Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Smidge wrote: »
    A friend (I swear) had it done for their pits. Same as you, no smell just sweat and they said it was the best thing they ever did and couldn't believe they waited so long.
    Was very reasonable too and they only bother doing it once a year.

I tried some sort of specialised deo that has a long name, it's supposed to be applied every 2 or 3 months or something. I used it once and have been golden since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Families. Getting married in 2 weeks my Aunt who hasn't rsvp'd yet rings my mother telling mother to tell me what table Aunt wants to sit at !
    ARRRRGH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I tried some sort of specialised deo that has a long name, it's supposed to be applied every 2 or 3 months or something. I used it once and have been golden since.

Every few months... I assume you use other stuff in between applications!

I think you lot are working too hard. Entertain me for the next 15 mins will you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

smash wrote: »
    I think you lot are working too hard. Entertain me for the next 15 mins will you :pac:

Call Robbie Williams circa 1997, he'll be only too happy to oblige.

I can't. My Delorean is broken :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

MsBubbles wrote: »
    Families. Getting married in 2 weeks my Aunt who hasn't rsvp'd yet rings my mother telling mother to tell me what table Aunt wants to sit at !
    ARRRRGH
    Ahh, congratulations, hope you have a wonderful day:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

I have a sore stomach as does the OH. We have both starved ourselves today but are hungry now.

Proper hungry - not soup hungry...

But we are afraid to eat incase....................... Ya Know.

Trivial Annoyance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Sadderday wrote: »
    I have a sore stomach as does the OH. We have both starved ourselves today but are hungry now.

Trivial Annoyance

No I don't know. :confused:

Why the hell are ye starving yourselves for? :confused:

Sadderday wrote: »

Trivial Annoyance
    I'd say you're terrified to fart :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

SHARTS LADS,

I'm afraid I will be on the loo for the night !!!

Nothing is safe.

48 hour deodorants. What the hell is the idea behind 48 hour deodorants? Do the manufacturers really think that people only wash every 2 days? Most of the mens deodorants are 48 hour ones that leave horrible marks under the arms of my husbands clothes:mad:

*New smaller bottle with twice the power that lasts as long!*

No it doesn't, it sprays the same amount, but there's less in the bottle so it wastes faster!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭NormalBob Ubiquitypants

Going to catch hell for this one- the commentary on the abortion issue and the need for a legal amendment. Really annoying reading all the "Women are treated as incubators" comments by people all over social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭bronn

Well this camels straw has snapped and they are going to pay for years of this sh*t in ways they can't even begin to imagine and I am going to thoroughly enjoy myself destroying the pair of them.
    You've got my sympathies, Pumpkin. Can I just give one teeny bit of advice and feel free to totally ignore it; don't get into the retaliation game. We went through four years of sheer hell with selfish cnut neighbours and a landlord who couldn't care less. He was all promises but did absolutely nothing about his tenants. We tried everything from reasonable talks, letters, local politicians, local council and the guards. Not one of them helped.

The best advice we got during all of it was not to engage in retaliation, even though you are being harassed and provoked in your own home. One of the guards said he'd seen this a few times where scum made life unbearable for neighbours and the neighbours then retaliated. The original harassing scum went and got an anti-social behaviour order AGAINST the poor harassed neighbour. I don't know how true this is but still, we took it on board. In our view, it must've been something extreme because we tried, no, we begged the guards to issue a behaviour warning (a step down from an ASBO) against cnut-face & co, but all to no avail (actually, it was pretty appalling how they treated us, tbh. Lost files, lost statements, no record of complaints or phone calls, missed arranged meetings, never called back after saying they would, and we lost count of how many times we heard "there's nothing we can do"). We then lodged a third party complaint to PRTB and really didn't expect much from it.

When we eventually got a hearing at PRTB, cnut-faces next-door had absolutely nothing on us. Nothing. They couldn't even think of one instance where anything was said or done. The landlord dropped himself right in it a few times and cnut-face's performance was a perfect example of their general cnut-ish behaviour - didn't fool the adjudicator for a second. Because we kept the cool, we won on all grounds and it cost the landlord a four figure sum. A few months after that, the cnut family vacated the premises.

You might not be so lucky if the thugs next to you are home-owners and not tenants. Either way, you have my sincere sympathies. I know just how horrendous it is to live next to these cretins. Even though it's pretty much all quiet now, when we can afford it, we're selling up and getting a detached. I don't care even if it's a smaller house. We could not go through that hell again and I feel so bad for anyone else who is experiencing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭KungPao

Fairly trivial:

Mixer taps that don't really mix the water...they just eject the hot and cold kind of side by side and I can feel hot and cold rather than a middle temperature.

bronn wrote: »
    You've got my sympathies, Pumpkin. Can I just give one teeny bit of advice and feel free to totally ignore it; don't get into the retaliation game. We went through four years of sheer hell with selfish cnut neighbours and a landlord who couldn't care less. He was all promises but did absolutely nothing about his tenants. We tried everything from reasonable talks, letters, local politicians, local council and the guards. Not one of them helped.

