or CFR cert

• Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭are you serious

Just to start the rumours for you all...

Stations are out the end of the first week... :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Just to start the rumours for you all...

Stations are out the end of the first week... :D:D:D

Actually, out of a matter of interest, is it likely that the majority of the first hundred will be put in Dublin? That certainly seems to be the general concensus anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭r_k.com

Rothmans wrote: »
    Actually, out of a matter of interest, is it likely that the majority of the first hundred will be put in Dublin? That certainly seems to be the general concensus anyway!

All the English stream going to Dublin and Irish stream going to Galway is what I was told by a lady in HR when I was up there

Rothmans wrote: »

With the current situation every station out there is short, but the city centre stations are in the main highlighted naturally because their higher incident rate.

I couldnt imagine any rural stations getting even a single person from this batch of 100. If I was in this phase and not from Dublin I would half expect to be sent there. I can not see any less then 50 going to Dublin. But you just never know!

r_k.com wrote: »
    All the English stream going to Dublin and Irish stream going to Galway is what I was told by a lady in HR when I was up there

English stream, Irish stream? what? :confused:

What ye have to remember is there have been no new recruits for what, 5 years give or take, so there are a huge number of guards sitting in stations waiting for transfers.
    Majority of which are Dublin stations.
    I would imagine that most new recruits will be going to city centre stations, if not Dublin, then other cities.

That's what the lads waiting on transfers are expecting anyway!

English stream, Irish stream? what? :confused:

10% of the intake are Irish speaking and we were separated into different streams from the very beginning.

What?

Where did that come from?

What?

Where did that come from?

What do you mean? From the very beginning we were separate and all our tests were done separately. We were only brought together for the medical and physical. it always had to be 10% Irish speaking.

Sorry I did not know that.!

Thats insane, another great idea in the job :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Eireannach01

Sorry I did not know that.!

Thats insane, another great idea in the job :rolleyes:

How is it insane? There are plenty of people in this country, whether they live in Gaeltacht areas or elsewhere, who require and deserve a service through the native language of our country. Is that a crime? It is about time that a dedicated Irish stream was established, as up until now Irish language service within AGS and indeed other public services has been poor.

I am not in the Irish stream myself, but I can speak Irish quite fluently and when I am in the company of Irish speakers I make sure I speak Irish only.

I wish all you guys in the Irish stream all the best, and when I meet you I will make sure that I chat to you in Irish. You are just as essential, if not more so, than the rest of us.

Go n-éirí go geal libh go léir!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭wannabegard

Besta luck to everyone going in. Im stuck in band 2 atm so iv kinda given up on it but to everyone who is in ye all deserve it. Well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

We were advised that new gardai will be going to 'urban centres' so think cities - Dub, Galway, Limerick

Is anyone else having problems finding white running shoes? How white should a predominantly white shoe be? If there are three adidas stripes that are black, or a nike tick that is blue or green but the rest of the shoe is mainly white, do you think that is acceptable?

How much does the tracksuit and t-shirt cost? I have managed to get some of the other essentials ok, but I have been having a serious debate with my wife about the whole thing now. She is trying to stop me from joining AGS now. We have been working out sums and we will be a few hundred euros short of our monthly outgoings each month while I am in Templemore. That doesn't include other costs such as electricity and oil for the house which will be required over Christmas especially. So over 8/9 months in Templemore, we will be thousands short of what we need. As it stands, there is no way we can get extra income. So I feel like my dream job could be just a dream again. I can't ignore my wfe's warnings and put the whole family at risk, especially the kids, but at the same time I want this job so much.

Anyone else feeling the pressure too? I am in a real position now and I will have to let HRM know by Wednesday if they want to get someone in to replace me. I feel sick now but I suppose that's the way life is at times.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

Is anyone else having problems finding white running shoes? How white should a predominantly white shoe be? If there are three adidas stripes that are black, or a nike tick that is blue or green but the rest of the shoe is mainly white, do you think that is acceptable?

