Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michaella, Peru and the Drugs Run. RTÉ One, Monday 7 July, 9.35pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I'd love to see Melissa Reid's family's reaction to the programme. I'd say they'd be less than impressed.

OH THE BRITISH GIRL......THE BOLD BRITISH GIRL......

• Registered Users Posts: 81,516 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Should have had a family member or friend of Melissa on to tell her side of the story.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

keith16 wrote: »

both are from the uk.....

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Crap programme, showed no insight into it at all, so biassed too as if the drugs just fell into her suitcase, poor michealla shur she didnt do a bit
    Agreed,

You could be forgiven for thinking that Michaela was an aid worker and a victim of some grave mis-justice :rolleyes:

What a waste of licence payers money :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,648 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

keith16 wrote: »

The bold strap of a British girl.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Lapin wrote: »

A clip from the film played on radio over the weekend seemed to suggest that there is an attempt to elicit sympathy for the two young women......

The sympathy seemed to be more targeted towards her mother and sister.

Fair enough I suppose. You'd have to feel sorry for them, the foolish actions of Michaella isn't their fault.

So what next? Are RTÉ going to interview the families of Irish prisoners serving time in Ireland?

Because as I see it, the only difference between Michaella McCallum and those slumming it in The Joy is 6000 miles.

Tonights film was merely a recap of what we already knew intersped with Mummy and Sister's recollection of events.

Nothing to see here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Kettleson

Yer wan drank half yer mans bottle of drink... nice.

• Site Banned Posts: 36 Starmixed

Melissa is from Scotland and is Scottish. Scotland is in GB and the UK.

Michaela is from Monaghan but lived in Tyrone. Tyrone is in NI. NI is in the UK big not GB.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

srm23 wrote: »
    you should be given 6 years in Peruvian jail for stupidity

Bit harsh imo :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭NightOfTheHunt

Kettleson wrote: »
    Yer wan drank half yer mans bottle of drink... nice.

Yes, the warning signs were there from the beginning it would seem.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

spear_mint wrote: »
    folk in northern ireland use the term " mummy and daddy " all the time , i know women in their thirties ( who are married to friends of mine ) from belfast who do , educated women

Is it only uneducated women in the south who use the term mummy/mammy and daddy?:confused:I didn't realise your educational level had an impact on what you call your parents. What do really, really uneducated people call their parents?

amdublin wrote: »
    Silly silly girls :mad:

Windorah wrote: »
    Am I the only one who feels a wee but sorry for them?! More so for the families mind...

I must be going soft!

Very silly girls, but I do feel sorry for them, especially the families. The only thing is I can imagine Michaella coming out of this, and as another poster said, trying to glean celeb status from her experience.
    MrsD007 wrote: »
    Agreed,

What a waste of licence payers money :mad:

I would actually rather see the license fee going towards this than some of the sh1te and salaries it is spent on!:P

Its just unfortunate the whole program was so bias, it seemed like the family set out the angle they wanted RTE to take with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭DainBramage

yes not sure what this programme was trying to tell us. If it was an attempt to find sympathy for Michaela -and RTE certainly pick and choose those they want us to be sympathetic to- it didn't work.

They are convicted drug smugglers and proven liars who have admitted their guilt. It is not as if they are being detained for nothing. The interviews with Peruvian authorities didn't offer any new evidence or insight, just went over the known facts of the case.

the doc didn't give two ****s about Melissa Reid- indeed tried to portray her as the ringleader of the two idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,331 ✭✭✭✭ted1

The dark haired drug smuggler has an Irish passport

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Producers should have slipped some drugs in mom and sis' suitcases during that trip.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I also felt they were trying to paint Michaella in a different light to Melissa.
    The sister comes across as thick as pigshoite. "I didn't even know where Lima/Peru was!"
    Purlease..how dumb can you get or do they not teach Geography in NI schools?

This whole ""let's get her home asap"" annoys the feck outta me.
    NO!
    Why should be granted the "luxury" of returning home to finish her sentence?
    Let her do her whole sentence in Peru.

Letting her back here to do her sentence will make her feel entitled.
    I get that the family are suffering but are they all as naive and stupid as Michaella?

Your parents always want to believe their children are as good as gold but I tell you something; if that was my mother being interviewed and it was me in jail, my mother would say "She was in the wrong. Absolutely in the wrong".

Why are Michaella's family burying their heads in the sand that their daughter/sister is some poor gullible girl?
    Buncha fools!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,105 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Another TV3 style programme shown on RTE. The dumbing down of RTE continues. There was no public service purpose behind this programme.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Starmixed wrote: »
    Melissa is from Scotland and is Scottish. Scotland is in GB and the UK.

