Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Oh it's a horrible illness to have, my mom was coeliac, and obviously it's a real illness but God I remember when there was none of this gluten free bread and gluten free stuff around. Now there's so much gluten free stuff (which is good) and idiots who claim theyre intolerant to gluten. My old manager was like this, she'd be telling everyone about her intolerance. Then she got tested for being coeliac, as did her son as "he was very like her, and he probably is too". Both of them came back clear from it but it didn't stop her. It's pains in the faces like that that make people take allergies less serious. "I'm allergic to nuts". Are ya? So you'll die if you eat them? "No I just don't like them". Simpletons

A lady came to the stall last week, (I sell gourmet preserves..) asked if the jam was gluten free... I kept a straight face and said yes all jam is gluten free, just fruit and sugar.. ah she said, but it might be contaminated... NOT IN MY KITCHEN I said. Then she told me she is not very good with sugar....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,611 ✭✭✭valoren

Food Labels.

"Calories per serving"

"1/4 of this pack contains xyz calories"

Just tell us what the whole thing contains.
    I'm too lazy to do the mental arithmetic :(

I'm tired and I can't warm up. I've had a mug of coffee and the central heating is on but I'm still freezing.:(

Only place I am really warm is in the car or abed with 2 hwbs and maybe a cat....Cannot afford the central heating and was too tired when I got home to light the fire and the cat peed in the coal anyways because the feral was at the open door and he was scared to go out... ah here comes a cat so soon I must go down and fill a second hot water bottle

The car is bliss though... utter luxury

I am usually a horrid fussy bitch when it comes to lunches and stuff but for ages I was saying I really want ceviche and polenta for lunch, and of course I look up the menu of the place I got it before, and THEY DONT EVEN DO CEVICHE anymore :(:(:( I brought nice clothes and shoes and all to change into. I was real looking forward to it and all.

Never heard of those things... :confused:

73Cat wrote: »
    Trivially annoying that I can't get all my shopping in one supermarket. It takes the guts of a morning, to go between 3 shops, I was made for better things than this :(. Also watching the price of a regular product I buy steadily going up. Then the unpacking of it all when I get home , the final insult.

Ah I love my shopping trips to Killarney and LIDL, Dunnes and Tesco in that order. I lived for many years on a small island with no supermarkets and before that was housebound many years so love shopping now.. resonate with the unpacking though! MY kitchen still look like a bomb hit it but was too exhausted to do any more..

McChubbin wrote: »
    TA: I've been sent to M&S to stock up on their lovely potato croquettes. We have about 6 packs of the things in the freezer and I told my mother under NO circumstances to open any packs as I'm NOT going back into the shagging shop for love or money.
    Sunday comes. Guess what she serves with the roast? Potato croquettes.
    I ended up having to dash into town today to buy more to replenish the Xmas Day stockade. :mad: Mammy, I love you but Jaysus, you do test my patience!

Had words with the man in Dunnes today.... I used to buy the small cottage pies every week. They were 4 for E1.99 and one with a half tin of peas was a good meal for me. Microwaved...with cheese on top... A few weeks ago they vanished, then today reappeared made by a different firm but identical at E1.79 for TWO.. as i told the man NO WAY. Not worth it. Apparently a lot of other customers have complained..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

valoren wrote: »
    Food Labels.

"Calories per serving"

Cadbury's used to advertise their chocolate as having "A glass and a a half in every half pound"

So that would be three glasses to the pound then, end of......whatever the fcuk is in a "glass" though?

No sympathy.. wait until you wake up and you are SEVENTY! I did the arithmetic Several times and went into shock.. 40 is NOTHING! Still in shock 18 months later but the extra money from the govt helped;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Graces7 wrote: »
    Never heard of those things... :confused:

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ceviche

Ceviche is fish that's not cooked but they use acid/citrus to make it safe.
    It's gorgeous.

And polenta is made from grains and is Italian
    http://www.lifeinitaly.com/food/polenta.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Went to collect the thing that I got the 'sorry we missed you' note for, hoping it was something nice that I have ordered.

Just a registered letter. All that trivial annoyance for that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭tampopo

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Went to collect the thing that I got the 'sorry we missed you' note for, hoping it was something nice that I have ordered.