How much does the tracksuit and t-shirt cost? I have managed to get some of the other essentials ok, but I have been having a serious debate with my wife about the whole thing now. She is trying to stop me from joining AGS now. We have been working out sums and we will be a few hundred euros short of our monthly outgoings each month while I am in Templemore. That doesn't include other costs such as electricity and oil for the house which will be required over Christmas especially. So over 8/9 months in Templemore, we will be thousands short of what we need. As it stands, there is no way we can get extra income. So I feel like my dream job could be just a dream again. I can't ignore my wfe's warnings and put the whole family at risk, especially the kids, but at the same time I want this job so much.

Anyone else feeling the pressure too? I am in a real position now and I will have to let HRM know by Wednesday if they want to get someone in to replace me. I feel sick now but I suppose that's the way life is at times.

Very sorry to hear that. It's not fair on you at all.
    Is it too late to defer

The garda credit union may be able to help out with that situation but don't knw if things have changed since

babybell wrote: »
    The garda credit union may be able to help out with that situation but don't knw if things have changed since

Thanks. How does the credit union work?

D Trent wrote: »
    Very sorry to hear that. It's not fair on you at all.
    Is it too late to defer

Thanks. That's a good point. I could check that out too. Cheers!

Thanks. How does the credit union work?

Not sure exactly I Js know previous students saying that getting money from them was not an issue and helped them through the term

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭eroc79

Would ye qualify for family income support, FIS? You can print the forms off the Internet.

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭galalala123

You should be entitled to family income supplement depending on your wife/ partners earnings. You should be entitled to something and it could even be 60-120 euro a week dependent on how many children you have which may help out. Ring your local community welfare officer they should be able to give you some info or else ring citizens advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Bloodwing

babybell wrote: »
    Not sure exactly I Js know previous students saying that getting money from them was not an issue and helped them through the term

The credit unions have tightened things up a lot, along with all other financial institutions! There's still a good chance they'll give you enough to cover the shortfall for the few months of templemore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

In the first week or two ye will have reps from both St. Paul's and st Raphaels credit unions into ye. They are two of the largest credit unions in the country.

While not as free with money as they used to be they are still pretty generous with loans.

One warning though, be careful. I went in from a well paying full time job eight years ago and by the end of my training I was a nice few grand in debt. Took ages to clear.

If ye get loans only get them with one of the credit unions not both as when you go onto proper pay both will start squeezing for more money and things will get very tight.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

audidiesel wrote: »
    In the first week or two ye will have reps from both St. Paul's and st Raphaels credit unions into ye. They are two of the largest credit unions in the country.

While not as free with money as they used to be they are still pretty generous with loans.

One warning though, be careful. I went in from a well paying full time job eight years ago and by the end of my training I was a nice few grand in debt. Took ages to clear.

If ye get loans only get them with one of the credit unions not both as when you go onto proper pay both will start squeezing for more money and things will get very tight.

Jaysus. A few grand. What exactly would be the causes for that debt wracking up. I fully expect an initial outlay between the shopping list, a car, tax and insurance to be a few grand alright (€3,500 perhaps). But after that I can't think of any expenses other than week to week expenses such as petrol, food and clothes, as well as the odd bit of socialising, which I would hope would be easily covered by the allowance.

What am I not factoring into my budgeting? Any advice much appreciated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

You should be entitled to family income supplement depending on your wife/ partners earnings. You should be entitled to something and it could even be 60-120 euro a week dependent on how many children you have which may help out. Ring your local community welfare officer they should be able to give you some info or else ring citizens advice.
    Eireannach1 read this it will save you from ringing them.
    In fairness they've a great website everything you can think of is explained easily
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/social_welfare_payments_to_families_and_children/family_income_supplement.html

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭EveAlex

I have total sympathy with your situation

I have had to get quite a sizable loan from a bank and a family member in order to cover the mortgage and bills for my 8months training

add in the compulsory kit that we need to buy and its added up to a pretty penny

I have had to get into debt and put a financial pressure on myself and my family in order to pursue a dream - I feel your pain