Michaela is from Monaghan but lived in Tyrone. Tyrone is in NI. NI is in the UK big not GB.

Right. So they're both from the UK (where does this guy get off??)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,804 ✭✭✭take everything

spear_mint wrote: »
    coming clean to police does nothing for anyone , police like quick and easy convictions , you dont put your head in a noose for them

Jaysus.

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭Cris Jones

Their little princess can do no wrong.

This is exactly why she thought she could go to Ibiza in the first place and lounge about, thinking she was a model and acting like an escort, instead of doing a proper job, and then, no time after she was even in Ibiza doing nothing, she was away to S. America with not a care about her mum then! Because it was all part of the story that didn't work for them, that they were kidnapped! The family think she can do no wrong because none of them knows right from wrong. Everything she has done and they aren't even cross with her? Their attitude explains M.'s actions, if you ask me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Cris Jones wrote: »
    This is exactly why she thought she could go to Ibiza in the first place and lounge about, thinking she was a model and acting like an escort, instead of doing a proper job, and then, no time after she was even in Ibiza doing nothing, she was away to S. America with not a care about her mum then! Because it was all part of the story that didn't work for them, that they were kidnapped! The family think she can do no wrong because none of them knows right from wrong. Everything she has done and they aren't even cross with her? Their attitude explains M.'s actions, if you ask me.

Absolutely agree. My mother has always assumed, whenever any mud has been flying, that I was the one in the wrong. It's having parents that always assume their little one is the victim that leads to mistakes like this one. My mother would have been on the telly tonight basically telling the country what a stupid prick i've been. She would have certainly judged me

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

fussyonion wrote: »
    Why are Michaella's family burying their heads in the sand that their daughter/sister is some poor gullible girl?
    Buncha fools!
    If When she messes up again, she'll be used as an example why no-one will be allowed to leave the hell-hole early in future!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

Her first mistake was smuggling the drugs in a Quaker Oats packet. It's not as if Quaker Oats aren't plentiful in Europe. She should've put them in some Peruvian dried noodles or something like that......

It was incredibly stupid, You may be sure while those girls got caught, More people got through with lots of it..

# Interestingly enough I just read earlier how George W Bush's phone number was in Barry Seal's pocket when he got whacked.. Barry Seal was probably the biggest Coke smuggler of all time..

• Registered Users Posts: 16,355 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

They got off easy, looks like they could get out in less than 3 years.

I've no doubt her mother feels terrible leaving her behind but showing them all teary for the cameras at the end looked like it was aimed to get back some sympathy form the public when she was shown to be a liar.

She should consider herself lucky she wasn't caught trying to smuggle drugs out of Thailand...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭wrt40

Cue the home coming Late Late special and the "I bet you missed your Mammy's cooking" comments from Tubs while he hands over a hamper of Tayto crisps, Club orange and Barry's tea. (even though it should be Walkers and Tetley).

Get these crooks off the telly and out of the news.

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭sibersha

Did RTE fund the mother and sisters visit of a convicted drug trafficker?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

sibersha wrote: »

Looks like The Licence fee being well spent....

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭TheBlock

sibersha wrote: »

No. Paid for by themselves. The Family recieved no funding from RTÉ. This was an independently produced programme by Below the Radar comissioned by RTÉ.

As far as spending License Fee Money on this type of programme it appears that judging by the viewing figure there is an appetite for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭deanswift

I have a mental image of the 700 female prisoners walking around with their hair up in buns!

lol

• Registered Users Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

Lapin wrote: »
    "Where's Peru ?"

They didn't grow up on Paddington Bear stories anyway.

Now that you bring him up...arrives in London from Peru with nothing but a suitcase, claims to be from Peru but has a English accent...dodgy as f*ck that lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭popolive

Last June, she had travelled to the Mediterranean island on her own, hoping to become a dancer in a high class club. Instead, she drifted between jobs and boyfriends. By late July she had no job and no money. It was at this time that she became involved with an international drugs dealer looking for two young women for a so-called 'coke run'.

So she was a lap dancer or what ? Does anyone know the name of the ''dancing club'' she allegedly worked in ? Why does the club have to be ''high class'' ? It sounds like a seedy euphemism to me. ''High class'' and Ibiza are not words I would automatically associate together.
    Looks like The Licence fee being well spent....

RTE, the same fine bunch of lads who wanted to erect a statue costing 70,000 Euro of Gerry Ryan the obese drug addict and complete polar opposite of a decent role model for anyone in public life. I have heard almost nothing redeeming about Gerry Ryan, so any form of memorial which elevates him above others is wrong. We already know the RTE attitude towards drugs and drug dealing. They deal in selective morality. A donation from RTE towards a charity which helps the kids of drug addicts would be more appropriate.