Just a registered letter. All that trivial annoyance for that. :D

they say "letter" and "registered" on them. Unless it was filled out incorrectly...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

So I ordered one of one shoe hanging things for the back of the door online. Giant box arrived, I'm thinking what the hell did I order?

Opened it to find 6 of the things in there! Double checked my order, only paid for 1. What the hell am I gonna do with 5 of the things now?
    Sure, I'd gladly take one off yer hands! :D

TA: I discovered Tiger Balm (or at least, the Tiger Store rip off China Salve) and have been vigorously rubbing it into my poor collarbone when the pain flairs up. So far, so good but the pain is still there. I just want one day pain-free which doesn't involve scarfing down paracetemol like Smarties and enduring bus rides spent in quiet agony. :(
    I'm also due to give out copies of an anthology of short-form fiction and prose at a book reading tomorrow night. I'm published in it in the form of a two-page prose poem piece and I'm utterly terrified at how it will be received by my family. So far, my writing course classmates have lauded the piece and I got good reviews from my tutor but my family haven't read it and though I know I need to get over my adversion to them reading my work, I'm still very nervous.
    It's nothing scandalous- just a piece I wrote about a bad night I was having whilst depressed and unable to sleep- but I'm still mortified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

valoren wrote: »
    Food Labels.

"Calories per serving"

Yeah, they're very sneaky. I ate a pack of Mr Pumpkinseeds toffee popcorn, having glanced at the label that said 'only 109 calories per' in small print was per quarter pack:eek:

So I ordered one of one shoe hanging things for the back of the door online. Giant box arrived, I'm thinking what the hell did I order?

Opened it to find 6 of the things in there! Double checked my order, only paid for 1. What the hell am I gonna do with 5 of the things now?

Your Christmas shopping sorted! Just kidding!
    Sorry, I'm just picturing opening the box and finding SIX of them, instead of one :D!

I'm also due to give out copies of an anthology of short-form fiction and prose at a book reading tomorrow night. I'm published in it in the form of a two-page prose poem piece and I'm utterly terrified at how it will be received by my family. So far, my writing course classmates have lauded the piece and I got good reviews from my tutor but my family haven't read it and though I know I need to get over my adversion to them reading my work, I'm still very nervous.
    It's nothing scandalous- just a piece I wrote about a bad night I was having whilst depressed and unable to sleep- but I'm still mortified.

Well done on writing it, and best of luck tomorrow night.

Trivially annoying that I think I'm broken. Was playing candy crush on my phone on the train. This little kid sat on the table next to me and asked me what I was doing and if she could play. I let her, and what's more, I thought she was cute. That has literally never happened before, that I liked kids talking to me. Someone change my battery's quick

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Cadbury's used to advertise their chocolate as having "A glass and a a half in every half pound"

So that would be three glasses to the pound then, end of......whatever the fcuk is in a "glass" though?

My granny used to work for Cadbury's and I have it on excellent authority that not once in the near 20+ years she worked there did she ever see a milk truck come or go from the factory.
    She also worked for Tayto and tells me that Tayto and King crisps are the same things just put in different bags. D:

TA: I want beer but it's too cold out to trek to the shops and get some. I'm too comfortable right now. :(

EDIT: Cheers, LynnGrace for the kind words! :)

Trivially annoying that I think I'm broken. Was playing candy crush on my phone on the train. This little kid sat on the table next to me and asked me what I was doing and if she could play. I let her, and what's more, I thought she was cute. That has literally never happened before, that I liked kids talking to me. Someone change my battery's quick

''Tick Tock ,Tick Tock'', thats the sound of your maternal clock,...

or some other such bollox.

