Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Craic with engagement rings

• 29-07-2014 3:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

So I've been entertaining the idea of getting married recently, took me eleven years to entertain it but I reckon i'm heading that way now...maybe...

I decided to look into getting a ring of some sort , now my other half isn't really into rings or jewellery so she has told me before if I ever do decide to 'finally' ask her she doesn't want me to spend big money on a ring would rather use the money towards the wedding or house/whatever.

So I went to the jewlers and made some enquiries and by the time I left my head was already spinning and my stomach was doing 360's from the stress and thought of actually having to plan a wedding.

I'd imagine she would want a purple stone or something , doesn't like diamonds or that, so I looked at a couple of nice rings under a grand but according to the store clerk, 'there aren't engagement rings' so she points me in the direction of anything that is over 2k - 3k.

I ask what the differance is as they look the exact same as the one's I was looking at just in a differant section, I explain I don't care nor does she about carrots , diamond quality or what mine they had to prize it out of I just want something simple and symbolic of my intent....again I got not an engagement ring.

So lads , what's a man to do?(Don't say run I'd years to do that) I might get drunk before I go back in to a store...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

A ring is a ring, use a 3/4 olive from a plumbing fitting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

Irishcrx wrote: »
    So lads , what's a man to do?

Ask complete randomers on a website for (sound...?) advice of course!

Loada bollox.
    You know your girlfriend better than a jeweller on commission knows her. Get her what she wants, not what society says she should want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Xios

Load of arse, terrible waste of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I decided to look into getting a ring of some sort , now my other half isn't really into rings or jewellery so she has told me before if I ever do decide to 'finally' ask her she doesn't want me to spend big money on a ring would rather use the money towards the wedding or house/whatever.

I don't know much about women, but that is a trap.
    I'd imagine she would want a purple stone or something , doesn't like diamonds or that, so I looked at a couple of nice rings under a grand but according to the store clerk, 'there aren't engagement rings' so she points me in the direction of anything that is over 2k - 3k.

Trrrrrrrrrrap!

Trust me, I'm an internet forum-poster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Chicks love surprises and spontaneity.
    Get yourself a Prince Albert instead

So I've been entertaining the idea of getting married recently, took me eleven years to entertain it but I reckon i'm heading that way now...maybe...

So I went to the jewlers and made some enquiries and by the time I left my head was already spinning and my stomach was doing 360's from the stress and thought of actually having to plan a wedding.

That's because she wants to fleece you
    Pick whatever ring your gf would like and don't be minding them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Congrats and best of luck op
    Take her ring shopping with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Get her a car instead. Or a cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Xios wrote: »
    Load of arse, terrible waste of money.

Also, that's a different sorta ring....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Get a lead ring and plate it in gold. For a diamond break a car window and use the biggest piece.

Sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

MagicIRL wrote: »

Trrrrrrrrrrap!

Not a trap lads , she really isn't into them. She would want something for sure but she would actually kill me if I spent over a grand on a ring. We just want to keep the whole thing low key, wedding and all , close friends and family that's what were into... I just felt a bit awkward in there sweating and all, they almost want to make you feel poor just because you don't want to spend huge money...i'm not poor I just don't see the point in it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

MagicIRL wrote: »

Trrrrrrrrrrap!

Seriously Its a trap.

Everything she has ever told you about her ring preferences is a LIE.

Seriously

No, Really, Seriously.

The ring is NOT about you. Its not about her, its about her friends, family and co-workers.

She will be judged and by proxy, YOU will be judged. Forever.

Buy her a proper engagement ring, if you want it to be special, it can actually work out better value to actually have one made to your design or requirements.

Seriously, you're making an epic fcukup that will haunt you forever here.

Just, you know, my opinion and stuff.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Just get her a ring from one of those 50p machines. You might get some free bubble gum too.

Seriously Its a trap.

Seriously

No, Really, Seriously.

The ring is NOT about you. Its not about her, its about her friends, family and co-workers.

Buy her a proper engagement ring, if you want it to be special, it can actually work out better value to actually have one made to your design or requirements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Seriously Its a trap.

Seriously

No, Really, Seriously.

Haha thanks for that, but I really don't care about what anyone else thinks it's not their marriage or family..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Fluxfan

I ask what the differance is as they look the exact same as the one's I was looking at just in a differant section, I explain I don't care nor does she about carrots .

