Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

My poor head isn't smoothie the next day after them though! That'd another trivial annoyance! A lady I had in work one day told me about her Italian boyfriend and how that when he's back in Italy they can drink lots of wine that doesn't give hangovers but still gets you drunk. I need this in my life

She's probably drinking Shloer :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

gugleguy wrote: »
    I can’t wait until smellovision is introduced on boards. ;)

Do you like the smell of shame lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Zadok wrote: »
    Plugging your mobile in to charge only to realise a few hours later that you hadn't turned the socket on at the wall.
    if you live near a pub and it's a good pub and they're friendly with ya, they can charge your phone. ...provided it's not a crazy@p phone ofcourse.

Also putting up with jealous jerks. I was meeting a guy for a bit earlier on in the year while me and the OH were on a break. He was a bit clingy but we got on well at the time. Since I moved out of the house I lived in before I haven't really heart from him, until this evening he text. The conversation went something like just asking what I was up to, where was I living now. I explain I'm back with himself, living with him and happy out. After a bit of to-ing and fro-ing, he said "I'd suggest getting a nice lamp for the house, it must be a very cold and dark place with your heart". What the actual ****?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Getting your car insurance quote and it's after going up by 50 Euro. wtf?
    now I have to ring around for other quotes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Sneezing. I've been sneezing a lot for the past 3 hours. It's probably because of the tree pollen. My nose is raw already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Also putting up with jealous jerks. I was meeting a guy for a bit earlier on in the year while me and the OH were on a break. He was a bit clingy but we got on well at the time. Since I moved out of the house I lived in before I haven't really heart from him, until this evening he text. The conversation went something like just asking what I was up to, where was I living now. I explain I'm back with himself, living with him and happy out. After a bit of to-ing and fro-ing, he said "I'd suggest getting a nice lamp for the house, it must be a very cold and dark place with your heart". What the actual ****?!

I think he read that on George Takei's facebook page.

Who's he?? Makes sense he wouldn't be smart enough to say it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Who's he?? Makes sense he wouldn't be smart enough to say it

Star trek!

You should text him back:

Yeah, but within my pants its warm and welcoming and my other half loves coming home to it

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Jake1 wrote: »
    You should text him back:

Yeah, but within my pants its warm and welcoming and my other half loves coming home to it

tell him he has weird looking testicles. That will f*ck his head up for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,962 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Having to wait another year till Electric Picnic again. :(

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

The fact that I haven't made it to any Electric Picnic yet :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

I know :( I'm still so sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Uneven things under my feet - I can't stand wrinkled up socks, they have to be flattened down. Same with a rug under me. Dunno how anyone is ok with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

There's a guy in the area that I see almost every day at the same time. Every time he walks past me he glares at my chest. He's so obvious about it, and even slows down to get a better look.

It's starting to really bug me and I've been wearing big heavy jumpers even when it's warm out. He still has a good gawk. I don't even have big boobs and I'm not attractive, so stop feckin staring at me!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

You buy trousers, they fit perfectly. 3 wears later they become baggy :mad::mad:

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

czechlin wrote: »
    The fact that I haven't made it to any Electric Picnic yet :(

You haven't experienced EP until you are onstage and have access to the artist area. I managed to get that one year as I was the 'driver' for a friends band. It gave me access to the stage that they performed on, so I could stand on the side of the stage and watch whoever was playing.

My more than trivial annoyance of that weekend was that I couldn't take full advantage as a mate was out of control and I was tasked with looking after him. One of my idols in music was playing on the stage I had access to but missed it because I was busy trying to get my mate to stop showing people the inside of his bum hole.

My annoyance today is that I'm struggling to walk properly, played a match last night and my ankles got booted about 10 times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

czechlin wrote: »
    You buy trousers, they fit perfectly. 3 wears later they become baggy :mad::mad:

Mine tend to go the opposite way - they fit fine in the dressing room, but when I take them out of the wardrobe to wear them a week later, I'm left wondering are these mine, or the young lads? :confused:

(we share a wardrobe, as my wife has all the rest of them taken up!)

A recent bout of food poisoning though seems to have worked wonders for my waistline, the bright side I suppose, because it sure as hell isn't a weight loss method I'd recommend to a friend :pac:

Not trivial but, I did my j1 in 2009, in California. I met this girl called Tara and, while I don't like very many people especially straight away, there was something about this girl. She was stunning, but she was so nice and a lot of fun. She was a couple of months, four months to be exact, older than me but summer 2009 - 4 months meant that she had ID for drinking and I didn't. She was my only American friend and she kept me in booze for the summer. I have lots of fun memories with her and we kept in touch on Facebook although that kind of dwindled out as the years passed.

Two weeks ago, at the end of August she was married. He's gorgeous, she's gorgeous, you'd hate the both of them if she wasn't so lovely. Last week, a week after her wedding, I noticed a pic of her in a hospital gown and a needle in her arm popped up on my Facebook, followed by loads of people writing to her telling her they wished her the best and that she was in people's thoughts and to give this her "mightiest fight" and that with positive thoughts shed get through it.

I thought maybe she had miscarriage or something, in all the photos that she was being tagged in, mostly wedding photos, she looked so healthy and happy and good that it didn't even cross my mind there could be something terrible with her.

