If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Deer Licences refused due to declining numbers

1235»

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Cheers Cass that clears it up for me .Will you post here if later in the season you see signs up or the farmer is contacted or you see rangers patroling that area.Curious to see what happens there.

I most certainly will.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,322 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Because i send them my address, and my permission to contact me, but they don't give it to you or anyone else.

When you calm down ,did I say I,personally wanted them??
    You wanted a suggestion to deal with this problem,I suggested a hypothetical solution assuming it might be possible to for Irish people with a common intrest to cooperate to their mutual benefit,arranged by the people in charge of liscensing the lots,who would have this information of your address and might consider this a problem that can be solved by mutual cooperation rather than by using a legislative hammer..You l flew off the handle and in good Irish tradition od arguement shot the idea down too while having the gall to say all I do is critizise and dont come up with ideas.

So apart from running off to your many other lets and leaving the other stalkers sitting in the lurch,or just letting the NPWS put a rubber stamp on a place with as you admitted little or no possibility of enforcement,so the problem can multiply ten fold what would be your other solution?

Again dry your eyes. You're well able to dish it out, and when i rebut your stance with the same venom/vigor you get insulted!!!!! As for lowering yourself, please. You#re well able to when it suits.

And will continue to do so ,and there is SFA you can do about it:P.At least I try and address the points levelled at me ,all you do is go to outright animosity with a snarky and condescending tone to anyone,not just me, who might have a different pov and dares to post it .

Just a personal observation.
    Iv' e gone past planet Givatoss because to misquote Del Amitri's song
    "Nothing ever happens,nothing ever happens at all.The needle returns to the start of the song,and we all sing along like before."

We have had this same debate now four seasons running here on boards about poaching/illegal game harvesting, solutions from tags,to liscense fees to whatever else and "why isn't someone doing something?"
    Well, expect to see more of these areas being black listed in the future because this is what will happen as it is an easy solution for the PTB and with the knock on effect giving the AGS an excuse to reduce the amount of CF rifles out there in circulation in the district where there are these blacklisted lets.In this time there hasnt been one concrete positive forward move from shooters,deer organisations, or the PTB to tackle this problem head on. We have had a couple of high profile media cases,basically given to the PTB by the poachers own utter stupidity.For those caught ,how many have not been caught?Untill all four groups start getting together and try to forge a coherent plan to deal with this ,the PTB will take the easiest option open to them and it wont be pretty for those concerned or affected.
    But hey,what would I know??

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    When you calm down ,......

/deep breaths

No, still the same. You criticise and dismiss, off hand, a planned course of action by the Range/NPWS before anything has been attempted, and get all bitchy when the same is done to your "plan". However if you think it'll work try and get the information you need and see what happens. No point telling me, go out and do it. IOW take your own advice and act, not just talk about it.
    what would be your other solution?
    One solution, support the ranger in his efforts to actually do something. I've read all the whinging about how they are office workers only. I'm sorry you all have such bad opinions, but the rangers i know are very active in patrolling and their conviction rate of poachers, etc. is proof off this. Not the FB twats, but actually out there, at night, catching lads in the process.
    And will continue to do so ,and there is SFA you can do about it:P.
    Wouldn't waste my breath trying.
    At least I try and address the points levelled at me ,all you do is go to outright animosity with a snarky and condescending tone to anyone,not just me, who might have a different pov and dares to post it .
    Not anyone, just you. I can have a level headed conversation, while still disagreeing with others as i have done above. Not so with you. You seem to have anger issues with any sort of authority or opposing opinion. An Gardaí, NPWS, TDs/Gov., anything non German/American, etc. Your rants here serve only to harm you, as the site is widely read. However as you said there is SFA i can do to stop you, so have at it.
    We have had this same debate now four seasons running here on boards about poaching/illegal game harvesting, solutions from tags,to liscense fees to whatever else and "why isn't someone doing something?"
    The poaching, commercial shooting, harvesting, etc, etc issues will never be eliminated. It'll be a constant and ongoing course of action. So expect more threads over the years. To believe they can be stamped out is naive. Only combated.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 wicklapaul

staghunter wrote: »
    Rangers do sweet fup all to stop poaching or even curtail it most rangers are more concerned about the deer eating some rare plant species.as for knowing a deer population in an area they haven't a balls notion.a ranger contacted me at the end of the season last year, a farmer had contacted him about a section 42 and he wanted to nominate me as the stalker the ranger was adamant it was fallow deer and insisted there wasn't any red for miles I had some job convincing it was reds and that there's a big population in that area and this guy lives less than ten miles from this area that's some wildlife ranger.also last year came on a stag shot out on open bog most likely lapmed at nite as it's very close to road contacted ranger to come and look at evidence fair play he came out had a look and he was nice enough to offer us the stag for the freezer the bloody thing was there for two days what does that say about rangers.we asked wot he was going to do with carcass he said leave it there was nothing he could do about,yet if I'm not mistaken were supposed to bring gralloch with us when we kill deer.rangers couldn't give a sh1t about deer in my experience.they spend most of the day in an office

I heard that the rangers do give a **** when they are doing there cull on the Wicklow mountains and there is feck all to cull, especially when the money for the culled deer goes directly into there pockets, the even get the helicopter to pick all the deer they culled on the national park with a net and dropped in a nice handy place to load up, it's also giving the lads in the helicopter practice doing mountain rescue, the rangers have to be accompied by the Garda in order to stop any one on the road and the Garda can't be just any old Garda they have to do courses on handling firearms in order to take your firearm off you,
    Now I'm not a 100% on that it's only what I heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Superdaddy

wicklapaul wrote: »
    I heard that the rangers do give a **** when they are doing there cull on the Wicklow mountains and there is feck all to cull, especially when the money for the culled deer goes directly into there pockets, the even get the helicopter to pick all the deer they culled on the national park with a net and dropped in a nice handy place to load up, it's also giving the lads in the helicopter practice doing mountain rescue, the rangers have to be accompied by the Garda in order to stop any one on the road and the Garda can't be just any old Garda they have to do courses on handling firearms in order to take your firearm off you,
    Now I'm not a 100% on that it's only what I heard.

Talk about getting a story arse ways. They count the deer from Aer corp helicopters, set the culled based on that, cull the deer in the National Park only, sell to game dealer, money goes to dept. of finance, not Npws, not Ranger. They work hard to catch poachers and there has not been a season without a conviction in Wicklow. They team up with Gardai to do roadblocks and patrols, this allows them to do more patrols because there's so few of them and stay reasonably safe. They get nothing extra for working nights. They shut down poaching in Wicklow last year, they targeted the commercial poachers and got them. If you poach in Wicklow they know you, when they target you they will catch you. They got 2 gangs already this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Superdaddy wrote: »
    If you poach in Wicklow they know you, when they target you they will catch you. .
    image_zps2e8ef069.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭hiddenmongoose

Superdaddy wrote: »
    They shut down poaching in Wicklow last year, .

are you for real ?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

LOL you're on another planet if you think catching 1 or 2 groups is shutting down poaching in wicklow and the surrounding areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭con___manx1

there are too many deer in wicklow. I have had half a dozen near misses in the car this year the bastards just run straight out in front of you in the early hours of the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

there are too many deer in wicklow. I have had half a dozen near misses in the car this year the bastards just run straight out in front of you in the early hours of the morning.

So you think poachers are a welcome sight to rid Wicklow of the local deer because you've almost hit them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Capercaille

So you think poachers are a welcome sight to rid Wicklow of the local deer because you've almost hit them?

You only have to go to the Glendalough to see how the hybrids are destroying the place. Hardly any regeneration of native woodland.