Does she like parsnips? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

bluewolf wrote: »

Ok, I fold under your rolleye stare, Its me, I judge people with [EMAIL="cr@p"]cr@p[/EMAIL] engagement rings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭snaphook

Propose and then later take her on a trip to a few Jewellers.
    Let her pick out something that she likes.

3 months salary and all that BS is for brainwashed dopes.
    It would eat me up to spend a couple of grand on a shiny bit of carbon.

If you're minted then sure spend thousands for a top notch ring, but scrimping or worse getting into debt for a ring just to save face to snobby arseholes is a bad state of affairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

I'd say it costs lesbians thousands to get engaged

Haha thanks for that, but I really don't care about what anyone else thinks it's not their marriage or family..

Even a grand is a fair whack.

Sure look, €375 for a purple stone and diamonds.

If she's not into it, then definitely no need to spend a fortune :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

You don't need to buy an "engagement ring". Buy a ring that she'll love, and use that. There's no laws that say a ring less than 1 grand isn't allowed be used to propose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Sure look, €375 for a purple stone and diamonds.

There is acres of stuff for sale on that website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Fluxfan

snaphook wrote: »

Ya I agree. Play it safe dude. Don't let them make ya feel like sh1te for not spending a lot of money either. Good luck with the engagement, sounds like a nice girl you have there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,872 ✭✭✭✭fits

Jaypers, just propose and pick out the ring together afterwards. She'll love the job and you wont need to stress out about it.

There is acres of stuff for sale on that website.

I didn't even look. Just looked for purple gemstone!

• Administrators Posts: 54,619 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Mate bought his now wife an engagement ring that cost about 5000 sterling and I think the thing is terrible looking. Diamond is far too big so it looks really out of place among other jewellery. Actually looks a bit tacky.

More money doesn't mean better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

..my other half isn't really into rings or jewellery so she has told me before if I ever do decide to 'finally' ask her she doesn't want me to spend big money on a ring would rather use the money towards the wedding or house/whatever.

LOL.

Pay no attention to what she said. Women also say stuff like 'Don't be getting me anything expensive for Christmas now, I'd much rather the money went on things we need, blah blah blah' but you try getting her an Argos value blender and see how much you enjoy the holidays. For the rest of your lives there will be a story behind whatever ring you buy. No matter what she, or any other woman says, she will attach meaning to the amount of money that you decide to spend and so make sure it's an amount that hurts, not much, but enough that she will always be able to say that 'even though we couldn't afford, he bought me this' as she shows her family and friends. She'll roll her eyes of course and tut tut you as she does it, but deep down she will be so happy that you bought the best ring for her that you possibly could, without it meaning that you both ended up on the streets.

In fact, I would say if the ring means you have to sleep rough for just a few weeks, still buy the damn thing. The sex will be awesome, who cares if strangers get to see it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

So lads , what's a man to do?(Don't say run I'd years to do that) I might get drunk before I go back in to a store...

Do not believe the hype.

An engagement ring, if you choose to have one, may be any ring you like, with any metal or stone or setting you like.

Make a tinfoil ring and ask your GF to marry you with that. Then visit a jeweller or, better still, a goldsmith/silversmith and get the ring that she actually wants. That could be anywhere from €100 - €100,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,052 ✭✭✭Wossack

get a placeholder ring, and bring her to a jewelers once the question has been asked

herself had no clue whatsoever what she liked, and in the end went for something I wouldnt have picked in a million years

LOL.

Pay no attention to what she said. Women also say stuff like 'Don't be getting me anything expensive now, I'd mush rather the money went on things we need, blah blah blah'. For the rest of your lives there will be a story behind whatever ring you buy. No matter what she, or any other woman says, she will attach meaning to the amount of money that you decide to spend and so make sure it's an amount that hurts, not much, but enough that she will always be able to say that 'even though we couldn't afford. he bought this' when she shows her family and friends. She'll roll her eyes and tut tut you, but deep down she will be so happy that you bought the best ring for her that you possibly could, without it meaning that you ended up on the streets.

In fact, I would say if the ring means you have sleep rough for just a few weeks, still buy the damn thing. The sex will be assume, who cares if strangers get to see it too.

What a load of absolute shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Nobody ever didn't get a blowy for giving the Mrs diamonds....just sayin'...

-Funk

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,142 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Worst part is when the couple are expecting you say 'ah tis lovely' for said couple of thousand euro ring when deep inside you're thinking 'I've seen prettier things pop out of my arse'.