Next time slap the piss outta the kid, and these feelings will not reppear :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭danrua01

TA: football on TV, or rather the ad breaks. How it goes for, 7:45 kick off:

7:30 coverage starts
    7:35 ad break, 'we'll be back with the match after this'
    7:42 'team a are ready to take on team b...AFTER THIS AD BREAK'

GODDAMNIT ENOUGH. maybe I wanna watch the players shake each other's hands and get some pics taken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,156 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Reminds me of people who speak alittle Spanish and insist on using Spanish pronunciation off things even when speaking in English, like calling Seville "Seviya". People with French or German never do this
    Just watching Darina Allen as she cooks with chorizo, which she insists on lisping (incorrectly as it happens). It's boiling my pi$$ listening to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

Mortgage company,

3 times since July last year I rang them to lower the term and up the repayment, First time was "Yes Sir no problem, will be done for the next months repayment, if not then the following month and thank you, Rang in November last year, Oh yes Sir it's on the computer here, should have been in effect in August (2013), Sooo sorry about that, that will come into effect in January, as there's not enough time for Decembers payment, cool enough, says I. So Sorry again she says..........Rang in August this year to see what/why etc, We are so sorry that hasn't been done, when did you inform us? August A YEAR AGO, oh yes, it's here, that will be done for next months payment, sorry. Guess what????? still hasn't happened. I'm on a tracker, interest is way down, Banks hate trackers, I'm offering to pay it back quicker, what's the problem I wonder?? not ringing again.

My inability to manage money. I got paid today. I have 92 euro left. I bought a rake of junk. Nothing at all useful.

Also - not annoyed about it but if anyone's looking for Christmas decorations/lights then woodies have a massive sale on. 70% off tree decorations, some lights are 50% off but most are 20%, and then different stuff is between 30 - 70 %. I got loads of lights for inside, I got snow storm ones for outside, baubles, 6 of those candle arch things, garland for front door and random stuff, I spent about 160 and saved about 185. Happy days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

As I read that I was actually pulling away from my phone the way I do when a child comes near me.
    My granny used to work for Cadbury's and I have it on excellent authority that not once in the near 20+ years she worked there did she ever see a milk truck come or go from the factory.
    She also worked for Tayto and tells me that Tayto and King crisps are the same things just put in different bags. D:

TA: I want beer but it's too cold out to trek to the shops and get some. I'm too comfortable right now. :(

EDIT: Cheers, LynnGrace for the kind words! :)

My granny worked for Jacobs for years. There was always biscuits in the house. It was great :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I share a role at work with one other girl who has been working here 2 months. I have been there 2 years. She's lovely but very nervous and has no confidence which are essential to our role.

She requested 5 days off over the Christmas period, more than any other staff member at our workplace. I haven't requested a single day.

We just got our roster for up until New Years Eve and not only was she granted all her precious time off, but she got twice the amount of hours I got.

It wasn't an intentional thing, I'm pretty sure my manager is trying to do me a favour because I haven't had a night off since June but I really need the money.

I am now going to be poor for Christmas. FML.

Saw that programme starting and all I could think was I paid the tv license this week. Can I get the money back! :mad:

Trivially annoyed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Zemuppet

Also - not annoyed about it but if anyone's looking for Christmas decorations/lights then woodies have a massive sale on. 70% off tree decorations, some lights are 50% off but most are 20%, and then different stuff is between 30 - 70 %. I got loads of lights for inside, I got snow storm ones for outside, baubles, 6 of those candle arch things, garland for front door and random stuff, I spent about 160 and saved about 185. Happy days

My mother would go mental if she found out there was a sale on christmas decorations. She loves buying 'christmas junk' as she calls it. Great thing in getting xmas pressies for her is that she loves Newbridge xmas decorations.

BTW this tread is getting more happier. More trival anger people!!

As I read that I was actually pulling away from my phone the way I do when a child comes near me.

My granny worked for Jacobs for years. There was always biscuits in the house. It was great :D
    Sure me granny used to be the belle of Christmas when she'd gift the grandkids massive slabs of Cadbury's chocolate the size of keyboards! Ahh, good times. Not good for t'waistline but still... :D

Simpletons who drive at 2 miles an hour because there was a bit of frost on their car that morning.

Simpletons who decide rush hour is the best time to drag an empty trailer behind their jeep on a busy road, driving so slow that everyone is going at 47km ph in a 100 zone.

Strangers who make ridiculous small talk on public transport early in the morning. I had to sit opposite an old man on the train this morning and he asked me where I was going "painted up like a porcelain doll at this time of the morning".

And I am annoyed most about the fact I lacked the ladyballs to tell him to go **** himself. Instead I gave him a civil answer and thus encouraged him to keep talking.

It's going to be one of those days