So, I log onto Facebook this morning and I see they've set up a fundraising page for her, along with an explanation that she's about to undergo chemotherapy for a rare aggressive form of cervical cancer which has spread to her liver.
    She's literally just turned 26. She's just married and she should be about to start her new life with her dog and her husband, but instead she's about to face into such a horrible journey and I feel so sad for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Not trivial but, I did my j1 in 2009, in California. I met this girl called Tara and, while I don't like very many people especially straight away, there was something about this girl. She was stunning, but she was so nice and a lot of fun. She was a couple of months, four months to be exact, older than me but summer 2009 - 4 months meant that she had ID for drinking and I didn't. She was my only American friend and she kept me in booze for the summer. I have lots of fun memories with her and we kept in touch on Facebook although that kind of dwindled out as the years passed.

Two weeks ago, at the end of August she was married. He's gorgeous, she's gorgeous, you'd hate the both of them if she wasn't so lovely. Last week, a week after her wedding, I noticed a pic of her in a hospital gown and a needle in her arm popped up on my Facebook, followed by loads of people writing to her telling her they wished her the best and that she was in people's thoughts and to give this her "mightiest fight" and that with positive thoughts shed get through it.

I thought maybe she had miscarriage or something, in all the photos that she was being tagged in, mostly wedding photos, she looked so healthy and happy and good that it didn't even cross my mind there could be something terrible with her.

So, I log onto Facebook this morning and I see they've set up a fundraising page for her, along with an explanation that she's about to undergo chemotherapy for a rare aggressive form of cervical cancer which has spread to her liver.
    She's literally just turned 26. She's just married and she should be about to start her new life with her dog and her husband, but instead she's about to face into such a horrible journey and I feel so sad for her.

This happened to an old school friend of my girlfriend last year. Mid 20s, just got married, just out of college with her masters, the whole world at her feet. She was diagnosed with cancer and died within a matter of weeks. It's the most horrible and tragic thing, I hope your friend pulls through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Not trivial but...

Ah the poor creature. That's awful! I wish her and hers the best of luck.

Apple are at it again with this Watch bollixology. The whole world has apparently gone bananas for a stupid-looking watch that costs about three hundred quid, is too small to use, too big to be elegant, needs to talk to the telephone in order to make sense of its little world and probably needs charging every five minutes. If anyone can explain to me why I need to replace my fifteen-year-old Citizen, which tells the time perfectly at-a-glance, is a good deal smaller, lighter and more elegant, and runs for about eighteen months on a coin-cell costing about a dollar, then I am a pimple on the arse-cheek of the Marquess of Queensbury's auntie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

jimgoose wrote: »
    Apple are at it again with this Watch bollixology. The whole world has apparently gone bananas for a stupid-looking watch that costs about three hundred quid, is too small to use, too big to be elegant, needs to talk to the telephone in order to make sense of its little world and probably needs charging every five minutes. If anyone can explain to me why I need to replace my fifteen-year-old Citizen, which tells the time perfectly at-a-glance, is a good deal smaller, lighter and more elegant, and runs for about eighteen months on a coin-cell costing about a dollar, then I am a pimple on the arse-cheek of the Marquess of Queensbury's auntie.

I have an idea for a bicycle that will tell the time, takes photos and you can make calls on it, also stores music. Initial indications put the selling price at about 28,000 euro + VAT, I can be reached at www.wankbike.ie

NOTE: One or two things to be ironed out, due to weight and balance ratio, it is not possible to cycle it anywhere.

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    I have an idea for a bicycle that will tell the time, takes photos and you can make calls on it, also stores music. Initial indications put the selling price at about 28,000 euro + VAT, I can be reached at www.wankbike.ie

NOTE: One or two things to be ironed out, due to weight and balance ratio, it is not possible to cycle it anywhere.

It's been done. A Honda ST1300 with a Bluetooth phone yoke will cover the above! :D

Having to apologise to the nurse for having hairy legs because its too short to wax and if I shave it it'll be too short to wax next week in time for holidays so its that awkward moment you're walking around like an unkempt cretin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

Having to apologise to the nurse for having hairy legs because its too short to wax and if I shave it it'll be too short to wax next week in time for holidays so its that awkward moment you're walking around like an unkempt cretin

YUP !, like getting a breast check in July when pools of sweat gather under, over and almost in the titttttys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

mauzo! wrote: »

It's starting to really bug me and I've been wearing big heavy jumpers even when it's warm out. He still has a good gawk. I don't even have big boobs and I'm not attractive, so stop feckin staring at me!!!!
    My husband said "ah what's the big deal, it's just underwear?", he fails to realise that all of my underwear is expensive enough because I have big boobies and Penneys stuff just doesn't cut it, in that wash alone 2 bras were ruined, €40 each, and a few pairs of pants, probably around €50 worth. RAGE!!
    Sadderday wrote: »
    YUP !, like getting a breast check in July when pools of sweat gather under, over and almost in the titttttys.

Girls, I'm trying to work here :pac:

Sadderday wrote: »

Take it hawndy noy, Jane of the Jungle. Just rip off a piece of your loincloth and give them pupsters a wipe! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

jimgoose wrote: »
    Take it hawndy noy, Jane of the Jungle. Just rip off a piece of your loincloth and give them pupsters a wipe! :D

I prefer if the doc puts the gloves on anyway.... she could have being touching someones infected toe before I got there