I never got the wife an engagment and we're as happy as we ever can be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think jewelry is a waste of time, Diamonds as we all know here are just overpriced lumps of carbon. I had always been under the impression that real gold and gemstone jewelry would go up in value but that doesn't seem to be the case. When you sell your jewelry it's taken apart and sold for scrap.

I think most people like the symbolism of it though, so you need to find something that will symbolise your marriage, you could get a piece of art, something that will gain value over the years and that can be passed down to children. Every time someone looks at it it will carry that meaning and story with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Slightly off topic but do you still have to ask the dad for permission?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Snuggle up to your dearly beloved on the couch..."Dear you what would really test our love? A trip to Rwanda!"

"We leave tomorrow, so you better get watching this Blu-Ray of Blood Diamond tonight"

"You know how to dig right honey? Don't worry you'll know learn quick enough"

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,142 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

iDave wrote: »
    Slightly off topic but do you still have to ask the dad for permission?

Never did but probably should have. My wife is Argentine. I couldn't speak Spanish at the time and her dad couldn't speak English so language barrier would have been difficult regardless. The wife didn't want me to meet him.

Plus he's in the Argentine military, very passionate man and weeks later I snuck her into Ireland :P

A couple of years later I'm back in Argentina. Our first meet was very very awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Nooooo!

This is one of those "I'm fine" moments.

Never, ever cheap out on the ring, no matter what they tell you.

It'll come back to haunt you.

For the record: I think it's a hideous waste, but expectations and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

give here an onion ring like homer simpson did

Onion Engagement Ring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,205 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Buy a decent engagement ring. Don't cheap out. I'm not saying it's a deliberate trap like others but it is something of significance in the whole debauchery of traditional marriage. Personally, I'd rather her get faux upset because I spent 'too much' on a ring than have it fester in her head for years and come out when she's upset about something else. But that's just my 2 cents.

Christ, isn't marriage an awful load of ****e!

Jaysus Cheryl Cole has a lovely ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭pcardin

snaphook wrote: »

If you're minted then sure spend thousands for a top notch ring, but scrimping or worse getting into debt for a ring just to save face to snobby arseholes is a bad state of affairs.

Amen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

CruelCoin wrote: »
    Nooooo!

For the record: I think it's a hideous waste, but expectations and all that.

OP I'd be the same as your girlfriend. Even a grand seems like a crazy amount of money to spend on a ring. Maybe it would be best to get her to pick it out herself? You don't need a ring to propose.

And nevermind the lady in the shop, she just wants you to spend money and thinks all girls are the same and want a big diamond lump that costs a bomb.

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Buy a decent engagement ring. Don't cheap out. I'm not saying it's a deliberate trap like others but it is something of significance in the whole debauchery of traditional marriage.

It's not traditional it's about 100 years old :confused:

This is wrecking my head now: but what film was it where the guy pretends to the girl that he wants to do a magic trick on he, then ties a line of thread to her finger when she agrees, holds it high and then lets the ring slide down the thread really fast onto her finger and proposes when she sees it?

I don't really like jewellery much I just don't get it I suppose, if I was you I would search our some hippy jewellery maker tell them you have a budget and get some thing unique made for her it might not have diamonds but nobody else in the whole world will have the same one and that make it special. Get some word or daft saying that only the two of ye get engraved on the inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

May seem a bit left field OP but what about trying pawn brokers.
    Your oh may not want a run of the mill ring. Go for something vintage. It may seem more like you put lots of thought into it than just a ring from a regular jewellers. I would say not to break the bank for a ring but if I saw something special that I knew she would love, I would throw an extra few quid at it.
    Also don't bring her to pick it out, surprise her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Do you know if she has a preference for styles of rings OP? If she likes solitaire styles, clusters, trinity rings? I know you said she doesn't wear a lot of jewellery, but if you take a look at any rings that she might have in her jewellery box it might give you an idea. Never mind sales bs about 'engagement' rings. Any ring can be an engagement ring and a ring that she loves with an amethyst stone will be appreciated far more than an overpriced diamond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Ok, I fold under your rolleye stare, Its me, I judge people with [EMAIL="cr@p"]cr@p[/EMAIL] engagement rings.

Funny that. I judge people with crap shallow materialistic fiancés who don't realise that diamonds are essentially worthless.

I judge a person based on their character not their carature

Anyone that needs validation from their friends/ co workers/ and perfectly other good non giving a fcuk strangers instead of their fiancé is not in for a happy marriage.

CruelCoin wrote: »
    Nooooo!

Indeed.. and now we take a short intermission for some funnies: (1, 2, 3).