The best advice we got during all of it was not to engage in retaliation, even though you are being harassed and provoked in your own home. One of the guards said he'd seen this a few times where scum made life unbearable for neighbours and the neighbours then retaliated. The original harassing scum went and got an anti-social behaviour order AGAINST the poor harassed neighbour. I don't know how true this is but still, we took it on board. In our view, it must've been something extreme because we tried, no, we begged the guards to issue a behaviour warning (a step down from an ASBO) against cnut-face & co, but all to no avail (actually, it was pretty appalling how they treated us, tbh. Lost files, lost statements, no record of complaints or phone calls, missed arranged meetings, never called back after saying they would, and we lost count of how many times we heard "there's nothing we can do"). We then lodged a third party complaint to PRTB and really didn't expect much from it.

When we eventually got a hearing at PRTB, cnut-faces next-door had absolutely nothing on us. Nothing. They couldn't even think of one instance where anything was said or done. The landlord dropped himself right in it a few times and cnut-face's performance was a perfect example of their general cnut-ish behaviour - didn't fool the adjudicator for a second. Because we kept the cool, we won on all grounds and it cost the landlord a four figure sum. A few months after that, the cnut family vacated the premises.

You might not be so lucky if the thugs next to you are home-owners and not tenants. Either way, you have my sincere sympathies. I know just how horrendous it is to live next to these cretins. Even though it's pretty much all quiet now, when we can afford it, we're selling up and getting a detached. I don't care even if it's a smaller house. We could not go through that hell again and I feel so bad for anyone else who is experiencing it.

I've been through all the agencies that you did and have had 7 years of this sh*t. Being a decent human being hasn't worked. Now I'm going to do whatever it takes, within the law, to put a stop to it. There is no reasoning with these people, none at all. Things had settled for a good while but I can see it steadily sliding back to the bad old days. He owns the house so nothing we can do regards landlords.

I'm going to embrace my inner juvenile cnut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

KungPao wrote: »
    Fairly trivial:

Mixer taps that don't really mix the water...they just eject the hot and cold kind of side by side and I can feel hot and cold rather than a middle temperature.
    That's right. Just man - up and wash yourself mate and ignore the fact that it's freezing or scalding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭bronn

I've been through all the agencies that you did and have had 7 years of this sh*t. Being a decent human being hasn't worked. Now I'm going to do whatever it takes, within the law, to put a stop to it. There is no reasoning with these people, none at all. Things had settled for a good while but I can see it steadily sliding back to the bad old days. He owns the house so nothing we can do regards landlords.

In that case - have at it and enjoy unleashing the juvenile cnut. :pac: One particular thing I SO wanted to do was to record the fcukers having one of their smash-everything-in-sight rows and play it back to them, all weekend, at full volume, while we headed away for a nice, quiet weekend elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Can whatever is going on here be documented in a thread of it's own?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Cormac... wrote: »

Not yet, I'm still a few pages behind, savouring each and every trivial annoyance :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

It'll wreck my head if I'm following too many threads :(

why should she put it in thread of its own?? Its something trivial thats annoying her and shes here discussing it.

Or did I miss the bit where it said, you can only say whats bothering you in one paragraph or sentence and leave it at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Jake1 wrote: »
    why should she put it in thread of its own?? Its something trivial thats annoying her and shes here discussing it.

Or did I miss the bit where it said, you can only say whats bothering you in one paragraph or sentence and leave it at that

Kind of seems more than "trivial"..... sounds like it may involve some sort of vigilante justice, sweet justice

Kind of seems less than trivial..... sounds like it may involve some sort of vigilante justice, sweet justice

so you really think she is about to go all bloodbath with her neighbours? Nah, its called ranting.
    People do it all the time, but dont actually act on it. Lets off some steam.
    I doubt we'll be seeing Pumpkin in the news :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Would it be unreasonable to call in sick because you're allergic to morons? :pac:

I guarantee you that's the sole reason anyone who works with the public in any great capacity calls in sick, 99% of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

No it doesn't, it sprays the same amount, but there's less in the bottle so it wastes faster!!!!!

+1 smash. they contain about a quarter of the ammount of the normal sized bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

MsBubbles wrote: »
    +1 smash. they contain about a quarter of the ammount of the normal sized bottle.

And are nearly twice the price in Dunnes! Simple because they're "eco"... ask me bollox!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

I thought there was the same amount in the bottle because it was just compressed more so the same amount fitted in less space?* :confused:

I am not a physicist so this could be very wrong :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

I thought there was the same amount in the bottle because it was just compressed more so the same amount fitted in less space?* :confused:

I am not a physicist so this could be very wrong :P

No that's what they tell you!!

In actual fact they use smaller bottles, charge you the same price and make all the profit while laughing at the stupidity of all the fcukers who actually fall for it.