If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Hcap

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Was a good day all round with everyone passing in the end. There was a good atmosphere with a good amount of slagging and abuse flying. Got to meet a few Boardsie's and had a good laugh.

The biggest problem seemed to be nerves or lads just panicking who were not used to a range situation. Lads seemed to try and "keep up" with the speed or shooting of the rest of the line which can unsettle people. Remember that you have as long as you need to take your shots. With so much riding on the test it's always best to take your time and put everything into each shot.

I think it also showed a few that what they thought was their zero was actually not. The wind was blowing at between 5 to a max of 11 mph so no caliber was effected. Considering the max range was 100 yards there would be little to no drift. The timing was perfect. Not 2 minutes after the last lads arrived in the clubhouse, when it finished, the heavens opened up.

Still everyone got it, and that's the main thing.

Well done to all.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭rugermk3

Though it was a great day at the range and very enjoyable and everyone Was eager to help out especially when me sticks broke :)
    Got some good tips in long range shooting at the targets as well

doc I never seen you there yesterday , did you shoot in the first heat?

Chiparus wrote: »
    Just a tip

1. bring a mat for shooting prone.
    2. Make sure you are aiming at your target, unfortunately for the guy next to me he hit my target and failed.

lol I was chatting to the guy next to me yesterday before we shot, after looking thru my scope I said to the guy jayus its very easy to jump the target and hit the one beside you to watch out for it, I fired two shots and they were also most touching in the back and put the 3rd into his target, the stick I got over it was gas, didn't happen the next time 3 in the black 2 almost touching again but all with in an inch , good day out great crack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭DEMOLISHER

I no who you and juice and ruger are now was chatting wit ye all day, I had the 6.5 tikka with boyds stock:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭blackwater doc

Ya man went off first sent 3 into the target lovely grouping then the sticks I had one of the legs broke so I had to wait until the chap longside me fired then he lent them to me but everything was was ok I fired off some 300 yrds targets then at the range and was impressed with the tika 243

DEMOLISHER wrote: »
    I no who you and juice and ruger are now was chatting wit ye all day, I had the 6.5 tikka with boyds stock:p

ah are u the chap from tip ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭ruger1894c

Great day out and all passed which is the most important thing. Thank god it was yesterday because today was a horrible day with a horrible wind. Some great craic and great shooting great to see so many people helping one another out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 sealice

ruger1894c wrote: »
    Great day out and all passed which is the most important thing. Thank god it was yesterday because today was a horrible day with a horrible wind. Some great craic and great shooting great to see so many people helping one another out.

Some laugh sat friend of mine beside me put a shot in my target I had one outside and 2 in his one gave me 3 so he had to do his group again some slagging going home

rugermk3 wrote: »
    ah are u the chap from tip ?

that's me .....
    :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Well done to everyone that passed,could I ask a question as I see the "Wild Deer Association of Ireland" have it on their site, the course is to run again on the 26th of July, as I am only getting the HCAP book tomorrow is it worth missing this date, and hopefully leaving it till next year as it might be to much to take in in so little time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    Well done to everyone that passed,could I ask a question as I see the "Wild Deer Association of Ireland" have it on their site, the course is to run again on the 26th of July, as I am only getting the HCAP book tomorrow is it worth missing this date, and hopefully leaving it till next year as it might be to much to take in in so little time.
    fire ahead and do it you have plenty of time , do the workshop the week of the exam and you will piss through it , it is not hard.

I just checked the site and there is a second HCAP in August. Was under the impression there was only one this year.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

TAUGHT THAT TOO CASS but seem like there is another one

Someone told me that morning it was the only one that year and with only 80 lads at it i thought they were right. Normally there are over 120 - 140 lads at the first one and then 80 or so on the second one. So the numbers added up, if you will.