Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I want to buy an Owl

I want a bird of prey I can train to snatch money out of peoples hands. It would be great to set it free a few times around beer gardens. You can imagine the look on peoples faces as they are about to hand over a 50 to pay for a round and in a woosh of feathers it was just gone. Followed by that look from the customer showing he is thinking "How can I now get away without paying for this roung" and the waiter thinking "Ok as weird as that was - you are still paying for this round".
    I'd also like a wolf if I didn't have to walk it

I have one actually - and not walking it is an option I would not advise anyone take who also has one. It - does not go well for anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Red panda for the win!

They're also known as 'red cat-bears'.. cat-bears!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I want a bird of prey I can train to snatch money out of peoples hands. .

I believe they are called ex-wives:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    The Pussycat Times

Small Ads:

One Owl, house trained. Good maritime navigational skills. Free to nice home.

Also, slightly battered boat. Pea green in colour.

Can't get much cheeper than that.

I hear they're big on having plenty of honey though?!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Is there much money to be made in the owl trade, for instance if I were to source owls from overseas do you think there's a market here to flog them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

kylith wrote: »
    I would strangle that thing inside about half an hour. Seriously annoying.

I dunno, she looks kinda cute :)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,285 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Ducks are better, they give you eggs, look hilarious and do that "we don't quite belong on land" waddle anytime they want to go anywhere.
    Can't Owls be quite vicious?

Ducks are great, so are chickens. Hatch them in an incubator rather than buy adults. They'll follow you about and consider you their parent until they're older and you aren't cool enough to be seen around.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

kowloon wrote: »
    Ducks are great, so are chickens. Hatch them in an incubator rather than buy adults. They'll follow you about and consider you their parent until they're older and you aren't cool enough to be seen around.

Kowloon. Chicken Emperor.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,285 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Kowloon. Chicken Emperor.

I prefer the title 'Lord' :P

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Hi OP.

I've had a pet owl for the past 3 years now and am delighted with it.
    It's just the best pet ever and always gets me so much attention.

It's a real head turner...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Hi OP.

I've had a pet owl for the past 3 years now and am delighted with it.
    It's just the best pet ever and always gets me so much attention.

It's a real head turner...

So you got an owl just so people would look at you?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

• Registered Users Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Chickens are cool :)

Look at this lovely thing, she comes for her name ^_^

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭Sinister Pigeon

O Owls aren't all they're cracked up to be - they'll be up all night just staring at you - it's like they have eyes in the back of their head or something.....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

I've gotten too old to walk the dog. an Owl would be a perfect substitute pertched on my shoulder lookin wise'n'all.

Read 'Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep'.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

ArtSmart wrote: »
    Read 'Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep'.

See previous post re Rachel and the Replicant Owl...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

gozunda wrote: »
    See previous post re Rachel and the Replicant Owl...
    too drunk.

But tell me, was it a sheep / goat or an owl he craved in DADOES?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

I'd also like a wolf if I didn't have to walk it
    Or a penguin

I actually walked a penguin once. When I was a child. An experience I still treasure, to today.

The world was a different place, back then.

ArtSmart wrote: »
    too drunk.

But tell me, was it a sheep / goat or an owl he craved in DADOES?

I believe the undercurrent was that he himself was a replicant - anyway in the film he certainly appeared to fancy Rachael and her owl....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭neamhspleachi

I want this guy, it'd cheer me up no end having him around

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I'd like an ostrich for security, can you imagine the look of abject horror if a burgular broke into my house only to be greeted by a big **** off ostrich, standing there, staring into the eyes of him, readyto pounce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

I'd love a pet bear.

I'm sure the moments before it disembowelled me would be just delightful!

ivytwine wrote: »
    I'd love a pet bear.

I'm sure the moments before it disembowelled me would be just delightful!

be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

gctest50 wrote: »

That video has made my day, thank you :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Bafucin

Doberman. I have always wanted one. We had one went I was a kid.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I'd like an ostrich for security, can you imagine the look of abject horror if a burgular broke into my house only to be greeted by a big **** off ostrich, standing there, staring into the eyes of him, readyto pounce.
    amatuer :rolleyes:

Even emu's are better remember who won the emu war of 1932 ?

if you want a bird for home defence it has to be a Cassowary , closest thing you'll get to a velociraptor

"Capt'n wrote:

if you want a bird for home defence it has to be a Cassowary , closest thing you'll get to a velociraptor

I will raise the home defence option to a species not much changed from its prehistoric cousins - the goose. As for home defence theres not too many who will take them on...

goose.jpg

gozunda wrote: »
    I will raise the home defence option to a species not much changed from its prehistoric cousins - the goose. As for home defence theres not too many who will take them on...

goose.jpg

Renewed respect for nature.

Result
    An Ottawa cyclist says a surprise attack by a Canada goose left her with a concussion and fractured cheekbone, and a renewed respect for nature.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/ottawa/goose-attack-leaves-ottawa-cyclist-shaken-and-scarred-1.2686751

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

I want a whole army of Pugs.

McChubbin wrote: »
    I want a whole army of Pugs.

You could do this for the craic